Skill building

Hello darlings!

WOW, thank you so much for the kind and amazingly positive feedback on my prayer flag tutorial, I can’t wait to see all of your beautiful mandalas spinning healing goodness through the web… make sure you show me!!!!!  You must!

I spent yesterday afternoon with my Mum, building on my knitting skills, because let’s face it, the absolute BEST time to learn a new and difficult skill is when you’re in the middle of a raging case of PMS isn’t it?  Do you agree?  I learned rib cast-on and then…….

I’d love to show you a perfectly knitted little hat, embellished with a beautiful big crochet flower, with NO SEAMS!!!!!  Alas, 10 rows, 2 holes and three loose “seams” later I frustratedly frogged it and put it aside for another day!

Jenni!  I tried it!  I’ll try it again!

I got to spend some time with my BFF… Shes awfully hard to photograph as she never stops moving, but here she is…..

Meet Tallula, my Dad’s favourite daughter.  She’s just the best and I love her so much I often go out to my parents just to have cuddles with her.  She’s obsessed with fetch and has an entire box of toys she refuses to share with her son Stanley who I will introduce to you another day.  She’s so funny with her toys, she won’t fetch a toy if I choose one to play with, she’ll only play with the toy she chooses.  She must have been the oldest puppy in the litter.

Two years ago KB, my sister and I were her midwives when my Mum and Dad went to India.  What a drama… she has definitely put me of puppy breeding and childbirth for life!  Phew!  I was exhausted just watching her!

OK lovelies, I’m off to class after this quick morning post!  Sending lots and lots of love to all of you, you’re all just the awesomest!

From Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in DPNs!, Knitting Baby Clothes!, Knitting!. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Skill building

  1. 'me' says:

    quote of a joplin song : ‘ try, just a little bit harder ‘
    :-)))

  2. Annette says:

    Look forward to seeing the little hat when you get back to it ;0) My MIL is a beautiful knitter, spends hours knitting and makes it look so easy, she has knitted a blanket for each of our kids a special one they will have for always. Have a happy day. BTW Tallulah is very cute, we have one just like her. :0)

  3. Alice that’s great!! 🙂

    Try it with less stitches on your needles to start and then you get better tension round the corners and don’t have to worry about the stitches slipping off the needles, you don’t have to make anything to start with but you could try a little toy for you ‘Furry Sister’, who is adorable by the way, because all their bits are small with not many stitches 🙂

  4. Casey says:

    such a cute looking dog🙂

    all those needles look confusing to me! but someday I’ll try it again too

  5. teegan says:

    Hi Alice, I just wondered if I could use the image of all the bright coloured granny squares with stone edging for a profile pic for a knitting/crocheting group I have started on FB. It is a just a group of my friends and is not a public group. There is only about 4 of us that would actually see it. Please?

  6. Louise says:

    too cute. Sally says hi Tallula.

  7. niki says:

    thank you bunches for linking up with me at LH🙂
    ~niki

  8. Penelope says:

    Oh Tallula is a sweetie!
    I bought some “knit in the circular” needles at a car boot sale for 50p a couple of months ago and am still wondering when I will pluck up the courage to attempt to knit with them. Well done for trying!
    xox

  9. Britt says:

    Have you tried to circular needles? That tends to ease frustration and seaming. PMS certainly doesn’t help. I find that that time is reserved for hiding out in the bedroom watching television or reading a book.

    Tallula is gorgeous doggy and how funny she is so particular about her toys.

  10. Joyce says:

    oh my gosh, oh my gosh, hold it right there, I am coming back. Just saw the time, and I am late, oh I love what I see. . . . . I miss you Alice. Will be back soon. xx

  11. sandiart says:

    Keep going, it will get easier I assure you, if I can learn to crochet, you can learn to knit, it’s easy, honest. Maybe a circular needle may be easier, I just knitted two dresses on a circular needle and its the first time I used one. Go to bed and tell yourself that knitting comes easily to you and wala so it shall.🙂 Sandi xx

  12. Joyce says:

    Hi Alice, I still have my, on a set of needles, beanie from before my shave which is 4 months ago today. It’s not going anywhere fast, and the only reason I haven’t pulled it off the needles is that it took me ‘forever’ to get that little bit done and I just don’t have the heart to undo it.
    I look forward to hearing how your venture goes, because I just can’t seem to get it going again for mine.
    hello to little Tallula as well, such a cutie.

  13. Melissa says:

    Good luck with the knitting. You’re doing better than I am. I get totally discombobulated by knitting. I give it a go about every two years…..I’ve been working on the same project for the past 5 or 6 years. I might finish it by the time I’m eighty.

Leave a Reply

