A potential new obsession…..

Hellooooooo!!!!

You’re probably all bored to death of me saying “it’s another sunny day here,” so I won’t!  I just won’t mention the weather at all!

I’ve popped in this evening to share some knitting business….. as you know from two posts ago, I had finished the Raglan Sweater but was no so pleased with the way it was curling at the bottom so much.   Denise from Knitting Kitties suggested that I try blocking it, so I did!  I usually block everything I crochet, but have never blocked any knitting, and I have to say, it has turned out beautifully, so thank you Denise! 

Ta daaaaaaa!

I’m much more accepting of this effort now!  Mum suggested to me today that on the next one I make, I don’t sew the front seams up completely, and put a button and crochet button loops on the seam, that way I can edge it in picot…. I may have to try that on the one I am knitting right now…..

Speaking of the one I am knitting now, the 1 year old size in Stitch Nation wool (cuddly, schnuggly happiness!) for my fairy god daughter…. It was suggested to me by one of my lovely readers that I try knitting into the back of the stitch on the first row as she said that it would minimise the rolling.  I just would like to say here, that I love my lovely readers who are not bloggers themselves, who leave comments which I LOVE to read!  I wish I could return the favour and visit your blogs and support you too, but I can’t, but I want you to know how special your comments are and how much I enjoy them!

So back to the advice from Lin.  I had already begun the first piece, so when I started the second piece, I knitted into the back of the stitch and WOWSER!  What a difference!  It looks incREDible!  Want to see???

The best part is that it makes a lovely edging as the first row is twisted…. I showed my Mum who was mighty impressed too and I am so thrilled with this NEW TRICK that I will never not do this on any knitting again, ever!  I considered frogging the back to make it match the front, but I can’t be bothered, there are so many knitting patterns I’m dying to try that I can’t bring myself to do it.

My lovely friend brought in one of her knitting books, the Debbie Bliss knits for babies today (the book the Raglan sweater came from) and let me have a read and a photocopy of the things I’m desparate to try!  I love Debbie Bliss…. hello…. who doesn’t!  She is truly amazing and I was in love with this entire book, so much so that I may need to buy it for myself!  One of my favourite things which I find in many of her books is the embroidered knitting and I was swooning over these pics….

I was just amazed with the flowers she has created on this cardigan….

They’re just exquisite!  My mind started going into overdrive when I was reading this book, recognising that I had just discovered another way to create beautiful things with bright, passionate colours!  Maybe not onto knits immediately, but I’m thinking…. (I’m thinking screw eating this week, I have embroidery wool to buy!!!  In amazingly, fabulously bright colours!!!!!)

She also had this gorgeous kaftan happening…. (I had a frightening urge to grab that gorgeous baby off the page and mother it, it is perfection….)

More beautiful embroidered flowers happening there!

And then, the shoes…. these are so beautiful I nearly died when I turned onto this page….

I remember my Mum teaching me embroidery when I was young and I never thought I’d be interested in doing it again, until I saw these! 

I feel a new obsession coming on…. watch this space!

Speaking of obsessions…. one of my friends is obsessed with a blog, I wonder if you have been to it, called Hyperbole and a Half .  It’s a seriously famous blog and it is hilarious…. Do you find that sometimes when one of your friends finds something funny,  you le thtem show it to you and don’t think it’s that funny?  Well, this is FUNNY!  This lady is amazing and gets thousands of comments, I wonder how she has time to read them all when she is creating such incredible posts!  Go and have a look!  Goooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!  You will love her, she is hilarious. I know that I’ll be spending far too much time reading and laughing my arse off in the near future, for sure!

 I’m going to restrain myself from visiting hyperbole for now though, and ring my beloved KB who I am missing dreadfully and no doubt chat to her for far too long!

Have a beautiful day and thank you so much for popping in!

Lots of love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

*********Sending you a big sun-flowery summery warm hug!!!********

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Knitting Baby Clothes!, Knitting!. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to A potential new obsession…..

  1. barbara says:

    I confess that at the time I should be going to sleep, I am in bed with my laptop, checking email. That is when your post lands in my mailbox. Mail from 21 hours ahead of my time! How odd this is! And how delightful to look at all the beautiful things you make, and view the beautiful NZ scenery. Thank you, Alice. Sweet dreams to you, for certainly, you will be off to sleep soon in “my tomorrow”.

  2. Maaike says:

    wauw those little shoes…! Sooooo gorgeous!

  3. Planet Penny says:

    I LOVE those little shoes. I must confess to an itch to embroider at the moment, but I’m all tied up with Christmas decorations at the moment. It may be a quiet New Year thing to look forward to! Penny x

  4. Esther says:

    I just love reading your blog-fabulous!

  5. Denise says:

    I’m glad the blocking and your experiment worked out. You’ll probably want to block the next sweater as well. Thank you for mentioning and thanking me. haha

    I once bought a beautiful sweater at J.C. Penny that had wonderful ribbon embroidery and beading. I’ve been wanting to make one myself for ages.

    I LOVE Hyperbole and a Half.

  6. marigold jam says:

    Love the embroidered garments especially the little shoes – wish mny feet were smaller! Love the doggy story over on Hyperbole too – what a hoot. Glad you got the knitting sorted – I usually do that first row thing and when casting on knit between the stitches rather than through the front loop only too which gives a firmer border. That little sweater is so cute.

    Jane

  7. tejehannah says:

    Dear Alice, I’m so happy you find new obsessions and ways to enjoy your colourful yarns! Knitting is another wonderful world! I’m not very good giving advices even I have done so many things – most of my life I have been knitting…so..if I start a pullover but don’t want to do that usual ‘2right,2purl,2right,2purl’ (now I miss english words) which is elastic, you can do that so that in every row you change the right for purl etc. Sorry I can’t explain easily (I’m sure your mom can). We call this ‘purle knitting’ and if you make few rows like this it doesn’t roll at all. It’s also very nice for the hole pullover and for many other designs! You shall have amazing time coming…
    Thank you for a lovely post with those beautiful knittings! Teje

  8. Dorien says:

    The Debbie Bliss book is awesome. Too bad that there aren’t any little kids in my family anymore! Although I have been knitting for a very long time, I never knew about the trick you described. Thank you so much for passing it on, because the rolling and curling is a real pain! You promised not to talk about the weather; well I will. In my garden, filled with a lot of snow, there was a bit of a Spring Explosion this morning. Hope you like it?!
    groetjes, Dorien

  9. greedy nan says:

    Ms Bliss has LOTS and LOTS of books for baby knitting but I don’t want to buy the wrong one – what’s this one called please? I’d love to try these little shoes – wouldn’t they be darling with tiny gifts inside for the Christmas hearth?

  10. Leah says:

    I have that Debbie bliss book, it’s been a go to book for baby gifts, but the yarn makes me drool, I really can’t afford it so they don’t turn out as nice as the pictures. But still nice enough to gift,!

  11. Thank you sooo much for that link Alice, that blog is truly wonderful, brilliant, amazing, and I’m in awe of her, and very excited by her stories, they are truly hilarious, and I’m now going to be one of her million followers. She may get thousands of comments, but that will be a fraction of her readership. I’m a bit blown away how brilliant she is. That’s a great tip for creating flatter stocking stitch,didn’t know that one, will write that down to remember it. And your little jumper is sooooo gorgeous, soooo lovely…………… Love Vanessa xxxxxxxx

  12. Isn’t it funny Alice how you are doing more knitting now and I am doing more crochet🙂 I have a Debbie Bliss pattern that I copied from a library book (ooops) and it is for a smock dress with little crosses embroidered all over it…..Divine! I can’t wait to make that one for my neice.
    LOve those flowers and that little kaftan!!! Adorable, I could have another baby tomorrow so long as I could give it back when it got to 2yrs old LOL!

    Beautiful Sunflowers!

  13. PS Thanks for the Beautiful Blogger Award, you shouldn’t have😉 I am thinking hard about 10 wonderful things I can reveal to you all! I also popped over and introduced myself to Kiwiyarn Knits, a lovely blog and gorgeous wool!

  14. Hahnsmum . says:

    Yes that Debbie Bliss book is awesome..Also pity l have no littlies anymore..That truly beautiful child in that afcan – l could have hugged that sweet child..Truly beautiful.. l know this hint would probably change the jumper pattern a teeny weeny bit but l found just by adding a bask ( l like the broken rib for basks- Doesnt have to be too long ) to jumpers so they dont curl. But spose it would look so different then, wouldn`t it..Anyway good luck.. Regards, Pam Clarke..
    Bingara, NSW, OZ

  15. Mar says:

    I just love the pics, they are so colourful!
    Can’t wait to see the product of your new addiction!
    Greetings from Canada

  16. Robin says:

    Speaking of addictions, I’m obsessed with your BLOG! Always interesting, colorful, funny and inspiring!! thanks, xo Robin

  17. lovestitch says:

    Adorable! I am a very new beginner of knitting, and you always made me desired!
    Big hugs!
    xxx

  18. 'me' says:

    thanks for the link to hyperbole and a half.
    I only read one post and I really can’t remember the last time I had to laugh that much ! It’s hysterical funny !!!!

  19. Melissa says:

    The embroidery is gorgeous! My grandmother was quite prolific. I have one of her pieces that is in my workroom….I can’t bring myself to dare call it a studio. I’m afraid that embroidery requires so much more patience than I have. I can’t wait to see your progress!

  20. Melissa says:

    Oh! By the way, I love the weather reports! Keep them coming as it is heading to gloomy cold here. Love seeing the sunshine!

  21. Kat says:

    Hyperbole…….YES……she is hilarious. If you get a chance read her party one. I almost peed my pants and was gasping for air because I was laughing so hard. Some of them I didn’t find too funny but I love the cake one, the party one and one of her recent ones about the move and the dogs.

  22. Siobhan says:

    What a fantastic book that looks, I just love that little cream caftan. I wish I had some littlies to knit for! I love crochet very much but sometimes perfection is seeing stocking stitch – the texture is just lovely. I know it can be a right old pain though rolling up – I ‘ve had a scarf which was based on stocking stitch roll up really quite badly and I crochet crab stitch all around (was recommended in a book somewhere); it helped a lot, it wasn’t very noticeable either, just neatened the edge a bit more. Often socking stitch has a garter stitch border to limit the curling but you can’t always do that. I think knitting into the back of the stitch sounds a great idea and I’m going to have to write that down somewhere so I can remember it. I adore your little raglan jumper – it just looks so neat all blocked and everything. As for the weather – well one word here. Snow! I’d really love to see some embroidery if you did some – I’ve just started myself after lots of faffing about. It’s fun too – all those colours; just gorgeous. Am off to check out that blog link now!

  23. Peeriemoot says:

    Keep talking about sunshine, it’s like a breath of summer air🙂.

    That Debbie Bliss raglan baby jumper attern is favourite of mine – it was the first thing I knitted for my son (after years of not knitting). I always meant to try the kaftan too but never got round to it.

  24. Casey says:

    I really, really like that sweater! I love all that embroidery on the knit from the book, it’s gorgeous!!

  25. Meghan says:

    Those little booties are so cute!! Thanks for the knitting tip, I have so much to learn!

  26. Found you through Ravelry. Love your cheery blog…I’ll visit again soon!

  27. Sandi says:

    Oooooh, yes what Debbie Bliss book are the booties from, they are so gorgeous. Love your little jacket, so cuteeeeee, Your fairy god daughter is one lucky little lady.
    xx Sandi

  28. wendy says:

    love your blog, love sunflowers and loooove seeing any pics with raymond ☺

  29. Penelope says:

    Alice, thanks for the brilliant blog links, really funny, need to smile in the wintery weather, also LOVING the colours of your raglan, so pretty. Debbie Bliss is heavenly and she once came ot my LYS but missed seeing/meeting her !!!!! Those flowers are very inspirational indeed. love and hugs, P xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  30. Wendy says:

    I agree about the embroidery, a beautiful way to embellish knitting. And I agree about Hyperbole and a half. I laughed until my teeth went numb – really.

  31. Louise says:

    Hello Alice & Raymond! Thank you for the blog award, I have been thinking about the 10 things and will try very hard to post about it tonight (not sure I have 10 things that are of interest to anyone :-)) You are quite clever with your knitting and have inspired me to try more with my crap knitting. I’ve been struggling with knitting on dpn’s but I think I might finally be gettting it – I keep reminding myself that you figured it out on a bus journey, so it can’t possible be that hard!
    Have a lovely day.
    Louise

  32. ripplestitchkin says:

    I’m looking out at a lot of snow and would happily take any gorgeous NZ summer photos you want to post!

  33. Elaine says:

    I really should learn to knit, some gorgous things there Alice xxx

  34. Loretta says:

    These gorgeous knitting projects of yours are making me want to knit – but I’m really bad at at!
    LOVE Hyperbole and a Half – thank for the link🙂

  35. wendolyn says:

    i’m another person who would like to know which debbie bliss baby book you are showing. can anyone enlighten us? enjoyed finding your blog.

Leave a Reply

