A mistake!

It’s me again!  tee hee!

I’ve been working on little wee projects lately, which deserve a whole post in themselves… I think sometimes that I’ll save some of my work for posts in the future when I’m not being so productive, but creativity is a process don’t you agree?  I find that I’ll create something, and LOVE it!  Be obsessed with it’s beauty!  Then a few weeks later, I’ll have improved my skills and look at the original and think “gosh!  what c**p!”

So when I was creating my Granny Mandala pattern, I made a mistake which became something quite cool actually!  And just in case anyone would like to have a go, here is the pattern!

Granny triangles!!!  Did you see kate at Fox’s Lane’s wall of pot holders?  I saw them and fell in love with the look, so when I discovered how to make a triangle, I decided to have a go at making a pot holder for the wall above my stove!  The first of many, if I’m inspired enough!

So here is how I made it.  I’ve only made one so far, so if you have a whirl and find a mistake in my pattern, please let me know and I’ll update it!  Every time I try to write a pattern, I get myself so hopelessly muddled!  So once again, I’ve written in a different colour, some easier for me to understand guidelines!!!!!

Round 1: ch4, join with slst to make a ring

Round 2: ch3 (counts as 1dc) 8dc into the ring.  Join with a slst to 3rd ch of original 3ch.

You’re increasing in this round, so double “grannies” each time. You want to create 3 lots of doubles which have a 3ch space between, to create a corner, and 1ch between each set of doubles.

Round 3: ch3, then between the stitches, 2dc, ch3, 3dc into the same space as you would to create a corner in a granny square.  Ch1. Skip 3 dc stitches from round 2, 3dc, ch3, 3dc into same space, repeat once more, ch1 and join with a slst to the 3rd ch of original 3ch. 

From here on in, you’re working it like a granny square just with 3 corners instead of 4, and making sure you make a 3ch gap in between each “granny” in each corner to allow room for turning.  Then, 1 “granny” in each space down each side of the triangle.

Round 4:  Ch3, 2dc into 3ch space, ch3, 3dc into same space. (You have just created a corner here) Ch1, 3dc into next space, ch1, into the next space 3dc, ch3, 3dc, ch 1, 3dc into next space, ch1, into next corner space, 3dc, ch3, 3dc, ch1, into next space 3dc, ch1 and join with a slst into 3rd ch of original 3ch.

Round 5….. onwards!  Repeat round 4 as many times as you like!

Edging: I just did a round of sc, then another round of sc with a ch loop on one of the corners to hang it above my stove.  I’ve just made a pretty little shell edging for a mandala which I’m going to show you later on in the week, and that would look lovely on one of these, so I may need to alter it!

I’m quite thrilled with this new discovery, and hope you like it too!  File it away for when you’re bored with all your WIP’s and want a new and fun project to make in an evening!

Enjoy your day,

Lots of love from Alice and Raymond XX

 

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Crochet Goodness, Patterns. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to A mistake!

  1. PosyLinda says:

    Often times those so-called mistakes turns into something unique. I might have to have a go this triangle pattern of yours.

  2. leah says:

    Awesome. Love your colours.

  3. Mrs Twins says:

    I love these little patterns you put up.
    I have to keep them,
    I’ve got a blanket making business in progress!
    ha.ha. 🙂
    Love Suex

  4. Bianca says:

    You’ve got a great eye for colour.

    xB

  5. Love it! I made a garland of little granny triangles a while ago, such fun 🙂

  6. Anja says:

    Wow love you’re granny’s , lovely colors,

    greetings Anja

  7. Joyce says:

    oh Alice, I love your new creation. Gosh I can’t seem to keep up lately. lol. you are on fire. I bet cooking is just going to be upped at notch more of fun at your place now. You will have to make a little set of them, so that while one is in the wash. . . . .

    Thank you again for your healing and blessings. The last two days, I have been feeling so much better and stronger.

    xx

  8. frances says:

    oh Alice, I love your new creation. Gosh I can’t seem to keep up lately. lol. you are on fire. I bet cooking is just going to be upped at notch more of fun at your place now. You will have to make a little set of them, so that while one is in the wash. . . . .

    Thank you again for your healing and blessings. The last two days, I have been feeling so much better and stronger.

  9. Amanda says:

    Oh how I love mistakes that turn into something wonderful like this… I’ll have a go sometime and maybe make some bunting out of them 🙂

  10. Wow! This pops! I hope there is a bunting in the making. It would look great.
    I love these colours! xxx Have a lovely day Alice

  11. Alice have you seen Sarah Londons icrochet linky that she has just set up? Your hooky creations and your tutorials should be on there too! 🙂 Hope you are having a good week Jen xx

  12. Fran says:

    i just love the triangular granny square. i might even try to make one. as for Raymond, omg, he’s gorgeous. reminds me of my late Vincent. i love cats esp. siamese beauties.

  13. LisaJedi says:

    Hi Alice- thanks so much for your comment on the Granny Tea Cosy! Here are rainbow versions of the triangle pot-holders:
    http://youcanknitwithalighsaber.blogspot.com/2011/04/magrats-amulets-pot-holderstrivets.html

    I made them for the Guild Wars 2 challenge at Ravelry’s Ankh-Morpork’s Knitter’s Guild. Thanks for sharing this pattern!!

  14. Kimbers says:

    I made a few of these. Thanks for sharing the pattern. I love them!

  15. suzi says:

    what size needle ???

  16. Sue K. says:

    For round 3 and on, you say ch3, then between the stitches, 2dc, ch3, 3dc into the same space as you would to create a corner in a granny square. I’m not following this. The only way I could make it work was to ch3 then make the 2dc to the RIGHT of the ch3. I was able to make it work this way but I’m still confused as I’d rather follow the pattern. I’m gonna try again but would love to hear your thoughts on what I’m doing wrong. Thanks!

  17. Books & Badgers says:

    Hi!
    I have a question. I run a blog on arts & crafts and books here on wordpress too. I really like your patters and I want to make posts about your designs I made. But this is the thing: may I translate your patterns to Dutch? I’m from Belgium and I’m trying to make my blog bi-lingual as I share what I’m making. For the English readers there will be a link to your blog of course.

    Hope to hear from you soon!
    grz
    Kat

  18. Phoenix says:

    I just finished the first of what I’m sure will be many of these, they are fantastic! I love your posts and projects, thanks for sharing! 🙂

  19. Antoinette Clinton says:

    I made a triangle! Thank you!

  20. Alice, I made a grannie triangle. YAY! It turned out perfect. I made it with 2 strands, one light blue one black. I have done other things too. This was fun. Thank you, and I love your cat, Raymond. I have a Maine Coon cat, named Leo. He is sweet.

  21. Pingback: 31 Days Preparing for your First Craft Show - Booth Display | Crochet Business | Guest Blogging | Crochet Blog | Crochet Jobs | Selling Crochet

  22. Robyn Baldwin says:

    The perfect little blankie for that head,thanks heaps

  23. Lynne says:

    I love your colours, do you sell patterns and yarn?

  24. Jaishri says:

    Hi im a newbie and trying this out 🙂 im a lil confused …im ending round 3 on ch1 and sl st.
    round 4 starts with ch3 2dc in ch3 space…how do i get to this ch3 sp across 3 dc from previous row?
    like i said i may sound dumb 😛

  25. Cathleen Garcia says:

    This is a fantastic idea. Thanks for making a mistake. I am currently making a crochet lampshade and have been looking for a triangle pattern. This might just work. Thanks again.

Leave a comment