A Crochet Leaf!

Hellooooo!!!

I’m just quickly popping in to give you the instructions on how to make these!

I have just finished cropping all the photos I took for a tutorial on how to make a lovely pointy petal flower, but as the mist is so think today I can’t see past my balcony, all of the pictures have turned out rubbish, so I’ll do it again a bit later on!

Leaf instructions are:

I used 8ply wool and a 4mm hook (I’m hooking along as I write this to ensure I’m getting it right!!!) and American terminology!

Ch 10.  dc into 3rd chain from hook, htr into next ch, tr into next ch, htr into next ch, dc into next ch, hdc into next ch, sc into last 2 ch.  (You should have run out of chain here!)

Make picot by ch3, slst into 3rd ch from hook.

Now working along the opposite side of the leaf, sc into first 2ch, hdc into next 2ch, dc into next ch, htr into next ch, dc into the next ch, sc into last ch.

Fasten off and leave a nice long tail to sew your leaf onto whatever you are embellishing!

OK then, I have to fly!  I’ve got High Tea happening at 2pm today and I have to go and bake a cake!

Lots of love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Crochet Flowers. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to A Crochet Leaf!

  1. Penelope says:

    Hi Alice, thank you, such a useful pattern to have xox Hope you enjoyed your high tea xxxPenelope

  2. Ana says:

    Oh, just when I needed a crochet pattern for a small leaf, you give me one! Thank you so much!

  3. High tea sounds wonderful and so does cake! Nice little leaf….now where can I use some of them…. 🙂

  4. Melissa says:

    Very cool! Enjoy tea.

  5. MeredithJean says:

    Hhhahahhahhahaaaaa SO funny to see your leaf at the top of my blogger board. And very nice leaf it is, good one Alice :)) You and Raymond are a quirky pair, love ya xxx.

  6. Pati from London says:

    Thanks for the pattern Alice and enjoy high tea!!! It does sound grand! x Pati

  7. Amanda says:

    Oh how lovely, just in time to make some flowers for Spring!! Thanks for sharing this, I’ll let you know how I get on 😉

  8. Gail says:

    Hi Alice, The wool in your previous post is amazing! I love the colors. I am having a go with the african flowers, thank-you for the pattern. What size hook and what type of wool did you use? The colors are so vibrant. Mine have come out ok, but are ranging in size, depending on the wool used. Gail

  9. Thank you Alice, I love the idea of crocheting a leaf, absolutely charming! And I love the idea of high tea, we used to have that at boarding school as I recall, hope your cake turns out fan-dabi-dosie! Love Vanessa xxx

  10. Tigerlily says:

    Hellos; Love your blog as I am also a tea obsessed hooker 🙂 I came across it looking for leaves to finish a project I’m working on but I’m left a little baffled by this pattern. You say you’re using American terminology but I can’t find directions for half-treble stitch for the life of me. Are you sure you’re not using English terms? If not, do you think you could fill me in on your secret stitch? Thanks for the pattern!

  11. sharon says:

    I”m also a little bit confused with the directions and can not find Htr in USA terminology. Can you please help??

    Thanks!

  12. Hi there ladies!
    I’m sorry that the stitch htr has caused you confusion, it’s a stitch I’ve ome across a lot when making flowers. It’s the same as hdc but with an yarn over hook and extra loop… if you google any stitches I’ve used, you’ll probably find some decent explanations, I know that someone over at ravelry googled it and solved many people’s problems!!!!! Good luck and have fun!
    XXXXX

  13. Chantelle says:

    Ok, I know I’m sounding a bit like a broken record here – but I have searched high and low for the perfect leaf… and finally here it is! Geesh, what a find your blog is! Thanks once again.

  14. angelina says:

    HI CUTIE! i do love this…..and what about the crochet jar holder on ravelry?
    x

  15. Marisol says:

    Hi Alice: I’m crocheting a beautiful afghan with roses and leafs. But I was having a hard time with the leaf instructios, until I found your site. So thank you.
    Marisol

  16. Jene says:

    Here’s what I did with your awesome leaf…..made elf ears for a christmas elf hat that I made for my work holiday party!!! It was SOOOOO perfect!!! Thanks!!!!

  17. deb says:

    Great…..just what I was looking for!
    TY!
    Deb

  18. Pingback: a tiny forest

  19. OM says:

    I used your leaf pattern as a decoration for a bag/purse/thingie. If you want to see it, you can check it here: http://amothersoath.blogspot.com.es/2012/09/yarn-and-hooks-first-projects.html

    Thank you!

  20. Danyelle says:

    thank you very much! I needed a quick leaf for my pumpkin and ya’ll saved me the time and headache of figuring it out myself 🙂

  21. Pingback: Candy Box Dress Up

  22. Rosa says:

    Thank you, so much for this BEAUTIFUL leaf! I have my pattern for the Rose, but wonder if yours is better? I will try to find one.

  23. mumof2 says:

    I was looking for a pointy leaved flower pattern to make some cushion covers to match my mum’s decor and wallpaper and these little leaves will be ideal if I crochet them in dark red with silver edging and sew them into a flower shape! Thank you so much for sharing!

  24. Pingback: Tutorial: Yarn Embellished Vase | Aviena

  25. Pingback: Making My Case | Life Through My Eyes

  26. J says:

    I used your leaf design as a base to make a larger leaf for a rug. Thanks for getting me started!

  27. Pingback: Making My Case | The Pam Paradox

  28. Helen says:

    Hello from Australia, thank you for the leaf and granny tea cosy patterns. xx

  29. Pingback: Candy Box Dress Up - Simply Notable

Leave a comment