dc3tog

Helloooooooo!!!

I’ve prepared a photo tutorial for the very handy stitch dc3tog, or “double crochet three together,” which I love to use in my patterns and I’m sure for those of you who don’t know it yet, you’ll become addicted too!!!!!

When I first encountered this stitch, I closed the book and put it away, but then tried it, and once I got the hang of it (immediately) became a bit addicted to it!  I love the puffiness it creates, so use it, and it’s little sister dc2tog frequently!

I hope this tutorial is useful for you!

Step 1: Yarn over hook, insert hook into stitch and pull a loop through.  Yarn over and pull through two loops on hook.  (So far is is like a dc, but don’t pull through those last two loops on the hook)

 So far, just like a dc…

Step 2: (2 loops on hook) yarn over, insert hook into SAME space, pull through a loop, yarn over and pull through two loops on hook.  (3 loops left on hook)

here’s step 2 completed…

Step 3: (3 loops on hook) yarn over, insert hook into the same stitch, pull through a loop, yarn over, pull through two loops on hook.  (4 loops left on hook)

Step 4: (4 loops on hook) yarn over, pull through all four loops left on hook.

dc3tog complete!

Fantastic!  Great stuff!  Have a practice and I’ll catch you all up tomorrow with my lace bunting tutorial!

Lots and lots of love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Crochet Goodness, Crochet Stitch Tutorials. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to dc3tog

  1. Minniemack says:

    Love it left-handed 🙂

  2. Sue says:

    Me too! Leftie love :o)

  3. Cool!! Waiting for the bunting tutorial to try it!

  4. Casey says:

    Stitches that look a little puffy are so fun! I love the look of them

  5. Louise says:

    Ah a left hooker!! You will be much praised by the lefties. Not enough help for lefty learners on the web. Well done you

  6. Anne says:

    I”m a leftie too…:)

    Noro is about $15? a ball for silk garden over here. But I get a knitters guild discount on top of that and I got birthday money as well….. That the only way I can afford Noro.

    When my youngest go’s to Pre School next year. I’m going to sit down and try and crotchet a granny square….

  7. Pingback: Bunting Time! | Crochet with Raymond

  8. Nicky says:

    I am soooooo thankful for this mini-lesson because this is the stitch I have been looking for! My grandmother had made all the kids in our family afghans and it looks as though this is her stitch. I have been trying to figure out how to duplicate it for some time….I am so excited 🙂 Thank you thank you thank you!

    PS. Love your blog…and all your colorful crochet. You are so inspiring. I’m just trying to figure out when you sleep!?! xoxo

  9. Anne says:

    Thanks For The How-to! Oh

  10. mauricea nyquist says:

    I have seen two videos on how to do dc3togs and both are different. How do you know which ones to do???

  11. My instructions say to “dc3tog (uses 3 ch), dc in next 2 ch” Your tutorial says to dc3tog in the SAME
    chain. What do I do???

  12. Meagan says:

    Would you be able to explain what 3dc in next 2dc means?! I’ve searched the internet and can’t figure it out. It’s messing up my chevron blanket pattern but knowing what it is. I think it’s the stitch to make the valley in the pattern but whatever I’m doing is not correct. Please help!!!!

Leave a comment