The Bogey Monster

Last July I went to a Spin In with my Mum.  I remember buying a L.O.T of fibre… remember this mosaic?

Yes, well that was about half of what I bought in total, it was a most excellent haul.  If you are so inclined, you can read about the entire post here.  One of the bags of fibre I didn’t photograph that day was a 100gm bag of green goodness, composed of 50% Corriedale, 30% Kid Mohair and 20% Silk.  I’ve never spun such a blend, but while on my March spin-a-thon, I pulled it out and had a go.

It was not the easiest spinning adventure, the silk is very floppy and the kid mohair is very hairy, but it was fun nonetheless.

I ended up with a very chunky, floppy, heavy, hairy skein of yarn which I was quite pleased with.

Not too bad for a first try. 

As I did not get much yardage, I decided to knit…. a monster!  Are you surprised?  Probably not… I love knitting monsters so much, and being that everyone around me wants a monster for themselves, I could knit one a week for the rest of the year and they might still be in demand.

Introducing, The Bogey Monster.

Knitting The Bogey Monster was an unusual experience too, being that there are very few badly-spun, silk/kid merino/ corriedale blends on the market!  The yarn was very floppy and heavy and I ran out halfway through the body so needed to sew it up just as it was.  Which meant The Bogey Monster looks a bit like a green M&M with horns, but nevertheless, he is ace and I have the perfect home for him with a friend of mine.

It’s Saturday morning here, nice and early and the whole weekend is stretching out ahead of me.  I’ve got plans to spin, knit a secret present, possibly get my crochet hooks out, mow the lawns, go running, have dinner with friends and hopefully have some time to laze around too!  What are you up to this weekend?

The one thing I will not be doing is knitting another monster….

Hope you have a good one whatever you get up to!

See ya!

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Knitted Monsters, Slow Yarn Movement. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to The Bogey Monster

  1. Jill_R says:

    Your Bogey monster is so cute, no matter what the yarn style is!

    Enjoy your busy but fun weekend!! I know there is never enough time to laze about in my book!

  2. Karyn says:

    he is a lovely monster. Hope to see you next week when you are in welly. I am in the shop sat and sun now.

  3. Knitterstone Clee says:

    oh he’s fabulous! and the yarn is fantastic! This weekend I’ll be crocheting a Goddess! well starting on her anyway! and possbily doing some more to one that got a little left behind!

    Have a fab weekend!

  4. Melissa says:

    He’s adorable! Have a lovely weekend!

  5. Lori says:

    How cute is he!!?? And I love his color :) I want to make one too. Have a fabulous weekend!

  6. Laura says:

    Hi Alice,

    Love your blog and your spinning! You inspired me to pick up my spinning again. Hope you like it! http://www.frutselsvanlaura.blogspot.com

    Friday night here in Holland, looking forward to tomorrow to do some spinning again!

    Love,

    Laura

  7. Patch says:

    He’s fantastic. Reminds me a bit of a gooseberry too!

  8. sue says:

    Oh he’s adorable such a perfect colour. Have a lovely weekend, mine is going to involve tidying up my sewing room, bliss!

  9. Ximena says:

    I love your blog, I am very cute wool fabric and the love green!
    Greetings from Uruguay
    Xime

  10. Wanda says:

    I’m loving all your Monsters!

  11. Bearlakenana says:

    He appears to be a happy little monster ;-)

  12. He is perfect Alice, all hairy, floppy, chunky and heavy, just how he should be! Now that I can knit with DPN’s I must try and get round to making my very own monster. I think the felt teeth make them very adorable. Your monster making might very well become a legend in their own right, enjoy spinning and chilling this weekend xox Penelope

  13. Another fab monster! You shall have to start a monster business. ;)

  14. Deco Cat says:

    Another gorgeous monster! This weekend I will be gardening, spinning, reading and crocheting. Bliss.

  15. Gorgeous wool! Love the monster too :-)

  16. minaandme says:

    I like the Bogey monster :) I think it’s safe to say he’s one of my top three out of the ones you’ve posted up. The yarn you used sounds like it would have been an interesting spin! Hopefully you’ll enjoy your fun-filled weekend!
    ~Lacey

  17. knitsofacto says:

    Do you know the Fungus the Bogeyman books by Raymond Briggs? I think Fungus and your monster are family ;D

  18. gephart836 says:

    Love your new monster, the colour is awesome. Hope you have a lovely weekend.

  19. Lou's Labors says:

    I love that shade of green! He is really cute! Enjoy your weekend :)

  20. Alessandra says:

    Nice green monster!!! Your weekend plans seem great! I still don’t know for sure about ours project as a family, but some knitting in the meanwhile will do!!!
    xxxx Alessandra

  21. jjart66 says:

    OHHH! I love that color of green and it looks so soft and fuzzy – just the way a monster should be. I have just started blogging and your sight has been such an inspiration to me with all the COLOR! LOVE IT!

  22. HillyT says:

    I have the Rebecca Danger book of monsters (I know you don’t follow an exact pattern but I would have to), and every time you post one of these cute little guys I reach for it and wish I was better at knitting. I may just have to dive in and have a go even though I don’t know where to start.

  23. Lisa says:

    Fantastic homespun – love that green colour and the monster

  24. It’s awesome! It doesn’t look like an M&M for sure!
    So cute … :) Have a nice weekend! I’ll be at work … Both days ….

  25. WoollyBudgie says:

    He is so cute! I love him!

  26. Jane says:

    Hi Alice, the yarn & monster look fab to me! Enjoy your weekend, sounds good fun. In Leicestershire it’s very showery. I’m off to take some photos at a local steam railway, plan to do a couple more rows of my striped crochet blanket and chill out…

  27. gail says:

    Hi there! I just popped over here from the comment you left on my blog :-) LOVE your yarns and your monster is so cute! (Don’t tell him though – I’m sure he probably wants to be intimidating).

  28. That green is fantastic! Your friend is so lucky to recieve a monster I’d die to have one there gorgeous. Hope your weekend is a good one…got some housework here to do myself….finish a bear (you keep making knitted monsters I’m the same with crochet bears) and a trip to the next town with the hubby to visit mum.

    Keep shiney!!

  29. Maenwyn Rati says:

    I plan to crochet another strand of bunting from your pattern. The first was for me this on for a friend’s friend fighting cancer.

    • Liza says:

      Hello Alice,
      Your monster is to die for , And the color of green looks so cool. I love the way the blend came out . Have a wonderful week-end. Sending only the best wishes to you and your loved ones.Your friend from Texas

  30. I love him and his yarn!

  31. woolythymes says:

    I adore him!!! (especially his little feet!!!!!!!) Perfect color. Hope the weekend was wonderful—you had a ton of goodness planned!

  32. Claw says:

    I totally love how beautiful you spin your yarn. I wish I could be so good. And your monsters are really cute. :)

  33. I think he is my favourite one you have done yet! Gorgeously green too :)

  34. Suzanne says:

    You spin such beautiful yarns! I the monster another gift or just for your new home? I know you made the monster with various patterns, but could you give a hint on how to make one? You designed the feet yourself right? They look soooo cute!

  35. Fliss says:

    He’s really cute!!

  36. Love The Bogey Monster! I’ve just made a dragon. He’s called Colin. Perhaps I could make my own monster and they could be friends!

  37. Pingback: the photo shoot « Cityhippyfarmgirl

Leave a Reply

