Blog withdrawals? Me? Never!

Hello!!!!!!!!  It’s so good to be back!  Thank you all so much for the lovely birthday wishes… it was a jaw-dropping moment when I saw how many comments were posted when I turned on my computer after my trip to Whanganui!

I must admit…. I had a bit of blog-withdrawal happening!  Not too much!  but it was there!

So far, the birthday festival has been awesome….

 

KB and I got on the road after lunch on Wednesday, and Boy did it rain!

Luckily, the next day was much better, so we hit the small town!   We went to Red Eye cafe for a much needed coffee early in the morning.  Red Eye is one of the main reasons we visit Whanganui… it’s the best.

And despite the brisk weather, we sat in the garden…. but who wouldn’t!  Look at it!

Then we went to the wild, stormy beach for a long and rejuvenating walk….  Whanganui is a West Coast beach, and always rough and stormy.  East Coast beaches in NZ are calmer with white sand goodness.  Whanganui Beach rocks…. we walked from the mouth of the Whanganui river right along, collecting lots of fun things.

We tracked a man and his dog….

And a little dog who joined in the fun!

And a very big dog on a solo expedition…

I had to record the first time I put on my birthday socks from Mum!  These are her best pair yet…. her socks are so perfect, they’re like art and were so great to have that night when I took off my wet jeans, socks and sneakers….

We did the rounds of three types of shops… op shops, wool shops and crystal shops!  I found the best present ever for our car…

She looks granny-licious!

So I’m home now, it’s KB’s birthday and we’re chilling in the sun, planning at some point to go into town for lunch.  She’s wearing all her knitted presents at once…  she looks like someone from a knitwear catalogue!

I’m going to get into my crochet this afternoon!  I’m making some beautiful lacy trimmed bunting and working on the pattern to post… I’m going to admit here, I’ve never been crazy for bunting, but I’m appreciating it more and more!

I was spoiled and given the coolest crochet book ever!  Thank you KB!

And I’ve found the perfect granny square pattern for the cushion I’ve been really wanting to make!

But first I’m going to have a really enjoyable surf around all of my commenters and friends blogs and have a catch up on what you’ve been up to while I’ve been away!

Have a lovely day, from Alice and Raymond XX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Crochet Goodness, Other Ramdom Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Blog withdrawals? Me? Never!

  1. What an amazing trip – now I want a mosaic in my back yard LOL
    the bunting is wonderful and I am so envious of your book, I have been eying that one for ages!

  2. kate says:

    Belated happy birthday Alice! I just love these gorgeous photos of the rugged and bleakly beautiful looking beaches. The footprints in particular were really sweet. I am glad you had a lovely and cozy woolly holiday(and that your girlfriend did too, oops, happy belated birthday to KB as well! )
    P.S- grannylicious is the best new word I have come across in a long time! This whole post made me really smile!

  3. Casey says:

    Glad to hear you had a nice trip!

  4. Amanda says:

    Oh I’m so glad you had such a lovely trip🙂

    What a gorgeous cafe! Tell me, did you buy any crystals?

  5. frances says:

    Hi Alice, birthday girl, Hello Raymond, holiday puss, and Hello KB and happy birthday to you also.
    Looks like you had a wonderful time away, oh and I love those beach photos, and love your cars new present. The bunting you are working on is so pretty. Never been a fan myself either, but now I see yours. . . . . . me like! lol. Love your new socks too.
    Welcome home – and have a wonderful weekend.

  6. sandiart says:

    Was Raymond happy to see you home, or was he spoilt rotten ‘down stairs’ ? It’s great to get away. like a breath of fresh air.
    Sandi

  7. Lots of lovely photos….that beach looks amazing! Did you collect any driftwood to make a hook out of??

    Nice presents 🙂

    Is Raymondo home yet or is he still snug as a bug with the kids in bed?

    Glad you had a great time 🙂

  8. Dorien says:

    Looks like your trip was wonderful. The pictures look great; you know how to make them! A little while ago I got the same book as you did (happy birthday btw), and I found it addictiv; I couldn’t resist but make every single pattern in there. I hope you have a little bit more restraint. But if not, I’m sure you will come up with something beautiful, like always.

  9. PosyLinda says:

    Wooooohoooo – the trip looked great. Happy Birthday to KB too!

  10. Oh Alice looks like you had a fabulous time away, always fun to do this on birthdays. I simply LOVE the look of your crochet book, please take some pics so we can all see. If it’s a good one i think I will pop on my Xmas list (not that I should be thinking about december yet !!) I printed off your pattern for the triangle pot holder last night and will post when I get rond to doing it, as you wll see from my recent post I am popping with ideas but where is the time?? Too much to doooo, soooo little time. Glad to have you back again. This bloggin’ thing is addictive xox

  11. Mrs Twins says:

    OOh that was so nice of you to tell us all about your trip!
    Great photos too.
    I reckon I shall have to get that book, the cover picture looks
    ‘inviting!’.
    I’m so late, just finished SIBOL No. 23 (I think) up late.
    Will post on blog soon.
    Thanks for sharing your fun!
    Hugs Suex

  12. Amanda says:

    oooh I cannot wait to see it… double points are my favourites🙂

Leave a Reply

