My Creative Space

Hello Lovely Ones!

Before I get started on showing pictures of my latest FO, I have to tell you that when I picked up my crochet hook this morning, it had chocolate smeared all over it.  Is that normal?  Luckily, it had not smeared onto this!

That’s right!  It’s finished!  The upcycling project began with a $4 op shop find.

It was ugly and lumpy, but luckily not smelly.  Then the pattern that KB found at Spotlight entered the creative arena!

And the cushion was born…

It was an interesting process!  I’ve never had a try at this pattern before, and I’m telling you, my arms are sore now!  All those double crochet stitches, hundreds and hundreds of them without the chains to break up the movement!  I’m going to give myself a well-deserved arm massage, then do some yoga stretches so I can… you guessed it!  Make another one!  Because despite the pain, I really really like this cushion and want to make many in different colours!!!!!

It was relatively easy to make, although as I came to single crochet it together, despite the fact that I thought I had followed the pattern exactly, I counted the stitches along the sides of the two pieces.  66 on the front piece… On the back piece, 1,2,3,4…. 62!  CRAP!  I exclaimed!  They’re meant to be even!  This has happened before, when I attempted a round cushion a while ago, but I was about 30 stitches out then, so 4, not such a hassle!

This cushion used a whopping 250gms of wool, so is no lightweight! 

But so absolutely, completely and utterly worth it.

And the best part?  KB, (I’m risking a lot here by divulging this info) who doesn’t like crochet, LOVES this cushion.  So I can even enjoy it without that little bit of “I’m filling my house with crochet guilt!”

As I mentioned in my last post, this cushion is going to go on a very special chair, which is patiently awaiting some upcycling love itself.  I’m going to go now, and do some much needed study, so I can let myself have some crafty time later… I’ll post the cushion and it’s chair next time.

For those of you who have been missing Raymond, as I noticed he has not made much of an appearance on my (or should I say OUR) blog lately… I though he looked very angelic sitting on his sheepskin in the sun this morning!

Lots of love to all of you, from both of us! Hugs from Alice and Raymond XX

p.s Check out Penelope’s bunting love!  I can’t wait to see it completed!

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Crochet Goodness, Raymond Appreciation. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to My Creative Space

  1. Maria says:

    Wonderful cushion and the colours are so earthy and warm, funny as its green which is supposed to be cool. I must be mixed up, but I love it

  2. The cushion is LOVELY! A whole pile of them will be so beautiful!

  3. renee says:

    Love your cushion and looking forward to seeing the next few (if your arm survives!). It seems like stacks of people have been creating crochet triangles and making crochet buntings! I have too: http://spunkeestuff.blogspot.com/2010/07/my-creative-space_22.html

  4. michelle says:

    love it, your crochet is quite spectacular. love the bunting too, btw. has raymond been snacking while helping out with the hooking. if so tell him cats and chocolate, not good friends

  5. Carol says:

    The colors of this cushion are so pretty! I totally know what it’s like when the number of stitches don’t match. I’m really good at messing that up! haha!

  6. Catherine says:

    I love the cushion – and can see how it could pass muster with those less enamoured with crochet too…

  7. PosyLinda says:

    Well worth it Alice. Its a stunner. …… Raymond is looking very angelic in deed.

  8. kate says:

    Hello again Raymond. You are too cute not to feature in the blog. I love the cushion, its fabbo and crochet is well worth the aching fingers, arms, etc…it passes but the woolly goodness is there for keeps. :o)

  9. Joyce says:

    Hi Alice and Raymond, chocolate on crochet, why yes of course there should be. lol. good to hear, I am normal after all. Your cushion is just lovely. Raymond you handsome fellow and don’t you just know it too. Have missed you lately. Good to see you looking so snuggled. iewww study, that dirty 5 letter word. *sigh* yeah, gotta get more of mine done too. lol. Have a wonderful day my dear blog friend. xx

  10. Pearlin J says:

    the cushion is sooo pretty. Love the colour and the buntings too.

  11. brenda says:

    wow that cushion is gorgeous!!! well done ;-))

  12. Kate says:

    Oh how I love that cushion. LOVE!
    I’m not at all surprised you are putting aside your pain to make another. Two would look gorgeous on the couch together.
    You are inspiring me to pick up my much neglected hook.
    Oh, and I’m adding your link to my bunting links. Hope that’s ok.

  13. jules says:

    Hi Alice,
    What a great blog, I love your round granny cushion, I think I might just have to have a go at one of them myself! Thanks for the lovely welcome comment you left on my blog, very nice of you. Cheers Julie

  14. Glad to hear that I am not the only one who gets chocolate everywhere!!! I have been making some granny squares in that pattern and yes the double crochet does get repetitive but I have found that my fingers fly thru it now 🙂

    Raymond is far to photogenic for his own good….I am glad he is getting all the adoration he deserves in his twilight years xx to Raymond, I just love Siamese 🙂

  15. Oh you are so lovely Alice thanks for the mention about my bunting, it really touched me that you mentioned me in your post xox
    ps. I was GREEN with envy when i saw your yummy scrummy pillow
    Thank you once again for your kindness.
    I posted another pic today. Completed item coming soon ( i get distracted FAR to easily) … you remind me of when I was at university, study hard and later creative reward hard ! xox

  16. Oh yes, perfectly normal to have chocolate on your hook! lol! Love the cushion and so glad the chocolate didn’t venture over to it!

  17. Mrs Twins says:

    Beautiful Cushion, I’m still in love with your gorgeous bunting though!
    Hugs Suex

  18. Amanda says:

    This is a LOVELY cushion🙂 and even better that KB likes it!

    Glad to see Raymond looking as angelic as ever xx

  19. Jodie says:

    The cushion looks great! And once again I am taken aback by how much Raymond looks like my Jasper – they must have been separated at birth!

Leave a Reply

