Tawatawa and Tawa…..

 Helloooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!

Thank you so much for stopping by today!  I can’t believe that so many people have spilled stuff onto their laptops and they still survive!  Coffee, coke, kittens chewing off keys…. I’m surprised at the hardiness of them!

I had a facebook message from my downstairs neighbours yesterday, saying that I’m getting a bit famous with this blog bizzo!  In Tawa of all places, a lovely suburb not far from Johnsonville where I meet with my Onslow Fibrecraft Guild friends!  Well, apparently one of the Onslow ladies also belongs to Tawa and it turns out she is the mother of my neighbour and recognised the connection through Raymond!  So there we go!  A big hello to the Tawa guild ladies!  Thanks for reading!  I hope we meet at some woolly carnival someday soon!

I’ve finished my latest cushion and have documented the whole process for you…. I get a lot of comments asking if I crochet the back as well… yes I do!  I hope you enjoy watching the creative process unfold!  This one was a bit trickier than most cushions… you’ll find out why….

So here’s the very beginning…..

I scored an op shop cushion for the filling for $3 the other day… got it home and it is HUGE!!!!  I had no smaller cushions there to compare it with, and it is by far the biggest cushion I’ve ever had!  A size 22 in fact!  So my 16 squares that I usually make weren’t going to cut it, that’s for sure!

Once I had hooked the squares together, I made the exact same mistake Sue from the Quince Tree made last week…. oops, I put two on backwards…. will anyone notice?  Probably not, but I definately will….

So off the little buggers came and were put back on the right way!

At this point I took the fuggers silk cover off the cushion, and edged the 16 sqares to make a nice straight edging… something had to be done about the size as normally I would just dc around the edge and it would be big enough… but this needed to be straight to finished the front properly….

Oh yes… and I started the back!  Normally I just do a plain giant granny square, but this time I coudn’t take the boredom of working in one colour for such a huge size, so I made 9 squares in the colours I made the front pieces.

Then, last night I finished it… and I was really glad because it was huge and I was getting totally completely utterly sick of it!!!!!!

So KB and I went on a walk up Tawatawa  ridge, not far from our home as it is a stunningly beautiful day, with the cushion, to take some pics just for you lovelies!!!!! XXXXXXXX you’re all so great, I just have to make that special effort!  (and get some Vit. D!!!)

That’s central Wellington…. the saying goes “you can’t beat Wellington on a good day” and it’s so true!

Up on Tawatawa ridge, there are two things… an amazing view, and a beautiful statue.  Some little vandals have put graffiti on it… such a shame, but it’s still lovely…

Beautiful from every angle, it’s a great location for a fashion shoot let alone a crochet shoot!!!!!

Oh yeah!  Crochet! Here you go then!

It’s not to my usual tastes…. and sticks out like a sore thimb with our decor… but it was such a mammoth effort, I’m quite proud of it!  Here’s the back side for your viewing pleasure!

And to help you see the size….

So I’m off to work now, for the next couple of days!  I’ve been at the books all week and am finally coming to terms with the difference between shizoid, schizotypal, schizoaffective, schizoprogenic and schizophrenia… I’m understanding the building blocks of Mood Disorders and I’m on speaking terms with neurotransmitters and the post-synaptic gap…. 4 big sleeps to go until the big E!

I hope you had a fun visit today!  Lots and lots of love to you!

From Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Crochet Cushions, Crochet Goodness, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Tawatawa and Tawa…..

  1. 'me' says:

    hihihi ! the cat as the crochet-bodyguard …

  2. sandiart says:

    Wow that was weird, when I opened your post it was just photo’s and I thought to myself, ‘now that’s not like Alice to not write something’ had a look at a close up of a photo on your side bar, came back and there it was, words and photo’s. I do love this cushion too, the colors are beautiful together and the back is as gorgeous and the front, oh and I have learnt from you and Sue that there is a back and front, hadn’t really noticed, too excited to just be able to ruddy well crochet something at last. Had to set the crochet aside, I have a small job knitting a little baby jacket and facewasher. Will post them when finished, am looking at the crochet with longing tho.
    Hugs from Oz x Sandi
    Love where you live, green and luscious.

  3. wendy says:

    hey there, such awsome pics and love that huge cushion!!
    as said before nz is a beautiful place but have only been to north island,
    taupo, bay of islands, auckland region. partners dad lives in papatoetoe
    and we come from oz to visit every year.
    love your blog xo

  4. Maria says:

    I love how you mix the different shades of blues and greens and are not afraid to do so. My feed only had pictures and I thought you were showing how nature combines those two wonderful colours naturally. Clicked on make a comment and there were the words to go with it
    I love the cushion

  5. Debi Y. says:

    Great looking pillow – I like how the blues and greens go together so well. Great job. 🙂

  6. LAVANDE says:

    Bonjour de France, d’Auvergne exactement.Bravo pour votre coussin, il est magnifique.
    Vos couleurs vont très bien ensemble. Votre chat est adorable, mille caresses à lui.
    Félicitations.

  7. HUGE cushion!! I love the location for the photo shoot as well 🙂

    Alice do you use Tepako wool for all your crochet?? I am looking for something for my baby shoes and can’t seem to get the right felted effect I want with the plain 8ply here. Your colour range seems very extensive and I know my Dready Doll felted beautifully…have you tried felting any of that wool?? Jen xx

  8. Tania says:

    Yet another great FO ! looks lovely & swiggy.
    Love T x

  9. alyshajane says:

    You really should put a book together! Seriously. You have such a fabulous eye for colour, patterns and detail.

    What a lovely statue, shame people have vandalised it. I feel the same way about vandalism to trees and on rocks at lookouts. Sigh. Why can people not just sit and enjoy the view and beauty?! I am totally jealous how gorgeous your town is. Wow.

    Good luck with the study! Can tell you have lots of kitty support + support from KB!🙂

  10. Louise says:

    Ace photo shoot. I want to visit!!! Oh dear,start saving. Wow what a talent Alice, You could do this as a career you know, you have the eye. I’d buy your book!!!! You could teach to your clients, a sort of art therapy.

  11. aeonie says:

    So glad you posted a pics of you with the cushion so we could really understand the size … and you weren’t kidding when you said it was BIG!! I love it – the front and the back! And what a great idea … taking your finished objects on location for a photo shoot!! Might give that a go myself. You live in a beautiful part of the world.
    aeonie x

  12. Sue says:

    Love it. I do like the effect of having close shades next to each other.
    Getting some squares back to fronts is inevitable.
    Fabulous view, what blue sky!

    Sue

  13. What a view! Breathtaking.
    I looove that you hiked all the way up there with the pillow!😉 The pillow is really lovely, by the way. You’re so fast at making them!

  14. Penelope says:

    Such beauty Alice! Your cushion rocks! and so does Wellington! All that sea and those mountains, wow just beautiful. Thanks for showing us, it’s cheered me up as it’s ver grey, wet and windy here today and I am not too charmed with this weather.
    Your cushion exhibition is going to be so exciting with all your colours and varieties, look forward to hearing about it.
    Hope you find a good balance between study and play this weekend before your E xxxxoxxxxx

  15. Melissa says:

    Another lovely creation. I’m a green girl, so I particularly like this one. I totally get being tired of the piece you’re working on. I’m off to work on a blanket that I’m getting sick of. They take soooo long. That’s why I typically have a couple of things going at once. I’d probably finish quicker if I didn’t do that, but I need a change of scenery every once in a while.

    By the way, I love the swirly, soft lines of the statue. You live in a beautiful place!

    Mel

  16. Mrs Twins says:

    Its very nice to see a lovely photo of you!
    The squares in this cushion are just so wonderful.
    The colours co – ordinate beautifully!
    Great to see some outside shots too,
    Love Suex

  17. Fiff says:

    thats a really lovely cushion! I really like the colours🙂

  18. Pammy Sue says:

    Pretty new cushion and GORGEOUS scenery! You are lucky to live in such a beautiful place. The green colors are amazing there…and with that blue-blue water!

  19. becca says:

    the cushion is gorgeous! i love the colors and the overall pattern. it goes great with the scenery!

  20. Louise says:

    Love the way the colours of the scenery match so beautifully with your amazing cushion colours! Really love the colours of this cushion, blue and green are my favorites. And Sir Raymond looks particularly handsome.
    Hope you all have a lovely weekend!
    Take care,
    Louise

  21. sara says:

    Wow the cushion,cat,statue and view are totally spectacular..you are a very lucky lady..lovely will be back to see me i hope..take care
    sara

  22. sara says:

    Err actually meant to say more not me…thats what i get for trying to type with my daughter iris pressing keys…haha..

  23. Sharon says:

    Another fabulous cushion! I love the colours they remind me of spring……and since it’s now autumn where I live with the evenings getting rapidly darker, any reminder that the sun will come back soon is good! (not that I don’t like the longer evenings, they are a perfect excuse to sit in front of the fire hooking, but I do miss the sun)
    Sharon x

  24. Pingback: Breaking the rules | Crochet with Raymond

  25. Denise says:

    Love the pictures of where you live. That cushion is quite nice too. Those blues are my favorite.

  26. Tatyana says:

    Your pictures are wonderful and crocheted pillow is beautiful!
    Thanks a lot for visiting my blog!🙂 I have a google translator button in my blog, and try to dublicate my posts in English, and would be glad to see you again anytime!

    Best wishes,
    Tatyana

Leave a Reply

