Revisiting the Granny Mandala….

Helloooooo!!!!!!

I hope you’re all having a fabulous week!! I certainly am and it is very much due to the amazing and beautiful sunny weather we are STILL having!  It seems that summer has arrived early and it is just the best! 

I’m pleased to announce that my creative slump is officially over!  I noticed that today as I was leaving the house for work, I had an urge ‘make’ which I am sure was directly related to the fact that I couldn’t!  So I’m back on the hooking buzz with enthusiasm after a week or so of not doing much!

I’ve been contemplating my Granny Circles for a while now, and decided that it is time to re-do that tutorial, as since I first had a play with making the circle back in August, I’ve learned a few new techniques and stitches, and I like the way I’ve been doing the centres lately much more… they’re not as ‘squished,’ so I decided to do up a brand spanking new tutorial!  Please remember that the mandalas will be a big bigger when finished as they need to be blocked… I lay gladwrap on my carpet in a sunny spot and wet the mandalas, then pin them to the carpet gently stretching them out to their full size and leave to dry!  This tutorial is for a flat piece of work and it is not intended to be used as a cushion, so please work the increases accordingly if you have other purposes for this!!  I’ve seen some amazing creations in ravelry with the beautiful granny mandala and some STUNNING colour combining and I’m hoping that after this refreshment I’ll see many more!  I love seeing these beautiful circles spinning joy through my computer screen!  if you make one, let me know!  I’d love to come and see your beautiful work.

Soooooooooooooo………. Get your 4mm hook and your 8ply wool ready and let’s get started!!!

Round 1: Make a magic ring…. if you’ve never done this before now, click here for step by step photo instructions….. and into this circle make 3ch (counts as 1dc) 1dc, *ch1, 2dc* repeat ** until you have 6 2dc’s separated by 1ch each, join with a slst to 3rd chain of original 3ch.  Pull the end of the magic circle closed nice and tight and weave in those ends, go on, weave as you go!

Round 2: Join next colour with a slst into a 1ch space from previous round and ch3 (counts as 1dc) 1dc, ch1, into the SAME space, dc2tog, *ch1, into the next space dc2tog, ch1, dc2tog* repeat sequence until each 1ch space from the previous round has 2dc2tog each separated by 1ch.

(dc2tog: yarn over hook, insert hook into stitch, pull through a loop, yarn over, pull yarn through 2 loops on hook, yarn over, insert hook into the SAME stitch, pull through a loop, yarn over, pull loop through two loops on hook, yarn over again, pull loop through remaining three loops on hook.)

Rounds 3 & 4: Join new colour with slst into a 1ch space from previous round, ch3 (counts as 1dc) into the same space, make 2dc, *ch1, 3dc into next space* repeat until end of round and join with a slst into 3rd ch of original 3ch.  Each 1ch space should be filled with 3dc each cluster separated with 1ch.

 
 

 

 

Rounds 1-3!

 

Yes!  That’s better!  Photos are far more interesting than words!!!!

OK… let’s make our first round of increases…..

Round 5: Join new colour with a slst into a 1ch space from previous round, ch3 (counts as 1dc) 2dc, 1ch, 3dc into same 1ch space, *ch1, into next space 3dc, ch1, 3dc* for entire round, at end of the round ch1 and join with a slst to 3rd chain of original 3ch.

Rounds 6&7: No increases in these rounds, just repeat rounds 3 & 4

Round 8: Increasing again, but this time only in every SECOND 1ch space from previous round.  So, join new colour with a slst to 1ch space and ch3 (counts as 1dc) into the same space, 2dc, ch1, 3dc, *ch1, into next space 3dc, ch1, into next space 3dc, ch1, 3dc* repeat for the entire round and at end of the round ch1 and join with a slst to 3rd chain of original 3ch.

I love watching rainbows emerge….. they get more and more beautiful with every colour!

Rounds 9, 10 & 11: No increases, just repeat rounds 3 & 4.

Round 12: Increasing again, so repeat instructions for round 8…. BUT…. increase every three 1ch spaces.  (Increase, normal 3dc cluster, normal 3dc cluster, increase….)

Rounds 13, 14 & 15: No increases, just repeat rounds 3 & 4 again….

Round 16: Increasing every third space, repeat round 12.

This is a nice size mandala and will be bigger after a darn good blocking!!!!!!  From this point onwards, just keep repeating the increases with three rows between them without increasing, the edge with your favourite edging!  I usually do a round of sc, then a mini shell-stitch: With right side facing you, into 1 stitch make 1sc, 1hdc, 1sc, slst into next two stitches and repeat sequence all the way around.

 I added a few extra rounds to this one in natural undyed wool…. I had grand plans to make it into a veeeeeeeeeeeeery special baby blanket, but then remembered that I hadn’t make the ends secure enough to stand the wear and tear, so lucky for KB, as she LOVES this one (natural fibre addict) it is the new centre piece for our table and it looks awesome.

Mandala-rific!

  OK, well I hope you have lots of fun making yourselves some beautiful mandalas!!!!  If you’re a raveler and want to bookmark/ queue/ hook it!  Click HERE for the link to all of the patterns and tutorials I’ve popped on there.  And click HERE for google images of beautiful mandalas where you can click to get lots of info for your beautiful selves!

I’m off…. must fly…. it’s 6pm already… where did the day go?  Boring jobs await my creatively-itchy hands… think big piles of dishes… an unmade bed and dinner awaiting cooking…. Oh and a Raymond to feed too!

Wishing you all a perfectly blessed day,

Lots and lots of love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

p.s thinking of perfect blessings… thank you…. oh THANK YOU anonymous person who handed my cay keys in to the supermarket customer service desk this afternoon…. you are a flipping legend and gratitude did not even cover the feeling I had when my keys were back in my hands!

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Colour Therapy!, Fibre P0rn!, Granny Mandala, Rainbows!, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

166 Responses to Revisiting the Granny Mandala….

  1. marion says:

    Dear Alice,

    Thank you so much for this great Tutorial!!!
    Love the Colours and love much more the Granny Mandala.
    Enjoy your Week and send you many Greetings and big Hugs for Raymond,
    Marion

  2. Bianca says:

    mmm that purple on grey, stormy, moody blues. ❤ Love. I've definately got a resonance with those colours. You've definately got your mojo back! not that I think you lost it, I loved the Incan/mexican inspired mandala too.

    I poped up some more crystal love for you. 😉

    xB

  3. Denise says:

    I love your rainbow mandala. I’m going to bookmark it for later. I’m knitting holiday gifts to mail back home.

  4. Dorien says:

    Hi Alice, since a real novemberstorm was predicted for today, it will be a perfect day to try this new tutorial you made. I am very much in love with your rainbowcolours. I used to teach at a Waldorf school and the children over there were using rainbows all the time and I just loved it. In their drawings, but also when they were knitting or crocheting. It made their work so vivant and a joy to look at.
    groetjes, Dorien

  5. lovestitch says:

    Hi Alice,
    Your mandala looks beautiful, I love the colors and how it turned out, fabulous!
    Thanks for sharing, great tutorial! I just wish to give it a try!
    Have a wonderful day!
    LoL, xxx

  6. tejehannah says:

    Hello Alice! Great colourful Mandala and thank you for your tutorial!
    Sunny wishes Teje

  7. tracey says:

    great tutorial, I love all the beautiful colours you are using

  8. Dorothy says:

    I love your mandalas – so colourful. I wish I had a wee bit of talent when it comes to colour combinations 😦 Think I might have to sort through the stash though and make one too. Thanks for the tutorial. Big hugs to you and of course Mr Raymond.

  9. Terrie says:

    Beautiful! Gorgeous! Stunning! I love these sooooo very much – I will be giving it another go =]

  10. Linda says:

    Mandala-rific indeed!!!! Love those gorgeous colours!

  11. Planet Penny says:

    Love those colours! Thanks for the tutorial. Penny x

  12. Penelope says:

    What a beautiful kaleidescope ( I adore kaleidescopes, good way to look for colour cominations too x) of happiness Alice, it’s perfect to cheer me up on a wild wet windy day xox Thanks for tutorial too xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  13. Mar says:

    So colorful!!!
    I love it, makes me smile.
    Thx for the tut

  14. Pattygloria says:

    Hola Alice,
    This is a great tutorial for a very pretty colourful mandala. I’m going to try to make one using what I have already in my stash. Thanks for sharing!
    Gracias,
    Gloria x

  15. Angie says:

    It’s very pretty, Alice. I plan to make one! Thanks so much for sharing.

  16. Melissa says:

    You know that I love the bright colors you use. I will get around to making one of these. Can’t wait!

  17. Maria Julia says:

    Beautiful! I’ll try it! Thank you Alice, and thak you to Raymond too!

  18. Louise says:

    Wow! Just love your colour choices, you have such a good eye for colour combinations. Thanks for Raymond and your advice on my scarf dilemma and pushing back when people asked me to make things for them. I had a quite a giggle over it. Your brain thinks just like mine – cost of yarn and my time! Only my boys get an immediate YES when they ask me to make them something.

  19. Bobo Bun says:

    I love seeing yarn on other people’s blogs, it just cheers me up so much. Looking at the scenes across your bay you have lovely weather to look at too, we have seriously grey, wet and windy so keep sending all the colour you can our way.

    X

  20. iamteocalli says:

    Hello Alice and Raymond!
    Wow! How inspiring!!!I shall try and do this base on your instructions…and thank you so much for sharing!!!!! I just finished making my puppy dog Duchess her first Mandala outfit…let me see how I can share it on your Blog page! I am just learning the rudiments in building a Blog page so please forgive me for not being that orderly yet…
    Anyway, what a wonderful blessing being able to share with you….

    Love always from,
    Marianne

  21. Fiona says:

    Love the happy colours!

  22. ganxetades says:

    Hello,
    I’m another Alicia and I just discover your blog.
    I love your mandalas!
    From now I read you.
    (Sorry for my “stay at home” english.)

  23. Emma says:

    This is some yarny, circly colourful smiliness. I needed it this evening – I’m holed up with a virus of some kind. Thankyou!

  24. Amanda says:

    I love the colors of your mandala! Thanks so much for the tutorial – I think I’ll try it in some nice christmasy yarn as an accent for my table!

  25. Valentina says:

    Hi Alice! I’m an italian girl…i practice crochet. I’ve seen your handmade works…I think they’re very beautiful, an explosion of colours! Best wishes Vale

  26. Hi…….
    Beautiful colors and great tutorial.. i’m now trying your mandala… i love to do this….. thank you so much for this tutorial.

  27. Nita Doherty says:

    Sorry if this has been answered already, but are the patterns in British terms? Thanks!

  28. Krishana says:

    This is such a fun, creative, and inspiring crochet blog! Glad to have stumbled upon you today 😉

  29. Laurie M says:

    Absolutely stunning and very creative! Thank you 🙂

  30. Pingback: Crochetbug » Blog Archive » Setting intentions for the new year

  31. I absolutely love your creations! They are definitely gorgeous and each time I see one of them…that becomes my favorite!!! Thanks for the tutorial too! Now, I am addicted!!! Here’s my first try…
    http://myearthlyjewels.blogspot.com/2011/01/crocheting-rainbows.html

  32. what an awesome blog = and all the awesome, lovely, stupendous free tutes!!! I am a novice crocheter, but I love it and granny anythign is my fav 🙂 I have signed up to get emailed about your blog.. I plan on doing this granny mandala as my next project! Oh and Bunny Mummy sent me here 🙂

  33. Julie says:

    I’ve been enjoying your blog, everything you create is just beautiful! Thanks for the tutorial. I started working on my granny mandala this afternoon.

  34. Nada says:

    Hi Alice its lovley choice of colors … Im from Qatar ,my mom & I were looking for teapot cover and came across this blog love it….

  35. Lisa says:

    I just completed two Manada’s from your pattern and love it. I posted the pics on my blog site. I hope you check it out. Thank you for sharing patterns, I am going to try other projects that you have posted.

    Lisa, Milwaukie, OR U.S.A.

  36. Lisa says:

    Hi, I just found your website a couple of days ago and I love this Mandala. I had bought some yarn to make some granny squares but I had to try making this. I’m not sure what I’m doing wrong and I think my stitches are consistent in loose/tightness but mine seems to roll up. Any ideas? :o)

    • Lisa says:

      Hi,
      I figured out what I did wrong. I misread and misunderstood a couple of rounds..I guess I was so in a hurry to start one that I wasn’t reading it correctly…I would like to know though, if I want to make a bigger one, what is the formula for increasing? I’m still in the learning process and was wondering how to figure that out.
      Thanks,
      Lisa H.

  37. Yuka says:

    I LOVE LOVE your colors. Just watching it makes me so happy.

  38. Ann says:

    Hi Alice! I love your mandalas and all the granny-stuff you make – I’m so inspired! What brand of yarn are you using for your colorful mandalas? I am having a hard time finding yarn the right ply in the colors I want – do you mind sharing your source?

  39. Bimbi says:

    Hi Alice
    Wanted to have a go at one of the Mandala circles, but I’m totally hazy about the abbreviations used in your tutorial. It just occurred to me that I have never done any crochet work following English instructions!! 🙂
    Help, please! You have so many lovely tutorials I would love to try.
    Regards Bimbi

  40. Michelle says:

    THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU for posting this tutorial! I found it yesterday and made my first one today!

  41. Ella says:

    Thank you so much for the tutorial. I’m a beginner and your blog is pure gold for me.
    Thank you!
    Ella

  42. Anna says:

    lovely colors!! 🙂

  43. Hi Alice,
    I’ve visited your blog months before and i loved these rounds and i’ve made one and published in my blog.. thanks for the tutorial

  44. Sarah S says:

    Wow You do amazing work! I love it all!!! Thanks for sharing.

  45. Sara says:

    I just finished making this mandala. My little five year old is really into rainbows right now and he is as over the moon about it as I am.

    Thank you so much for the tutorial!

  46. Pingback: The “Gran”dala | One Up Love

  47. Gig says:

    Your use of color really makes me think outside my usual box. Love your work and your site.

  48. Danielle says:

    WOW, what a discovery you are!
    I LOVE your choice of colors … what an inspiration you are!
    THANK YOU.
    I got so excited, that I think I subscribed to your newsletter twice.
    Love you, Danielle.

  49. Danielle says:

    I want a cat like yours.

  50. Love your mandalas!!! The colors are gorgeous! Do you have a printer-friendly pattern that I can print out and carry with me? I don’t always have a computer available.

    Regards,

    Diane

  51. Marillyn Ketcherside says:

    I am in the middle of making a large mandala. I was wondering if you just continue with the 3 plain rows and then the increase row with increases every third stitch.
    When discussing making my Mandala I discovered that I have several friends that follow you. We live in Western Washington, USA

    Marillyn

    • Sharon says:

      Marillyn, just how big are you making your mandala? I am also trying to make a large one, but am on round 20 the shells didn’t come out right. Got all the way around & ended up w/the 3dc, ch1, 3dc right next to the first one of the same. ??? Checked all my stitches last four rounds & find no mistakes. Any ideas?

      • Lisa says:

        The same thing happened to me. I’ve counted and recounted everything and can’t find the error. I notice this was posted quite some time ago, but I’d love to hear from you if you have any advice.

      • MARILLYN says:

        I’ve made 2, one was much bigger than the other. I just followed her instructions for increasing the way it was being done at the edges. I may have done some adjustments to make it come out right. I often do that when I am altering patterns like making this one bigger.

        I can’t get to it at the moment. I can’t remember if she answered me on the blog or privately.

        I do know that you don’t increase with every row, just like when making a circle.

        Marillyn

        Lisa commented: “The same thing happened to me. I’ve counted and recounted everything and can’t find the error. I notice this was posted quite some time ago, but I’d love to hear from you if you have any advice.”

  52. NoMimikry says:

    Hello alice,

    this day i see your pattern the first time and its great!!!! Thanks so lot for sharing with the bloggerworld.

    Greets from Germany and a big hug to raymond from salva ;-)!

    Mimi

  53. Typy says:

    Your Mandala tutorial is great. The story and picture of my mandala is posted in my blog. Welcome!

  54. Alice, your designs are fantabulous!!! I am in awe!!! Thank you for this tut. I am going to try to put a link for the tut on my website! I hope that is ok with you!!!

    Love,
    Marilyn

    P.S. I signed up!!!!

  55. Pingback: Creating this week | The Green Dragonfly

  56. Pingback: a year of projects « itstartedwithruby

  57. Natalie says:

    HOW have I not found you before? A fabulous kiwi crochet goddess right here in NZ?? I’m nearly done with my first Grandala – loving LOVING making something so colourful and revisiting the Granny. Will post soon over at http://www.poppynbee.blogspot.com if you want to come and seeeee!

  58. Sandra says:

    I love your website! Thanks for sharing!

  59. Anne Marie says:

    Are DC’s in New Zealand Treble Crochet in the UK please? I’m getting a bit confused because they look like ‘our’ trebles???? Help anyone please?

    • Natalie says:

      Anne Marie – this is written in US terminology – traditionally in NZ I understand we used UK, but so many patterns and designers are available to us now using US terms I think that we are now ‘bilingual’ crocheters down under! I actually find it easier to ‘speak’ in US terminology and when I teach crochet I use the American terminology.

  60. Sunflower says:

    I have never really ‘warmed up’ for granny squares (don’t really know why) but this mandala is just lovely! I have the page bookmarked for future use.

  61. Pingback: Yarn! « Squirrel Acorns

  62. Pingback: Quick Mandala Pot Holder « Welcome to My Blog

  63. Pingback: Granny Mandala Pillow « Much Ado About Nothing Much At All

  64. Lorena says:

    I love the Granny mandala….
    very thanks !
    Kiss from Italy
    Lorena
    http://lolibeth.multiply.com/journal

  65. Very Beautiful the Granny mandala.
    Very Thanks by the tutorial!!
    Kiss from Brazil!! ☺♥
    Maria

  66. Stacie says:

    Hello,
    I love this piece. I have a question (for the blogger or anyone who can answer) this part is for the lovely lady that gave the tutorial: how did you secure the ends on this piece (any for anyone): how would you secure the yarn properly so it could withstand all the loving from a child or anyone who might not treat it delicately?
    Oh, I just found your name, Alice, I really love this work of art!!!
    Thanks in advance to anyone who might help with my questions.
    Stacie

  67. Cristina says:

    Hi,

    I love your Granny Mandala! The color combination is just beautiful and soothing! I am definitely going to start this Mandala project over the Christmas holidays, I’ll share the results when I get it finished! 🙂

  68. Mukshi says:

    Hi Alice,
    I’ve recently learnt the basics of crochet and am already a lover and painter of mandala’s. I’ve recently attempted one and it was very uneven. But looking at your picture’s is just so inspiring! I hope to try and follow some of your tutorials and hope it turns out just as lovely as your creations.
    Thank you for putting up all your beautiful creations for everyone to benefit from. Beautiful colour’s. Absolute colour therapy. Peace, x

  69. Pingback: Spotted in the movies! « crochetime

  70. Carro says:

    Hello!
    What beautiful designs and colors you use.
    I look forward to many visits to your blog.
    Thanks for your designs, I’ll try to make a Granny mandala.
    It makes me so happy!
    Greetings Carolina

  71. enid says:

    fantastic pattern the circular shawl thankyou raymond australia

  72. Pingback: Like the Circles that you find in the windmills of your Mind? « helencrochet1

  73. Anne says:

    Hello !
    I’m french and I will try to use your tutorial for the firt time.
    have a good day and thank you for this tuto !

  74. Angélique says:

    Magnifique merci, je prend le tuto et le fais traduire par une amie 😉

  75. FleurBelge says:

    Bonjour from Belgium,
    I am 62 years old living in the countryside in Belgium.
    Philosopgy of bouddhism, Mandal talks to me and I love doing Crochet.
    I aodre nature, animals, biological foood vegetarian food;;;and again crochet.
    I have found your blog because of another blog where one of your friends talked aboutr your blog.
    Thank you for aceppeting me, and nice crochet work,lovelly colours!
    I just ordered japanease books for their easy diagrammes!
    till then
    aurevoir
    FleurBelge( Belgium flower)

  76. Pingback: Granny mandala | Művészpiac

  77. Johnnie Tate says:

    Such a beautiful site to see! Thank you for sharing.

    Johnnie Tate
    Chattanooga, TN

  78. Pingback: Cal gilet Mandala | asteroïde

  79. dora says:

    awesome work, thank you.

    dora

  80. Thank you for this! I really love the way my mandala turned out! Love your patterns! 🙂

  81. astéroïde says:

    So cute and great, and magnifical!
    Thank you for the tuto, you inspire me for my granny mandala’s vest.

  82. Pingback: why am I all of a sudden obsessed with granny squares? « Things that I have made

  83. It’s wonderful of you to share your knowledge with the rest of us so generously! I’m so glad I came across your blog and look forward to reading more of your posts! Thank you!

  84. Gloria says:

    Complimentissini

  85. Allyson Bartley says:

    I did it! I also sat with my 17 year old daughter and taught her as well! All the gorgeous colours caught both our attentions. It was so lovely to stop and sit quietly with her and share this together. We lead such ridiculously busy lives! After posting my gorgeous mandala online, I shared your website with friends so they could learn how to do one too. Thank you for inspiring me to crochet again. Not quite sure what I am going to do with it now but I love it!

  86. Thank you so much for sharing this tutorial. I can’t wait to make mine. It’s going to be the centerpiece for my new (old – as it was my Mum’s and she bought it the year before I was born) dining table for my new Chester the Cat teapot to sit on. 😀

  87. Yours looks so beautiful. I just finished mine and its pretty however the outer edge wont stay flat it has like this wave to it which actually looks pretty but its not what I was going for. I only did the first 10 rounds then did a sc edge. I used acrylic worsted weight yarn (all I had) and I had to use an h/5mm hook instead of the g/4mm because I couldn’t get the yarn hooked with the smaller one when trying to do the magic circle (this was first magic circle ive done) can you give me any pointers so the next one I make lays flat? Thank you SO MUCH 🙂

  88. Sonia says:

    Hello again. I see nobody here has gotton to crochet a real pretty colorful Granny Circle Crochet Hat yet. Well, maybe still it’s going to take some more time. So still continue to crochet pretty.

  89. Amanda says:

    I love this mandala. I made my own last week I am not sure if I can upload pics here, but if you are interested, I’ve pinned it on my pinterest crochet board (along with your mandala!). Feel free to check it out if you are so inclined. http://media-cache7.pinterest.com/upload/90635011221239390_mQVLgRNJ_b.jpg
    Also, for the person asking how to get it to lay flat, my guess would be that there was too much increase in a few of the last rounds (I did the same thing) and that creates the ruffle. You can try blocking it, but with acrylic, I’m not sure if that would help (plus it would require a huge space to block). I bet the ruffle is pretty though, so don’t worry about it!

  90. Pingback: #weekending « joyfulwise

  91. Carei says:

    I love this granny mandala so much! I’ve been here time and time again trying to understand the instructions, and last night, I FINALLY got it! I LOVE LOVE LOVE your colors, but I couldn’t wait to get them so I started with the colors and yarns that I have and I LOVE IT! I just learned to crochet in the last year and this just blew my flip flops off. THANK YOU SO MUCH. I signed up for updates cuz you got me HOOKED.

  92. Claudia says:

    Everything so beautiful!! Thanks for sharing!

    Sheers,
    Claudia from Porto Alegre, RS, Brazil

  93. Sharon says:

    I love your mandala, it’s so beautiful and inspiring. I’m fairly new to crochet and it takes me a long time to decipher the patterns. Do you have a diagram for this? I’ve found them to be so much easier to understand when I can see the big picture.

  94. Kicki says:

    Hi! Just found your page and it’s awesome!!! Thank you for all the patterns and inspiration! I have started like mad to do a couple and it’s really fun and easy with your help! All the best to you from Sweden!

  95. Pingback: You can never have enough Doilies « A Conversation with Moo

  96. charo says:

    Thank you for this great tutorial. I have just discovered your blog and I love it, specially this Mandala pattern.
    I ‘m a begginer in crochet, but I’m becoming an addict!!! I think I’m going to learn a lot with your tutorials.
    Thank you so much for your help.

    Greetings from Spain

  97. Monika says:

    Hi..these are beautiful..i make them all the time..just wondering..if you would know how to turn this granny mandala into a granny square….have you tried this…i would love to make one…in the process of making a colorful one and turning it into a square to fit my square coffee table…thanks for sharing and hope to hear from you soon.Monika

  98. Jan Sologinkin says:

    I absolutely adore it!

  99. Lora says:

    Love your granny’s . your choice of colors is beautiful . wish I had your eye for matching colors sigh. I’m just learning to crochet , the one craft that I have had a little trouble learning love my knitting and tatting . hopefuly I will have better luck this time .

  100. Kaylie says:

    Thank you thank you thank you SO MUCH for posting this tutorial! I stumbled across it while searching for easy doily patterns and fell in love with all the colourful creations on your blog.

    I used fine acrylic yarn and a 3.75mm hook to make this centrepiece for my mom in law (to be).

  101. Sharyn Massung says:

    Seeing all the beautiful things on your site has encouraged me to want to learn crochet. While I have taught myself to knit -my favorite is lace patterns, I have tried unsuccessfully to crochet several times. I’ve watched my daughter crochet afghans, doilies, shawls and little accessories but have never been able to get the hang of it and I’ve no idea why. It is the only craft I’ve tried that I couldn’t do! Thanks for the inspiration…perhaps I just need projects like these and bright cheerful yarn to spur me on : ) Your projects are truly beautiful.

  102. Pingback: Granny Mandala - SAH-RAH

  103. Pingback: crochê + cores « por uma vida mais simples

  104. Pingback: Crochet Tutorials To Attempt « Crochet Missy

  105. Pingback: Did somebody say Doily? « A Conversation with Moo

  106. Luiza Belmont says:

    Oh, I just love it! Thanks for share!!! Greetings from Brasil!!! =)

  107. Lola Anderson says:

    Hi Alice, your blog is so inspirational to me. I am making my daughter Octavia a vest from the crochet mandala pattern. I will post a picture when I am finished, so you can see when you return from your hiatus. Peace to you, KB and of course Raymond.

  108. Hi Alice, How wonderful that you have shared this great pattern. I am making something similar for my little boy, but its a rainbow granny stitch blanket, You can see some pictures in my blog. I love the idea of making this on a round like a rug. Thanks again for a great tutorial. Do you mind if I re-blog this in my blog and give a direct link to your blog for my readers. I just would love to share this with everyone. Thanks from Perth Australia

  109. Kelly says:

    Hi Alice,
    I was thrilled to see your pouff cover in your mandala section. I have newly returned to crochet’ing and this is exactly what I’ve been looking for. I am not sure how to crochet the sides. I truly hope you can help me. With many thanks.

  110. gothsncrafts says:

    I really enjoyed your explanation of this pattern and will be saving it to my favorites on Ravelry. You seem to really enjoy creating and I do need some inspiration right now, so THANK YOU! Hopefully I’ll have something to post soon. I’m thinking of turning this into a lovely Pride beret or something with a goth color scheme.

  111. deborah says:

    Gorgeous! Would you mind sharing the kind of yarn you used? Thanks!

  112. Pingback: Get started while I finish mine… | generationcrochet

  113. Anna Bruin says:

    Parabéns… adorei seu trabalho… lindas cores, obrigada

  114. Pingback: Tova votter i Nøstebarnstil « Lucky Rock ©

  115. Pingback: Just in time for Christmas « A Conversation with Moo

  116. Judi says:

    i make pot holder dresses. i make them in two different colors. After seeing your rainbow work I decided to make a set of the dresses in the rainbow colors. They turned out great. Thanks for the idea.

  117. rosefsp says:

    I made a prayer rug from your pattern but in one color only. Check it out at http://dooroffaith.wordpress.com/?attachment_id=648
    Thanks a lot!

  118. meriem says:

    Very nice

  119. Pingback: For the Love of the Granny Square - Make and Takes | Make and Takes

  120. Pingback: Granny circles | Perigrines Eyrie

  121. Nancy says:

    your colors are so beautiful that I feel like weeping for joy when I see them. Thank you!

  122. Steph says:

    Hi!

    Thank you so very much for posting this!
    I am making this as a baby blanket for a friend. I read over your instructions, but I can’t find the yardage for the yarn. Am I missing it, if not, could you give me a rough estimate for the outer rings?

    Thanks a bunch!

  123. Cynthia says:

    quick questions when you say “to the SAME space, dc2tog, ” are you refering t a decrease stitch (which is dc2tog} or are you refering to 2dc [do two double crochet in the same space}?

  124. Pingback: Do Your Own Thing Mandala | orangefaeriedust

  125. maikki says:

    if i wanted to jeep going and make it bigger how would i do that? Help!

  126. maikki says:

    I actually plan on making it to the size of a hulahoop and crocheting it to the hula and hanging it on the wall!!

  127. Pingback: Granny Circle Table Runner | Mine Kinder Garden

  128. Annie Thomas says:

    Thankyou so much for such an easy to follow pattern,i am really enjoying making a granny mandala.

  129. Kurt Willett says:

    Question/Clarification: After Round 16, how frequent are the increases? I understand that they’re to be every 4th row, but at what frequency within the round? Round 5 was increase in every space, Round 8 was every second space, Round 12 in every third space and Round 16 also in every third space? Does this same pattern continue (every third space) or do the increases become less frequent at some point, or on a recurring basis? Any assistance would be greatly appreciated!

  130. Lynne Mott says:

    HI, As has been asked before, please could you post the increase sequence for further rounds of this lovely mandala? Is the next increase round (round 20) increase in every 4th space, the next increase round the same and then the next (round 28) in every 5th space?
    Thank you

  131. Pingback: Clown’s Pants | hopkalop

  132. NellaBrown says:

    Hi Alice, Thank you for your beautiful Granny Mandala ottoman pattern. I am going to make 2 for my girls. Your work is a ray of sunshine.

  133. Dawn says:

    I Just started making this and I’m not sure what I am doing wrong.
    . But it’s curling up like a bowl and I’m only on the fourth row…
    Did anyone else have this issue?

  134. Kristi says:

    If you continue to increase, do you still do an increase every 3- or do you move up to every 4, every 5, every 6, etc..?

  135. Kristi says:

    Nevermind- just saw a previous post with that issue! Sorry!

  136. Pingback: WIPW: Crocheted Stool Cozy | Anotheryarn Crafts

  137. jackie chisholm 55@yahoo.com says:

    I like it cuase i have some idea to make a foot rug for it .so thank you

  138. Dannii says:

    Hi,
    I am a beginner at crocheting and I love a lot of your pieces that you have created. Do you have videos I can follow as I get very confused with the text patterns. I tried to create your granny teapot which was a success but finding it hard to follow the mandala.hope you can help and keep on doing what your doing!!!
    Happy crocheting!
    Dannii

  139. Pingback: Nagyi mandala/Granny mandala | Emi in Children's land

  140. Pingback: You Spin Me Round (Like a Mandala)! 10 Free Mandala Crochet Patterns

  141. Pingback: Granny Circles / Mandala's » Wooly DonutWooly Donut

  142. Michaela says:

    Dear Alice,
    I have tried several German patterns for granny circles but finally couldn’t make it. Reason? Don’t know. Since I have been already successfully with your granny triangle pattern bunting, I thought I should give it a try with Raymond … and … guess what … I’ve been successfully again, this time with a granny circle. Many thanks for those patterns of yours and your understandable explanations, really appreciate them!
    Many greetings to you and Raymond out of Germany,
    Michaela

  143. viagra says:

    Hi i am kavin, its my first time to commenting anywhere, when i read
    this paragraph i thought i could also make comment due to this good piece of writing.

  144. Samantha sale says:

    I am new to crochet but can’t wait to try this

  145. Hello Alice & Raymond! 🙂

    I just discovered your blog and am now signed up for the crochet inspiration your work gives me.
    I haven’t been crocheting very long but it has become my newest hobby in my golden years.
    He-he-he!! I am a yarn junkie and cannot help but buy some more yarn for my stash every time
    I go to any store with a yarn dept., or worse yet, a craft store with a large assortment of yarn.
    I am anxious to give your Granny Mandala a whirl….. though I have not worked “in the round” before. I hope I am up for the challenge!? By the way… I have a very old Siamese cat named “Bosco”. He is 22+ years old. He was abandoned by some heartless meanie, but I rescued him and gave him a home. And let’s not forget Rémy, my 4 year old Weimaraner and my ancient pair of Striped Raphael Catfish that are 20+ years old. Rémy is my crochet buddy! Whenver I am doing my crochet he likes to curl up beside me and join in the “zen” of the moment! Thanks for sharing your time and your talent with your followers, Alice! 🙂

  146. Vicky Barnes says:

    Hi there thank you kindly for this pattern I have a quick question though x I’m doing this but blanket size and was wondering if at some point will I have to up the number of increase that I do. I only ask because I’ve reached the point where I increase then ten single clusters of three then increase and my blanket is really starting to curl. I don’t want to go any further if I have to frog any help would be greatly appreciated x

    Vicky x

  147. Sara says:

    Can one do this pattern with half double crochets?
    I want to make a rug using tee shirt yarn, and I want the rug to be less flimsy, I.e. Tighter stitches, less holes and spaces. Any ideas?
    I love your granny circles!!!!

    • gaznakhymina says:

      I think that there’s no problem by changing the double crochets with half doubles as long as you keep following the same pattern

  148. Stella Maris says:

    Thanks for this tutorial. It’s really beautifull!!! Can you tell me the complete name of: “ch” (i suppouse that is chain), “dc”, “tog” “rd” “slst” “clustet” “shell stitch” “hdc”, because i speak a little english and i don’t know the abbreviation.
    Thank a lot!!!!
    Stella Maris

  149. Thank you for the hard work you have made in writing this post. In the future I am hopeful the same best work from you as well. Actually your creative writing abilities has motivated me

  150. Aileen says:

    Thanks. I love this.
    If you did 2 rows of each colour would it make up a blanket size for a bed?
    Thanks again.
    Aileen

  151. Ashley Noel says:

    This is such an awesome and easy to read pattern! Thanks so much!

    I continued past row 16 to make this Mandala into a circle vest. I had been looking for an easy to read pattern for a circle vest but kept getting flustered. This pattern was an excellent start!!

Leave a comment