End of the Month Catch Up

Where on earth did January go?  As this is my end of the month post, which means my Monthly Mosaic post, I realised there are still a lot of photos sitting in my January file which haven’t been posted yet, and if I don’t get on with it, I’ll never get around to it. 

A few of said nearly forgotten photos are of this gorgeous sunset… We are sooooooooooo spoiled at my house with sunsets, and this one we had last week was incREDible.  It started all yellowey and turned into a bright blazing orange…

As you can see, it was one of those amazing sunsets that covers the whole sky.  Completely breathtaking.  We watched it fade and get smaller…

Until it was almost gone….

A total blessing in sunset form.

Happy Sunday to you by the way!  It is a long weekend here, so another day off is stretching ahead of me and I plan to do nothing but make stuff and bake delicious things and lie around in the sun practicing “relaxing” something I am not very good at but need to learn how to do.  As is becoming a weekend tradition here in the Far North, I have another gorgeous beach to show you!  I really want to make the most of Summer, and make the most of living in a beaaaaaaaaautiful part of New Zealand by exploring some part of my new world each week.  This weekend, one of my awesome friends invited us up to spend some time with her and her family in a place called Oakura.  Of course we went, and in the middle of the day went for a little drive to see the local beaches.

We found Taupiri Bay.  (Pronounced toe-piddy)

Beautiful huh? 

We sat on the beach and ate our lunch, but didn’t brave the water today, it’s a bit cold here at the moment!  Nevertheless, left the beach feeling well recharged and full of beachy goodness.

We travelled further around and found some beautiful views of other beaches and bays, amazed at how this coastline is so similar to the coastline right down the East Coast of the North Island, all beautiful rugged, jaggedy rocks and gorgeous turquoise water… so different to the West.

I would have, without a doubt braved the chilly water for a swim in this bay… the colour of the water took my breath away.  However, from what I could see, it was mountain goat or boat access only… bliss!

I hope you enjoyed that little peek into a corner of my world!  In my yarn world I’ve been making some happy little objects of instant gratification…. ooooh I’m on a new jag, making Mischievous Mice from the book I showed you in my last post.

I am having soooooooooo much fun knitting these and whipped up two during a movie last night.   Do you ever get on jags?  I do all the time… some last for hours, some for days and some for months and months (think socks) but my jag of right now is mice.  I keep planning in my head new colours and who I am going to give them to as micey gifts….

It turns out, that this pattern is available for free, not just in the book,  click here to whizz to the website where you can download the pattern for a Miscievious Mouse. 

Raymond is slightly interested in the mice, but they are too big and not realistic enough for him to play with them, which is lucky because I wasn’t going to give him one anyway. 

I love this pattern, it is so easy and fun to make.  Something I’m loving about the patterns from this book are that they are not only awesome and original, but easy to make.  As I’ve said before, I have no aspirations to be the most amazing knitter in the world or know everything about it, I just like to knit.  I like to make things I love at the end of a long day at work that fill me with joy rather than stress me out, and save the more challenging patterns for times I’m feeling adventurous, so having a book full of patterns I can actually make makes me quite excited!  I’m also excited to hear that many of you have purchased the book and are getting a thrill from it too.

I’ll leave you with my January mosaic.

Theme colours for January 2012?  Blue and green, I just can not get enough of these colours right now.  My Ocean Ripple Blanket is nearing the halfway point, I’ll show you that soon, it’s a morning only project as it is now too big and gets me too hot sitting in the sun hooking it on my lap!  KB and I have been all about beaches this month, and sunsets…. nature all the way.  And food, January has been about food here at Crochet with Raymond too, more so than ever before!

February is only two sleeps away, which means I am legally allowed to start my next pair of socks.

What has January been like for you?  What good things have happened for you?  I’d love to hear some happy thoughts, happy creates happy after all, so share away.

I’m off, Mischievous Mice aren’t going to knit themselves…

have an ace day,

love Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Beaches, Knitting!, Monthly mosaics, Sunsets, Whangarei. Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to End of the Month Catch Up

  1. Planet Penny says:

    Feeling very refreshed after virtually visiting all those amazing beaches, thank you! The mice are adorable, and a great way to use up all those tiddly left overs. There’s a big mouse theme going on around my son’s wedding, but I’m not allowed to show anybody anything until after the event in May! Very frustrating! I can’t believe where January has gone either. I haven’t managed to finished even one pair of socks, I’ve been reduced to supermarket ones! Enjoy your week,
    Penny and Higgins xxx

  2. Val says:

    Absolutely love the little mouse!! So cute!

  3. Teje says:

    Good Morning Alice! I have missed you with my Sunday morning coffee! Thank you for taking us with for this exiting trip – just amazing beaches! I love your blue and greean colours! I am just finishing my olive green scarf. Hugs to Raymond and have a wonderful week! x Teje
    Ps. Oh, forgot to say that I love mice and yours is the most cute one!

  4. Dotson says:

    Love your beaches – they look so inviting. I’ve just made a return trip to Sydney this weekend which meant I made one pair of grey socks. These ones are going to a cousin in Poland. I have to knit another pair quickly for his father. My jag, as you put it, has been knitted washcloths. Round ones in particular. I’ve made more than a dozen since December and I can’t wait to get back to them once the next pair of socks is done. I’ve also slipped in a pair of baby booties for a new arrival and a dress for a one year old. Idle hands are the devils tools, as far as I’m concerned. If you put some catnip in one of those adorable mice I’m sure that Raymond would pay them more than a cursory glance.

    Happy February from Dorothy in Canberra, Australia

  5. Rach says:

    Your mice are just so awesome and now i’m going to have to make one!! Thanks for sharing :)) can we see a little mousey identity parade in all the colours you’ve done?? your blog is so uplifting…I love it!! xx

  6. Louisa says:

    Those beaches look amazing!
    Me and my other half have decided we are going to rent a flat and move in together this year… Because it will be a rental we won’t be allowed to decorate or hang things on the walls. So I plan to fill the rooms with gorgeous hooky accessories. And my colour inspiration as always will be your blog! I may spend many hours in the coming months trawling through your archives looking for lovely things to make! :-)

  7. Karen says:

    Hi again,
    Thanks for the link to the Mice pattern, they are really cute. When I saw your photo of the little mouse I immediately thought back to when I made my first purchase at a craft fair when I was 8, which was a pink knitted mouse with a crochet tail. I agonised for ages over all the mice in the basket which was filled with white and pink mice and remember someone getting annoyed with me because as far as they were concerned there was only two options, but for me they were all an option because their faces were all slightly different and some we asking “pick me” with their expressions.

    I’m loving your beach visit pictures, gorgeous scenery.

    Love
    K

  8. Felicity from Down Under says:

    I hadn’t thought about catnip, but did wonder if you could stuff the mice with lavender? They’re adorable and I expect we’ll be seeing a lot more of them. Thanks for sharing those gorgeous sunsets and beaches.

  9. Seeing your mouse reminded me of when I was pregnant with my second daughter many years ago now. I spent quite some time in hospital on bed rest and to while away the time I did a lot of knitting and made one of those mice. I was in a ward of 6 and one day we decided to have a bit of fun. We put one of these mice under a bedside cupboard and shouted for the nurse to come quickly as we had seen a mouse run under the cupboard. She came running in and we pointed to the cupboard. We cried with laughing as she climbed on a chair and screamed. We all got a ticking off and had our things confiscated and had to pretend to sleep for an hour. We just laughed the whole time. Relieved the boredom a little. Hope you don’t mind me rambling and telling you this.

    Fabulous sunset and beaches.

  10. Dori says:

    Oh my Alice! The sunsets are such an explosion of colour, it takes my breath away. And it’s so nice seeing sunny, tropical beaches when we are in the thrall of winter and snow is expected the next day with freezing cold weather following for at least a week after.

    Thank you for the link to the mischievous mice. I’m going to knit some up for my cat and possibly my friends’ cats as well. They look like a lot of fun! Enjoy your new pair of socks!

  11. Deco Cat says:

    My mischievous mouse was the first thing that I ever knitted that was not a square or a rectangle! They are adorable and I agree the whole book is a joy to own. I have been busy blanket making enjoying a ripple and a granny square, thinking about creating some Amigurumi soon.

  12. penelope10 says:

    Awesome pictures!
    That mouse is sooo cute, on my list.
    I am on a garter stitch kick, baby sweaters, and blankies. Moderne Day Baby Blanket is so relaxing to do, and I have plans for one for me and Annie.
    Meow Raymond!

  13. Julie says:

    You live in a very beautiful part of the world.
    Cute little mice, quick easy gratification project, we all need those now and then.
    Jan has whizzed along for me can’t believe my granddaughter is another month older and she is learning things so quickly, happy times here.

  14. janice says:

    Love your pictures but for some reason now they come in to my email way too big…………they never used to. DId you change something?
    Janice

  15. mary i says:

    Love that name of Toe-Piddy!!! made me smile.. wonderful lovely oh so I-am-Drooling pics of sunsets and beaches..Will you adopt me??? ha-ha.. Does the Oh so Great Cat,Mr. Raymond Himself like catnip??? perhaps a bit stuffed in or a mouse made and then soaked over nite in catnip tea might be interesting. Works for my picky one.. Makes a good tea for humans also very soothing and tasty looks like it would grow well in your part of the World. Peaceful days to you from Tuscaloosa Alabama USA

  16. D'Ann Gayler says:

    Alice and Raymond, I love you both. Thank you for sharing your lovely sunsets and the beach.
    We finally got some snow here in Salt Lake City, Utah, USA. January has been abnormally warm, but winter just the same. I crochet, but I’m going to try the mischevious mice. Knitting might be good for me. Your socks are wonderful…YOU GO GIRL!
    LIVE LONG AND PROSPER.

  17. Jane says:

    Thank you Alice! That has brightened up the grey cold day here in Leicestershire! The beaches and sunsets look fantastic! I”m so inspired by your colours I’m going to see whether I can dye some wool to use in my crochet! :-)

  18. Margo Boult says:

    Oh my, makes me want to book a vacation to NZ RIGHT now!! Lovely

  19. Rachel says:

    Thank you for sharing pictures of NZ. A most beautiful part of the world I would love to visit. Great mouse! My cats love batting play mice around, one will even dunk them in the water bowl.

  20. Mlle Michelle says:

    What a pleasure to stumble on your colourful blog. I know that area well, having spent a lot of time with relatives in the Warkworth area, it’s great around those parts. I like Goat Island and Tawharanui especially. When I grew up in Nelson my neighbour raised her own rare-breed sheep, spun the wool herself on her Grandmothers spinning wheel (it was like something out of a fairy-tale) and knitted sweaters. I don’t think I really appreciated it at the time, but at least I wore the sweaters a lot – they were beautiful. Maybe Raymond would like some baa baa buddies :)
    Now I live in Milan which is not so bad, but it’s not New Zealand, so I love to see your pictures and your knitting at the same time. You’ve got me obsessing over making my own pair of socks!

  21. Katelyn Made says:

    Awe, that’s an adorable little crochet mouse!

  22. Dottie says:

    Beautiful Pictures Alice. Looks Like Raymond Is Enjoyuing The Sun & Being A Bit Lazy. When Will You Post A Pattern of One Of Your Beautiful Mosiacs? I Would Love to Make One & Would Love Some Of Your Green & Yellow Hand Spun Yarn.
    God Bless,Dottie In Virginia ( US)

  23. Micro G says:

    So uplifting seeing your beach pictures. Yes, January has fl

  24. Lyn Zalk says:

    No longer do I knit but OH those adorable Mice!!!!
    Those sunsets are so grand!!!! You are truly blessed to live in such a magical land!
    I’ve got lovely sunsets where I live as well and feel very blessed, but Oh honey the one’s where you live are quite special indeed!!!! Love your blog!!

  25. natalie says:

    Oh Alice!!!! Now I HAVE to make myself a cute little mouse…thanks for the link!

  26. I have made some mice towards the end of last year to sell at the Xmas fete. I did them specifically for cat lovers and filled the mice with real catnip (we have in the garden and I dried some). I gave one to a very lonely ginger baby around the corner from us and she simply loved it! So much joy from something so simple! Love the lionlike roar Raymond gave us on your mosaic!! Cheeky cat!

  27. Melanie Loubser says:

    I so looooooove Raymond!!!

  28. Suzanne says:

    Those pictures are amazing! I used to live near the coast with my parents and I miss it sometimes. Just being able to walk for a little bit after diner. But living here in the city has it’s benefits too of course.

    I’m happy since I had a lot of family time in the weekend. Visiting my mother in law, my parents and a dear friend. Good times. Gives me a boost for coming week. Oh and I ate lots of pie and cake which always makes me smile. Have a nice week!

  29. sue says:

    Alice those mice are fab, I afraid I would have to donate one to my crazy cats, I’d tuck a bit of catnip in amongst the filling for added feline fun!
    I tried you gorgeous grilled halloumi a winner with my gang!
    And happy thoughts I’m hooked on bicycle basket bunting at the moment, all sorts of designs are flying off my hook, great fun!

  30. Sara Dahlborg says:

    Just thought I would send my greetings to you from a snowy Sweden. Everything is white outside and the temperature is -6 C. Your pictures got me just a tad bit envious! Sigh!
    I have been reading your wonderful blog for some time now and you really inspire me! The only thing is: I get so carried away, I want to start on the next project right away – there are so many fun things to do, and not enough time.

    I also want to push for a wonderful site with thousands of free knitting and crochetpatterns. Have a look at http://www.garnstudio.com!

    Til next time!
    Sara

  31. Melissa says:

    Your beach pictures are breathtaking! Makes me want to take a trip. The mouse is adorable. How big is it? I bet if you filled it with cat nip, Raymond would LOVE it :) Enjoy your long weekend!

  32. Jill_R says:

    What a lovely end to the day! You and KB were so blessed to have found your place in your new home! I am excited to see your next mice and new pair of socks that are coming! Enjoy your day!

  33. Have enjoyed very much reading your blog. The colors, projects and all are goregous!
    I also love to knit my own socks and do some handpainting yarn and own an Ashford and love her for my spinning. I am crocheting Lucy’s Ripple in bright colors. Have socks on double points and magic loop. Dishcloths on my knitsticks, etc. NZ sounds like a wonderful place for inspirations.
    Thank you for sharing!

  34. Alyson says:

    GORGEOUS pictures in this post! That had to be a very relaxing getaway for you. I’m thinking my kitties would love a Mischievous Mouse… I may stuff a little catnip in it for extra mischief! My January has been a yarny, productive month, too. I dyed the wool I spun last summer, and I made it into a cowl. I made three hats as part of a Hat Trick contest for the hockey group on Ravelry. And I’ve started work again on my zig zag socks that I cast aside a few months back; my heart just isn’t in them, which is surprising, because socks are my thing. I go on major sock jags, too! Thanks for sharing January with us!

  35. Sandra says:

    Beautiful sunset pics! And those beaches and coves look lovely, makes me certain NZ is on my list of ‘places to visit one day’… :-)

  36. Sarah says:

    Beautiful beaches, that is the only kind I like, in pictures.. Don’t care for the sand, smell etc of our Gulf of Mexico type of beaches. The mice are so very cute, I have a crochet pattern for a mouse and I have to make some. What you wrote about Raymond, that you weren’t planning on giving him one was quite funny. Love you and Raymond and love to read about your life. You are blessed, girl!!

    Sarah from Texas

  37. Carmen García says:

    Dear Alice: It is a pleasure for me to enjoy the pictures of sunsets and beaches.
    The colors are so…. As we explain it?.
    Is like food for the soul, you do not believe?

  38. Marty says:

    Tripped over your blog looking for something or other crochet. Very nice-I bookmarked it and will check in from time to time. I have that mouse pattern somewhere-I’m going to have to make up a few.

  39. Penelope says:

    Right now as I watch the snowy flakes trying to form outside my window I a having serious beach and sunset envy from your beautiful part of the world Alice. Thanks for sharing all this stunning nature. As for your mousy mouse, too sweet for words, looks like some nibbly cheese is needed. Maybe you should stuff one with some catnip for Raymond to enjoy? xxx Happy sock knitting xox Penelope

  40. Hi Alice,
    I pop in time to time and picked a great day to come ’round! The sunsets! The beaches! The cute mice :). So much fun. And I really do love your mosaics, the pictures are always gorgeous.
    Becky

  41. Dez says:

    Yep I am stuck on a jag at the moment….I can’t stop making grandala prayer flags…I finish one set and go on a hunt for bits of different colours in my stash to make another…and another..I’m currently finishing my 4th set at this very moment!!

Leave a Reply

