April

Aren’t Autumn trees just the most beautiful thing ever?  In New Zealand, most of our native bush is evergreen, and we had a lot of Pine trees where I grew up, so the sight of an Autumn tree is still very exciting for me as I only really started to notice them about 6 years ago.

It is getting chillier here, which I am enjoying immensely, pulling out my scarves and cowls and socks… April socks are complete, YAY! 

I love this colourway, LOVE IT!  I’ve been saving it in my stash for a few months and decided to pull it out and enjoy the experience of knitting it up.  As we have limited amounts of daylight now, I popped them on as soon as I got home and started taking some photos.

Not the best idea when you have a Raymond who has been home alone all day and wants some love!

Cue sock photo bomb of the highest order…

Such the smoocher…

I got a couple of good shots anyway.

And they are finished just in time for my trip to Wellington tomorrow, where it is much colder and I will appreciate them immensely!  I’m off for two weeks of training for work, appreciating very much that I am going to visit my family at the same time… I’ll pop in when I can and to update you on my Wholehearted KAL progress, but the next two weeks are going to be full of spending time with my Mum, Pixie, the animals, dyeing wool and knitting.

Oh, and work too of course….

So to round up the month of April, a very pink and green mosaic.

I’m loving those colours a lot.  Guavas, Autumn and knitting toys, is what April has been about in my world!

Wishing you a very blessed start to May 2012,

lots of love XXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Monthly mosaics, SOCKS!!!. Bookmark the permalink.

65 Responses to April

  1. Debbie says:

    Your socks are lovely. I must admit that I don’t know which I like better – the socks or Raymond. LOL (I have four cats of my own!)

  2. sugarplummuffinfairycake says:

    awww gotta love the photo bomber :)

  3. Adrienne Sharman says:

    I totally agree with Debbie – the socks are gorgeous, but Raymond is so lovely too – and I don’t have cats (too much asthma in the house!). Do you have a specific pattern you use for socks? I want to try knitting them but don’t quite know where to start! Any tips gratefully received! Hope you have a lovely time with your family!

  4. Sandy says:

    Love your socks. Enjoy your two weeks away.

  5. Alessandra says:

    Raymond is lovely!! your socks,sandra too!!!
    xxxx Ales

  6. Barbara says:

    I make socks also just like yours but on the knitting machine,also spin so am watching with great interest you progress. I live in Townsville Australia,am also a member of Ravelry.

    • Marta says:

      Hi Barbara! I live in Tsv too and I’m desperate looking for friends to crochet + coffee/tea with!! I made a group on Facebook called The Handmade Lovers club [Townsville] and I would love you to join it ^_^

  7. meredithjean says:

    Raymond Raymond what a passionate chappy he is, so lovely to see him all loved up while you photographed him um er your socks. Colours in your April are beautiful xxx

  8. Laura Zanolini says:

    It’a joy reading and watching your blog,I like so much you and your work.Thank you for inspiring me!

  9. baamekniits says:

    I love the photo of Raymondo smooching you so much he is almost standing on his head! Lovely furry socks now ;-) Well done you are keeping to your goal nicely. I have four pairs but all unfinished!! Have a great time with your family and smooching your neice, did you make her a present? Looking forward to seeing the results of all your spinning and dying. Can we have a picture of Richie too :-)

  10. gaia says:

    Your socks are lovely.

  11. chmurka says:

    I love Raymond!!!!!
    and great socks :)

  12. Patch says:

    Love the socks, beautiful colours. The photo with Raymond looking up at you is fantastic. His eyes match the socks!!

  13. Maggie Moore says:

    Oh wow….those photos of smoochy Raymond – sooo gorgeous! Love your socks too :) Maggie xx

  14. gail says:

    What a treat for the eyes! I love the photo-bomb too!

  15. Sarah says:

    Raymond looks delighted with the socks! You’re very lucky he doesn’t have ‘pica’ like a friend of mine’s cat who literally eats woolly things – they have giant holes in everything!
    Lovely colours you have as usual! Just started up our weekly crochet and coffee again, but it’s spring here so we won’t be needing woollies for a while (plenty of time to make something for next autumn/winter though!))

  16. bartynboz says:

    Love the socks Alice – and the fun with Raymond. What gorgeous coloured leaves – it is a great photograph. Here, in the north of England, it is springtime and everywhere looks green and verdant, thanks to lots of rain! Hope you have a lovely trip to Wellington and though it is work, hope you get lots of time to play. Good wishes, Viv

  17. Hannah says:

    You have such beautiful colored leaves and oh, those socks too and best of all is Raymond. Have a wonderful time in Wellington. Here it is very warm in the desert. Isn’t it wonderful how you have friends from all over the world? Your blog is a true joy to me.

  18. Angelo says:

    Those character you made are really cute. I feel like animating them in stop motion. Really lovely character with trippy colours. In the real world it will look beautifull…

  19. minaandme says:

    It appears Raymond likes your new socks as much as you do! I love the photobomb collage :) And it really was a green and pink month for you! It makes for very pretty pictures though. I hope you have a wonderful back in Wellington. Enjoy your time and the changing of the seasons!
    ~Lacey

  20. mary i says:

    Love the photo-bomb! I could hear him purring..Great socks. Although it is 80 plus here in Alabama and i am wearing flip flops… Pet the great one for me :)

  21. Victoria says:

    Another lovely pair of socks, but best of all is seeing Raymond smooching against you! I love it when cats do that. Have a great weekend!

  22. Taryn says:

    I LOVE this colorway too! Is this something that you hand dyed or bought?
    Also, it’s so weird to see fall in April, as I live in Texas and April is spring here.
    Love your photos!

  23. Melissa says:

    It is always so odd to me to think of Autumn in April. We are full on spring now. The socks look great! Have a wonderful trip and get all the Pixie kisses you can!

  24. Sandy Baker says:

    I love your socks…I have to learn to knit so I can make some. I crochet but your socks make me want to knit..

  25. lavieja244 says:

    That Randy Raymond truly loves you…or is it the fantastic socks? The happy energy that you send makes for a lovely day.

  26. Kathy says:

    Loving the colors in your mosaic! Gorgeous!

  27. Jill_R says:

    What a beutiful photo collage. Raymond as usual! is his handsome lovey self! Have a wonderful time visiting your family and *ahem* work. We are just getting into spring here, I know I am looking forward to getting some warmer, drier weather. Have a safe trip!!

  28. Deco Cat says:

    Gorgeous socks, have fun with your family!

  29. Love the colours of the socks.Do you have other wip for the month or do you devote your YARN time to socks?
    .Just come back from walking my dog over the fields in the pouring rain we are soaked—–but happy,a lovely spring green walk. Have a great 2 weeks

  30. Laura Miller says:

    Lovely post and gorgeous colours! Autumn here too in South Africa so I can fully relate to the need for new socks!!! Raymond loving those colours too!! Have a safe journey and a good trip! lol x

  31. abqmurphy says:

    I agree with everyone that Raymond steals the show. Yes, it is shorts weather here in Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA. However, my first thought when I saw the Autumn leaves with the green behind them is that you should dye up a colorway to match. Happy dyeing.

  32. Monika says:

    I’m loving your photo mosaic. I’ve lost my sock mojo. :o( Seeing yours I hope it will be back soon.

  33. 'me' says:

    hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!!!!!!!!
    That raymond!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I love the socks!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  34. Liza Flores says:

    Hello Alice,
    I just love your socks they look so cozy. And of course Raymond looks so loveing. What a sweet being. Have a good visit with the family and can hardly wait to see the photos . Take Care sending only the best wishes to you and your loved ones. Your friend from Texas

  35. jenn says:

    My most favorite pair of socks yet! Congrats!

  36. WoollyBudgie says:

    Oooh, lovely socks! I haven’t knitted a pair of socks for a few months and I now feel the need to start some very soon!

  37. Lori says:

    Love, Love Love the socks! And Raymond too!

  38. Sharon says:

    Love the socks! Those just may be the prettiest yet, but I like them all. You always take a picture of just the socks and it made me wonder what type of shoes you wear with them? Happy Autumn in your part of the world :o)

  39. projectstash says:

    I don’t think you’ll be able to take those socks off. They look so warm and cozy! Have a wonderful trip to Wellington and stay warm.

  40. Karen Hillier says:

    Aahh! Love Raymond :) i have been following your blog for a while now but these pics just made me want to leave a message! My mum has a blue point siamese who is SUPER loving – Raymond reminded me so much of him! I also think your socks are rather fab!
    with love
    Karen x x

  41. Andrea says:

    Great socks!! :) Have a nice trip to Wellington! Enjoy your family!

  42. Aww gotta love the kitty sock love photos.

    Have a great weekend!

  43. That smoocher surely made my day.. :-)

    Hope you’ll have a fab time with your family and training !

  44. Sarah Ross says:

    I am so glad you are going home for a visit. Please take lots of pictures of Pixie and how about catching up on Richie, I bet he has changed a lot.

    Sarah from Texas

  45. cybercita says:

    Much prefer the photos of the cat loving up on your socks to the ones without!

  46. irsanadenz says:

    Reblogged this on Couse you're Amazing and commented:
    welcome :)

  47. Lovely Raymond … I didn’t realize that in your country is autumn. I know, it maybe looks stupid, but i live in Europe (little tiny Czech republic) and there is spring right now and everything is blooming :)

  48. gephart836 says:

    Love love love that Raymond.
    The socks are fab too, apparently he thinks the same!

  49. Anna says:

    Hi Alice, I love the socks. Make those myself as well. I visit your blog from time to time. As there are a lot of Dutch people who can’t read English patterns I sometimes translate patterns to Dutch. I made one today of your granny mandala post and used your photos: http://vanannashand.blogspot.com/2012/05/granny-mandala.html. I made a link to your blog, of course. I do hope this is ok with you.

    Give our love to Raymond,
    Anna

  50. Kate says:

    Oooh! These socks are by far my favorite Alice! Well done!

  51. Sara says:

    I love the April photo colours.

    Seems funny that your going into Autumn but we in Britain are coming into our spring/summer in UK although it has been very wet for last few weeks.

  52. woolythymes says:

    Great socks! Great color, great fit, great kitty attraction!

  53. Suzanne says:

    Aaaah Raymond is so cute, more cat pictures please :p. Love the socks too!

  54. DaCraftyLady says:

    love the socks, and Raymond is perfect!! ~~

  55. Wendy says:

    Well Raymond sure appreciates the socks and as usual so do I. Love NZ and look forward to another trip maybe later in the year. Those monsters are great too, Enjoy family time and Wellington ♥

  56. I’ve been nominated for the Versatile Blogger Award and I am now supposed to pass it on the fifteen other people. Well fifteen is more than I can manage, I think, but I want to pass it on to you because I think your blog is great! You can see your entry here: http://rainbowjunkiecorner.wordpress.com/2012/05/05/versatile-blogger-award/

  57. mijnzeep1 says:

    Wow, lovely! I really like your blog…
    Take care!
    Natalia

  58. Randi says:

    Just saying hallo from the other side of the earth. I live in northern parts of Norway (on the top of the earth).
    I really love the way you write, so much humour:) I am looking forward to following your blog.

  59. Carmen says:

    Hello Alice , i´m a follower from Spain. How are you? So many days post anything. I hope fine

  60. erica K says:

    Raymond is so adorable. Great socks! Hope you had a nice trip. :)

  61. Joanna says:

    Love your socks Alice. Softy Raymond, gorgeous as ever :-) xx

  62. I value the blog.Thanks Again. Cool.

  63. Pingback: Knitting Envy | A Conversation with Moo

Leave a Reply

