Autumn

It is getting bloody cold here in New Zealand, even in the “Winterless North” where we live.  I think it is called the Winterless North because it doesn’t snow up here, it is still cold enough to wear knitted goodies thank goodness, but without the hassle of snow.  The tree in the photo above was gloriousy green all summer, I wish I had taken a photo at the time… I came home from my two weeks away and most of the leaves had disappeared!

There are still a few hanging on, turing the most beautiful shades of yellow and orange… so Autumnal and gorgeous, makes me feel all cozy inside.

Carrying on with the Autumn theme, my May socks are particulalry Autumnal… Knitted while I was in Wellington, I presented them to my lovely KB as a gift when I returned.  While I was away… I can’t believe I’m confessing to this… I bought  TEN balls of sock yarn.  It was a bit of an accident really, I just kept finding all of this gorgeous sock yarn and buying a ball at a time and then counted it all up and the end.  One of the balls I bought was from the Opal Van Gough collection which my Mum had ordered in to sell at her shop a couple of months ago. 

 Mum LOVES this Opal collection but I have to say, I didn’t understand the excitement until I saw it in real life.   But then, when I looked at the paintings on the ball bands and saw how well the colours had been imitated in the yarn I totally understood and cast on a pair of “The Red Vineyard at Arles.”  immediately.  If you want to see the picture of the painting, click on the link above.

These were lovely to knit and I must say, when I put these on to photograph them I didn’t want to take them off and hand them back to KB!  One of my favourite things about these socks is the toe, where coincidentally there is a cute white stripe around the end of the toe…

Simple pleasures… Socks ravelled HERE.

It has stopped pouring with rain for a little while so I’m going to end this post here and go out and enjoy the weather!  Hope you are all well and happy,

love Alice and Raymond XXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in SOCKS!!!. Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Autumn

  1. Alessandra says:

    the socks are gorgeous and so autumnal!!!
    xxx Alessandra

  2. Ashley says:

    I always love the colors that you use in your knits, they are so bright and cheerful! I love the colors of these socks so much, its motivating me to knit up a pair. Unfortunately the hottest temperatures are just around the corner for me, which is a bummer because who feels like knitting when its almost 100 degrees outside?

  3. Jacki says:

    Absolutely beautiful – you make me want to try socks myself. And, as you say, with winter only just around the corner it would be a good time to start! Autumn here in Canberra is also full of beautiful colours since we have so many non-native trees here.

  4. Very beautiful socks! Autumn is here, too, so they would come in very handy (footy?) right about now :-)

  5. Beautiful colors – leaves and socks! It’s lovely weather here in California, but, nonetheless, I am knitting tonight with an alpaca-silk blend. Ahhh, addiction! :)

  6. Love reading your blog each time –thanks for pix of the trees as well as your socks. Lovely views as well as what you are working on. I’m Judy in Florida/USA.

  7. Faeryfay says:

    I just love those socks! Lovely leaves too! I’m starting on a pair of socks too -in Colinette Jitterbug -a lovely sock yarn too!:-) Happy knitting!

  8. Happybee says:

    beautiful socks!!!!
    I love autumn colors and foliage!!!
    In Italy we are in Spring but…cause the rain and cold…it seems late autumn too…
    Have a nice week end!
    Dany

  9. ladjm says:

    Wonderful socks!!! I’ve used the Opal van Gogh The Bridge at Trinquetaille for socks and they are gorgeous – just like yours!!! It’s Autumn here too (South Africa) so I know what you mean about the colours and leaves etc…. lol x

  10. Leah says:

    Oh … those socks are a work of art! The colors are making me drool. I will be knitting myself a pair just as soon as I am finished with school. I love the beautiful leaves and the trees against the cloudy sky – very moody! I send a kiss for Raymond!

  11. MeMeRose says:

    I don’t know why, but everytime I read one of your posts, I wish it was Autumn here. I’m sat here this morning with two crochet blankets wrapped around me watching the thrush and blackbirds going crazy over the raisins I’ve put out for them, and apart from the birds bringing their offspring into the garden for their first lessons in feeding, it does look like Autumn here. Love the socks… wish I had some on my feet right now.

  12. Deco Cat says:

    Perfect Autumn socks. We still have freezing weather here and it is meant to be spring, mind you it gives a good excuse for snuggling under blankets in front of the fire.

  13. Donna says:

    Your words are as illustrative as your works are colorful. I always enjoy your transformative posts. It is Spring here in New Jersey, USA. It was not a particularly cold winter (nor snowy but for an odd storm at the start) and May has seemed more like April. Still, I cannot fathom it being fall anywhere else, tho I know it is so. The picture that goes with the sock yarn brought to my mind a song by Linda Ronstadt…here is a little bit (sorry I’m being self indulgent)…
    Oh the women ‘cross the river carry water from the well at break of day
    And they talk to one another; God only knows what they might say
    You might get an education after years of dedication
    You might finally get a glimpse of what is right… and what is wrong
    But the women ‘cross the river; well they knew that all along…

  14. Wendy says:

    Beautiful socks, love those colours. Will think of you while I am on holidays in a warmer place than where I live, very sunny every day here at the moment. I do love the New Zealand climate though and visiting both Islands ☺

  15. I love the colors n the artistic inspiration, I really like Van Gogh and think this yarn would look very good on a triangular shawlette.

  16. Planet Penny says:

    I love the Van Gogh yarns. He’s my favourite artist because of his use of colour, so to have that all wound up in something you can actually knit with, double bliss! Beautiful autumn colours x

  17. Sandy says:

    I love your socks,I must have a go at knitting some.

  18. tejesarita says:

    Hi Alice! Enjoy your autumn! We have spring here in Crete, and I’m ‘almost’ already waiting the sweet autumn and yarns and knittings … I’m happy for you to find a lot of adorable yarn – those socks are really beautiful! Sunny wishes! x Teje

  19. i tell you what – it still feels like autumn in england – it snowed and hailed the other day. its supposed to be nearly summer!

  20. Stocki says:

    Oh my goodness, Graanytaughtmetocrochet is so right… I have my furry slippers on and a jumper and I am shivering… the sky is grey and it is threatening to rain… we do love our ‘droughts; in England! At least your posts bring us a little colour.. well, lots of colour actually! Gorgeous socks once again Alice,,,I hope KB loves them too… Jill x

  21. Jane says:

    Beautiful colourful socks and great Autumnal photos!

  22. They are sooo beautiful … I have seen the Opal yarn in many shops round here, but have to admit that I think them too expensive (almost 9€ here. I have only gone so far as to pay 8€ for a skein. Woooo …. Quite logical, right?) ;) .

    But I always love the colours of the different skeins – my favourite so far is the one with the room I always forget the title of (stupid ol’ me).

    By the way: I think it fascinating that it’s becoming autumn in your part of the world, while in mine, we’re slowly but surely preparing for summer and higher temperatures. I know, I know, that’s the way it is with the southern and nothern hemisphere … But still, somehow I cannot wrap my head around the fact that for children in Australia, Christmas (for example) will always be connected with beach trips and hot weather, while here, hot weather means that it’s time for the summer holidays and that you’ve still got a looong way to go until next Christmas ….

    I wish you a lovely weekend! :)

  23. Pumpkin says:

    You are definitely making me look for forward to autumn in my little corner in the world. Such wonderful socks too! Any chance you might share photos of some of your new stash additions?

  24. reina says:

    I bought a ball of sockyarn and knit socks, then I bought another ball, then two, then… Last count 31 pairs of socks, ony rests of sockyarn left. I am knitting a dominoblankie now, almost finished and started with a few (only 10) new balls with the hexagon blanket and the rests, my sockdrawer is flowing over, but the sockyarns are irresistable, I am on yarnbuying strike right now (as long as that lasts ;-) ). Must find out about my countrymans sockyarns selling shops, I am Dutch.

  25. Knitterstone Clee says:

    fabulous colours! maybe I will learn to knit socks this year? who knows, might even have to seek out this fabulous yarn and see how it crochets. Summer will be here soon enough, til then, we have the rainy Spring to enjoy! the hawthorns are in bloom and the scent on the breeze is mesmerising. It lovely to hear what its like on the other side of the world, enjoy the gold and reds and oranges, while I have fun with the greens and blues and yellows! (ooh that sounds like Starry night!)

    Suzanne

  26. Maggie Moore says:

    I love your autumn socks – they just personify autumn! Maggie xx

  27. Nancy says:

    Loving your autumn socks. Just coming into the dog days of summer here in Michigan. That means planting gardens, weeding and watching things grow. While this to some, might not seem to be the best time of year for knitting with heavy yarn. To me it is the best to time pull out all my odds and ends and put together socks for the real autumn and winter which always seem to be right around the corner. Time flies when you are as old as I am and preparedness is better than pulling on a sock from years gone by and finding you need to repair them before you can enjoy them. Bless you Raymond and to your readers – Blessed be!

  28. Beautiful colours Alice, your mum (and you) have great taste in yarn colour choices. I can see why you don’t want to take them off they look so cosy and perfect for autumn. I must that I love autumn and spring equally and we might as well write off our spring this year it’s been so miserable and wet!! I started knitting some Noro sock when I was out in South Africa and must make an effort to complete them. Hope you guys have a snuggly woolly weekend xox Penelope

  29. Love those leaves the colours are beautiful. We are in a winterless part also in the area of Victoria I live in here in Australia but still cold enough for yarny goodies so I join in your ya!

  30. We are just getting ready for summer in the US. Your socks are so beautiful.

  31. Anne Marie says:

    I have recently finished my FIRST pair of socks in a Regia wool, which is a bit boring. I so love your beautiful socks and would love to do some in that colour.

  32. Andrea says:

    Great may socks!! I heart that yarn!

  33. Melissa says:

    Beautiful yarn! Hope you had a pleasant trip.

  34. Rachel says:

    I love those socks!! That is the most amazing thing that there is a colour palette of socks for Van Gogh!!! He has always been my favourite artist, since I was about 13, and the colours are what always do it for me. So to find there is yarn in those colours……
    I need a minute!!
    Its quite cold here too atm, makes mornings snuggly, and hard to get up!!

  35. Lovely coloured yarn and 10 balls isn’t sivas really. Though how many others in a stash do you have?

  36. KatElders61 says:

    Greetings Miss Alice,
    I’ve been following you for a while now, but never get much time to indulge. When I moved my blog to WordPress it became sooo much easier and harder too, lol, as now I get completely absorbed in your posts.
    I’m working on a tea pot cozy and taking pictures as I go. I’ve had to tear out and redo a couple times, but that’s ok. It’ll be GREAT when I’m done.
    I’m fifty and have crocheted most of my life, but I get bored with it some times and was knitting mostly until I ran across your blog.
    Thank you so much for the inspiration and re-kindling my love of crochet.

    I’ll post my cozy on my blog and send you a link in case you’re interested.

    Blessings to you and yours,
    Kathleen

  37. Hello! just stop by to tell you how much I love your blog that I follow over 1 year for sure. It’s so colourful, inspirational and Raymond…. Raymond is THE CAT. He’s so cute. Just want also to tell you that I put a link towards your blog on my blog. Hope you agree with. If not I’ll remove it quickly. Have a nice Sunday. Best from Nana9 and Mr Berry Pops.

  38. It’s summer where I live, but those socks look positively cozy! Great work, love the colors.

  39. allison says:

    These are such gorgeous socks, Alice. The colors are amazing! I hadn’t heard of the Van Gogh collection, but I need to check it out. I used to hang out at the Van Gogh all the time when I lived in Amsterdam!

  40. Margo Boult says:

    Those socks are absolutely gorgeous!!!!! I am going to learn to knit them soon!!!!

  41. Pingback: Calcetines IV | La Maison Bisoux

Leave a Reply

