I love Sunday

Hello!  It feels like AGES since I’ve posted… I think it has only been 4 days, but it feels like longer…  The reason?  Well, sadly my holidays finished (*sniff*) and I’ve been filling my days with classes… practical placement hours… WORK!  I’ve got a very busy few weeks coming up, with class 5 days a week (9-3.30, just like school!), practical work and my job thrown in for good measure.  So not so much wooly goodness will be happening, but I’m sure I’ll squeeze in some time for creative pursuits!  In fact, this Wednesday, I am attending my first ever meeting of “the crafty foxes,” a group of creative wonder-women who meet in the city twice a month.  I’m so excited, and will tell you all about it on thursday!  And once those few busy weeks are up, a week of wonderful exciting happiness will begin which I’ll tell you all about in good time!

It’s sunday again, my favourite day as I work on friday and saturday, so am very ready for a day off on sunday!  Plus, its vege market day, so I was there in the near-dark again this morning, stocking up on all my fresh goodness!  I’ve been cooking up a storm this morning, getting dinners for the week ready and freezing them, enjoying all the fresh produce I purchased today!  When I was leaving the market, I still had some coins, and as I walked past the plant stall, I spied these!  I was so greatly inspired by Vanessa’s lovely garden post yesterday, it made me yearn for some flowery prettiness at my house!

I bought a few and brought them home to put in a pot, they’re living on my lounge table right now, and they make me feel happy every time I see them!  And at $1.50 per plant they were a steal.  After the market, I saw them in the supermarket for $3.97 per plant… such is the difference between market and “super”market in Wellington!

I really really really hope they live… I’m the world’s worst gardener, which upsets me, as I want to grow things, and confuses me because my moon is in Taurus and Taureans are meant to have green thumbs… (to find out your moon sign click here!)  I have been known to kill a parsley plant which lived on my windowsill… ) So wish me luck, because they are just so pretty!

Enough blathering… I’m going to share today, my dairy-free healthy cake recipe.  *GASP*  I swore I would never ever share it, because I bake one for every event I go to and people LOVE it because it’s healthy and delicious!  But I’m sharing it now because I get so much inspiration from my lovely lovely blog friends, and the depth of sharing in this community has blitzed any baking selfishness I have suffered from!

It’s my own secret recipe, and it’s hard to share, because I have no recipe, and I never measure the ingredients, and it changes every time, but I’ve done my best!  So get a pen and write this down!

I use the same recipe whether I bake cakes or muffins, it’s very multi-purpose!

Either grease your tin with marge, or make some muffin tin liners with greaseproof paper… I’m doing muffins today because I can’t be bothered scrubbing a cake tin.

Into a bowl, add 1 free range egg, 1 cup of raw sugar and 1/3 cup of oil.  Olive, rice bran, as long as it’s not that vile canola, you’re good!  Then add 3 heaped teaspoons of cinnamon.  (yes it’s heaps but tastes so good!)  Mix together well.

Now for the fruit.  Use anything that needs using.  In these muffins I’ve put 2 bananas (because my frozen banana stash in my freezer is getting out of control!) and I’ve grated 3 apples.  Put in heaps of fruit because these are meant to be healthy muffins to be enjoyed a lot!  So maybe 1 1/2 cups of fruit?

Now add a cup of other stuff.  This can include nuts, dates, sultanas, dried apricots, linseeds, sunflower seeds, just whatever you have in your cupboard that needs using.  I’ve added nuts because I cleaned out my cupboards yesterday and found about 5 packs of nuts with about 4 nuts left in each one ha ha, and dates because I LOVE dates!  In the last batch I made I added sunflower seeds that I’d had in my sprouter, and they were GOOD! 

Then add 1 cup of rolled oats and 1/2 cup of bran.

If you’re thinking, wow, this is going to be a big cake, you’re right, but that’s the point!  So, mix all that in, then add 3 heaped teaspoons of baking powder, 1/2 cup of plain white flour and 2/3 cup of wholemeal flour.  Then wet the mixture with soymilk until it is reasonably sloppy, it needs to be nice and wet so the cake stays moist.

Add to cake tin or spoon into muffin trays!  Embellish with some dark chocolate if you’re lactose intolerant, if you’re a milk drinker, add a big dollop of cream cheese, or chocolate YUM!  And bake at 180 degrees C until baked.  I didn’t time these, but when they look cooked, pull them out 🙂

Wait until they have cooled!  You must!  They taste so much nicer cool!

I took 2 muffins as a gift for my downstairs neighbour… she came to the door with Raymond in her arms, so I won’t see much of him today!  She uses her heater more than us, so he much prefers visiting her!

So now I’ve done my cooking and baking mission, I have the rest of the day to begin about 4 different assignments, do some yoga and continue with my latest WIP!

I’m making that beautiful touchyarn my mum gave me into a hat for ME!  Yes yes… it’s on straight needles, I am not skilled with circular needles and sew up seams flawlessly!  Please enjoy the colours!  I am!  After I’ve had a go at that, I’m going to begin a crochet scarf in a cool new fan stitch… watch this space!

Have a lovely and wonderfully magical day!  I’m off to make a coffee and eat a(nother) muffin!

Thank you so much for stopping by!  I love your visits and comments, you’re all just the best!  Love and blessings from Alice and Raymond XX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Knitting!, Other Ramdom Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to I love Sunday

  1. Leah says:

    They look delish and very filling. I will be giving these a try. Thanks for sharing.

  2. kate says:

    hmm, yum, they look so good…I don’t much ever feel like baking but I do feel like dark chocolate now! The colours of your new hat are gorgeous-what a pretty yarn…good luck with your busy weeks ahead.

  3. Penelope says:

    Oh tahnk you Alice, this recipe looks super scrummy. It’s been so hot here on the south coast of England that I haven’t feltmuch like baking but the last couple of days are cooler , so I think my little Alice or Allypops as we like to call her and I should get baking! We did make “cheesy feet” yesterday, a Nugella Lawson recipe with cheddar cheese, butter, flour and baking powder (and we add a litte pepper) made into a dough, rolled out ad cut with a foot cookie cutter and viola …we have yummy cheesy feet xox ps I finished her shell mitts and will do a post doon, they are heavenly , thanks for sharing xox

  4. liz says:

    I can honestly say, that i have had the privlege of trying one of these muffins, and they are truly heavenly, they seriously are the BEST muffins i have ever had in my life. You can just taste the goodness with each bite!!! Cant wait to try them out myself!

  5. Patz says:

    Hi! And thank you for popping over mine ;-D. I am glad you enjoyed the cushion 🙂 This is what i like most I think in the blog world: you can see something you like and make it yours with other colours,a different yarn or a bigger hook… Oh, the possibilities 😉
    Haven’t tried this recipe yet; just made choc chips banana bread today, and I really shouldn’t have ^^
    Can’t wait to see your next project 😀
    Take care
    XOX

  6. Amanda says:

    Tim just walked through and said “wow, they look good” so I think I may have to try the muffins with wheat-free flour and see how they come out!

    I had to laugh when you mentioned Raymond being at your neighbours… in our old house our neighbours had a cat called Pippi who preferred being at ours because she liked all the attention and at her house there were several cats, so we’d wake up and she’d be at the door, peering in and would often spend an entire day with us. I miss her lots because I am such a softie and will sit giving cats (or any animal for that matter) all the attention they want for hours.

    As for Taureans being good at gardening, I’ll put that to the test… I’m not too bad at it and I’m a very typical Taurean (I’m a very typical 36/9 too -my parents think it’s hilarious how the write-up about Taureans and 36/9ers are always so spot on for me… I was definitely born when I was good and ready to come!!)

    I hope you had a lovely Sunday – by the look of your final photo, you had everything you needed to enjoy it xx

  7. Those muffins look delicious!! I will have to give them a go next time I have to ‘take something along’ I daren’t make them here or I will eat them all 🙂

    I am starting back at my yoga class tomorrow after a break for the school holidays…BLISS and boy does my body need a good stretch!

    Love the wool for the hat! Got any tips for sewing up the seams as I always seem to make a mess not matter how neatly I line the stitches up?

    I am just having a play around with a cable (simple) scarf, I was inspired by Vanessa’s lovely dress and those beautiful cables at the top stunning!

    Crafty Foxes…great name and sounds like fun! Enjoy 🙂

  8. frances says:

    Alice your muffins are on my list, oh wow, how delish they look and taste I bet. Thanks for sharing your ‘secret’ recipe, we will guard it with our lives. hmmmmm, yummy. Give Raymond a cuddle from me will you. I know what you mean re being busy, it’s all systems go and books out for me this week also. *yikes* but it has to be done. I want to make me another beanie too, but not sure exactly when. I want to make a floppy kind of beanie, sort of between a beret and beanie, I guess I could call it a ‘bernie’. lol. ok time to go Joyce, time to go. Have a lovely week my dear blog friend.

  9. Ana Luisa says:

    Hello and thanks for the recipe, I like to make muffins, and these sound delicious.
    BTW, you mention canola oil being nasty, why? I much prefer it over soy-bean, which makes me ill, just a thought. Thanks!

  10. mandy says:

    hi

    wow i am loving your blog and of course had to come over and see this recipe as im always looking for scrummy veggie cakes! these look yummy yummy. i didn’t know you could freeze mashed banana??? do you just mash it and freeze it?

    once i get home im going to blog about you… i love your blog… it’s so interesting!

    mandyx

  11. Dear Alice,

    I live in Moscow, Russia and I am a huge fan of your blog!! I’ve crocheted a lot of stuff using your tutorials, and today I’ve baked these delicious muffins!!! Thank you ever so much!!! I put frozen blackcurrant and some cranberry, and 3 teaspoons of cocoa in addition to 3 teaspoons of cinnamon. 🙂
    Here they are:

    and here is a bit of crochet stuff:

    the green cushion in the middle was made with your tutorial.

    Thanks again!!

    Love

    Olga

  12. Jane says:

    Hi Alice
    Thanks so much for the recipe – I made it a couple of days ago and it was fantastic!
    🙂

  13. Louise says:

    ooo a they look scrummy! Spinning, Siamese cats, Knitting and Vegetarianism- a girl after my own heart! lol. Re your post on my blog- fancy a free sample of my spinning batts for your wee peggy? x

  14. I baked a version of your cake yesterday, with apple, banana and walnuts and it is fantastic, thanks!! 🙂

  15. I have written and ofcourse translated your muffins recipie to Icelandic, and am certanly gonna try and bake some 😀 They look delicious and the ingredients are all that I like. I am gonna try and put almonds in it and dates and cinnamon and apples and some seeds — looking forward trying this out.

Leave a comment