February

February 2012 has been quite a nice month and KB and I are enjoying watching the sun set earlier each evening and further along the horizon.  I’m loving the fact that it is getting chillier in the morning and that I need to wear a cardigan when I sit outside with my knitting and my morning coffee, in a few weeks I’ll be putting on all of my freshly knitted, as-yet-unworn socks!  After a hot Summer, I’m looking forward to getting snuggly with my socks and cardigans again.

Speaking of socks, thank you for the lovely comments about my patchwork socks, I sent them as a surprise gift to my Mum who thinks they are just ace.

February has been a month of knitting toys, spinning lovely yarns and finishing my Ripple!  Yes, all finished, it is sitting on my chair waiting for me to take 4000 photos of it to show you all, very patiently! 

Mostly though, February has been a month of working hard.  I’ve got stacks of photos of finished toys and fun handmade goodness, I just need to find some energy to write an enthusiastic blog post for you to accompany the photos.  Unfortunately there is no energy to spare for this week, so I’ll love you and leave you with my Feb mosaic…

Toys, blue skies, socks, yarn, spinning wheels and crochet Ripple Blankets, the perfect combination for a lovely month.  I hope your February was lovely too.

This morning on my way to work, I told KB to join me in thanking the Universe for the wonderful miracles that are happening for us in March, and getting the wonderful feeling of gratitude flowing out into our world.  What miracles would you love to see this March?  What change in your life and the world?  I’d feel a lot of gratitude if you pop over HERE  to a lovely crochet blog and sign an online petition to prevent the radical destruction of even more beautiful rainforest… There is a lot of lovely crochet happiness happening over at Daniella’s blog, as well as environmental concern, which makes it even more tempting.  I am always amazed at how much power we have collectively, especially when we are focussing on positivity and miracles.

Wishing you many miracles this March,

Love Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Monthly mosaics. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to February

  1. Ronnie says:

    Hi Alice,
    I have fallen for your granny mandalas and would love to make something like this (though I am just a beginner) I was wondering if you could tell me what yarn you use ( I love your vibrant colours) and / or where I could source some wool as there is a serious lack of yarn stores where I am. Many thanks for inspiring me to new a new craft
    Ronnie

  2. Janie Hubble says:

    Alice (and Raymond of course) – your posts always light up my day – thank you. I love your February mosaic – and am very much looking forward to seeing the ripple blanket in all it’s beautiful ripply, woolly, colourful goodness. But I can wait until you find time and the right light to photograph it in :-)
    I shall head over now to sign the online petition – destruction of any forests (rain or not) is so terribly sad. I live in the Western Australian hills and start each working day by driving through the beautiful marri and jarrah trees in our local forest – I am so lucky living here.
    Wishing you and KB (and Raymond of course) a miraculous March
    xxx

  3. Netty says:

    my goodness, I honestly don’t understand how you can finish so many projects in so little time! just love the ripple blanket, it is gorgeous. thanks for the rainforest petition link, it is signed and shared on facebook. it makes me sad to see how some people just don’t care about the wonderful things on earth and the people who live there.

  4. Patch says:

    We are the opposit here, enjoying that evenings are slowly beginning to get longer and sometimes it’s a bit less chilly! I love all the colours of the yarns in your photos. They all seem to go together. I shall follow your rainforest petition link too. Hoping March is as colourful.

  5. bartynboz says:

    A lovely mosaic for February – looking forward to seeing the finished ripple blanket. Relax and enjoy the rest of the month – you’ve earned it Alice. Thank you for sharing the information about the rain forest – I’ve signed the petition and hope that it helps. Viv

  6. Yay…I signed the petition…

  7. Liz says:

    Can’t wait to see the finished blanket! I have to say, I envy you just a bit, because you’ll be able to wear all your knitted things! For us here, on the other side of the world, Summer is approaching quickly and I am a little worried that it might be too warm to knit in a few months! Let’s hope that won’t be the case! :)
    Have a wonderful day Alice!

  8. Julie says:

    Feb mosaic is gorgeous, so many lovely pretties.
    The tea cosy on the granny mat looks fabulous!

  9. Ah, I see.. You meant, of course, your ‘fab mosaic’ :-) love it !
    What I’d wish for March I guess is positive energy…
    for myself too, so I can see the sunny side and spread that good vibe..

    o, and thanx for adding that link ;-)

  10. Kathy Bernett says:

    I always love reading your blog & seeing the great things you make. Thanks for letting us into your beautiful world. Thanks, too, for telling us about the rainforest dam project. I’ve signed the petition & will power up my Reiki grid to add some extra energy behind our prayers.

  11. rosebay44 says:

    Got your e-mail this time. What ever the problem was, has been fixed.

  12. I am so in love with that little monster guy with the round ears. Does he have a name?

  13. Victoria says:

    I still love the monster you knitted. The ripple is looking gorgeous too. x

  14. Deco Cat says:

    As others have mentioned I am enjoying the lighter evenings and the hope of a mild spring and warm summer. This month I am looking forward to spinning ever finer yarn and finally getting some crochet animals made. Enjoy March!

  15. Planet Penny says:

    I love your mosaic, and it’s reminded me I haven’t done one…woops!

  16. Andrea says:

    Oh! MArch will definitely be full of miracles…I think this whole year will be one of beautiful meaningful changes in our world and comunities. A miracle for this march…. I would love to help building a loving and resilant comunity of crafty people here at home (Oaxaca, Mexico); we’re organizing a monthly market to sell and promote our handmade stuff, with free workshops for the public! By the way, I linked back to your African Mandala Potholder post in my blog since I made one myself and shared the result. Take a look :) http://caracoloax.blogspot.com/2012/02/potholder-agarradera.html

  17. Brenda says:

    Hi alice, am loving Raymond – as usual – I too can’t wait for so cooler, rug snuggling weather! I have popped on over and signed the petition – such a shame that we insist on ruining this beautiful world.

  18. Bev says:

    Really enjoying reading all the articles in your blog but most of all enjoying the bursts of colour on these dull grey winter days. Brilliant!

  19. I adore your mosaic this month :) Very calming while still providing color therapy! I immediately signed the petition too. Thank you for sharing that with us so that we may help fight for our beautiful earth :)

  20. Penelope says:

    Beautiful mosaic Alice, loving all your colour choices too x Enjoy the cooler mornings and evenings and being cosy in your wooly-ness! I am looking forward to removing a layer or two and not having to sort out the mountain of socks we have growing in various corners of the house :0) I started my new job this week and it’s manic to say the least, I think my blogging will reduce somewhat until I find my groove and settle in. Going back to full time employment certainly drains all your time and energy away. I’m looking forward to this weekend when I can actually knit instead of running around like a headless chicken!!! xxx Penelope xox

  21. Liz says:

    Beautiful mosaic. What miracle am I hoping for in March? Hmmmm, maybe to actually start a pair of knitted socks. You make it look so so easy. Thanks for the inspiration. More seriously, I ‘m hoping for the miracle of finding a full time job. Not really…tehe, but I need to. I’m way too addicted to pinning, blogging, and crocheting at the moment. Have a great day,
    Liz

  22. sue says:

    Loving your February mosaic, that ripple blanket is gorgeous! My March miracle would involve creating more hours in the day so i can spend more time hook in hand!!!

  23. Once again your mosaic has brought a smile to my face, all the colours are calming yet entrancing and again i am left wondering where has the month gone. March is here already..1st day of Autumn so bring on the cooler weather and the snuggliness that hand made items bring.

    Wishing you, KB and Raymond a Marvelous March….am off to add my name to the online petition to help save yet another rapidly depleting rainforest.
    *hugs*

  24. Best wishes from Madrid, Spain.Thank you Alice for your insightful posts. I really enjoy them very much. I also wish you many miracles in March. We have just begun a group in Facebook called “Tejiendo Sueños” (Knitting Dreams). Please visit us there and become our guest member.

  25. Cathy says:

    Well obviously here in the UK it is chilly in the mornings- but getting warmer during the day…I still havent anywhere near finished( or paid anything much in attention to either) blanket number 2!
    I would like to express my deepest gratitude to my orthotist ,who diagnosed me after 25+ years of problems!( I have told him in person too- it is a wonderful thing to complement and thank people) I am hopeful that my new splints will ease the pain a little , so I can be a more energetic mum to my lovely kids!
    Thanks to you too, for reminds me to be thankful!

  26. Hi. I just popped over to thank you so much for mentioning my Blog and especially the Petition. So many more people read and sign it now. Maybe we can help a little bit. Because the crocheters comunity is biiiig and strooong :)
    And you have a beautiful and colorful site here…

  27. Dotson says:

    Alice – how DO you mange to complete so many projects in a month? Ripple rug, socks, monster. You surely are a prolific knitter. I love the bright colours in your work.
    Here in Canberra we’ve had a week of non-stop rain. There are floods and road closures all around. Good weather for sitting inside and knitting – and reading your blog. I have almost knitted a vest in 4-ply alpaca for my 90 year old dad. I am putting the neck and sleeve bands on at the moment. I also have a pair of socks on the go. They’re my project for knitting in the car.
    March will be a month of travelling up the east coast of Australia in our caravan. I foresee lots of sock knitting and also I have plans to knit an entrelac scarf. Winter is approaching. Enjoy those Autumn sunsets.

    Cheers
    Dotson.

  28. Teena says:

    I just found your blog, your crochet is sooo good! Lovin it! I really like your choice of colours <3

Leave a Reply

