My Mum’s sheep collection.

If you’re thinking by now that I’m a yarnophile (you’re right by the way…)… you should meet my mum.

She hearts wool soooooo much, that she even grows it on her very own collection of sheep.   She tells me she can knit in the dark too… I’ll have to see it to believe it…

So I was out visiting my parents, and had to introduce you to my Mum’s flock of sheep.  She likes dark wool, so most of her sheep are dark… although… as you will see, a white ram got into the paddock and tupped one of her ewes!  White lambs!  That’s how you can tell when there is a hole in the fence that separates your paddocks from your neighbours.

If you zoom in very very closely there, you can see them running down the hill… they can hear my Dad calling them and rattling sheep nuts.

Those sheep love my Dad and his nuts…

She’s got a lot of sheep… according to my Dad she has “too bloody many,” but I think thats what all husbands think about wives who collect things…  Most of her sheep are tame-ish so they’re a nice flock.  Some are really old too.

And that’s just the sheep in the top paddock!!!  All the lambs are down the bottom!

Over on those hills, in front of the big row of trees they can hear the nuts and they’re coming!

Cue: Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww little lambs!  There’s that white one… in fact, at the time I took this shot, it’s twin was right up on the hill, it got left behind.  We could hear it crying like crazy, but it managed to find it’s way over a creek and into the pen!

Action shot of said lamb racing up to it’s mother!

They’re a friendly bunch, especially when there are treats involved!  Oh and check out this sheep… whever did the shearing on this guy must have had a sense of humor… he looks like a teddy!

And one last shot… I think this is my Mum’s favourite sheep of all…

So there’s a little insight into my unusual family and where I get my wool obsession from!  It seems it is genetic…

Hope you enjoyed!

Lots of love from Alice and Raymond XX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Other Ramdom Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to My Mum’s sheep collection.

  1. Teacup Lane says:

    How wonderful that your Mom has her own sheep! How cute they all are. Do you get wool from her to make into yarn?

  2. Kate says:

    Wow. I will tastefully ignore any openings presented by this post for new zealanders and thier sheep remarks/wisecracks. Ahem.
    These photos are just lovely, I want a little black lamb now! Awwww for sure! I can so relate to your mum adoring these, they are gorgeous and the wool must be stunning…And the grass on those hills is so lush it must be sheep heaven!

  3. Oh Alice I am in love with your mums sheep!!!! And yes those lambs are so darn cute! Those white ones are super cute also and she will be able to dye their wool ( or are those ones for eating??? GASP! )

    I love the countryside….it is so green and gorgeous looking but judging from those wooly jumpers it is also pretty darn cold 🙂

    Do you get your pick of the wool and do you have to help out at shearing time for it??

    Thanks for sharing, they are adorable I Want One!!!

  4. PosyLinda says:

    Alice, I can’t get over your Mom’s collection. Absolutely love and covet it. I couldn’t possibly pick a favorite since they are all so darn cute. Thanks Alice! It’s great to see things from your home.

  5. Thanks Alice , how amazing is that, all those sheep in your parents back yard, we LOVE the black lambs xox NZ is rather green and lush, hard for me to think of you coming out of the winter into spring though! Thanks for sharing.

  6. Mrs Twins says:

    Hello Alice,
    Its so nice of you to post these wonderful photos. They sure have been a pleasure to look at. I really enjoyed looking at them. What a wonderful life!
    Thanks so much,
    Hugs Suex

  7. sandiart says:

    Alice, this takes me back to my childhood, to the farm where my Aunt and Uncle lived, they had sheep, pigs, beef and chickens, oh and ducks. I would be able to ride the horse and pick apples in the orchard where the pigs lived, although they scared the, you know what, out of me. What lush green-ness you have there and the sheep are beautiful.
    A little piece of heaven, very beautiful.
    Sandi xx

  8. Joyce says:

    Hi Alice, oh my goodness, how beautiful those rolling hills, the lush green, just green as far as the eyes can see. I so love your parents farm and their sheep. Oh gosh, I seemed to be bit by the farm-bug, I would so love a farm. *sigh* those darling little lambs. *sigh* Thanks for sharing a little of yourself with us through these posts, I hear the love for your family through your words, it’s just beautiful. Have a wonderful day my friend. Hugs to darling Raymond too please. xx

  9. Dorien says:

    Such a beautiful photo’s of a really gorgious country. Over here in Holland it is just not possible to see only nature; there is always at least one house, a road or any other sign of humans in the way. To have hills in your backyard is completely beyond my imagination, so I’m very envious of your mom. The flock is just adorable. To be able to keep them, just because you love yarn so much, must be a God’s gift.
    Thank you so much for the pics and your talking about these cute sheep.

  10. Casey says:

    eeeee! babies!! I love baby sheep!

    ps. you guys live in a seriously gorgeous spot!

  11. Andrea says:

    Wow, how awesome for your mom to have her own flock. And how stinking cute are they running down the hill?!

  12. These sheep are just TOO CUTE! This entire post just made me smile from ear to ear and ohh-and-aww to myself a little. Your parents have an absolutely beautiful farm (those hills look like they’re from a painting)! It must be so great to visit whenever you need a cuteness fix!
    Cheers,
    Emily

  13. Louise says:

    How AMAZING that your Mum has sheep!!!! They are so adorable! I can’t even imagine how amazing it must be to keep sheep and then be able to create with their wool!!!!!

  14. Pingback: Colourful goodness | Crochet with Raymond

  15. Siobhan says:

    I hadn’t met your mums sheep before – I’m so glad I have now. They are absolutely adorable – and happy! This is how all sheep should live and be cared for. Imagine knitting your own sheep; everyone should get to do it at least once don’t you think. Those green rolling hills are stunning. What an amazing place for anyone to live. Really beautiful pictures. The world is a beautiful place.

  16. MeredithJean says:

    Zen post Alice, and thank you for re-referencing it. It hasn’t occurred to me yet to look right through your old posts… not a natural stalker obviously 😉 I don’t look through people’s bathroom cupboards when I go to the toilet at their place either, apparently lots of people do (go figure?).
    I’m so pleased to have met all the sheep, well some of them and seen their green hilly pasture lands. I drove around the North Island for 10 days with an ex, gosh maybe 10 years ago and just adored the entire experience. Was gob smacked by the flotilla of possum products and am quite curious to work with possum yarn. Can you dye it? hmmm…. much love xxx

Leave a comment