Beasties

Beastie Number One: Monster for Bradley.

Like most crafty people, I get a looooooooooooooot of requests from people to make them stuff.  I always say no, unless the asker is Mum, KB or it is something for Pixie, because things take a lot of time to make and I find that I don’t enjoy the process of making something because I have to, but I get much joy from making someone a surprise gift they have no idea is coming their way.   However, when I took Alfred to work and my colleague saw him and said “I want an Alfred,”  I was more than happy to make him a handspun, hand knitted monster as this colleague was the kind person who gifted me this

This monster is bigger than Alfred, as the yarn I used was thicker.  The yarn is my very first attempt at navajo plying which I love as the resulting yarn has long stripes of colour rather than mixing two single strands of yarn to create a more blended result.

This monster (still nameless) is now sitting at work on Bradley’s computer, looking naughty as intended, hopefully making him laugh when a laugh is needed! 

Beastie Number Two: Richie the not-so-little lamb!

Many of the lovely people who have been visiting Raymond and me for quite some time will remember Richie, who was born just before my birthday last August.  He featured quite heavily on Crochet with Raymond for a while, until he was weaned off my Dad and his bottle and went to live in the top paddock.  For those of you who have not yet met Richie, here is a little look through the beginnings of his life.

Wearing his yellow jersey to stop him from getting cold at the end of Winter…

At about two weeks old… oooh this photo just makes my heart squeeze!

Coming up to a month old…

 

Getting bigger and cuter…

My favourite photo of all time…

At almost two months old…

 

Still a lovely baby who loves his bottle… but not for much longer!

I haven’t seen Richie for MONTHS, probably since that photo was taken, and asked my Mum to take a photo of him for me now at the grand old age of seven months old.  Ready to see him now?

Isn’t he just gorgeous!  And that is a fine looking fleece he is growing too.

Seeing as it is Sunday which traditionally means a nice lazy day, I thought I might share some links to some lovely blogs I’ve found lately.  A couple of months ago I was playing with my widgets and accidentally deleted my blog list, whoops, but not the first time I’ve done that by pressing ‘delete’ instead of ‘close’ when altering things in my sidebar.  Luckily I have e-mail subscriptions to many of my favourite blogs, and am facebook friends with other bloggers so I didn’t forget who I like to read, but went about finding some new blogs to enjoy and thought I might share some of them with you.  I’m loving to visit My Sister’s Knitter, Field Wonderful is a great place to visit too, According to Matt is just crochet amazingness, wow, I swoon over this blog seriously, big time!  My other favourite is Smoking Hot Needles, Monica is my knitting and spinning idol, I love everything she makes and am deeply inspired by every visit!  So there are four new spots to go and find some inspiration, I am positive you will love them too.

I cast on the Tappan Zee the other day and have made it through the first lace section with no mistakes, *gasp* so am off to drink coffee and knit the day away,  hope your Sunday is as lovely and relaxing as mine!

Love Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

 

 

 

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Richie the Lamb!, Slow Yarn Movement, Spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to Beasties

  1. delphine says:

    How cute is the little lamb on your pictures! No longer little however… But cute still! And little monster is hilarious…

  2. Lisa says:

    Seriously, how handsome is Richie!!! It makes me really miss my sheep. Bet you can’t wait to get your hands on that fleece.

  3. Rachel says:

    I cannot believe how much Richie has grown!! He’s huge!!
    Thanks for the new links, will check them out now.
    I love Alfred- he’s adorable, I feel the same way about making as a surprise, or making because you’re asked to, it’s so much more fun making the surprise! I also used to have a cat called Alfred, who was just the sweetest thing ever
    hope the training is going well. (I think we may be in the same/similar field)

  4. Penelope says:

    Wowee, how big Richie has got, his fleece is amazing and will no doubt keep him warm for your pending winter! As for your monster magic, well all I can say is weeeeeeee what serious fun, I think I need something monster love on my desk to keep life a little lighter during stressy working days.
    Hope your training days have gone well Alice xox Thanks for the blog links and ps. I am with you about making things for the people we love rather than on demand! xxx

  5. Wendy says:

    Wow, Richie is all grown up, lovely fleece to come. Got to love the monster fun, Alfred
    looks fun, might have a try at one, eventually. How was the training week?
    xoxo take care

  6. lyn says:

    Richie was a beautiful baby and turning into a handsome young man!
    xxx

  7. Alyson says:

    Ooooh, I just wanna squeeze him, and scratch him between his ears, and feed him snacks! So cute!

  8. Felicity from Down Under says:

    That is indeed a fine looking fleece. Is it earmarked for your Mum or you? Either way, it will be fun to see what becomes of it.

  9. Claire says:

    Hello,
    Richie is really gorgeous yes ! And what a beautiful landscape and countryside !
    I really enjoy your blog, thank you so much for sharing ! and hello from France :-)
    Claire

  10. Richie has gotten SOOOOO handsome!!! And we LOVE the new monster! His colors are so relaxing. I bet Bradley will get lots of laughs from him. I know I would.:) Well, done!

  11. Sharon says:

    WOW Richie is getting big – maybe soon you’ll be using some of his fleece to make some yarn – yes?

  12. 'me' says:

    waw richie!!!
    He looks amazing !
    i want to cuddle him !
    And i too hate it when i have to make something, i don’t react on questions of that kind. I feel stuck whenI HAVE to make something.

  13. Deco Cat says:

    How cute is Ritchie!

    Loving your new monster too!

  14. donna says:

    I am enjoying your blog very much. You live a rich life full of joy. Thank you for sharing.

  15. Kathy Bernett says:

    Richie has definitely lost that lamby look & is a proud sheep boy. Can’t wait to see what you knit from his first sheering.

  16. Kristen says:

    Richie has become such a lovely man. I adore the little fleecy boots of his lamb-days, and his little yellow sweater–squeee! He’s so grown-up now, so serious. His fleece looks like it will be wonderful. :)

  17. Andrea says:

    Thanxs for sharing those blogs! According to Matt is amazing, full of color and crochet adiction, just as I like it! :)

  18. meredithjean says:

    What a lovely start to my Sunday to read you Lovely Alice xxx

  19. devimaa108 says:

    Oh they are so precious. I have only had goats but if they are anything like them i know you love um and the wool too.

  20. PJ Silver says:

    Just LOVE Richie! We would love to have farm animals…..however we live within city limits, so don’t think I could get away with it!

    Love your knitted monster. Perhaps you could do a crochet one as well?

  21. Melissa says:

    I cannot believe how much Richie has grown! He is so adorable. I can’t wait to see your Tappan Zee. What yarn are you using?

  22. I love Sunday, it means that I will get to read your blog. Your monster is so cute, I am going to try to crochet him and that Richie, wow! What is a Tappan Zee? See you next week………………….

    Sarah from Texas

  23. Happy Sunday!!

    Richie, absoluelty gorgeous!! Enough said!
    Monster for Bradley: Lucky co-worker, I’d love to have one of these, I am sure all your readers would but I totally understand your feeling when it comes to making something because you have to, somewhat takes the “shine” away from the item doesn’t it.

    Take Care!
    xoxo

  24. katie says:

    Hi Alice, I’m a long time reader but shy commenter… Just had to say the new photo of Richie took my breath away! He is sure handsome. Enjoy your Sunday!

  25. Nanita says:

    Wow, I cannot believe how Richie has grown, he’s sooo handsome!! The new monster is brilliant, enjoy your lazy Sunday! x

  26. bartynboz says:

    Thanks Alice for the interesting blog – it was a lovely surprise to see you pop up in my emails, your blog is so uplifting. The monster is so much fun and of course I love the colours.
    Richie is adorable – and as I have only been blogging a short time, I was delighted to look at all the pictures of him, how cute was he and how handsome now! When I was a child at school, I did a project on New Zealand and my local shop gave me a huge cardboard poster of an NZ sheep, I thought it was wonderful and couldn’t wait to show it to my teacher! So, your blog brought back many happy memories too. Thanks for sharing – enjoy your day. Viv

  27. mary i says:

    I have to hook me some monsters!! He is to monstery for words!! Richie has grown up to be a very fine looking sheep.. His fleece looks amazeing. Thank You for showing us pics. have a very knitty day. oh yes please give The Great One and Only Raymond a Good Pet from me. :)

  28. Annette says:

    Awwwwww, RIchie! How adorable was this post!?!?!? Your all time favorite photo of him is mine also…but they’re ALL cute! Those sweet eyes! All grown up, he’s still adorable…just in a young man sort of way! Thanks for the links to those blogs! It’s always fun to find new talents! Hugs, Annette

  29. Chris says:

    Hi Alice,
    what a wonderful post Richie is so cute!!!!
    Love your monster too!!!
    And thanks for the links, nothing like visiting new (new to me then) blogs on a Sunday afternoon.

  30. Matt Farci says:

    Alice! A big THANKS from Dennis and I for linking ‘according to Matt …’. It really means soooo much to us, especially as it comes from a blog we always read and admire very VERY much!
    Matt xx

  31. Monika says:

    Your new Alfred is so cute. Love the ears especially. Richie is gorgeous almost grown up (or are sheep fully grown at 7 month?). Will you spin his wool in the future? I think I’m a little jealous of where you live. It’s so beautiful there. Oh, and your comment about my blog made me smile, and happy. Thank you!

  32. Donna says:

    Oh my god the cuteness of that lamb, he is adorable. Thank you for your blog I enjoy reading it and really want to learn to spin, I think I have a traditional Ashford wheel that was my Grandmothers. I live in Wellington, I think I need to find someone to teach me.

  33. sue says:

    Oh wow that’s like seeing a favourite nephew after months and months, Well Ritchie he’s all grown into a very handsome teenager! Love your monster too!

  34. Julie says:

    Richie is a very handsome chap.
    Mr monster does look a cute, not menacing at all!

  35. Joanna says:

    Richie has gotton so big but he is still the cutest lamb ever – he has such a lovely face :-) x

  36. penelope10 says:

    Wow, Richie, so big and beautiful. So fast!
    Love the Monster, so nice in handspun!

  37. allison says:

    Such a lovely post! Richie is adorable. He has grown so much! And your monster will definitely make your coworker smile! Thanks for mentioning my blog here. You’re so sweet.

    P.S. I finished my rainbow socks that remind me of you! They’re so cheerful and make me smile every time I look at them.

  38. Rani says:

    Knit and drink coffee all day . . . oh my stars – heavenly.

    I am a little afraid of sheep! HA! strange but true. But these pictures are so . . . so . . . well – that little fella is so cute.
    Love the monster.

  39. Alice,
    Alfred’s friend is so cute and adorable, it was so nice of your collegue to give you the 3rd wheel. I am sure your enjoying it alot. Richie is so beautiful, do are you going to use his wool for some yarn goodness.. I am sure it would be gorgeous yarn. Have a great week.
    Blessings,
    Misty and Pets.

  40. TINe says:

    Oh lovely Richie!

  41. Jill_R says:

    Even though he is big, Richis is still adorabe! A friend has ewes that are expecting soon, I am so excited to see pictures of her little lambs. I hope you are having a great day!!

  42. Nancy says:

    What a lovely lamb is Richie? Love the little monster. I think with a little thought put to this, I might be able to pull off sometime similar but not right now. Am knitting like crazy on lap robes (getting rid of old yarn) for seniors in nursing homes. Hoping to exhaust the old and then go crazy getting some new yarn. Unfortunately I am a consumer because I have no place to grow lambikins. Lovely newsletter and blog. Thank you Raymond!

  43. Maggie Moore says:

    I love both beasties but hasn’t Richie grown into a handsome boy?! Great post. Maggie xx

  44. Kirsten says:

    I think your monsters shuld be called Egbert, or Mr. Cooper. Why? No idea, but I think they’d fit.

  45. PixieMyers says:

    I love your knitted beasties and Richie is adorable!! I used to own a sheep when I was younger, they are wonderful creatures! :)

  46. thecrochetingpixie says:

    Just joined, love your crochet and of course your amazing blog! The monster and Richie are so sweet!!!!! :)

  47. Bruna says:

    Hi Alice!
    Richie is so, so cute! I love all those pictures ;)
    And I also love your blog. Your projects are always so colorful :)

  48. Carol says:

    How lovely to see Richie again, what a handsome gent he is now.
    Carol xx

  49. Sandi Lee says:

    Hi Alice, thought you might appriciate this post from Bobo Bun – little lamb is too cute.

    http://mrsbobobun.blogspot.com.au/2012/03/life.html

    x Sandi

  50. victoriapeat says:

    What a beautiful lamb!! I want one in my garden…it would help keep the grass down! Thanks for the link, I love according to Matt :-)

  51. Wilhelmina says:

    Wow…he has grown! Such a cutie! i just found these little monsters and thought of you…they are wee but cute- http://craftyiscool.blogspot.com/2011/01/wanna-make-monster.html. Thanks for so much wooly fun! I’m now taking a spinning and weaving class inspired by you! It’s call Twisted and Warped…just love the name! Am so enjoying it although my yarn leaves something to be desired….. Night!

  52. Wanda says:

    Oh my gosh! he is just too cute! What a big, handsome fellow he has grown into.

    Oh and I like the other “monster” too. :)

  53. Lucy says:

    Richie has grown in to a very handsome boy you can still see the ‘baby’ cute in his face though. Gorgeous fleece are you going to spin it?

  54. baamekniits says:

    Wow look at Richie now, he is a handsome boy! Love the monster too :-)

  55. gummybear999 says:

    Richie is sooo cute especially with the little
    Yellow jumper on
    cute!!!
    I also really love your little monsters

  56. gummybear999 says:

    Love your little lamb soooo cute!
    He is adorable with his little jumper
    The monsters are also cute and funny

Leave a Reply

