Wholehearted

The lovely Evelyn at Project: Stash  started a Knit-a-Long last week, which I couldn’t reisit joining.  The pattern is the Wholehearted Shawl which I liked very much, and as all of the proceeds from pattern sales are being given to the designer’s daughter to help her rebuild her home after a devestating house fire, I was of course more than pleased to buy a pattern and knit both for a positive cause and join in with some lovely knitters from around the world!  The first KAL post at Project: Stash is HERE, where you can read participant’s blog posts, mainly about choosing the colours for their shawls, possibly the hardest part of a project…

I didn’t find the choosing much easier, I had an idea of what I would like to knit my shawl with, so a few days ago, dug deep into the stash and pulled out a few options.

I had decided that I didn’t want to use two colours for my shawl, that I liked the different stitch patterns and I was going to let the stitches be the focus of the shawl rather than blending colours, so my mission was to find a lovely colour I would enjoy wearing as it is getting cold!  My first option was the lovely cone of silk/ mohair/ wool blend.  I wasn’t entirely sure about this, but have since decided that I will definitely be making a shawl with this before Winter is through!

My next option was a gorgoeus variegated purple which I bought quite some time ago, with plans for a lovely big shawl.

It is so lovely and bright and vibrant, I swoon over these colours, however was concerned that it would be too variegated and the colour changes would detract from the stitch pattern.

Finally I decided on a skein I bought at the same time as the purple, but in green.  I love these colours and was soooooooooooooooooooooo ridiculously excited when I bought this yarn, and I am thrilled to be knitting it into something practical which I know I will wear for a long time!

I was still a little concerned that the yarn was a bit variegated, however decided to roll it into a nice big ball and see how it looked.  As this skein is 200gms of fingering weight yarn, winding it into a ball took some time.  Raymond decided to help out, but got his nose caught up in the swift…

See that indignant stance?  Immediately before that photo was taken he had put his nose in the way and as the swift was spinning very fast, he got a fright.  Immediately after that photo was taken he was shooed off the table by the way… he knows the rules about cats on benches and tables, he was just being cheeky and nosy!

Once balled, I decided the “variegatedness” of the yarn was not going to be a problem at all.

I cast on immediately and must say, I love knitting this shawl!  I love the green, and as green is the colour of the heart chakra and this is the Wholehearted Shawl, I think it is very fitting.

I’ve completed the first section so far…

And am loving the way the greens are working together…

Hope to see more of you join in this KAL, it is so much fun to see other people’s progress and I love how one pattern has so many different results depending on the colours people choose.

I’m off to try and complete my April socks today, can you believe it is nearly May?  I swear monthly socks are making the months go so much faster!  Hope you are well and happy out there in the world!

XXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Raymond Appreciation, Wholehearted Shawl KAL. Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Wholehearted

  1. Matt says:

    That green yarn is to die for! Such an amazing colour!!!
    Picked up the knitting needles myself today…think I need a little more practice!
    Good luck with finishing your socks!!! Matt xxx

  2. gail says:

    Oh, poor Raymond!

    Lovely start to your shawl!

  3. lynn says:

    That shawl will be gorgeous! Give Raymond a kiss on the nose from me.

  4. WoollyBudgie says:

    Beautiful green! It is going to be a lovely shawl!

  5. Jill_R says:

    It is going to be lovely!! It looks great so far. And a kiss to poor suffering Raymond and his little nose. (haha!)

  6. Anne Marie says:

    That shawl is delicious! Is there a pattern link or is it on ravelry or some other place?

    Poor Raymond, he does look affronted! I got that phrase from Beatrix Potter, Thomas Kitten.

  7. Anne Marie says:

    Well, yes, just read the post properly before you ask questions, A-M! I’ve just read through again and found the link, thank you.

  8. Beautiful shades of green. It’s going to look beautiful when it finished.

  9. Leah says:

    Your chose beautifully! Love that green, if I wasn’t already knitting a shawl I’d join in…but I will still buy the pattern for later! Thanks for sharing!

  10. Karyn says:

    That is a lovely colour. I hope to start mine soon too just need to pick the colour/colours – but from stash only. Look forward to seeing yours soon.

  11. Heather says:

    Oh what a lovely Post!!! I love your cat. He is soo handsome!!!

  12. Wendy says:

    Love seeing Raymond and the shawl is going to be beautiful.

  13. That shawl is going to be gorgeous!!

  14. Gracey says:

    The shawl looks like it’ll be gorgeous! I love green! I’m probably going to get the pattern and I just checked the stash on Rav…think I might have something…

  15. meredithjean says:

    I love seeing your closeups, they communicate a warm personal care. Every single stitch made by your hand. The greens are superb, and now I know they are the Heart Shakra awwwwwww thank you Alice.

  16. Stunning greens, good choice for shawl. I think the contrast between the light and dark of the pinky purple one would have done whatyou thought and detracted from the stitchery. I also started a new shawl last night but crocheted, but I haven’t got nearly as far as you. :-)

  17. Lori says:

    the green is really really pretty, someday i think i’d like to participate in a kal too. what a lovely pattern your making!

  18. Knitterstone Clee says:

    fabulous colour! it will be a gorgeous shawl, and lovely Raymond, he is a very fine feline!

  19. Mlle Michelle says:

    So pretty! Man you must be a super speedy knitter, I am seriously impressed by how many things you seem to knit through. :)

  20. This is immensely beautiful. :) I have to admit that I never would have the patience to knit a shawl (also, because I wear scarves); but this is awesome. Have tons of fun with it! :D

    Love
    Julia

  21. kiwiyarns says:

    Good choice of yarn! I think your finished result is going to be lovely.

  22. projectstash says:

    Swoon! Each of your yarn choices were excellent but your keen eye definitely picked THE perfect one!

  23. Underground Crafter says:

    I love your choice of yarn. My cat does the same silly stuff as Raymond, and then he wonders why he gets hit in the nose.

  24. That purple yarn is so beautiful! can’t wait to see the finished shawl. Raymond, is (of course) also gorgeous! cats and crochet/knitting are an amazing combination!

  25. Ximena says:

    I love your blog, make some beautiful works! I love to knit and wool.
    I do not speak English, use the google translator, I hope you understand me.
    Kisses from Uruguay.
    Ximena

  26. Again your post makes me wish I could knit so I too could join the project and the kal.

    That green is brilliant for it though, lovely changes but the focus is still the stitches. I look forward too seeing this as it grows.

  27. minaandme says:

    I do love the green you chose. It’s such a great cause that you are supporting with this shawl too. I really like the picture of Raymond looking rather assaulted by the swift. I can just picture my Mina doing the exact same thing. Enjoy your shawl!
    ~Lacey

  28. Darlene says:

    Hi, Alice, I love the symbolism of the green for the heart chakra and the name of the pattern, Wholehearted! Gorgeous knitting and colour, not too variegated at all. RayRay looks beautiful. P.S. Just finished my Lotus Mandala Prayer Flags and love them.

  29. ladjm says:

    Ok so I’m literally swooning with envy over your stunning green yarn!!! It’s gorgeous and as green is most definitely my favourite of favourite colours, I know this shawl will be exquisite!!! Can’t wait to see it finished! lol x

  30. Oh what heavenly shades green is my favorite colour I do envy you Its looking beautiful.I splashed out yesterday on a hank of hand spun hand dyed marino done locally.Never ever spent so much on one hank but it just drew me and i had to have it,going to be a lovely lacey cowl.x

  31. ranireads says:

    Hooray! Green. My favorite color.

  32. Deco Cat says:

    Gorgeous shawl and the colour is perfect for it!

  33. Sue Webb says:

    I am literally swooning at the colours in that shawl, I love it, perfect! We have that rule about cats and tables too……..yeh you guessed it, boy do they try it on!

  34. Melissa says:

    It’s looking gorgeous! Love the greens!

  35. Andrea says:

    Oh I LOVE that yarn! Those shades of green are looking great! It’s gonna be a beautiful shawl, How I wish I knew how to knit…I learned a lot of time a go but didn’t really go into it…then crochet took over all of my crafting passion…
    Can´t wait to see your april socks! This year is just flying by like crazy!

  36. Am loving this yarn as much as you! And I am another who does not knit…well. But I will enjoy watching your progress!

  37. Pati from London says:

    Love the colour choice Alice. Green is one of these colours that makes everyone who wears it look beautiful! Lovely to read your adventures even though I don’t always have time to comment as I am doing exam revision at the mo..ahhhhggg!!! xx Pati

  38. Di Childs says:

    I love variegated colours and have a large stock of them. I sell knitting yarns in France and I’m sure that I buy to please myself more that to please customers. I’ve been making lots of mitred squares that I make up into blankets, very colourful. Our 16 cats send regards to Raymond, especially Alexander who has the same ‘lord of the manor’ air.

  39. I always love working with yarn where the color is not a solid single color but has gradations! Beautiful!

  40. Lovely Alice, what a great scarf and I love the name of the pattern, oh and for such a great cause too. I think I might just have to add this to my ravelry list for next winter! Looks nice and easy and comfortable to knit along to. Your green yarn is to dye for (sorry that is such a naff joke!), it reflects all those beautiful rich and varied greens of your gorgeous surroundings and `will look lovely against your skin colouring. I actually managed to get out the door without my winter coat this morning and dry some washing on the line, so there is hope for us having some kind of summer!! How many of Raymond’s nine lives are left? He is a little minx. You must be going into friday as I type this, have a fabulous weekend, I’m hoping to get crocheting again, it feels like forever since I crocheted something nice xox

  41. missnancy220 says:

    You are a delight and I really enjoy reading your posts! I wish I had more time to crochet and knit. I love the green! I can’t wait to see the shawl you create :)

  42. Such a great selection of colours!

Leave a Reply

