A picot edge obsession….

Helloooooo!!!

Last night we had a beautiful sunset… not quite the purple and pink of my garter stitch cardigan, but certainly beautiful in its own orangey, yellowey way…..

I finished my garter stitch cardigan this morning before heading off to work and am totally in love with the result!  I took it in to work today and my colleagues were quite enchanted with it too, INCLUDING my colleague who hates crafts!  So that’s saying something really…. in fact, it makes me want to cast on another in green immediately, but I’m saving that for my summer knitting when I have my much-needed and well deserved three weeks off everything!

The thing about this beautiful cardigan, is that when I was finished according to the pattern, it just didn’t look finished….

I love the humble garter stitch…. that stitch we need to learn before we learn anything else, but quickly discard in favour of the more attractive stocking stitch…. but I just wasn’t finished at this point and needed to make it more fabulous….

But what colour to edge it in?  Purple?  Pink?  I considered this at great length yesterday afternoon, consulted with KB, ignored her advice, and tried three different colours before giving up and going to bed.  This morning I decided, pink it was, even though I really wanted to edge it in purple, and whizzed around the edges with a simple single crochet, then couldn’t help myself, and added a picot edge.  At this point KB stated that I have a picot edging obsession….

I do believe she is right.

Life is better with picot edging….

Oh and miraculously, I found three pink buttons in my second-hand button collection!

I think it was fate….

I managed to refrain from picot-ing the sleeves and left them with single crochet edging….

Ta daaaa!

I’m loving it, and wish…. oh I wish that I had someone little and cute to put it in, but I don’t know any wee girls except my fairy god-daughter, plus it’s summer and I’m not into cooking babies, so I’m going to put it in my stash of beautiful knitted baby clothes and let it wait for its future owner!

OK then lovelies!  I’m off for now…. I’ve got a tea cozy deadline but will be giving you a sneak peek at my progress soon!  For all of my lovely blog friends who have not had a comment from me in a while, I’m sorry about that!  I am soooooooooooooooooooooooo busy that I haven’t managed to visit and today my sleepy eyes can’t read your lovely words or enjoy your lovely pictures, so I’m going to have a good catch up on everything you are doing soon…. soonish anyway!

Wishing you all a beautiful day!

Lots of love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Knitting Baby Clothes!. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to A picot edge obsession….

  1. Hahnsmum . says:

    Now that cardi is lovely..And yes the edging does set it off.. Keep up the good work Kid..God Bless.. Also pleased to see yr wool didnt run out..
    Pam C..
    New England, NSW, OZ..

    • Hahnsmum . says:

      And l cant work out the time mentioned on the messages..Has me puzzled..Its actually 5.oo Pm right this very minute.. Thursday, 16th Dec.. Puzzling.. Regards, Pam C..

  2. Nicole says:

    Great job!!! The edging is perfect, it “finishes” the cardi just right!

  3. Maaike says:

    Bravo Alice, the picot edging adds something for sure!
    Love, Maaike

  4. Denise says:

    That edging really sets the whole sweater off. Job well done.

  5. Jenni@Baame Kniits says:

    I adore that cardi Alice ESP the picot edging! Well done!!

  6. Planet Penny says:

    So cute, and the edging makes it yours!

  7. Andrea says:

    Fantastically gorgeous cardi! I am mad about picot edging too!

  8. moleymakes says:

    Alice, the cardi looks gorgeous. Glad to see you had enough yarn to finish it off.

    Big thumbs up on the picot edging, it definitely finishes off the garment. Sombody is going to look super cute in it🙂

  9. Dorien says:

    Looooove the edging on this little cardi.
    I can imagine you being tired! Please take some rest and take care of yourself.
    groetjes, Dorien

  10. tickety-boo says:

    Oh well done you it looks just gorgeous! So pleased you didn’t run out of yarn before you finished it. Life is always better with an edge ;o) x

  11. Penelope says:

    Carry on up the picot edging ! Just gorgeous and very YOU xxxP

  12. Mar says:

    It’s just beautiful!!!
    The edge adds to the finished product!

  13. Robin says:

    Alice, that sweater is absolutely beautiful and I agree the picot makes it finished and special! It’s so great to have a gift on hand for that special someone. You are so talented. Have a great almost weekend. xo Robin❤

  14. Amanda C says:

    Beautiful. I love the color and the sweater is just amazing! You’re inspiring me to try to make some sweaters for my daughter, though I’m sure by the time I would finish them it wouldn’t be winter anymore since I am a slow knitter since I’m still learning!!
    Thanks for yet another dose of colour therapy!!

  15. Coffee And Cream says:

    Definitely doesn’t look “finished” as the pattern stands – love the picot edging though!

    While I’m here, a huuuuuge thanks for the free patterns and tutorials; granny mandala coasters done, bunting on the hook right now!

  16. Pati from London says:

    the picot edging goes perfect with it, it makes it more lively and girly! I love it! Pati x

  17. marion says:

    Dear Alice,

    wow…that Cardigan looks great – very beautiful Work!!!
    Love this beautiful Colours!
    Many Greetings and have a nice Week,
    Marion

  18. Melissa says:

    That sweater almost makes me wish for a little girl to put it on….key word being almost. No more little ones in my life. It’s quite lovely though.

  19. Kelli Woodall says:

    Love you’re site! The picot edging really added a lot, it’s very pretty.

  20. Sherry Buenrostro says:

    Super job!! Very nice!!

  21. Sara says:

    It turned out just beautifully! I totally agree that the picot makes it that much prettier.

  22. Margo Boult says:

    I have only just started getting your blog and must say I really enjoy it!! Is it possible to get the pattern or at least the name of the book it is out of??? I would love to try this, looks like my speed!! thanks muchly all the best in the new year . . . .

Leave a Reply

