Hanger “how-to”

Hi Everyone!

I’ve been preparing this post ALL morning and am very excited about it’s manifestation onto my computer!  When I have something I really want to blog, it makes the blogging experience much more fun.

It’s a grey rainy day in Wellington and for once I’m really happy about it!!!  It’s my day off today, it’s sunday and I have no impending assignments dragging me away from things I want to do!  Lovely!  it has been a while, I’ve had lots of school-type work to do but everything is handed in for a month so it’s time for some relaxation before the next lot!  So where was I?  Yes, day off, raining, perfect for sitting in my rocker doing some stunning crochet!  Raymond is smart… he’s in my bed under the blankets…. I’m expecting to see him sometime around 4.30pm when he decides its dinnertime!

 I know that you’re all capable crafters, but I thought that today I would photograph the process of how I put the hanger cover together… here goes!

Here are all my “bits” assembled… don’t mind those loose ends, I’ll need them for sewing bits together.

Today’s photography is not the best… it got very rainy early this morning and the sky was dark, so on went the flash and made everything a bit shiny in the photo!  Oh yeah… for my hanger cover, I use 8ply wool and a size 5 hook… the bigger hook makes it hook up faster and use less wool… chain 70, chain 3 and in third chain from the hook, double crochet if you’re from the UK and treble if you’re from the US!  dc/tc to end, chain 3 as turning chain and continue for 5 rows.  That’s only if you are using the same hangers as me… you work it out according to how big your hanger is.

So, find the middle of the crochet…

Notice how my crochet is longer than the hanger?  That allows room for the ends and sorts itself out.

Now poke the hook of the hanger through that middle point

I sew embellishments on first as it makes them more secure… make it nice and tidy and don’t worry about how it looks on the back… no-one is going to unpick it to check the quality of your hand-sewing!!! (I’d just like to add here that my mum would die if she read that… ha ha ha)

Once “embellished,” you are going to single crochet the cover together.  I use a 4mm hook for this, and a different colour wool… I used the same colour once and it didn’t look as good.  Here I’ve used the same colour wool as the inside of my flower.   Ooooh… I just remembered, take a good close look at the outer petals of this flower… see that rainbowey wool?  It’s hooked up perfectly… my mum spun that and for all of you spinners out there, she spun it with a piece of black cotton, just your everyday sewing machine cotton and it’s lovely.  She gave me this tiny little ball of leftovers for a flower and god I wish I could buy some more!!!!!  I have enough for one more flower…

So I begin my seaming in the centre and work out to one side.  I do this so it doesn’t end up baggy at one end and works quite well…

At the end in the corner, don’t forget to make a turning chain between the single crochet

Repeat on the other side and tidy up the centre by tying ends in a knot and weave them in tidily.

Tidy up the flower and add a couple of stitches to make it sit right if necessary!

And voila!

I’ve been having a LOT of fun with these hangers and it’s not over yet!!!  The design with the large centre flower are where it’s at for me… loving the sumptuousness of them, the romantic look…

And here are a few more FOs!

Cute but not my fave… will probably be a gift!  To someone I know who doesn’t read my blog ha ha

Even the photograph of the sunflower hanger makes me feel thrilled… it’s the excitement of spring (which is a long way off!) in the colours… I definitely love this one.

And here is the one… I showed the pic of the flower only, last post… some of you asked for a tutorial… sadly no-can-do… I got the pattern from “crochet bouquet” even though I wish I could take credit for such loveliness!!  Remember though, I told you she has a blog…  so click here www.textilefusion.com/bookblog … she has some patterns from the book on her blog, so this one might be there too… it will be called stacked rose or something similar, the only difference I made is that I put a picot on the end of each petal.  I love the result.

These two are definitely my favourites…

One of my tasks for this afternoon is to clear out my wardrobe to create a space for this loveliness!  I’m excited about them as I usually don’t make beautiful things for myself… I don’t know if I have mentioned before that before I became a student I made my pocket money by selling handsewn felt badges, very cool and contemporary, so I’m used to constantly stitching for other purposes than me!  I haven’t blogged this stuff and probably won’t, because I don’t want to mix business with pleasure!!!  It’s also something I plan to pick up when I’ve finished studying… so maybe in a few years!

I hope you’ve enjoyed today’s post… I’ve loved putting it together!  Just one last thing… there is one more hanger left to show you…..

But it’s so special it’s a surprise… and another post in itself!  So pop back in a couple of days to witness the mystery solved…

Thank you for popping by today!  I hope you’re feeling inspired and try out a hanger or three!  If you do make one, let me know how you get on and don’t forget to leave me a link so I can come and admire your talents!  I’m off to surf around my favourite blogs to see what wonderful things others are creating…

Blessings to you from Alice and Raymond XX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Crochet Goodness, Patterns. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Hanger “how-to”

  1. Patz says:

    You are very clever, Alice! These are beautiful and very creative… I am still not there yet but very very happy with my first cushion!! I shall put a picture soon, not that it’s really that much to photo, but because I am so insanely proud of having made something myself… ;0). A very rainy day in the Bay of Plenty as well, so just like you, I shall browse other’s inspirations, and possibly later try out the ripple for my next cushion ;-D.
    Keep up the good work and the lovely photos. I love your blog.
    XOX

  2. frances says:

    Hi Alice and Raymond, I bet it’s snuggly under the blankets today Raymond. lol. Alice your coathangers are just devine. You are such a talented girl, I love them. The flowers are so romantic, your wardrobe is going to be so proud. I have been working on flowers here this afternoon myself, I made another flower ring for my finger, and a sample flower that I think I will make more for my throw rug. Enjoy your creative space before the study starts up again.

  3. Cat G says:

    Hey Alike! I particularly love the one with the dangles! Now, I had a thought about the leaves you made. Have you thought of stringing them together as necklaces or earrings? They’re so cool! If you made a long necklace with the leaves, I’d buy one!!

  4. I love that wool your mum spun!!! I am still on the Granny Slippers, I have made four pairs now and have promised another 3 to various people and then there are the ones to make for xmas! My family lives in UK so they will be handy at that time of year.

    Great tutorial and those flowers are so nice!

    Does your mum know anything about Ashford wheels (mine is a traditional)? I’m having trouble getting the large flyer to line up with the wheel 😦

    Hope you enjoyed your snuggly day under to doona Raymond, Hamish is right now leg up in front of the fire. He almost looks like a bearskin rug!!

  5. Annemarie says:

    What a lovely hanger! I came over to thank you for posting the nice picture on my blog when I saw it. It’s fabulous! If you want to post another picture again on my blog you’re so welcome. You can add a picture every Saturday.
    Bye!
    Annemarie

  6. Aisyah Helga says:

    Great tutorial! I’ve always wanted to make one. I’ve linked this to my blog to share with my readers. Thanks for sharing!

  7. Gail Brady says:

    Enjoyed your hanger “how-to”! My question is this: Where can I get those plain wooden coat hangers? I’ve searched all the sources I can think of in the states, but I’ve only found newer, fancier models. Does anyone know of a source in the UK (or anywhere else)?
    Thanks from Texas!

  8. Karol Gallucci says:

    Alice, I’ve just disovered your site in the past couple of days and have enjoyed reading it. I have a 22 year old Siamese who has cancer and we are making her last few weeks as wonderful as possible. She has been sitting on my lap as I crochet and I would love to make some hangers. I, too, have not been able to find the simple wooden hangers at all. Can you please tell me where I can send off to for them? I like the wooden hangers that are used here the best. I have found others, but they are not this look which is what I want. Thanks so much from Karol and Sushi.

    • Hi Karol,
      I’m sad to hear about sushi, 22 years is a wonderfully long life, and makes me think that adopting Raymond at age 10 was only adopting him in late childhood, it sounds as though she has had a very special life with you.
      I e-mailed the other commenter asking where the hangers came from and explained that I live in NZ and do not know where to buy them overseas, I found them by chance at the Warehouse, good luck on your hunt!
      From Alice

Leave a comment