My new obsession!

Helloooo!!!

I hope you’re all having an enjoyable weekend!  It has been raining here, pouring actually, perfect weather for indulging in new obsessions…..

Are you ready to see mine?!

Here’s a clue….

Oh yes yarn-madness has truly taken hold of me, and I have started to create my own yarn, and do you know what?  I love it.

L.O.V.E.  I’ve fallen head over heels in love with spinning, I found myself daydreaming about spinning at work the other day, with one of those “new-love-affair” silly smiles on my face, its terrifying!  I love yarn, as we all know, otherwise I wouldn’t be blogging about it, and I’ve been getting a bit bored lately, even though I live in a country with an amazing and incredible wool industry.  It’s like I’ve been on a hunt for this amazing yarn that actually doesn’t exist, so I learned how to create it… it’s the yarn of my dreams.

So far I’ve created four different skeins, and I’m learning a lot about spinning as I go!  This afternoon was spent producing this…

I’ve named it “firecracker” and have no idea what I am going to make with it, I had a scarf planned (I still have more to spin) but have decided against it, so I’m not sure yet, but I can’t wait to see it knit!  Joy!  I discovered, when I knit a little something (to be shown soon enough) that the spinning I’ve been doing is self-striping, which makes it all very mysterious really… who knows what my knitting will look like?!

Knitting with handspun is quite amazing and brings a whole new dimension of wonder into the knitting process.  Every stitch is different and every row is beyond exciting, I’m having a ball and despite the fact that I’ve been spinning for most of the day, I can’t wait to do some more tonight… if only I could apply myself this diligently to my studies! But enough about my handspun, let’s talk about other people’s gorgeous creations!

If you’ve been following us for a long time, you will remember this post with some of my Mum’s gorgeous handspun, I love that first photo so much, those colours are just incredible!  Recently, my dear friend sent us a photo of our gorgeous fairy god-daughter Sophia wearing the handspun hat featured in that post, and as my dear friend is a kind and generous, lovely woman, she allowed me to post this picture of this darling little girl….. oooohhh she is soooooooooooooooooooo cute!

It was her FIRST BIRTHDAY yesterday!  I can’t believe she is one whole year old… it has flown by, so Happy Birthday to little Pixie from your Fairy God Mothers and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

OK then, I’m off, it’s only 7.30pm so I’ve got some time to do some spinning before I fall asleep!  Wishing you a beautiful day and a wonderful start to the week… hope Monday morning gives you something to smile about!

Lots of love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Baby Hats, Fairy God Children, Knitting Baby Clothes!, Spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to My new obsession!

  1. Planet Penny says:

    Oh Alice, I’ve come over all funny! That yarn is beyond gorgeous! I can see how it could grow into a complete obsession, and then you’ve got all the fun of knitting with it! WOW! (Going away now to drink a calming cup of tea….) love Penny (and Higgins xxx)

  2. Tickety-boo says:

    Spinning is like magic! I would be sooooo out my depth. You have taken to it like a real pro! Firecracker is fantastic, the colours are amazing. Love love love it.
    Now get some sleep Rip Van Winkle you have an essay to write ;o)
    Love
    Tickety-boo xxxxx

  3. So envious! Beautiful colours and lovely spinning wheel! Enjoy : )

  4. Colette says:

    Glad you have discovered the Buzz spinning gives you. I find it is like being transported back in time, just love how relaxing it is. Saying that, your yarn is amazing, wish what I make could look half as good as that, I still am at the learner stage and use mainly jacob fleece (as it was free).

    have a wonderful weekend.

  5. Teje says:

    Hi Alice! Vow – that yarn looks really beautiful and it will be exiting to knit! I’m happy for you to have new wool obsession! Have a lovely time!
    xxx Teje

  6. Amanda says:

    What a great new obsession to have!! I have a new obsession too and it is all thanks to you… I am obsessed with the granny mandala (and colour). Honestly, I don’t know why I never did any grannying before as I have become so obsessed over the weekend with it. I think it is because granny blankets were the only crocheted things I saw as a child and they were always made by people who used such dull colour combinations, but gradually over the past year people like you have shown me that grannies can be so amazingly beautiful and I finally got around to having a go and now there is no stopping me!

    I made two blue ones (one in one shade only and one in blues and white) to turn into the basis for a cot mobile for our son (it is meant to look like a cloudy summer’s day and I’ll dangle nature based items from it) and now I am crocheting a MASSIVE one out of pink, purple and white fluffy yarn I’ve had for ages and not known what to do with because Tim decided it would make a fab blanket for snuggling under come autumn/winter. And there is an added bonus to using up my yarn stash as it means I can go out and buy some more without feeling guilty as all the colours I have are very muted and I want bright, bright colours now!

    I am just totally obsessed with grannying and how quickly it comes together and how once I have the pattern in my head I can just sit and crochet away without another thought in the world. So thanks for inspiring me and giving me my own new obsession!

  7. Cuckoo says:

    It’s truly lovely. No wonder you are dancing on clouds over it! I would be too, actually I am, vicariously, through you!

    I’ve been knitting. Well, rabbiting really. I can’t work out how to pick up a dropped stitch, so I have to rabbit. It’s so hard!!!! I can’t even just rip back a little and then get the stitches back on to the needles. I have to rabbit right back till there’s nothing left!! I have to cast on AGAIN!!!! What with my blogger issues and my rabbiting yesterday I was savage. I had to come here to gaze at Raymond and some mandala’s to get a bit of healing…..it worked. I’m ready to cast on again. Thank you Alice and Raymond xxx

  8. Jane says:

    Oooh, how exciting! How wonderful to spin your own yarn and then make something with it… I said that to my friend the other day, and she looked at me gone out, but I’m with you🙂 I don’t suppose I’m likely to get to have a go for a few years yet (I’m still in my crochet obsession, with a sneaky little spark of interest in doing some applique), but I’ll enjoy watching what you make.
    Thanks for sharing it with us!
    Jane x

  9. Kate says:

    Beautiful post Alice! They always are, course, but so special to see your new yarn and little bubba is adorable!! Good luck with studying, unfortunately I can only advise what doesn’t work( coffee late at night!)
    have a lovely week, xo

  10. Susan Wright says:

    Hi Alice and Raymond and KB,

    That yarn is amazing absolutly gorgeous.Can’t wait to see what you create with it.
    Love Susan

  11. Regula says:

    Lovely!
    I’ve tried once, but …😉

  12. Karen says:

    Oh My Goodness, Oh my! Alice I’m soooo excited by Firecracker and the name is brilliant too. I have a feeling you are going to come up with some great names!! My eyes actually filled with tears of happy emotion when I saw Firecracker – I keep popping up the screen to have another look!! Please get KB to take a pic of you at the wheel for us!!! This is soooooo exciting, I’ve been wondering what you’ve been up to and honestly forgot to consider ‘spinning’!!! Can’t wait to see what comes off that wheel next. Hope KB doesn’t mind having the spinning wheel around now, at least it’ll make for a go slow on cushions etc LOL!!!!! Oh I’m so happy looking at Firecracker and your gorgeous spinning wheel – I have a shed full of alpaca and sheeps raw wool in various colours…………. I do have a spinning wheel but it’s more ornamental according to the shop I took it too to fix it to work properly! So great how you’ve got us all excited and on a real high now too! One of my cats is snuggled into me under my big jumper purring away contentedly, he must be able to feel my excitement, ahhh! xxxxxx

  13. Karen says:

    In all the excitement I forgot to say how gorgeous your little Fairy Goddaughter is. She looks sooooo cute and the hat is absolutely perfect on her. Thank her mama for letting us see the pic! I want to cuddle her, so pretty xxxxx

  14. Firecracker is a gorgeous looking yarn, can’t wait to see what you decide to make with it. Spinning looks fascinating, may your love affair with it last a long time.

  15. Tas says:

    I am so impressed with the results people get spinning. I am only learning about wool now and want to start dyeing. I don’t need any new obsessions at the moment so my hands are in my ears…..la la la la la…..not listening…..

  16. Hooray the spinning wheel!!! Are you spinning merino roving Alice? The stuff I get I find it too processed and lifeless and really hard to spin but if I can get my hands on some fresh fleece then that is a different story. Your wool looks divine, I love that firecracker with all the orange in it! Such a cute picture of your god daughter too 🙂 I love your new obsession!!

  17. 'me' says:

    oh no !! she has a new obsession !!! help !!!

    just kidding😉

    Have fun with it !
    I used to spin too, when I was 10.
    My mother and father did it and taugjt me how to do it.
    But they gave up on it a very long time ago, so i did too.
    But sometimes …
    and then I thibk : ‘ me’ ! when would you do that ? Bretween your kinitting, juwelery, wordking, crocheting, sewing, gardeining, taking pictures …
    So, i’m going to enjoy watching at your new obsession at your blog !

  18. allourdays says:

    Oh wow. I wondered if it would be spinning after reading your last post. I too have just fallen madly under the spell of the spinning wheel having acquired a new one just two weeks ago. I have followed your blog a while but never commented, will be following even more avidly now. Beautiful yarn, I’m still at the bobbly knots stage myself!

  19. penelope dubois says:

    How exciting! Pixie looks so adorable in that hat!
    I wanna spin so much, but just don’t have the tools. The whole idea is so therapeutic!
    I love your results!

  20. sandiart says:

    How is this for synchronicity, I was thinking of you and your spinning today whilst I was looking through the ‘Interweave’ site as they have a ‘hurt and overstock’ book sale and there were quite a lot on spinning and I thought to myself ‘I wonder if Alice would be interested in any of these books’ I was going to order myself a few on knitting and crochet but the postage was over $30 which meant that at the end of the day I would have just about paid full price for the half price books!!
    Your yarn is gorgeous, you should be very proud of yourself, the color is aptly named and I can’t wait to see what you make with it. Don’t you get such a buzz when you do something that you love and it turns out so beautifully. I am sure you would have been sending out lots of big sparkes of good energy. Has the yarn guru seen it yet and if so did he approve most heartily? I’m sure he would have.
    x Sandi

  21. Meredith says:

    Alice, your yarnis truely amazing. The colors are so fantastic they just POP on my computer screen. I can’t wait to see what you make with it. Happy Sunday,
    Meredith

  22. Carole says:

    Wow! I love your spinning wheel and your yarn is gorgeous and I can’t wait to see what you do with it🙂

    I hope you enjoyed your evening spinning!

    Carole xXx

  23. Terrie says:

    Ooooooo you lucky thing! I would love to try my hand at spinning. But honestly Alice, how do you fit it all in?! xx

  24. Hi, love the spinning, and the organic beauty of making your own wool then using it.
    Just came across this blog about spinning after reading yours, thought u might be interested
    http://inthesky1.blogspot.com/2011/06/design-for-terrified-creative-spinning.html
    take care and good luck

  25. Ripplestitchkin says:

    I’d love to see that crocheted in moss stitch, grit stitch, or slip stitch!

  26. Now you are talking! The goatmother has been saving our cashmere for a couple of springs now with the intent to have it processed. She does needle felting, but would love to learn how to spin it up. What a BEAUTIFUL spinning wheel! Wherever did you find such a lovely one? And, I need to mention that fairy god-daughter has the MOST amazing eyes!

    Such a wonderful new obsession and your yarn is amazing! Surely this isn’t the first time you’ve ever spun is it? Have a beautiful week. We were *supposed* to be sunny today, but alas, we share your rain instead.

  27. What a great new pasttime to enjoy and enhance your knitwork at the same time!

  28. Nikkole says:

    Oh Alice your firecracker yarn looks so wonderful! It must be so enjoyable to make your own yarn🙂 I can’t wait to see what you make with it!

  29. Penelope says:

    What a gorgeous explosion of colour Alice, firecracker is very apt for your stunning yarn. Howincredible that you can go back one step and spin your own yarn and then knit with it. Dare I ask if you hand dyed it? Soon you’ll be chasing you Mum’s sheep around the field :0)

    Your obsessiion is a very healthy one and don’t worry too much about this love affair it’s all above board and KB will love you even more for seeing what pleasure it gives you. as for your little Pixie well she’s a little cherub of sweetness and such a cutie with your beanie on xox I’m off to page through my book and am umming and ahhhing about what to knit first. I bought a skein of tres expensive madeline Tosh hand died yarn in Loop and don’t know what i can sqqqquueeeze out of it yet, maybe a coathanger or two or something a little closer to my skin for hyper appreciation! Look forward to seeing your fireworks soon xox Penelope

  30. Fabulous!!!! I love the colours of Firecracker and am also looking forward to following your obsession.

    It’s funny that you should post this as I had a conversation with my DH yesterday that went something like this…
    HIM: so you’ve moved from sewing to knitting, and now crochet – what on earth is going to be next?
    ME: probably spinning my own yarn, but don’t worry – not for a while yet
    HIM: Oh great! Next you’ll be wanting a small holding and your own sheep.

    So I will be eagerly awaiting your spinning posts!

    Have a great week xxxx

  31. Zuleika says:

    That yarn is amazing! All my fave colors rolled into one! You’re amazing for a beginner.🙂

  32. Joanna says:

    Wow how amazing to spin your own yarn. Firecracker is wonderful. Can’t wait to see what you make with it and can see how you can become obsessed with spinning. Joanna xx

  33. whitelavender says:

    Enjoy, it is the most relaxing good feeling, spinning wool. I was given a spinning wheel a month ago , a lovely small transportable like yours. It took me a while to get into the action but once I got going it was great. Your spun yarn looks wonderful. I am visiting a Fibre Expo this week at Cambridge with intentions of buying fleece, Really looking forward to it. Your fairy god daughter is gorgeous. As always enjoy reading your blog. Kind Regards Shirley

  34. kiwiyarns says:

    You’re very lucky you’ve got a mum with a farm full of sheep – no shortage of supply. he he. That skein looks lovely. I’m looking forward to seeing what you do with it. 🙂

  35. Nanita says:

    Oh wow, your Firecracker handspun wool looks absolutely amazing!!🙂

  36. Stel says:

    Alice,
    I want to ask permission to translate you stitch guide for an Afrikaans crochet page we just began on Facebook. Apart from haveing to distinguish between American and British, we have the very funny Afrikaans terms that translate to…er.. “long leg” and “short leg”… Would you mind of we do that? I’ll put up a link to you blog in the meantime.
    Thanks!

    Christelle (“Ons Hekel” on FB)

  37. Little Pixie is soooo sweeeet and so serious! Serious faces on babies are so funny and sweet aren’t they? She’s got beautiful eyes. Wonderful hat, she won’t be able to appreciate it just yet, but she will in time! I have to say I love your firecracker yarn, I can see you’ve found your calling there Alice. I tried spinning once, but it didn’t grab me, so I know that it takes a particular calm kind of temperament to take up spinning, and you’ve got it Alice. I know we’re going to be seeing a lot of beautiful yarn created by you from now on, how exciting! Love Vanessa xxx

  38. Melissa says:

    Your hand spun is GORGEOUS! This is something that I’ve wanted to learn as well. I think its very interesting how so may people start out knitting or crocheting, learn the other craft and then learn how to spin. It does become a bit consuming. Sophia is so adorable in her little hat. They do grow up quickly!

  39. Melissa says:

    OH! By the way, love the spinning wheel as well. Just beautiful!

  40. Dori says:

    I love the yarn you’ve spun! I recently started spinning myself, and it is very addictive. I don’t have the money for a wheel, so I’m just using a spindle, but it’s still great. Good luck with your new obsession! I look forward to seeing more of your homespun.

  41. Sara-Jane says:

    So excited for you! A few thoughts….
    1. I was at a fiber festival (small) and bought my first hand-dyed, hand spun yarn!!! It is a mix and match of several colors that one of the ladies from the fiber cooperative put together. It is beautiful! My husband was kind enough to buy it for me.

    While there I saw several ladies using a spinner thingy like yours. It was beautiful to watch them. They have a real touch – I can see that your already have that “touch.” by looking at Firecracker!!!

    2. Your socks isnpired me and I have made a pair (crocheted)! They are more like slippers since I used a thicker yarn. I need some practice but I hope by the time winter roles around I will have one decent pair.

    Good luck and I can’t wait to see some more yarn and what you create from “firecracker”!!!

  42. Michelle says:

    …i’m tres jealous. I’m relatively new to knitting and crochet but a fast learner. I have this little problem when i start a new ‘craft’; i gotta have it all. Like the spinner! I have NO idea how it works or how to start but i KNOW it’s in my future. Love those homespun yarns….can’t get them in any ole’ store…ya know?🙂 BTW, i’ve been reading your blog for awhile now (actually check it daily for updates)…all the way from Nova Scotia, Canada! Nice to meet ya ‘eh!

  43. juniperjune says:

    congrats & welcome to the spinning world! your yarn looks awesome! and your wheel is gorgeous; what kind is it? i’m still using a drop spindle mainly because i can’t afford a wheel right now, but someday in the not-so-distant future i plan on getting one!

  44. MeredithJean says:

    There’ll be no stopping you now Miss Creative!
    Make sure you watch your posture xxx. Remember Sleeping Beauty was exploring the upper turrets of the castle when she discovered a door she had never seen before? She gingerly opened it and to her amazement there was a little old woman (ha, as we know SB was probably aged around 14, ‘old’ means at least 30!) SPINNING! In the same way that the stage musical Wicked is the Untold Story of the Wizard of Oz, you, Alice B (accompanied by the ever encouraging Raymond) have commenced the Untold Story of Sleeping Beauty. Aha… The Rapture!
    xxx gosh I make myself laugh!

  45. miek says:

    that is realy great, love the colors.
    i have painted my fabric for some years and the colors did blend together so you didn`t know how would look in the end.
    that was magic, the waiting to see how it`s turn out, you lucky girl, you`ll get the same feeling.
    and the fact that you made it yourself is great.
    love to see more in the future,
    greetings

  46. Deb Kent says:

    These are great pictures and beautiful yarn. I could easily see myself becoming obsessed with this, but for the fact that there are no sheep to be found here in Indianapolis, although my partner (after a particularly lengthy brushing session with the Furminator on our lovely/hairy dog Sasha) suggested we try spinning her hair into yarn. I told her that while I realize people actually do this, I would be living in fear of wearing a Sasha-yarn-scarf that triggers an asthma attach in someone who’s allergic to dog! In any case, enjoy your new obsession and I will enjoy it vicariously.

  47. Anca says:

    Hello Alice,
    What e great spinningwheel,and your Yarns are beautiful!
    A friend of me startet last week with spinning,and it is realy an Virus,I think,she has infektet me also!!Help!!.
    I think in the wintertime,i will also startet spinning when I can get an ocasion wheel!
    Have much fun,Iwill look your Blog in the next time,it’s verry beautiful,
    Greatings,Anca

  48. Gabi says:

    That is such beautiful wool! You’ve inspired me!!! I think I’m going to get out my spinning and finish the skein I’ve been working on!

  49. Seus trabalhos são maravilhosos!!!! Lindos demais!!!! Parabéns!!!!

  50. It’s very lovely yarn, how delightful to make the exact yarn you’ve wanted and your goddaughter is very cute! Now I want to learn to spin! My husband’s grandmother came from Hungary, her family toting along their spinning wheel and weaving looms to America! I wish we had them!

Leave a Reply

