Knitted rose tutorial especially for Louise!

 So here is my freestyle pattern for knitting a rose, which I am posting especially for my friend Louise who is knitting an amazing tea cozy and wants to adorn the top of it with roses!  I can’t wait to see it!  It has been MONTHS since I’ve had needles in my hands because I’ve been busy hooking!  It was really nice to knit for a change… very inspiring!

I used 8ply wool for this, and size 7 needles to keep it light and not too tight!

Cast on 70 stitches, less for a smaller rose.

Knit approximately 6 rows in garter stitch, more if you want a bigger flower, less for smaller.  I knitted 6 rows for this rose.

Snip off a 30cm tail and thread onto a wool needle.  Then thread the wool needle through each stitch along the knitting needle.  Try not to split the wool.

Please notice how my nail polish matches the rose…  It’s not an accident, I take this hand modelling business very seriously.

When the stitches are threaded, take them off the needle…

And gently pull the end of the wool so the knitting coils up.

Now make it more “roseish” by pulling at it and sewing it up in the middle a bit.  Make it beautiful!  Now make  a leaf!  I used 8ply wool and number 4 needles… 

I cast on 8 stitches and knitted about 8 rows.  The you have to freestyle a bit.  I decreased 1 by knitting 2 stitches together, knit the next row.  Then for an interesting kink, I cast on 1, knit, decrease the next row.  Just have a fun play and make it kind of wavy.

Sew them together with the tail from the rose!  Voila!  Beautiful!  And super easy too.

I made this one into a brooch, and do you know what?  Just as I finished it, my mum rang and asked me to get ready and go to her cousin’s birthday lunch.  So the rose was wrapped up and given as an impromptu birthday gift and well appreciated!

I think you may need to go and make one.  Or two… or even more because they’re so fun and easy!!!

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Crochet Flowers, Knitting!, Patterns. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Knitted rose tutorial especially for Louise!

  1. That is so pretty and I love the professional touch with the nail polish 🙂

  2. Louise says:

    You are amazing!!! I can’t stop knitting these now, which is good because I need the practise! Thank you. Xx

  3. Beautiful! How can people be so creative?
    Thanks for sharing!
    😎

  4. Amanda says:

    I just made one of these, I’m hoping to add it to a hat for my daughter. I’m teaching myself to knit and this was the first thing I’ve completeled while I’m experimenting.

  5. Pingback: Making of Crochet necklaces...Tutorials with links - IndusLadies

  6. Jacqueline says:

    Which brand/type wool yarn do you use that you feel has best colors? Are you careful to use “superwash” wool yarn to prevent felting problems? You refer to 8 ply yarn a lot; and, here in California (USA), that does not always mean a lot. I have knitted and crocheted since I was 5 years old, so I can tell from your patterns, about what you are using. Your blog is gorgeous; lifts my day; have referred your site to my daughter — she burst with happiness over your colors and patterns. Thank you. PS: Raymond is also wonderful.

  7. Zizi says:

    Wonderful & so easy…… thank you very much! I think I start love knitting more and more 🙂

  8. diane says:

    GONNA TRY THIS LOOKING FOR A PATTERN LIKE THIS TO PUT ON CUSHION COVERS THANKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  9. Saz says:

    I’ve made two of these is the last two nights and have found it looks heaps cooler with thicker wool, I made one that had to be knitted on 3.75mm needles and one on 10mm needles and the 10 mm on looks nicer. The pattern is easy and looks awesome in general made up.

  10. Cida Lopes says:

    Adorei conhecer vocês fazem trabalhos maravilhosos e o Raymond é muito lindo e fofo.
    Como dizem aqui no Brasil…” vocês são tudo de bom!!!” Beijokinhas.

  11. Pingback: Örgüden Gül Yapımı | Hobi Fikirleri Yaratıcı El İşi Örnekleri

  12. Gemma says:

    Thanks so much for this pattern – I knitted a headband and this flower is the perfect finishing touch! 🙂 Lovely.

  13. Pingback: Flora and Fauna | Kniterly

Leave a comment