An heirloom and an annoying Siamese

Helloooooooo!!!!!

I’m just popping in on Saturday morning before I head off to eight hours of boring work (he he did I just say that?)…. Bring on 6pm I say!

I have one part time job and two other part time jobs which are voluntary work and count as part of my course load… On Thursday, at one of my voluntary jobs, a colleague brought in an heirloom that her grandmother had crocheted because she knew I’d love to see it.

And it’s stunning.  in fact, I’ve never seen anything like it!

Luckily I’m learning, don’t go anywhere without your camera, and said to her: “Marg darling, I’m going to have to put this on my blog.”  She understood.

So here it is, and I just want to say that I think this is truly amazing and I’m not poking fun at it!  I was speechless when I saw it and while we thought it might be fun to sneak it onto a workmates desk before their next client, we were only joking and deeply appreciate the style of the time and the work that went into this!  I’m a little bit nervous about publishing these photos in case someone takes them and makes fun of them on a crochet-haters blog… so just be warned…. I will kick up a fuss if I see them anywhere but here!  This is a truly precious heirloom and I appreciate it for that.

Ta daaaaaaa!  Crochet has changed in style hasn’t it!  I can see this so perfectly in a home full of that frosted peachy coloured glass… somewhere my mandalas would stick out like a sore thumb!

Want to see a swan close-up?

So there we go…. As much as I appreciate this, I really hope that anyone reading this from a different country applies google translate so they don’t think that’s my latest FO!!!!!!!

KB is still away…. and Raymond is missing her like crazy and driving me crazy…..

Apparently all his cat food is disgusting and he won’t lower himself to eat it… I heard myself snapping at him this morning “It’s not poisonous…. eat it now or you’ll be getting it for your dinner…”

Oh dear…. If I ever become a mother (which I have no intention of by the way!) I can see myself in that role already! 

Anyway, I’m off before this post turns into a big solo-Siamese mother vent!

Have a lovely, lovely day everyone and I hope your weekends are relaxing and fun!

Lots of love from Alice and Raymond! XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Crochet Goodness. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to An heirloom and an annoying Siamese

  1. Louise says:

    The swans are very clever aren’t they? Its amazing that people can come up with these patterns, they look quite complicated. I think it takes real talent to create these works of art.
    Poor Raymond, but I know how it can drive you crazy when animals behave like that. I have a dog that sits by the window on the back of a chair whenever I am home and my other half isn’t.
    Hope you have a lovely weekend! Hugs to Raymond.

  2. Denise says:

    Actually that swan doily has been popular for years. I used to see it on ebay quite a bit. I’m boycotting ebay so I do go there anymore. http://megan.cc/Swan/ for a free pattern. I think I saw it in Annie’s Attic patterns as well.

    It is however a nice heirloom for your friend.

    Poor Raymond. My cats get like that too sometimes.

  3. Lyndsey says:

    Why would anyone make fun of this? It’s so cute. And very delicate. I don’t think my fingers would ever be delicate enough to make this.

  4. Barbara says:

    Those swans are amazing! That is really pushing the limits of crochet creativity.

  5. 'me' says:

    amazing ! waw !

  6. Sandi says:

    I remember seeing these in my childhood and was told they would make up a mixture of sugar and water to stiffen them!! Sometimes we don’t stop to appreciate the effort that goes into a craft. At the dance school the other night we had a tap class on, and it is really funky upbeat tap, a young hiphop person came in and started making fun of the tap. To my way of thinking he was making fun of his own craft-dance.
    Poor Raymond, poor you, I love cats but I can be driven mad with the ‘nose in the air’ attitude around food.
    Hope your day went very quickly and you are now hooking your night away.
    Hugs Sandi x

  7. Erin says:

    I think the swans are absolutely fabulous. On the crochetville forums there is a thread that is just about doilies…check them out…some of them are amazing.

  8. Louise says:

    my Grandma would have loved that. We are only ever one step away from ott doilies.
    Everything we make has been done before in a way that makes us think, “not in my home” The skill is in the modern designer to put modern spin onto items that encourage people (like my Mum ) who think its all naff, that it would fit into their home.*sigh*

  9. Mrs Twins says:

    Hi Alice,
    you have a busy day!
    These swans are gorgeous and my friend in the UK made them years ago!
    They are simply wonderful, thank you for sharing,
    cold breezy sunny here.
    Love to you Suex

  10. Melissa says:

    I think they are wonderful! Maybe not my taste, but wonderful just the same. Hope you had a wonderful day. Ours has just started and we’re off to take Number One Son to get his bands and wires…..Yikes! Thanks for the heads up the other day. I’ve never had braces, so I’m clueless.

  11. lovestitch says:

    Oh it’s fabulous! You are making great things!!!

  12. devil says:

    Alice – I LOVE this doily and I’d be surprised if this ended up on a crochet-haters website. Unless it was worn as a hat or something.😉

    Thanks, Denise, for the pattern link. If I make one, I’d crochet one of the swans in black.🙂

    Oh, poor Raymond. Such a rough life!

  13. Angie says:

    The first time I saw a doily with swans, it was in The Crochet Dude’s ravelry queue. I thought it was so different and elegant! — I think I literally gasped. I had seen a lot of vintage crochet patterns; but, this was new to me. Anyway, if Drew wants to make one, it must be classy!
    xx

  14. WOW!!! I love it!!! How cool! No idea where I would put one and I am sure my hubby would hate it but I LOVE it….thanks Alice 🙂

    PS Tell Raymondo that you are just setting boundaries…if he is really hungry then he will eat it and yes serve it up for his tea…he is just testing you 🙂 !!

  15. kate says:

    My goodness, what a lovely swan… ummm… thing? :o) Perfect to go with the tyre swans out on the lawn one presumes? I do like it, maybe because rather inspite of its kitsch factor. Imagine making it, or even further imagine designing it! It must have taken a very long time to create, when I saw your close up I realised how much time went into it, its so detailed.
    Triptaka(my cat, not the Buddhist monk) protests against tinned cat food that is too wet, or too fresh, or too meaty or not meaty enough. He tries hunger strikes but I am firm!! With two kids to supply with food poor ol puss is not allowed to be even vaguely fussy!
    have a great week, xoKate

  16. J. Acevedo says:

    BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I had never seen anything like that! Imagine the mind of whoever created it! Wow, I can’t even begin to think how to make it. IF you EVER get to figure out the pattern, blog it!!!!!
    8-D

  17. Franca says:

    Good old memories. my grandmother who was totally into knitting and crocheting made these also . she died in 2006 and u thought I would never see them again but here they are. Amazing.

Leave a Reply

