Cozy

The sky looks incredibly blue and wonderful in these pictures, but they were taken a few days ago.  Today is grey and overcast and raining on and off, about 10 minutes ago it rained so hard I thought it was going to come through the roof.

I can live with that!  As you can see, the sun is bright and burning hot and it is nice today, feeling a bit cozy….

Because it’s raining, there is no need to leave the house.  I’m knitting my February socks and summoning up the motivation to do a nice relaxing Sunday evening yoga session to prepare me for the week ahead. 

I have a little FO for today… you know the saying about the shoemakers children never having shoes?  Well, I’m a bit like that but with tea pots and tea cozies.  I love to bless the wonderful people in my life with my tea cozy gifts, and consequently, my own tea pot collection is much less fancy than you would imagine for a woman who has a mild obsession with tea cozies.

Shall we take a little walk down memory lane and have a look at some of the tea cozies I’ve made over the last year and a bit?

There was the Rosy Tea Cozy ordered by a friend for her daughter’s birthday present… She confessed months later that she loved it so much she kept it for herself!

A Christmas gift for my dear friend Sandra… (hello Sandra!  Miss you!)

And something a little different… a very special cozy made for myself of course, from some of my Mum’s gorgeous handspun…

Of course as you know, a pot of tea is the best company for yarn play!

My favourites of course, are my flower explosions cozies… I have no idea where this one ended up…

Another…

A gift for my sister…

A piece for a fibrecraft guild exhibition, which then became a gift for a lovely spinner friend in Wellington…

Spotty dotty fun…

Granny goodness…

And of course, the first ever tea cozy I made which sparked a series of flowery tea cozies which borders on obsession but who cares?

And those who have been visiting Raymond and me for a long time will know, there are many other tea cozies folded away in the archives of this blog, and it makes little sense than one who loves exciting and frivolous tea cozies would have two naked tea pots and three quite plainly clothed pots on her tea pot shelf.  A couple a weeks ago I decided to make One For Me.  Such an event, the cozy is spoken about in capitals.

I got out my hook, books and needles and created a tea cozy in colours I love.  A fancy cozy for (I admit) my second to least favourite tea pot… I am very fussy about tea pots and don’t like the ones that spill out of the top when I pour my cuppa!

I used a stash yarn for the base, Cleckheaton I think, something that has been sitting in my stash for a while which looks quite lovely covered in flowers, a nice charcoal grey.  To edge the cozy I have used the mini-shell stitch edging which you will find in my sidebar along with any other patterns for tea cozies you might want to replicate from this post.

And from the other side…

And most importantly, the view from the top… a floral excitement.

It is sitting on the shelf now, prettifying my tea cozy family.  One naked tea pot clothed, one to go!  The latest addition to my collection is a gorgeous pot I aquired from a cafe in town, made in the UK no less, in a gorgeous lime green.  I’ve got a book on tea cozies winging it’s way to me where I am positive I will find the inspiration to make a fantastic cozy worthy of this tea pot of awesomeness.

I hope you’re well in out there in the world!  I’m off to do my yoga now… Wishing you a most wonderful week!

Love Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Tea Cozies!. Bookmark the permalink.

68 Responses to Cozy

  1. meredithjean says:

    B E A U T I F U L !!!!!
    Cozy can be the Word of the Day, thanks Alice xxxxxx

  2. Tea cosies! One of my favorite things and yours are all simply beautiful!

  3. Meredith says:

    Alice, all,your tea cozies are just wonderful. Love that you finally made one for yourself!
    Enjoy,
    Meredith

  4. She's Crafty! says:

    Love it all. would you possibly share the skull pattern?

  5. Thelma says:

    Such beautiful work…..Raymond you need to said hello to Lucy she loves to look as mummy’s work too…….http://wendyknits.net/

  6. They’re all so beautiful, but I love the one you made for yourself!

  7. Christina says:

    I have been missing my tea pots (that got accidently lost when we moved) and have been thiking I need to buy one (or a couple). And now I have a reason lol. Hopefully my teapot cosies will actually fit since my mug cosies are all to small :) And if I can get away from making buntings (my addiction lately) that I have been making since I found the pattern on your blog. But the buntings are going to be a wonderful surprise for my soon to be 5 year old tomorrow (it’s her birthday). Can’t wait to see the green tea pot and what you make for it :)

  8. D Markey says:

    And, look at that gorgeous new (at least to me) Mandala. I love it.

  9. Alyson says:

    Your tea cozies never cease to amaze me!

  10. your photographs of the sky are so beautiful,they ALMOST rival your gorgeous cozies! It’s so nice to take a peek into your home,and see the spinning wheel in the background and every color of the rainbow surrounding everything in all its deliciousness…I continue to be in awe of your talent,and hope that one day,I’ll get good enough to produce even a single flower from any of your cozies. You tube,here I come!! Oh,and have a wonderful Valentine’s day-you are loved.

  11. Joan Griffith says:

    Perhaps you could tell us the name of the tea cozy book. And do you have a pattern for your tea cozies or did you create them (the basic cozy without floral decoration!). I love your beautiful work.

  12. Rachel says:

    Love the pic of the tea cosy on the mandala!!
    Beautiful sky pics too, I have read somewhere recently about people making sky scarfs and sky blankets, where you chart the colours of the sky for a month and make a scarf with colours!
    Adorable cosy boost- thanks!!
    Also, you motivated me to go and do a quick salute to the sun, so thanks!!!
    I’m trying to do more yoga, feel so happy when I do

  13. Sonia says:

    Alice, I am loving your tea cosies…but also the cushion featured in a couple of pics. The purple, pink, red squares. Do you have pattern? Also loving the granny mandala that your latest cozy is sitting on :-)

  14. Jonnine says:

    What a fantastic collection of tea pot cosies! You are very clever. It is near impossible to choose a favourite but I must admit I am partial to the ‘granny’ loveliness!!

    aeonie x

  15. Happybee says:

    Simply wonderful!!!!!

  16. With this, I fell in love… I found you on the internet through these one and I never went back jajaja
    Take care!

  17. Planet Penny says:

    I love a flowery teacosy! I have the same pattern book for knitted and crocheted flowers and it’s got loads of inspiration. Lovely when you can look back and gather them all together this way. It’s grey cold and gloomy here in the UK this morning, so thanks for a lovely cheerful post!
    Penny xxx

  18. meme-rose says:

    Well, I am sat here on Sunday morning by myself having a cup of tea from my own cosy glad teapot and I won’t lie, getting quite excited about your post dedicated to your cozies! I enjoyed this post verrrrrrrrrry much as I am tea cosy obsessed too at the moment… I bought a teapot yesterday for a diamond wedding present. The couple have very strictly said they do not want presents, but who could resist a cheery handmade with love tea cosy? Yours are wonderful. Is the spiral flower knitted or is it crochet? I’ve just finished a cosy for a vintage teapot I bought recently, but it is forcast to be a very grey and misty day here, so I will have to photograph it another day. x

  19. bridgirl says:

    Alice you have surpassed yourself this time! Those cosies are just so gorgeous. I must try knitting again. You have such wonderful colour sense and every cosy is a work of art. Love reading your blog. Love to Raymond from my own two cats – Hamlet and Boz. Thanks for sharing. Viv

  20. Deco Cat says:

    What a visual feast! They are just gorgeous! Just wanted to tell you they have just released “Sewn Toy Tales” it looks gorgeous. Looking forward to seeing the new tea cosie you design.

  21. TINe says:

    Oh lovely cozies! I’m in love with the “skully” one!

  22. MiA says:

    LOVE your happy tea cozies!

  23. Sandra says:

    Ohhhhhhhhhh I love them as I told you some time before. After a looooong time looking for a teapot I finally got one….a very simple thing in other countries but veeeery difficult here in Barcelona, Spain.
    Please can you make a tutorial for “my” teapot dress?? I have the book for the flowers, too but I am a beginner knitter and I don’t know how to do it…….
    Thank you in advance!!

  24. Jane says:

    Fabulous flowery brilliance!! Those cosies are little works of art. Thank you for showing them!
    Enjoy your yoga

    • delphine says:

      I love the mix of deep grey with other colors…. Speaking of tea cozies…. I’m afraid French people are not ready yet… Hot water is poured directly into the mug here… So teapot clothes….pfuiiit. French people really lack of “le souci du détail”!!!!;-)
      Enjoy your rainy indoor sunday

  25. Seeing them all togerther like this is great, thanks for all the lovely pics!
    Unfortunately I am not a tea drinker, and don’t even own a single teapot… !
    Cheers, Audrey

  26. stocki says:

    Your own dark grey and deep coloured flowers cozy is my absolute favourite…..hmmm…nice idea for my Mum’s birthday next week! Thanks Alice :)x

  27. cazz says:

    Love the cosies such great colours. I have that crochet book too.

  28. nanaofnc says:

    I never gave a flip about tea cozies…until I saw yours. My crochet wheels are turning…

  29. winkieflash says:

    I have never seen so many awesome tea pot cozies together! Swoon! You really are still the Queen of Cozies :) (with capitals, ofcourse)
    xo,
    wink

  30. Ellen says:

    Wonderful tea cozies. Thank you for always bringing me sunshine and inspiration with your posts.

  31. Victoria says:

    I think you are surely the tea cosy queen! Hope you enjoyed the yoga. x

  32. Penelope says:

    Now that was a nice trip down your tea cosy memory lane Alice! It evoked memories of my tea cosy making last year being inspired by none other than your lovely self. They are just such gorgeous personalised pretty long lasting gifts to give to people and I like to think they have a twinkle in their eyeand think of you having given it to them each time they make a pot :0)

    I was just saying to someone the other day how much we all look forward to summer here but I sometimes like a rainy overcast day as I feel totally justified being indoors on my sewing machine hooking/stitching and not feeling like i have to go outdoors and enjoy the sunshine. I want t sew some more clothes for myself this year and because my machine is in the freezing loft I tend to sew in spring and summer.

    Hope you had a divine stretch and have a fab week ahead xox love and hugs Penelope xxx

  33. sue says:

    Love them all!

    Sue
    xo

  34. allison says:

    Your tea cozy photos look so…um…cozy. I like seeing the spinning wheel and colorful crochet in the background. Makes me want to curl up and spend the day with yarn and tea.

    Anyway, I’m so glad you posted these photos. When I first encountered your tea cozies I didn’t yet know how to knit, but now I do. I’m putting it on my to-make list!!

  35. Victoria says:

    Your cozies are all so lovely! I also have the flower book, and you’ve inspired me to make one.

  36. Got to get myself a tea pot! hahha

    have a great week

    H x

  37. Hannah says:

    I love this post. You inspired me to begin my own tea pot cozy. I am making one for a very small pot and have cast on 44 stitches. It is working out beautifully. I already have some lovely flowers I crocheted and will stitch however many will fit on top of this very small pot. Thank you so much for your tutorials and all of your wonderful photos. You are the BEST!

  38. Shell says:

    I have an award for you over at my blog, if you would like to accept. If you don’t participate in blog awards, that’s fine, I just wanted to show you my appreciation for your blog.

    littleorphanskein.wordpress.com

  39. Julie says:

    Fabulous collection of tea cosies, i would never have been able to give one of them away, they are gorgeous.

  40. katie says:

    So lovely Alice. I wish I had a teapot to clothe! They’re not as big a thing over here in the US, but I think I’ll have to get myself one just so I can make a cozie for it!

  41. Heidi says:

    I know I’m about the 100th person to say so but I just love your teacosies!!! I’m all inspired, I just have to start knitting one right now!

    As I was looking at your cosies I realised it would be a perfect use for my first not-quite-even home spun yarn from Jacob wool as the brown Jacob would go beautifully with some colourful flowers and the unevenness of the yarn probably would not matter in a tea cosy, it would just look a bit rustic.

    Thank you for the inspiration, I so enjoyed this post :-)

  42. Nicole says:

    I really love all your tea cosies! I made a little green spring explosion one last year (thanks for you help when I came crying on Ravelry haha!) I’m quite inspired to make another (and my friend really wants one too) but I have one problem… No teapots! I need to go charity shop shopping :D

  43. Karisma Fine says:

    OH MY~ So much tea cozy goodness in one post! Awesome! Your cozies always make me smile. It has been raining and flooding and raining and flooding for the past several weeks across the water in the land of Oz, pretty much keeping us inside too. I don’t think I have every whipped up so many FO’s in so short a time before. LOL Stunning pictures as usual. Thanks for the nice bright start to another rainy day! Hugs xoxox

  44. teawithhazel says:

    unbelievable..they are so amazing..i have collected a few cozies but nothing as beautiful as yours..

  45. Your tea cozies are wonderful. I have a shelf full of naked teapots … I’ll have to find some patterns and get busy.

  46. Michelle says:

    Your cozies are all very pretty! Do you have a basic pattern, or did you come up with one on your own? I love that you used the book for the flowers and leaves. I might just do the same. Did you design your doilies too? Maybe you should think about getting published. Just a thought. I love everything you do, and I get a lot of inspiration from your work.

  47. Loani Prior says:

    Wow! How about that! You have gone tea cosy NUTS. Again. LERVE LERVE LERVE.
    They are all FABulous.
    Loani

  48. Karen says:

    How lovely!!! You have inspired me to start my own cosy. They are all just beautiful, inspiring and get me excited about fibre all over again. Thank you for such a day brightener!

    • Liza says:

      Hello Alice,
      I just love you tea cozies, so bright of color and the flowers just tie it all in. Once again
      your talent of putting your colors together are amazing!!!!!!! Sending only the warmest of best wishes to you and all your loved ones. Your friend from Texas

  49. Only one thing to say, WOW!

  50. Willowtree says:

    They’re awesome

  51. sue says:

    Gorgeous post! Love all those funky cosys such pretty flowers too, I have that book and adore every single flower in there although I must admit I haven’t managed any of the knitted flowers yet……….must have a go. Have a fab week enjoying those glorious clouds.

  52. chmurka says:

    Great cozies, I love them all

  53. Maggie Moore says:

    Gorgeous colourful cosies! Maggie xx

  54. Jill_R says:

    I am not a hot tea drinker, but everytime I see your cozys (?) I want to run out and buy a tea pot to put one on! As always, I love your creativity and skills. Say a big Hi to KB and Raymond!

  55. Melissa says:

    The wind has been blowing like crazy here and we’ve had below freezing temps. Looks like winter finally decided to show up. Love all the tea cozies! Have a good week!

  56. katie says:

    Hi Alice,
    Katie here again. I couldn’t find a way to email you, but I wanted to let you know that I featured a couple of your patterns/tutorials on my blog in a post about 25 fabulous crochet tutorials on the web. Thanks for all your great blogging – it makes me so happy to share your work!

  57. LaWoodstock says:

    I love love love your works!

  58. Suzanne says:

    Happy Valentine Alice! I have made a few tea cozies as gifts too, maybe it is indeed time to make one for me. I think I will copy yours ;-). It is gorgeous.

  59. janice says:

    Do you have a pattern for that cozy? I have the books you showed. I can manage the flowers. I just need to find a pattern for the cozy if you know where I can find one. I was signed up for your newsletter but since you moved it is coming in to email in a different format I think because its so big I cant see it. I dont know if you can do anything about that. I do enjoy it. Anyway, I don’t know if you can help with the cozy
    Janice

  60. Annie says:

    Cosy love!

    Would you consider adding these sky pictures to the Project :: Sky 365 Flickr group pool? We would be so pleased if you did :D

    http://www.flickr.com/groups/1856130@N20/pool/with/6871930517/

  61. cybercita says:

    As Lucy would say, your tea cozies give me a bad case of the wanties!

  62. Lisa Smith says:

    Oh Alice, you are truly gifted! What a talent you possess! It was because of your blog that I once again tried to teach myself to crochet after several failed attempts over the years. I’m afraid there must be something in the brain that either “gets” crochet or doesn’t! I’m plodding along with my very simple double crochet blanket, but guess I’ll have to leave the crochet of your caliber to you, the wonderful Alice! Thank you for sharing all the beautiful things you create! And “meow” to Raymond….Warm Regards from Lisa in Oregon

  63. Liking the glimses of crocheted thingys in your room, v nice.

  64. How amazing is your blog (I’ve only just discovered) and all your beautiful work, I should be going to bed now but I am hooked and want to see every little thing you’ve made!!
    Hello from Paris!!

  65. Hannet says:

    I love, love, LOVE you beautiful crochet pieces of art. And you’re so fortunate to have such a wonderful Raymond. Than you for sharing! Baie dankie.

Leave a Reply

