Lucky

I’m feeling like quite the lucky one today…  Two gifts in two days!  People who know me well will know I LOVE presents, both receiving and giving, it’s all good in my mind!

Yesterday my lovely KB bought me a beautiful Rununcula…

Which is brightening up my kitchen no end.  It’s cold and dark here now that Winter is just a week away and a lovely injection of bright yellow sunshine is just what I am needing.

The second gift arrived in the post today…

Cue *SQUEE* moment… The lovely Sabine sent me a surprise gift of some sock yarn she dyed.  She said that she thought of my monthly mosaics when she saw the way the colours turned out and wanted to send me a gift.

I was so excited to see what these colours were…

*swoon!*  A total colour buzz, I am in love with theis skein, thank you sooooooooooooooooo much Sabine!  You may remember that I made my third pair of socks from some of Sabine’s hand-dyed yarn I bought from her felt shop.  (Felt.co.nz being the New Zealand equivalent of Etsy)  I am so excited by this gorgeous yarn and I will be making my June socks with it, from a pattern from this gorgeously gorgeous book which I bought while I was in Wellington.

Sabine’s online shop Curiouser and Curiouser is particularly scrummy and I have just found a skein of sock yarn I must have.  (If that link is void it is because I have already purchased it!)

And her finishing touches are just divine… so coming home to such a lovely gift made the day much more exciting.  I love hand-dyed yarn and we are very lucky in New Zealand to have such talented dyers selling their wares.

I’m off to finish a WIP that has been driving me nuts for about 10 weeks… I could not be more excited to be casting off right now, I’ll show you it on the weekend!

Have a great Friday,

love Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Fibre P0rn!. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Lucky

  1. Sabine says:

    You’re very kind, Alice! I’m glad you like the yarn. Happy knitting :-)

  2. Melanie from Qld, Australia says:

    You’ve just enticed me and I’ve just bought that lovely sock book as well. I received some gorgeous wool today that I’d ordered through ebay. I get so excited and spend ages looking at it and feeling it. My friends think I’m nuts but I know I’m normal!!

  3. Wow. That yarn’s awesome! You’ll sure have tons of fun knitting it. :)
    May I ask a question? Don’t you like patterns in socks or is it just that you want them to knit up as fast as possible? I’m only curious because I can only remember your croco-socks having a pattern.

    The flower is so beautiful! I don’t even know whether I could buy it here … Have a great day!
    Julia :D

  4. Wow I just love that yarn. Also the lable that comes with it. Its so cute!

  5. Planet Penny says:

    Fabulous colours, and I’m looking forward to seeing the finished WIP! x

  6. How very beautiful, what wonderful gifts Alice. I just love Sabine’s shop and the skein of sock yarn you must have! I have been knitting with my Noro sock yarn and am loving all the greens in it, it actually reminds me of all your stunning green NZ photo’s. xox Happy week-ending xxx
    ps. Thanks for your email, sorry I haven’t got round to replying … lots of love Penelope xox

  7. Pumpkin says:

    That teapot is adorable! I love teapots and could collect them forever. That yarn is simply beautiful too!

  8. Emma says:

    There is nothing better than getting packages in the mail! How exciting!

  9. minaandme says:

    Hurrah for presents! That yellow flower is positively beautiful and the perfect color to help ward off winter blues :) I can’t say I’ve ever heard of that type of flower before. The sock yarn is also great. It sounds like you have some great color therapy today! I’m curious to see your latest WIP as well. See you later!
    ~Lacey

    PS- My computer wouldn’t let me comment on your last post, but I just want to say it was good to see Raymond again :)

  10. Melissa says:

    Goodness, but that yarn is so YOU! And your Rununcula is so gorgeous! KB did good :)

  11. The Runucular is beautiful I shall look out for one,lov e the colour.I’m envious of the sock yarn lucky you,particularly the darker one.We are in the midst of a heat wave here in the UK, all I can do is sit and make socks.

  12. projectstash says:

    What a great start to your weekend! Gorgeous presents and lucky you!

  13. I love the yarn. I live inn the US but will try to check her website. Gorgeous colors. I have made a few socks mylself but have always had a hard time when I have to make the second one. I bought a very pretty yarn last year at the Sock Summit here in Oregon and you have inspired me to maybe star the socks ( maybe I’ll try to knit both at the same time). I’ll post a picture of my yarn on my blog. Thanks for the inspiration !
    Ps: beautiful flower :)

  14. Deco Cat says:

    How lovely to receive two divine gifts in one day!

  15. Heather says:

    Ahhhh what lovely colours! SO you. I am looking forward to seeing the socks you make from it :-)
    xxxx

  16. Monika says:

    Oh. lovely flower, and flower with tea kettle shots! They look so cozy. Happy yarn as well. :)

  17. WoollyBudgie says:

    What lovely presents!

  18. Hahnsmum says:

    OMG…Alice, the teapot is naked…. Wheres one of yr very pretty cosies to put on one… l`m into crocheting flowered cosies at moment…. COLD over here, so great to sit in front of fire hooking happily away…Yr sox are ALWAYS amazing & so pretty… Love the colours..
    Best Wishes, Hahnsmumn..

  19. Irina says:

    Hello!!!
    Your blog is fantastic, i love it!!!
    I have a blog too, you can visit my blog in:

    http://queliodehilo.wordpress.com/

  20. what lovely gifts. You truly are lucky.

  21. bubblegirlout says:

    Beautiful … enjoy!

Leave a Reply

