Felting- Part 1

Hellooooo!!!

I was feeling a bit stuck about what I might post about today, it’s not that I’m not making anything, more that I’m knitting things which take time, and learning… which takes even more time!  I’m really enjoying learning to felt, at first I thought I might just do needle felting, then I realised that when you’re needle felting you’re often making ‘things’ and I wanted to make pictures, so needed to learn how to make felt to needle felt pictures onto…. (any felt experts, feel free to correct me there, but I struggled to make a nice big piece of felt with a needle!!!)  So I rang my Mum who I am just SO lucky to have, and said that I wanted to learn how to felt and did she have bubble wrap and sushi mats, netting, oh, and some fleece?  (he he) and of course, within a day, she has packed me a felting kit complete with books and everything I might need.  Except the fleece, because her sheep are Romney and Romney wool doesn’t felt particularly well.  What an awesome Mum.

I’ve been having a try each night, making one smallish piece to see what it’s like the next day, how I can improve, what I need to change…. I learned after Mum gave me some of her merino fleece, that merino is the best thing ever to felt with, it just happens almost instantly!  I used the first piece I made (which almost fell apart) to needle felt a heart onto….

I loved the way it looked, until I decided to try refelting it last night which changed it quite a bit.  I still rather love it, but am going to stick to needle felting things onto the felt, then leaving it alone!

As I was taking pictures of this, just then, I had an inspired moment to introduce you to Sid!  Sid is the latest newcomer to our household, I found him at one of my works in the donations garage, lying face down on the concrete with his arms and legs sticking out in all directions…. I snatched him up off the floor and claimed him, and brought him home to add to our fugly toy collection, who Ted belongs to, and a collection of others who I can’t believe I still haven’t introduced you to yet!

For an old Teddy, Sid is in very good condition, his paws and ears are still velvety, and he has a full coat of fur.

He is sitting on KB’s armchair still, with the heart next to him….

They look so nice there together, I’m going to leave them there all day.  KB and I will get home tonight and she’ll say something like “can’t you ever tidy up after yourself?” as she puts Sid back with all the Teddies…. (It’s not about the mess, she likes all the Teddies to sit together so they don’t get lonely)… She is the most patient person I’ve ever met, considering she likes things tidy and put away, but if I put things away I just need to get them out again in about 10 seconds, so tend to keep them on hand!

OK, well I’m off to continue with my crafty goodness!  I have 4 hours until I need to go to work and I’m planning to make the most of them!  OH… guess what…….

FOUR people have signed up for my crochet classes which start on Feb 21st…… FOUR!!!  I’m so excited and terrified all at the same time!  I have a maximum number of eight, so we’re halfway there!  As I’m getting things ready for these lovely beginners, I did a stitch breakdown for them and have cut and pasted it here on my blog, it’s just below the header, on the black bar, saying step-by-step stitch guide, so if anyone is confused by a stitch in my patterns, they can click up there and see what the heck I’m talking about!

Thank you for popping in today!  Wishing you all a wonderful and crafty weekend!

Lots and lots of love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Felting- Part 1

  1. Jacqueline says:

    Your new teddy looks so sad – maybe he’s lonely! Love the heart, I did a needlefelting class recently, and was amazed at how easy it was. I thought it would be really hard, but as you say, if you use merino wool, things felt together really quickly. I haven’t done much felting recently, a severe lack of imagination, and having to work, which sort of gets in the way.

  2. Heather says:

    It makes me happy that you rescued Sid and brought him home to join your teddy family🙂

  3. Melissa says:

    I love the new teddy. He was obviously loved in his past life. I know that you will be a phenomenal teacher because we’ve been your guinea pigs with all your tutorials. It’ll go great!

  4. Bianca says:

    That Sid is a looker for sure!

    Thanks for the info the other day! I did a bit of googling but its soo hard to find! People who have fleeces for sale seem to be somewhat ubiquitos over here for some reason. I did find a lady on ebay who had some corredale X fleeces and as I just want them for stuffing they should work smashingly. She said that untreaded fleeces can’t be bought in without fuimigation due to vegetable matter etc.

    RE: your felt pictures, what I find works best in keeping shape, is to do it in reverse. Felt a sheet of felt in the colour you want your design -once that is complete cut your design from it – so that the design itself is already fully formed. Then place that onto the background roving which is yet to be felted – the felt shape/form will adhere to the background as the background is being felted without loosing its form and you’ll get beauitiful well defined images embedded into the background felt. -you can tidy any fuzzy bits up with a needle afterwards🙂 hope that helps….if it makes sense🙂 I’ll send you a copies of a couple of ebooks I have tonight, they have some great tips.

    xB

  5. Shanti says:

    I’m sure your class will be a total success!!!

  6. Penelope says:

    Love your felted heart Alice, it looks perfect next to sweet Sid x Such good news about your crochet class, I know you’ll make it a success and they will all want to come back for more xox P

  7. penelope dubois says:

    I would have rescued Sid too! The felting looks great. The only felting I have done is made a few bags. But now the washers downstairs are front loaders and I can’t stop them to check on my felting. Chances are I’d end up with dolly bags!

  8. MeredithJean says:

    Alice Alice all is well xxx

  9. Joyce says:

    Hullo Alice, and welcome Sid. Your heart is just lovely and the photo of Sid next to your heart is beautiful. You had better get yourself organised for a follow-on group of classes, me thinks they will be hugely popular. Have a wonderful weekend.

  10. Congratulations on teaching a class. I think you do quite a nice job with the tutorials you post, I bet you’ll do an awesome job! Good luck!

  11. Meredith says:

    I am so glad Sid is living in a lovely home. If I lived near I would love to take your class, good luck and have a nice weekend.
    ,XO,
    Meredith

  12. Marg says:

    Oh my gosh, I saw Sid and had this moment of panic that you’d absconded with the fugly ted from the lounge!!!😀
    Glad to see Sid, the not fugly ted from the lounge, is fitting in so well!!

  13. Ali says:

    Oh wow! Your Sid looks exactly the same teddy as my brother had when we were growing up! I *think* my brother still has him as he was a very loved and treasured teddy. Yay for doing the crochet lessons – will you be doing any beyond beginner lessons? And whereabouts on the Coast are you/the lessons held?

  14. Pam Emerson Clarke says:

    Hi Alice, l LOOOVVE TEDDIES..Have a great heap on the shelf l made my other half put up in this puter-cum- bedroom..l see them sitting in the op-shops looking lost & lonely & can NEVER resist bringing them home..Often l have LIED- the lady behind counter asks if l am buying Teddy for me…”No they are for grandkids”, l lie..WISH l was colse to you caus l would sign up for yr crochet class…Still some stitches l have to learn how to do.. Keep up the great blog.. l come in here every time l turn puter on now..SO good.. Best Wishes, Hahnsmum
    New England,
    Australia..

  15. Tickety-boo says:

    Oh Sid! I LOVE Sid. He has such a melancholy face. He looks like he needs a scarf to wear, doesn’t he? He looks like a scarf type chap. Oh and a cardigan, he looks more of a cardi wearer than a jumper chap. Sorry getting carried away there!
    Great news about your crochet classes. That’s my job, I find tutors to teach Arts and Crafts in classes and workshops at the Arts Centre I work for. I love it. New people learning new skills.
    Love Tickety-boo xxxxx

  16. 'me' says:

    it’s a good idea to put that heart next to sid, because he looks as if he can use some love and warmth. He surely will get it at your home .

  17. Michele says:

    Hi there

    Absolutely love your stuff especially teapots cosies !!!!!!

    Do you know where I might be able to purchase the ‘crochet bouquet’ book by Suzanne Thompson ???

    If you could please let me know that would be great

    thanks
    Michele

  18. Pati from London says:

    Dear Sweet Alice, that heart is lovely. I’ve always loved the idea of learning how to felt but I feel I need to master my crochet skills first and find more free time. There is a company in the UK called http://www.gilliangladrag.co.uk that organise courses and sell great kits and designs that you may want to have a look at.
    The teddy is cute, i love these non-perfect old teddies that have so much character and history behind them… it seats great in KB’s chair.
    Good look with your crochet class! I wish you were nearer so that I could go to it…. Have a lovely weekend, pati x

  19. jackie Cardy says:

    Hi Alice
    Thanks for the lovely comment you left on my blog.
    I have enjoyed a few reads here.
    I have an old teddy bear post too. (If you are interested. Its here.
    http://dogdaisychains.blogspot.com/2008/07/this-ismy-most-precious-childhood.html )

  20. wendy says:

    The felting looks good… I keep meaning to have a go at needle felting, I’ve got the roving left over from my wet felting class – that was really good fun but I’m allergic to detergent so I don’t think it’s for me!!

Leave a Reply

