Do you dare to wear a granny square?

I’m not sure if I’d manage a granny square evening dress….

But I’m loving the cowl I made last week and have been quite excited to show you!

I must apologise for the photos, I’ve cropped them right down this week, so you can’t see the whole effect, but let me tell you, it really is lovely, I tried it on my friend to see how it looked on someone and couldn’t get it off her and back around my neck fast enough!

Being that we are heading into winter at what seems like a veeeeeery fast pace right now, I’m obsessed with cowls and this I have to tell you, is the first of a series of cowl posts.  Cowls are my new thing, neck warmey snuggliness without flappy ends, they are perfection.  I’ve got another one on the hook right now which I’ll share with you when it’s finished, but I was also thinking it would look fabulous in Lovely Lucy’s Granny Stripe pattern too!

Anyway, let me tell you how I made this one before I run off telling you about others to make!   Even though I’m sure most people reading this are Granny Square making legends, I’ve added a quick pattern below…

  • Begin with a magic ring/ sliding loop, ch3 (counts as 1dc) 2dc into ring, ch3, 3dc into ring, repeat twice more and join with a slst to 3rd ch of original 3ch.  Pull loop tight.  Fasten off.
  • Attach new colour with a slst into 2ch space, ch3 (counts as 1dc) into same space make 2dc, ch3, 2dc, ch1, *into next 2ch space make 3dc, ch3, 3dc, ch1* repeat ** until end of round and join with a slst to 3rd ch of original 3ch.  Fasten off.
  • Attach new colour in corner space with slst, ch3 (counts as 1dc) into same space make 2dc, ch3, 3dc, ch1, into next 1ch space make 3dc, ch1, *into corner space make 3dc, ch3, 3dc, ch1, 3dc into next space, ch1* continue until end of round and join with a slst into 3rd ch of original 3ch.
  • Repeat until granny square is at desired size. 

I made my squares with a 5.5mm hook so they would be nice and drapey and not resemble a granny square neck brace, and used 8ply wool in 6 different colours, so 6 rounds in total, which makes a nice big granny square.

Make one, and on the last round of the second square, join as you go to one side of the first square.  If you’re not a fan of the join as you go method, you can obviously slip stitch them later or sew them, your choice!  I made seven in total, which made my cowl long enough to wrap around my neck twice.  (Cozy and warm yay!)

Once you are finished joining your squares, even up the edges by joining a new colour with a slst, ch1, sc into all of the stitches except when you reach a joining place between two squares, in these stitches (the 3ch gaps from the last rounds) make a hdc to make the edge nice and straight and not dip at the join.  Join with a slst to first ch, repeat other edge.  I went around then and did a row of dc clusters, but these are not necessary, you might like to do none, or one, or ten to make it a big chunky cowl!

In fact, the possibilities are huge, you can make them with lots of little squares, I think I’m going to have to spend this weekend (Easter yay!) trying out some of these possibilities!  I’m loving this cowl and have had so many comments on it from people, including strangers which is always telling!  I say to them, it’s not often you get an excuse to wear a granny square, and they all agree!

So what do you think?  Is it still cool enough to hook yourself up a granny cowl before summer hits?  I’m thrilled with this and can’t wait other variations pop up around the place!

Allright lovelies, I’m off, this morning I have begun my Easter break, the sun is shining and I have lots of fun knitting and hooking to do, walks to go on, assignments to finish and books to read, sending you lots and lots of love and blessings!

From Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Granny Squares. Bookmark the permalink.

76 Responses to Do you dare to wear a granny square?

  1. I love it……..cool idea, simple, but yet stylish

  2. Lisa Coull says:

    Ooooooooooh it’s beautiful, being a novice ‘hooker’ I haven’t dared try a granny square yet, changing colour scares me a bit!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m going to be brave and try it this Easter hollybobs 🙂

    • Tamara says:

      As a novice hooker, I found the granny square much easier, though changing colors is still iffy for me, the squares themselves are incredibly simple and much easier to keep track of then a row of stitches, I find.

  3. Eve says:

    Perfect! I LOVE your color choices on this one. We just finished Winter here, so I will have to do this next year. Enjoy your Easter break!

  4. Heather says:

    ooooh that looks RATHER snuggly! Best thing for winter. I still find it weird that you have Easter in winter and Christmas in Summer … I mean I know that different hemispheres = different seasons but still, it feels a bit hard to get my head around!
    Much love xxxxxxx

  5. Rachel says:

    Beautiful!!
    I love the cowl
    I wore my first granny square scarf to work, and got lots of compliments
    and it made me feel happy wearing it all day

  6. colette says:

    It looks really nice. I brought some alpaca just after I sent off Wei Siew’s bundle (I should have waited) and it can with a scarf pattern for a tiny granny square scarf but I think the cowl idea is better. Still cool here in the evenings although this is turning out to be a scorcher of a spring in the UK.

  7. flutter says:

    Yes Miss Alice. Of course.. I have 8 more squares to go and then the edging of my granny square cardi.. I can’t wait till it’s finished…. I love granny squares they are so versitile…

  8. Joanna says:

    I love it! The colours you have chosen are lovely. I think I will have a go at making some of these for next winter. We are having lovely spring weather here at the moment – took my crochet to the park at lunchtime today – it looks set to last over the easter weekend – yay! xxxxx

  9. Misty says:

    It’s beauuuuuutiful. You did a remarkable job, I can see why your friend didn’t want to give it back. Can’t wait to see the next one. Good luck.

  10. Sarah says:

    Oooh, that’s lovely!!

    While I remember do check out my blog post here and scroll to the bottom for my cat Jasper – Raymond’s double!!: http://shabbychicsarah.blogspot.com/2011/04/april-already.html

    S x

  11. Jillian_R says:

    Great Job!! I really like your color combinations too. It looks so very cozy!

  12. Nikkole says:

    I love it!!!! The colors are perfect and it looks sooo cozy and comfy! I can’t wait to see the next one 😀 Enjoy your Easter break Alice!

  13. Ferabeth says:

    OMG! It’s only just spring here in DC, but I can hardly wait for fall to make one of these! Awesome!

  14. LeeAnn says:

    Lovely cowl! I’ll have to try this out when the weather gets cool enough again (it’s already to hot here!)

    When you first said “do you dare to wear a granny square” I immediately thought of this pattern I’ve had my eye on for awhile, I thought you might be interested in looking at it too! http://www.ravelry.com/projects/demandaj/granny-shrug

  15. Hannah says:

    I am in love with cowls to! In fact ive just finnished crocehting my one, i just did i ina long SC, =) loving your colours!

  16. Louise says:

    I love it! The colours are beautiful. I will definitely have to make one of these for next winter.

  17. Alice that cowl is divine!!! I have just made one as well but I didn’t get any photos as it was whipped out of my hands almost faster than I could finish it 🙂 Three of my friends were bidding for it! I did a green chunky yo-yo centre and then a green mohair square around that. I edged them all in chocolate mohair and then did the shell edging in chocolate too. It looked cool, was a bit longer than yours so you could wear it down over your shoulders as well 🙂 I have had lots of other ideas pop into my head for granny cowls, I liked the idea of small squares as well but I did a hat last year and a bag and they take ages!!!! Maybe yo-yo’s??? I love the colours of yours, just gorgeous…..enjoy wearing your cowl and don’t take your eyes off it, they are very popular 🙂

  18. Colette. says:

    Great !! Your colors choice are just marvelous . Thanks to share ! You’re very talented.

  19. LOVE it! Was just thinking last night about whether or not to try a Granny Square scarf but this is so much better. Beautiful. Thanks for the inspiration,
    Sandra x

  20. Joyce says:

    Love it Alice, love it. I have a plain fluffy red knitted cowl I made last year and without fail get compliments on it. They are the warmest of warms for sure. Love the colours you have used also. Have a wonderful rest of week at your place.

  21. jarlov says:

    That looks lovely Alice! I am making a knitted lacy cowl for my sister – plain grey by request! I love the colours you’ve used, so gorgeous… Definitely a great accessory for Wellington!!!

    Sophia

  22. Annette says:

    Always a wonderful surprise from you…and oodles of inspiration. The colors your used here are simply divine! Can’t wait to see what else you’re up to! Warm regards from a new fan of yours, Annette

  23. penelope dubois says:

    Ooohhh – I like that! The possibilities are endless.
    I am seeing many cowls in my future, because I am STILL wearing my winter jacket and a nice wooly beret!!
    Raymond needs a cowl!!!

  24. Dawn Marie says:

    Ooooh me likey! Perfect for Scottish winters!

  25. Lynda says:

    Lovely colors Alice, I’m a cowlaholic too, but haven’t made one with squares yet. I did try a granny stripe mobius cowl a few months ago, it’s on my Ravelry projects – lyndamk

  26. It is lovely. I think it would look nice on me – if I can just convince the goatmother to hook me one.

  27. Melissa says:

    Oh my goodness! I’m in love! You would show this as I’m in 70 degree (F) weather. I’ll just have to make sure I get one made before winter comes back around.

  28. Jo-anne says:

    That looks lovely Alice & I think the colours go really well together 🙂
    I might just have to make myself a cowl.

  29. aeonie says:

    It looks great!! I am sure when you wear it out there will be lots of envious people!!

  30. Sandi says:

    I wrote a comment and it has disappeared. Your cowl is lovely Alice, I look funny in cowls as I am of very slim build and they all look so BIG on me, scarfs too, however I still wear the scarfs. I have just seen a lovely scarf pattern (crochet) I will have to take a photo and pop it onto my blog later, see what you think, I thought of you when I saw it.
    x Sandi

  31. Lee says:

    Love the cowl. So simple, so chic. Missed you last week. Good to take a break though and come back and feel appreciated. Keep those hooks working. It is the season!
    Winter’s on its way to Aus too, just that bit cooler and back to layering.
    Have an enjoyable Easter break.
    Lee

  32. Regula says:

    After the winter is befor the winter. There will be the time for a scarf in no time (Yours look lovely). But for now let’s enjoy spring. It is especially beautiful this year. 🙂

  33. Louise says:

    You ar a trend setter.

  34. MeredithJean says:

    It’s gorgeous and your colours are great. You got just the right amount of ‘flop’ by the look of it – not flat and not stiff – well done! Yes let’s all wear granny squares ha!

  35. Susan Wright says:

    Hi Alice and Raymond of course.

    Love your granny cowl, the colours are beautiful.
    Here in the uk we are having a little heatwave at the moment and i have just finished my flower scarf !!! Thanks for the inspiration, it is such a simple but effective pattern,
    Have a lovely Easter.
    xxxxx

  36. Amanda says:

    Do you know (and I am slightly ashamed to admit this) I have never crocheted a granny square” *GASP* How crazy is that? I just kinda skipped that part of crocheting and went into other designs. Part of it, I think, is because my Grandma used to crochet granny blankets (the ones that are like a HUGE granny square rather than one made up of several stitched together) and I never liked the colour choices when I was a child. So I never really associated granny squares with something I wanted to do. Then, of course, I see crocheters using beautiful colour combos now and think maybe I should try something with some granny squares, but I just never seem to do it. Maybe I should… I’m a bit busy crocheting for baby right now, but maybe come autumn/winter I’ll have a go as they will be nice and quick little things to crack on with in those very rare quiet moments (I don’t expect many in those first few months of motherhood!!)

    That is my long way of saying I think your granny cowl is cool and is being added to the list of cool granny items that are changing my opinion on the humble granny square! xx

  37. Karisma says:

    Oh it is most lovely! And yes I would wear it. Thanks for sharing, I will have to give it a go when I am back from my holidays. I have spent the last week making baby jackets in the hexagon pattern.

    htpp://karismaskraft.blogspot.com

  38. Ooh, thanks for the inspiration Alice, I will definitely make one.

  39. Debs says:

    Alice I LOVE your cowel. Fabulous colours and its just so beautiful. I’m going to print off your blog page (if you don’t mind) and pop it into my crochet pattern folder to remind me of it next Autumn. Here in the UK we’re having a mini heatwave; Spring is giving us the best weather we’ve had for ages, and its looking good for Easter. I’m not really in the mood for wool at the moment. Enjoy your Easter break and much love to you, KB and Raymond. xx

  40. Natasja says:

    Hi, I love your granny cowl! I made something very similar a couple of months ago for the English winter (http://ekhekel.blogspot.com/2010/11/33-n-grannie-ommie-nek.html).

    I used Noro for the centre 2 rounds as well as the picot edge around the whole cowl, Rowan Handknit cotton (the purple and green) and a chenele (pink).
    Granny cowls are brilliant!

  41. Jane says:

    I love it, Alice! it *almost* makes me wish it was autumn here instead of spring 😉 Please will you put a link on your sidebar with your other tutorials? or I’ll have forgotten to make one by the time it’s autumn! I thought you might like to see this too: http://tangledhappy.blogspot.com/2011/03/granny-square-apron.html – it’s a pattern for a granny square apron, which is so cute!
    Jane xx

  42. Teje says:

    Hello Alice! Really great idea! It’s beautiful, simple and defenetely very useful! I’m sure I’ll make mine in autumn! Thank you for inspiration and Happy Sunny Easter!
    xxx Teje

  43. Penelope says:

    Clever Alice! Love your beautiful granny cowl, such autumnal colours and wow does it look cosy. It’s always the best when strangers compliment you on your makes :0) I love the idea of cowls too, with no ends! We are having an incredibly warm spring at the moment, it’s glorious, winter seems far away now. i think a cowl will be on the agenda for this coming autumn. Thanks for your inspiration xox Penelope xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  44. Julie says:

    A glorious combination of colours for your cowl, it’s brilliant, i’ve got plenty of time to make myself one for our winter, we’ve just hit spring although todays temps are well into the 20’s and its more like summer!

  45. Louise says:

    By the way Alice, Could it be time for a crochet with Raymond rav group? Your stuff keeps appearing on the first few pags of many a search I make. I realise that you are up to the eyes but most groups are started by a fan. Somewhere for people to show Alice projects and appreciate you.If anyone offers say YES. I realise that that was bossy, sorry, but DO!!

  46. Cheryl says:

    I adore this!!! I’ve just recently started crocheting granny squares… I “must” have a granny square blanket for some reason!! I’ve been a knitter for years but I love the idea of a granny square cowl – you can crochet them up quickly and make several to match various outfits!! Too bad it’s nearly in the 80’s here already… but I’ll make a few for next year! Thanks so much for sharing!! Blessings!

  47. Meredith says:

    Alice, I love it. I have thought of making a granny scarf, but this might be even better. I love the colors anjust want to say thanks of the pattern info. You are amazing.
    Have a lovely day,
    Meredith

  48. Anna says:

    beautiful 🙂

  49. Lucy says:

    I am on quite a Granny Square Marathon at the moment, I am trying to rescue an old blanket, I would definitely wear the Granny square and love your scarf. I am tempted to make Granny square trousers!

  50. Ann says:

    Alice,

    As always I love your projects, and look forward to your blog posts. I wish you would tell us what yarns you are using, like for the granny cowl. You always say “8 ply wool”, but what brand are you using? Is it the same as you use for the tea cosy? And the mandalas?

    Great work – great blog – thanks so much!!

    Ann

  51. Sam says:

    I LOVE your granny cowl. I almost wish we were going into winter…..almost. 🙂

    I need to get some summer patterns. I keep finding scarf and cowl patterns that I like.

    I love your color choices! What yarn did you use? colors?

    -Sam

  52. Sara says:

    I would totally dare to wear these granny squares! I love this idea. 🙂

  53. Pati from London says:

    I’m loving the idea of your cowl!! The summer is coming here, though so I will put it on my to-do list for the autumn… x Pati

  54. Hilde says:

    Wow! Beautiful!! 🙂 And I love the coloures!

  55. LisaJedi says:

    Hi Alice. I was so inspired by your cowl that I made a Grandala Square version in rainbow colours. Here’s the link to my blog post: http://youcanknitwithalighsaber.blogspot.com/2011/05/rainbow-cowl.html
    Thanks so much for your continuing inspiration!!! I hope your cowls (socks, etc 🙂 keep you warm this winter!

  56. Tan says:

    I cannot stop staring at this cowl. It’s flippin’ gorgeous. I’ve already bought some yarn to make one of my own, and my hooks are getting impatient to start!

    Thanks so much for sharing

    xxx

  57. Belinda says:

    Hi Alice, I’m new around here and loved this so much I had to make one of my own! You can see it here: http://bebybelinda.blogspot.com/2011/05/crochet-cowl.html
    Thanks for the pattern!

  58. SilviSherr says:

    I am so going to make one of these!!

  59. Paarvaaz says:

    It is really beautiful.

  60. Sara says:

    Hello Alice. I have been admiring this gorgeous thing for months. It is cooling down here. Finally fall! I would love to share this at Tangled Happy next week. Hope to hear back from you. Wishing you a happy weekend. 🙂

  61. Pingback: Tuesday Talk – July 12, 2011 | Mybitsandbleeps's Blog

  62. Sophie says:

    Hey Alice
    Love the scarf it is extremely trendy!!!!!!!!

  63. Dania van der Walt, Gouritsmond, South Africa says:

    i have just happened onto your blogspot and are thouroughly enjoying it. I love granny crochet.
    Thanks for all the stories about Raymond!
    Dania

  64. Julie Wickham says:

    Ooooohhhh this is EXACTLY the inspiration I was needing for what to make with some gorgeous snuggly wool I found this week! And there is snow predicted this weekend in KwaZulu Natal (South Africa) so best I get going quick quick!!!! Thank you for such a lovely pattern. Regards
    Julie

  65. Soleil says:

    Hello Alice! I love your cowl! And now I’m crocheting my own… Thank you very much for the idea and for the description how to!
    ~ Olga

  66. mysterioussmysteries says:

    I love granny squares. Especially after I got the hang of making one. Now To find yarn to make me an afghan.lol
    Loving those colors.

  67. I want to make this immediately!!!

  68. Pingback: Relax With Your Favorite Hobby or Craft Project | Xuron Tools Blog

  69. Pingback: WIP Wednesday – Granny Square Cowl And A Thank You – Sand And Sky Creations

  70. Pingback: FO Friday – Granny Square Cowl – Sand And Sky Creations

  71. CeltChick says:

    I came over thru Peacefully Knitting, via Sand and Sky Creations. I haven’t done much crocheting in quite a while, but this idea is so tempting! And I need a new cowl, mine’s getting rather pill-y. I will check out the stash for some assorted colors in nice yarns. Thanks!

  72. I think your colors are key. You have a marvelous sense of color. I love the teapot cozies!

  73. sophieR says:

    Merci pour le modèle, tes photos m’ont permis de le refaire….

  74. salaminoepatata says:

    I found your blog recently ..it’s really nice and I’m a little bit sad because you don’t write anymore
    xxx

  75. Sonia says:

    I love this work!!!

Leave a comment