The Great “Mother Daughter Knit-Off”

Hellooooooooo!!!

Thank you for popping in to see us today!  I wonder, are you visiting with your morning coffee?  Stopping by just before bed?  Or doing a sneaky blog surf on your work computers?  Whatever time it is, and wherever you are, it’s lovely to have you here!  It’s 6.25pm here, I’m in my rocker next to the open ranch slider enjoying a nice warm breeze…. you’ll be glad to hear that the freezing, hailing, wintery weather we had for the last few days has passed and I’m tentatively losing the urge to knit myself more hand-warmers!

So as most of you will know by now, my knitting skills could really do with a… well… I would say fine tune, but being that all I’ve ever knitted are scarves, mitts and baby hats, there’s not so many skills to fine tune!

I’ve been dying to knit something more challenging, especially now I have a fairy god daughter… I want to be one of those fairy god mothers who knits fabulous creations that this wee girl looks back on and cringes at!!!  (“I can’t believe you dressed me in that” she will say as a teenager!)  So I asked my Mum for a hand.

She’s a Knitting Ninja you see…. she can knit in the dark, while she reads and when she watches TV.

We decided on a pattern, and that we would knit it together at the same time.  Actually that’s a total lie.  I decided we were going to do it and told her she had to knit it at the same time as me, so when I get stuck she can help me.  This was not the loving Mother Daughter bonding moment I’m making it out to be!

So we decided on “the Harvey Kimono”

She photocopied us a pattern, then wow… it took me so long to choose which colour wool to knit my FIRST EVER GARMENT with!  Lime green?  Bright purple?  Not blue, no way….

In the end I decided on….

Goodness me!  That looks like an Ashford ad doesn’t it!!!!!  Beautiful wool posing with the first peonies of the season!

Mum, being Mum (she only likes working with natural fibres) chose this….

And away we go!

This is not, and I repeat NOT a race.

Ready….

Set…..

GO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

 

 

  

Three hours later Mum rang me up to tell me I’d left my copy of the pattern behind and was wondering how I was going to start my garment…..

So I’ll be showing you the progress as I navigate my way through the Harvey Kimono…  And if it all of a sudden doesn’t make an appearance for a while, make sure you tell me to get on with it!  I’m enjoying the idea of knitting something wearable, but also a wee bit nervous as the idea of knitting two pieces together and all that jazz!  Oh the excitement of trying new things!

I hope you have a wonderful day today, and that many fantastic and exciting things happen to you!

Lots and lots of loving thoughts to all of you,

From Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXx

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Knitting!. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to The Great “Mother Daughter Knit-Off”

  1. Pearlin J says:

    Love love the wool picture.Lucky you to have your mom to help you with knitting.
    All the best with your knitting adventure. Can’t wait to see your progress

  2. tejehannah says:

    Hello Alice! I’m having my coffee as usually with your lovely post!
    It is so nice to knit garments and especially for children! Enjoy, it’s not difficult!
    I like very much both colours and your photos are great with those amazing flowers – I love piones!
    Wishes Teje
    Ps. I would like to have also ‘The Harvey Kimono’ in that natural colour!

  3. That is going to be the most beautiful Kimono, I love the pink. What a great choice, something that goes with everything!

    How great to have your mum knitting along with you…..should be interesting 😉

    Love the flowers…….And GO Alice!!

  4. Mrs Twins says:

    Good Morning Alice,
    Great to read your post and visit you over the other side of the world this morning!
    I’m just having a cup of tea, I have my blanket on my lap, sitting here at the kitchen table with my lappy talking to you!
    The colours of this yarn are beautiful, I love how you have taken the photos too.
    I’m just finishing Bonfire Blanket no. 2. I hoped you liked it.
    Anyone want to pop over you are most welcome!
    http://www.sunshineinternationalblanketsoflove.blogspot.com
    Please pop across to the UK everyone!
    I’ll look forward to seeing your project,
    Bye for now, love Suex

  5. natalie says:

    woohoo what fun! ….love the colour you’ve chosen. I made your potatoe salad this week and it was fabulous!!!

  6. aeonie says:

    What great incentive to finish a project … a race!
    I would have no chance keeping up with my mum …. she has uaually finished two beanies before I cast on for one!!
    Oh that’s right …. it’s not a race … unless you win of cause🙂

    P.S. I am sneaking in a little blog reading after dinner and before I watch some TV with JR!!

  7. Sandi says:

    It’s 9.18pm, have just eaten my dinner because I got home from work at around 8.30 and had to cook dinner, daughter just walked in from dance classes. We do keep odd hours here!! You will already be in bed no doubt as I soon will be too. Up early for my morning walk tomorrow. Love the little kimono and it will be so cute in both colors, and the flowers ahhhh. My mum grows peonies and picks a bunch for my daughters birthday in November, I love them.
    Sweet dreams to you all.
    Sandi xx

  8. Birgit says:

    I am sitting here with a cup of coffee, short after 6 Am here north of Houston texas, We have a new addition to the family who woke us up. Hubby decided to find a stray dog and bring him home…lol. thats my hubby can’t stand to see animals put out .
    The color is lovely of the yarn and I love peonies too….don’t see as many here in texas too hot usually. but we can get them from the store. Peeps don’t plant to much of them though….
    What fun to knit along with your mom…. Go Alice….. You will do great
    hugs Birgit

  9. Louise says:

    Hello from yesterday Alice!!!!. I love the pattern and oh that pink yarn. Fab

  10. Brianna says:

    Sure it’s a race… but there’s nothing wrong with wanting to make up something swiftly!! Good luck… I love the colors of the wool!

  11. Mar says:

    I just love to come to read about you & Raymond. I here on my day off from work, drinking a tea in bed & knitting as well. A baby bottle cover for a friend that is having a baby boy.
    Here in Canada is a bit chilly so staying in bed for a bit longer it’s really really nice!!!
    Autumn hugs for both of you, I love the new wool, I’ll be back to see the progress!!!

  12. Melissa says:

    I’m on break at work. I’m guessing you’re sleeping now since I’m halfway round the world. 🙂 I am waiting with baited breath to see how the wee sweater turns out. I so totally understand your angst and excitement with starting an actual garment. I’ve only done one sweater and it turned out pretty well. Good luck! Can’t wait to see the progress!

  13. 'me' says:

    it is so fun to read what’s happening on the other side of the world🙂.

    To answer your questions : it is alf past 4 in the afternoon, the sun is shining but is is chilly and i’m at my job , sitting behind my desk, taking a short blogbreak😉

  14. meadowlark says:

    First visited at 6am on the blackberry via feeds – kept it unread and came back now at 9a to re-read and do some thinking. I would LOVE to knit a kimono for my coming-in-February granddaughter. If you can keep me posted, I just might be able to work up the courage to try. At least once I get the cast off my right hand.😦 But til then, I’m living through you.

  15. Penelope says:

    What a sweet kimono for your fairy god daughter, I’m sure she won’t look back and be embaressed by it ! I have knitted 3 little people’s cardigan’s in the past and they are such fun as they appear quickly…. something I prefer as I am sure you have already gathered this about me.
    I have just bought some beautiful sunflowers to extend our summery autumn feel here in the south of England, one of my all time favourite flowers. Keep those fingers knitting ! xxx love from Penelope

  16. Tiffanie says:

    Checking in from work😛 at 1:54pm from NYC for a color pick-me up. Today started out pretty gray and rainy and your blog chases those clouds away. I love both color choices! I’m a self-taught knitter and crocheter and I have total faith that you can knit this sweater. My second knit project, after a simple cable scarf, was a sailor-style baby sweater. I’ve made several baby garments and I find them to be such great practice-projects (new techniques in manageable bits), plus they get the best reactions from people–people love little things like baby garments–and are relatively quick (as long as you stay motivated by having a FO). Good luck, I can’t wait to see it completed!

  17. Maria says:

    Well I wait for the feeds to come through, so I’m usually last to comment, and I only check early mornings ☺
    What fun and a wonderful way to take on your first wee knitted clothing project. You will breeze through it with your Mum helping.
    I do both and prefer knitting for little ones clothing – so holes for little fingers to deal with – and the smooth fabric look of stocking stitch – love it

  18. Karen Meowski says:

    Good morning darling Alice and the suave Mr Raymond Meowski (my wee dirty little toe-picker!)… Raymond that is, even with all that yoga I couldn’t see you reaching your toes with your teeth Alice…and thats a relief as we both know! This is KB here, hoping that you are both having a wonderful, fruitful, blessed day in the capital. Alice your knit off looks like the race of the century, Denise don’t drag those needles, your daughter is a machine… a machine I tell you! Anyways, just sending my love…. the blog looks great, I can see why you and Ray are so popular…. keep spreading the sunshine! Speak to you tonight! xxxxxxxxx

  19. Bobo Bun says:

    Thanks for your lovely words they were great to read.

    Bet it won’t take you long to get knitting. I love it, but get bored far more quickly with it than I do with crochet. Now that’s addictive.

    X

  20. Jennifer says:

    Well, it’s almost 7 pm here on the east coast. (US) Peeking in on my favorite blogs. I’m excited for you and your first attempt at a wearable knitted item and am looking forward to posts about it. I think you will breeze through it. Love the color, too!

  21. Siobhan says:

    Hi
    That’s a beautiful little pattern to start with. When I had my little girl I was determined she was going to have knitted stuff from me – I hadn’t made anything before. I managed bootees and mittens but also a little cardigan amongst other things. Later I made dolls clothes (have never made grown up stuff ever). One of the things I made for a Tiny Tears doll was a wrap around cardi so similar to this. It came out great and I was so proud! Little things are brilliant because you get to learn how to do the ‘complicated’ bits without boring yourself rigid first – by all that straight knitting. Bet you will do it and do a good job too. Loving the colour!

  22. Pingback: The Great Mother-Daughter Knit Off…. It’s finished! | Crochet with Raymond

Leave a Reply

