Better late than never?

Thanks to a looooooooooooooooooooong lovely weekend, I’ve managed to get some projects finished.  And photographed too.  Isn’t four lovely days of nothing-to-do just the best?  Yesterday it was sunny for the first time in over a week, so I managed to get five (yes, FIVE!) loads of washing washed and dried.  Then later it rained, so I sat and finished many little projects and it was quite satisfying.

The first of these was my March socks.

When I bought this yarn, I told you all about it, lovely hand dyed Blue Faced Leiscester by Helene from Happy-go-Knitty.  You can also buy her yarns in the Facebook stall Oh, for Craft’s Sake and if you’re not facebook-friendly, she has a stall on Felt which is a NZ version of Etsy.  I highly recommend Helene’s yarn, she is a wonderful dyer and I would love to be a fly on the wall in her dying studio and see how she gets her stripes so even.  I’ve still got two skeins of BFL yarn and I keep thinking they want to be made into a shawl, however maybe not for me as the colours are a bit neon rather than my typical eye popping bright.

So anyway, March socks, TICK!  Completed.

These pictures do not do this gorgeous yarn justice, for some reason the socks are coming out very over-exposed and are in fact very very bright.

I’ve chosen the yarn for my April socks, some lovely aqua Opal which I’m very smitten with. 

I’ve finally photographed the Tappan Zee, but am quite shy about posting myself on my blog, so the best I can do is slip a picture into my March mosaic.  March has been the month of Busy in my world, and also spinning.  Wee Peggy has had the workout of her life this month, I put down my hook and needles for most of March and spun like the wind.  I now have a big, bouncy basket of handspun yarn to play with which I’m very excited about.  March has been good, but also frustrating in that I’m realising I don’t have the time and energy I used to have, to put into making, photographing and blogging.  I love doing all three, and have no plans to stop any of them however realise now that I’m going to be popping in more sporadically rather than a few times a week.  Better less than not at all, because at the end of the day I enjoy the blogging community very much and love to read the comments you leave, they totally make blogging worthwhile.   Cue, the March mosaic….

I must fly, I’m off for a trip into some beautiful native bush to visit some friends and soak up some nature.  I’m going to be spinning this over the next few days,

270 grams of beautiful soft merino, I’m planning to knit a pi shawl with it, just to see if I can!  I’m also going to pick up my new spinning wheel…. Ooooops, I “accidentally” bought another Wee Peggy on Trademe!

What are you planning for this long weekend?  What are you knitting/hooking or spinning?  Hope life is beautiful for you,

love Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in SOCKS!!!, Spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to Better late than never?

  1. Kelly P. says:

    I’m a hooker, but seeing all your beautiful socks makes me want to learn to knit. Your work and yarn is fantabulous!

  2. lu douglas says:

    Dear Alice, your March mosaic is colourful and great to see you! Love the Tappan Zee -that gun metal grey is fabulous! And the socks – well, that yarn is to die (dye??) for! Love the ‘accidental’ purchase of a sister for Wee Peggy…can’t wait to see what the name will be. I’m making the ripple but need in between challenging projects and am making some cute play mate dolls and creatures akin to your felt mouthed darlings. And trying a new cardigan for winter in lime green…plenty to do and four days to do it – Bliss! Love Lu x

  3. Hannah says:

    Any time you post, you cheer me up. Your work is always so beautiful and inspiring. I just finished knitting an Eden scarf and liked it so much that I started another one. Lucky, lucky you — you have another Wee Peggy!! May you have much fun with it. Your Tappan Zee is lovely. Best to you, Hannah

  4. Felicity from Down Under says:

    More wonderful socks. What a cheery, colourful start to Easter. Hope you have a good one with lots of relaxing and crafting (of whatever variety).

  5. Ah, is that a pizza I see in that mosaic? What’s on it? Did you ever master that brownie recipe? Your efforts are stunning as usual! The socks look very springy.

  6. Suzanne says:

    I love your mosaic, even if your blogging becomes sporatic, may it never stop. You are a little ray of sunshine and you are forever inspiring me with your colors and spinning.

  7. Andrea says:

    Alice… your socks are lovely as always, and your hansupun yarns are looking great! I’ve been doing some new crocheted necklaces and for this looong weekend I’m gonna pick up a lapghan I abandoned a bit lately… PD It’s nice finding a CrochetWithRaymond email on my inbox….means i’ll be reading a new colorful & inspiring post :)

  8. Sarah says:

    Beautiful colours as usual – that first yarn is gorgeous! The tappan zee ( why is it called that?) looks great on you! I wish I had the confidence and skill to start a project like that – and then wear it! Have a very happy Easter!

    • delphine says:

      Lovely March socks! Gorgeous yarn too… And I’d love to see the details of your Tappan Zee : it looks beautiful… Have a wonderful April! This WE is dedicated to family, as always for Easter, as mine is scattered all around France and my grandma rent a big house for her 8 grandchildren, and her ever growing number of great-grandchildren (14, but 2 are on their way….). My grandma is 86, she still knits, and she used to be a professionnal sewer : among other things, she is a great inspiration!!!

  9. Planet Penny says:

    What a lovely colour post, as usual. I feel the same about posting myself on my blog, but I wouldn’t if I was as beautiful as you!!! The Tappan Zee (Why IS it called that?) is lovely, a really neat shape. Although like you, I love bright shades I particularly like that aqua/verdigris wool on the second row. Have a happy Easter x

  10. Pretty Mades says:

    Your socks are wonderful, I really love the colours. I can imagine how bright they are because I had some yarn in similar colours that I made into longies for my youngest daughter.

  11. Great socks, love the stripes. I still intend to knit a pair of socks…one day. Your Tappan Zee looks lovely too, I think it deserves a bigger pic, if not a whole post to itself, so we get a better look!

  12. Francesca says:

    The Tappan Zee is gorgeous. It deserves its own post and bigger photos, don’t be shy with it! Love the socks too obviously.

  13. Deco Cat says:

    Gorgeous pics as always, and you have been really busy spinning all that delicious yarn! I really like the Tappan Zee and when I have mastered knitting I would love to make one for myself. The stripes on the socks are amazing.

  14. Carole says:

    I love the socks, very nice and they look so neat.

    It’s lovely to be back in Blogland, I’ve missed you while I’ve been away, Carole xx

  15. Patch says:

    Oh those stripy socks are gorgeous, love them. Love stripes. We shall be having family time, with a bit of hooking thrown in. Enjoy your weekend.

  16. Esther says:

    SOOOOOOOO cool. I am not one to home spin, but I think thise home spun skeins look fabulous.
    Esther.

  17. Sarah says:

    I’m a hooker too, can’t spin or knit. Am halfway through my first pair of crocheted socks! Had to learn to do it after being inspired by your knitted ones. Don’t think I’lanage a pair a month though, I work slowly!

  18. jo says:

    I agree with Planet Penny your far too beautiful to be hidden away!
    As ever your work is perfect with lovely zingy colours. Your bloggs are so looked forward to. I think it’s your down to earth attitude to life that inspires me.
    I have been hooking some socks trying different yarns. So far they have been “wearable” lol.
    Happy Easter enjoy you weekend.
    Best wishes
    Jo (In West Yorkshire)

  19. Knitterstone Clee says:

    Morning Alice! I’m a newbie to your blog, but its colourful and inspiring, long may it continue, sporadically or otherwise! Love the socks! and the yarn and the fluff, and you look fab! Love the mosaic, looking forward to seeing the next one, whenever it arrives. I love crochet and got my Reiki one last weekend! really need to pick up my hook though, these school holidays make a big hole in crochet time!

    Have a good Easter weekend

    Suzanne
    xx

  20. bartynboz says:

    Love this months mosaic Alice – well done! You look beautiful in the Tappan
    Zee. Have a lovely relaxing Easter weekend.

  21. Laura Miller says:

    Those socks are sooooooo yummy!!! Just like Easter eggs!!! Love your second Wee Peggy purchase – maybe you should do a giveaway and have us all make up a name for the new addition to win it???? Have a fab Easter… lol xxx

  22. Alice: The socks are lovely…I adore your haircut! It looks amazing..Must be easier to care for. Im thinking of doing the same thing. Wonderful post.

  23. I love the fact you have monthly socks. Lovely colour yarn too – I shall check out the source!

  24. Aussie Girl says:

    I am so pleased to see you as now I can visualise your beautiful work far more clearly. You are a gorgeous woman indeed. I am so inspired by your posts and I beg you to keep in touch when it suits. Thanks to you the long stifled desire to learn to spin is tingling away. Now how do I begin and how do I fit it in?

  25. pippa says:

    i wish i could make socks they look so gorgeous but i am sure they are real complicated to knit. i love your site its always all so colourful and love little raympond too!! my cat died last year and she was twenty one so she lived to a really good age and we had her mum as well that also lived till twenty. i would love another cat but the old man isn’t keen but you know i might just have to bring one home one day. keep on with the posts they add colour to my life and i love the feel of connecting to sommebody across the world but also has a love of crafts. ps have a lovely weekend. i am planning to go over a friends tommorow and continue with my granny stripe blanket that i have been working on for ages. I only take it when i go out so its slow growing but easy to do when you are in conversation with somebody!! i also have lots of other projects on the go at anyone time lots of sewing knitting lots of toys and making patchwork is my latest craze.

  26. Love the socks, love the yarn, love the wee Peggy and love the mosaic.

    Life does get in the way but it makes your sporadic posts that wee bit more special now. Keep safe, happy and have a good long weekend.

  27. Mlle Michelle says:

    Don’t be shy, the tappan zee picture looks great! In fact it all looks bright and beautiful as usual!
    Happy Easter :)

  28. Kate Obert says:

    Your socks are so speacial someday I will try.I love you mosiacs and your kitty.I had ablue point who was quite the person and my mom raised Burmese
    little talking people in fur

  29. Melissa says:

    Sneaky little thing! The Tappen Zeeis lovely and so are you :)

  30. I’m also a new reader, and I just love your blog. Your work is so bright and colorful. I’m a (beginning) crocheter and at this point can only aspire to the kind of things you do, but they are a lofty goal for me. (And I absolutely loved, loved, loved your blue-and-green afghan!) It must be great to be able to spin your own yarn. Wonder if I could learn that someday.

  31. P.S.: I also feel inspired to look for some crochet sock patterns!

  32. Monika says:

    Love your new socks, such happy ones! Can’t wait to see the Pi-shawl. It’s been on my mind too lately, although I’ve knit a small one already. I love them.
    I can’t believe you are getting another Wee Peggy! Yeah! :)
    Happy Easter!

  33. juniperjune says:

    your tappanzee (and you) look gorgeous! i wish you’d post some closer-up pictures of it!

  34. Victoria says:

    Your socks give me hand-knitted-sock envy once again, but I’ve spotted your Tappan Zee and am even more envious of that!

  35. Gorgeous socks! I really like the color combination- bright is always good. I have been on vacation this week, but I have only made one project- a pair of slippers. My knitting has taken a back seat to my crocheting, and I’m two months behind on my socks. Most of my projects lately have been crochet- lots of baby booties (though sadly not for personal use) and coffee cup cozies. As always, I look forward to seeing you FOs!

    Alyson

  36. Tabby P. says:

    Hello! I found your blog while looking for edging ideas for my ripple blanket on google. Your little ripply goodness inspired me greatly and I cannot wait to finish mine so I can roll around in it! I love your little piece of blogland and have been poring over it. Your my new favorite! Thank you for inspiring me and I can’t wait to see what you have next. By the way, I have been drooling over your socks all day, I really wish I knew how to knit so I could delight in my own pair. Happy days!

    ~Tabby

  37. Jerri Decker says:

    I don’t crochet, but love your blog. I feel like I get a glimpse into a part of the world I know nothing about. I always love it when I see you have sent me a post.

  38. crochetandhealingandraymond says:

    Beautiful mosiac! Your cardi look great! So much lovely color, it makes my day!

  39. sue says:

    Lovely post Alice, you look fab in your Tappan Zee, love the colour it really suits you. All those scrummy yarns too just gorgeous! Say hi to the ever gorgeous Raymond too. Happy Easter!

  40. Wendy says:

    Love the socks and love coming here. Keep up the wonderful blog, no matter how brief
    as life happens ☺

  41. allison says:

    Another wee Peggy? You are one lucky lady! Your sweater and socks look amazing!

  42. Louise says:

    Love pur Tappan zee and those socks are gorgeous!

  43. Rani says:

    Aaaaaaah. Nothing like a fresh new pair of hand-knit socks. Just lovely.

  44. regnregn says:

    Lovely socks!
    I got inspired, by reading your blog, to learn spinning myself.
    So after a lot of “youtubing” and reading about it, I ordered my own Ashford Traveler from a local distributor yesterday…!
    I look forward to some interesting months to get to know it.
    Thank you!

  45. Lori says:

    hello alice, it’s so nice to meet you! wow! your socks are stunning and your tappan zee too. you look lovely in it. i had forgotten i’d queued that cardi, thank you for the inspiration! love your mosaic, so much to love there. and oh my your pi shawl is going to look spectacular in that wool.
    xo lori

  46. woolythymes says:

    I just tumbled into your blog! Such colors!!! I love it!!! I’ll be back!

  47. Hello Alice, I just found your blog, as a semi-long time knitter and recent spinner I just wanted to say the colorway of your socks is such a beautiful color combination. Thank you for sharing your pictures. It has been a real delight to read a few of your more recent posts.

  48. jjart66 says:

    Oh I wish I had the patience for knitting socks! I will check out the crochet ones you talked about. Hooking makes me happier than knitting. Everything in your blog is so beautiful and thank you for sharing what you do with us!

  49. Anne says:

    Hi Alice, when I first saw your beautiful tea cosies, I really was inspired to make one my own. It took a while (and a book), but now I’ve made a tea cosie I’m really proud of. Maybe you would like to see it? It’s on my blog, http://kookstel.blogspot.com/2012/04/theemuts-in-lentesfeer.html. I also gave a link to your blog:) I have a translator on my blog, so don’t be afraid of reading Dutch ;)

    Greetings,
    Anne

  50. Nikki says:

    I’m working on this awesome viking hat with a beard attached to it for a friend of mine its pretty awesome an I’m excited to see it finished

  51. ktmade says:

    Sounds like a delightful weekend!
    Alice, I would love to interview you for a series i’m doing on my blog about people leading creative lives, but I can’t find a way to email you. If you can, would you mind emailing me at ktmadeblog@gmail.com? I’m such a huge fan of your blog – such a happy place – and would love to feature you!

  52. Pingback: Knitting Envy | A Conversation with Moo

Leave a Reply

