January Socks

Before we get started on Socktastic Business, I have to post some more Summer Happiness, ooooh my goodness we are right in the middle of Summer and it is amaaaaazing!

Today is Saturday which meant another trip to another stunning beach, (I know right?  Life sucks) this time in the opposite direction to Waipu Cove, we headed about 30kms North to Whangaumu Bay and wowee, it was gorgeous.  Beautiful golden sand, crystal clear water, it did not disappoint.

No matter how far we swam out we could still see the bottom, it was breathtaking.  FYI- a few people mentioned about the beach in my last post being deserted… don’t be fooled, I think people ruin photographs so cunningly snap away during breaks of people traffic or crop them out to enjoy the beach au naturel!  It is the height of the tourist season right now, these beaches are well populated.

So onto socky business… because nothing is more useful than socks in the middle of Summer right?!  One of my 2012 resolutions was to limit myself to 12 pairs of socks, one for each month.  I had to limit myself as I get stuck in socky ruts and I think I knitted 17 pairs between March and December last year.  I love socks, love them sooooooo much.

But without further ado, let me ta-da my January Socks!

Did you spot something a little odd?

It’s not like me to knit one sock and immediately start another pair and end up with a bag of odd socks, not like some knitters I know and love (yes Allie!) but somehow, at the beginning of 2012 I had two odd socks on my hands and the little anal retentive voice in my head that keeps me knitting that second sock right through my pain and boredom thesholds started niggling.  So my January sock challenge was to knit the second sock from each pair.  I was to finish both pairs, not knit a new pair and finish both pairs because that would bump my 2012 sock tally to 13 pairs.  Against my sock rules for the year.

Sock number one, or two depending on how you look at it, flew off my needles, FLEW!  I could not believe it.  The Yarn Harlot says that when you go away, no matter how short the trip is, you should take multiple projects.  I thought on January 1st, when KB and I visited KB’s brother and family an hours drive away for ONE NIGHT that I would be safe taking a sock, that there would be no way I would finish it by the next day when we returned home… how wrong I was… I had finished the bloody sock by that night and had nothing to knit the next morning at breakfast.  I got mildly twitchy and KB reminded me (with a bit of a superior tone to her voice) that I should never ignore the Yarn Harlot’s wisdom and next time we go away to take at least three projects.

Do you recognise the sock yarn? I dyed it months ago and finally knit it and am thrilled with the greeny goodness.  I find it really hard to find nice green yarn, nice bright grass green, but have experimented with dyeing my own and have found that mixing emerald with yellow makes the best green ever.

So that was pair number one.

The second sock of the second socks was a different story.  These ones did not fly off the needles at all!  I started these allllll the way back in October and they have been sitting on my Ravelry projects page since then as a WIP.  It was an amazing feeling to change that status to finished today!  My ripple blanket has been on hold this week, not a ripple added in order for me to dedicate my full attention to my sock.

 And I’m thrilled with them.  My colleague calls them my Shrek socks and I think he is spot on… much more Shrek than Crocodile.  Want to see a close up?

I had a bit of a kitchener accident on that second one, the eagle eyed kitchener people might notice… somehow I ended up with twice the amount of stitches on the front needle as I had on the back… too close to the end, I just sewed up the holes and that was that.

My February socks are going to be soooooooooooo much fun to knit, I’ve planned a totally different and exciting pair, the yarn is on the kitchen table tempting me terribly.  What is it about socks?  So many of us fall under the spell of sock knitting, once we start we can’t stop.  I get heaps of people wanting to buy my socks, my answer is nooooooooooooooooo freaking way.  20 hours of my life is priceless and socks are my ultimate gift of love to the people I care about most in the world, I’m sure many of you out there agree.

I’ve noticed lots of new sock knitters posting about their gorgeous socks lately, shall we have a sock hop?  Leave a comment with a link to your blog post or ravelry page so we can hop around and share some socky love, I’d love to see what you’re making too!

I’m off to distract myself from casting on my Febuary socks…

have a greak weekend,

love Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Beaches, Cables, SOCKS!!!, Whangarei. Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to January Socks

  1. Sophia says:

    Wow the colours on that first pair are just gorgeous! You’re right it’s so hard to find nice greens!

  2. Happybee says:

    they are beautiful and beautiful are your pics!!!! I’d love to be there too!!!! :O)
    have a nice week end!!!
    Dany

  3. I am so envious! I have many patterns for knit socks even yoga ones and toeless (pedi socks). Yet I can not knit to save my life :( I have tried to knit and after a bit the needles get thrown and the crochet hook comes out. Oh well at least I can crochet some slippers LOL.

  4. delphine says:

    That’s one of my new year resolution : learn to knit socks. So, I follow your words and bought “knitting rules”from Amazon (here in my small remote town somewhere in France, it was the only way to get it within two days…) and guess what? I’m done with my first heel!!! Though nobody here, in my very own house, seem to care……….

  5. Planet Penny says:

    Wow! cables! I’ve never dare to try cabled socks, always worried I’ll get caught up with the counting. They look fantastic though, so one day… they’ll go on the ever growing list! I’ve done the knit one, then start another pair thing so it rings the changes, but never again! Currently I have two odd socks and no time, if I’d stuck it out with the first sock at least I’d have no time with warm feet!
    The green is lovely, I need to dye some fleece for needlefelting and I’m hoping to recreate a lovely green I made accidently a couple of years ago, so that could be interesting!
    Thanks for the virtual bask on your beautiful beach, Alice!
    Love Penny and Higgins xxx

  6. rakkie says:

    beautiful beaches, warm weather, nice water etc you are blessed!
    here in belgium it is grey, wet and cold!!!!

    so i love your blog for the warmth, the colors, raymond, your writing, your ideas etc etc etc etc

    xx from antwerp

  7. Carla says:

    Hello Alice

    I just wanted to say how excited I get when I see your new post in my email. I am so happy that you have decided to continue with blogging. I look forward to seeing more of your ripple blanket. Here in Nova Scotia, Canada, we just had approximately 6 inches of snow. What a contrast! All the best! Carla

  8. Deco Cat says:

    What gorgeous socks! I have never been much of a knitter and have never made socks before, maybe I should have a proper look at them and try to find an easy pattern (If such a thing exists!).

  9. Julie says:

    Oooo that beach is gorgeous.
    Love the shred socks, nice pattern.

  10. Tickety-boo says:

    Sqqqqqqqqqqquuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuueeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!
    I want those green socks. The colour is just gorgeous and I am in love with those cables. Totally gorgeous. The blue green socks are lovely too it must be such a fantastic feeling to have dyed them yourself.
    I am a total coastal girl it’s in my blood I am at my happiest with sand between my toes and clear water lapping my feet. I can’t get enough of it as you can see from my summer holiday photos last year.
    Count me in on the sock hop.
    Love
    Tickety-boo
    xxxxxxxx

  11. Tickety-boo says:

    P.s. couldn’t agree more about knitting socks for others !! “If I don’t wash your socks already then I probably don’t love you enough to knit them for you!” has become my answer.
    xx

  12. Cuckoo says:

    Those “Shrek” socks have stolen my heart. I love them! So happy to be going to a sock making worksohop at Knit Club with my Mum on the 5th of Feb. There’ll be socks coming to a blog near you verrrrrrry soon. I hope, I’m not certain I’ll ‘get’ it but I’m a stubborn whatsit so I’ll plough on and I’ll pop back here for motivation.

    xxx

  13. Anne Marie says:

    What beautiful colours those blues and greens are. I have been trying to knit a sock for about a year and it is sooooo slow with the small needles and struggling to do the heel bit. Then making sure that there were the correct number of stitches on the correct needle! Still am in the middle of the foot now. How I will go on when I start the second one I don’t know.

    Maybe I should get a proper pattern rather than one that I have to view on computer screen to knit.

  14. Ginny says:

    Beautiful socks, very inspiring. Its weird but I have been wanting to knt a pair of green socks, I dont usually like green. Just have to buy the yarn! I was planning a pair from Wendy Knits – toe up.
    Here its dark, overcast and pouring with rain. UK in Jan!

  15. planetcoops says:

    Loving those Shrek socks!
    My latest socks are up at http://stitchcrafter.wordpress.com/ . I’ve only been knitting socks for a few months, but I’m totally addicted now, and have the same 12-pair challenge as you.

  16. Allie Hodge says:

    Alice!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I never thought I would EVER see you with single socks! Welcome to The Dark Side – mwahahahahaha!!!!!! (*evil laughter and much moustache twirling*)

    Love your work!
    Allie xxxxx
    PS I will email you this week with pics of my 2012 odd-sock output – it’ll keep you awake nights…

  17. baamekniits says:

    I’m challenging myself to socks and jinxing the SSS totally this year too! I am in the middle of http://throughtheloops.typepad.com/through_the_loops/2011/12/mystery-sock-2012.html
    its an awesome sock but I can’t show you the piccies yet but there is a sneak peek on my FB page Baamekniits if you want to see :-) The pattern is still only $3.00 till the end of January so go check it out….I know you will love them! Your Shrek socks are on my list for this year to do also right after I do a plain pair that requires hardly any concentration. I have been doing the Jan Mystery sock in the school holidays so lots of interruptions and frustration :-)

  18. It seems to be that you live in paradies. And i love all your Socks, but more i like your blankets.
    very big greetings from grey germany. Here is it cold and rainy and very grey sky all the time… i miss some heat and the sun. Colorful warm socks are essential here. I don´t like to wear so much clothes all the time. I feel very restricted in my movements. and at night you need a hot water bottle. But I have to say I still live in an apartment with coal stoves.
    Greetings Madame Flamusse

  19. Hahnsmum says:

    l`m afraid l have done & still doing the same as you dear Alice..
    l have one pr of sox started-waiting so long to be finished & started yet another just recently b4 we went to QLD to see our grandkids..My daughter wanted bed sox so my own sox were put on the side burner..
    And l`m busy busy trying to finish a ripple scarf my daughter has asked for.. So l have to finish all my WIP`s real soon..MY early 2012 resolution..
    l truly like yr green..
    Best Wishes, Hahnsmum.. New England, NSW, OZ..

  20. Penelope says:

    How very beautiful Alice and such vibrant NZ inspired colours. I watched Whale Rider the other day with Alice, have you seen this movie? It’s very beautiful, made me think of you and I can see how stunning your country is, the sea the green green grass is so lush and enviable. I just want to be bare foot and in that sand and on the grass myself! I love both your socks Alice and I think You have just inspired me (again :o) ) to do the 12 sock challenge in this year of twenty 12. I think I will try and keep my colours as seasonable as possible, so I will stick with winter colours for now and can’t wait to be choosing spring colours xox I know what you mean about not taking enough yarn related projects with you. I too have learnt my lesson the hard way and never again (hee hee).
    I think I need to go and purchase my February yarn today, perfect ! I have nearly finished my pebble vest inspired by your ravelry finished projects and Pixie pictures (she is a heavenly little babe) and it’s sooooo cute, it’s almost making me broody for babies ! xxxxx lots of love and suchshine to you and KB xox Penelope xxx

  21. I just discovered your blog and have enjoyed reading all your entries. I am working on my third pair of socks. I tried and tried and tried some more to make socks using dpn’s and finally gave up I was so frustrated. Then I discovered “toe up” socks using circular needles and now I’m hooked! With all the snow we’ve been getting in the Seattle area, being housebound has been great fun! You can see my second pair of socks here: http://stampinwithanita.com/?p=1588

  22. minaandme says:

    Your socks always make me long to start my own pair! And I mean a real knitted pair, not a loom version. That’s on my list of goals for 2012: make a proper pair of socks on DPNs! Anywho, glad to hear about the warm sand and clear water. It’s a reminder that it is summery somewhere! And it seems your ripple is coming along nicely. Have fun with it and your new February socks!
    ~Lacey

  23. Stacey says:

    Beautiful! Nice you were able to get two pairs in one month….. can’t wait to see the next pair with the tempting yarn. Give Raymond a snuggle……

  24. Maggie Moore says:

    Gorgeous socks. I’ve never made socks before but you’ve made me feel very inspired to make some :) If you get a minute, please take a peek at my new blog http://prettyflowersinthewindow.blogspot.com/
    Maggie xx

  25. minniemack says:

    Both pairs are lovely, but why worry about socks matching!?! Two socks equal a pair :-))

  26. I believe, from the pictures, that Raymond wants a pair of socks.

  27. Dori says:

    Love the socks Alice! I agree with you that nice greens are very hard to find, and you have managed to dye some very nice green there. I don’t quite have the love affair with socks that so many knitters – and now you! – seem to have, but I am working on a pair right now. My blog can be found at http://writerdahling.blogspot.com/ if anyone is interested.

  28. severien says:

    ohhhh, love your socks!

  29. samm says:

    Super socks! I’ve decided to get back to sock knitting. Took a bit of a break from it, mainly due to Christmas knitting. :) I have a new little Namaste Hipster which has become my sock knitting bag. So I had to start some socks, for sure. I love your dyed yarn colours! I must try dying yarn sometime. (can you tell I want to do it ALL!?” samm

  30. Ria says:

    Wow, I love the green cables!! Gorgeous! I’m also addicted to sock knitting and would like to try the toe up method! Here is my blog, http://followyouryarn.blogspot.com showing a pair that I knitted for a present. I agree, I only knit socks for myself or very loved ones!! Greetings to Raymond!
    Ria

  31. lyn says:

    They are beautiful socks!
    I could do with a little of that sunshine here right now!
    xxx

  32. Shirley Flavell says:

    I have a pair of socks on the needles at the moment. I think I may have to get a good sock book to refer to. I don’t know whether to use the DPN’s method or circulars. I wish to learn the magic loop method and perhaps a toe up method. I need to suck it in and get trying.I was surprised when my 2 sisters and my hubby said yes to owning a pair of handknitted socks. The weather has turned to custard here in the Waikato today so will get on with completing the socks on the needles and start a new pair,new method. Raymond is looking pretty good, he must be enjoying his new surroundings.Love the blues /greens wool you are crocheting with. Shirley

  33. Dotson says:

    Hi Alice, Raymond and KB. I am new to this blog and I love reading it. I too am a mad sock knitter, but not much of a blogger, so no pics. I discovered toe-up socks a few years ago and I must say that I will never go back. No Kitchener stitch for me. Here in Canberra we are limping through summer. One or two hot days, then back to cooler days – and socks on feet.

    I so agree with you about having more than one project with you when traveling. I so look forward to a road trip so that I can make some real progress on my socks. A trip to Sydney equals one pair of socks knitted, as far as I’m concerned.

    Keep up the good work on your blog.

    Dorothy

  34. Rachel says:

    Love your socks, love that you have sock rules!!!
    I also love the colours of your ripple blanket, I’m making an ocean colours stripe blanket at the moment, but its too hot here to do much at a time on it.
    I am so going to have to check out the yarn harlots rule, I just went away for a week, and packed yarn dreadfully, just threw bits and bobs in without planning, then was kind of cross at myself for not being more organised!!

  35. kate says:

    Hellooooo! I am back on for a minute…not blogging until school holidays are over(bedlam, I tell ya, bedlam!) but popping by for a quick looksee…and oheeee, aren’t these sockies lovely! Another reason why I wish I could knit is to create socks like these!! Yours are just gorgeous…I did see a crochet pattern for socks but they didn’t look all smooth and soft and comfy like knitted ones. I have linked to my blog but nothing by me-just showing my sister in laws sock gift to me…utterly cherished…scroll down a little and you’ll see some cute flowery socks http://www.dashrobin.blogspot.com/search/label/family

  36. Susan says:

    Help what kind of yarn do I buy to try to make socks?. All we have here is acrylic and thick cotton. Where can I buy it online? Thanks!

  37. Jane says:

    Hi Alice, love the Shrek socks! After seeing your lovely socks all last year, I couldn’t resist and had a go and found it’s much easier than I thought – I’m on my second pair now! So thank you so much for the inspiration. Here’s where I posted about the first sock of the pair: http://hook-and-yarn.blogspot.com/2011/12/holiday-knitting.html – and last night I turned the heel on the second :) Going to have a look at the links people have posted above now!
    Jane xx

  38. winkieflash says:

    I totally envy your sock-knitting skills! :)
    xo,
    wink
    ps I’m having a giveaway on my blog, would you like to join? :) http://www.acreativebeing.com!

  39. I learned to knit, specifically so I could knit fun socks. But, I’m sooooo slow at knitting, I’ve all but given up on the craft. I have NOT ONE knitted finished object. It’s depressing…

    But I LOVE your socks! You’re really quite inspiring!

  40. Nicky says:

    I love that ripple blanket. I started one a few days ago. I’m wondering if I’ve got too many colours. Maybe I should have stuck with a theme like yours.
    Oh well, Time will tell……

  41. poppy says:

    Hi Alice,
    I’m loving all your socks – I have no idea how you can knit/crochet everything so quickly, I’m completely in awe of the way you have something new to share every few days! Love those cables – I haven’t tried cables yet, it’s on my list of new things to try this year. I love knitting socks and got a book for Christmas about how to crochet socks – haven’t tried it yet but it looks interesting! These aren’t particularly new posts but you can see my most recent socks (from my favourite sock pattern) here: http://fantasylandscape.wordpress.com/2011/08/12/ive-started-so-ill-finish/ – or my most favourite pair based on colours/yarn: http://fantasylandscape.wordpress.com/2010/04/18/noro-striped-socks/
    Loving looking at everybody else’s socks from the comments!

  42. Leah says:

    Hi Alice, wow your move north looks as if it is suiting you!!! The beaches are amazing up there aren’t they – and so many to chose from. I love your socks but especially love your ripple – stunning colours hon. I’ve just finished my ripple (which used up lots of blah colours I had) but I’m bursting to start another using lovely serene colours. Yours is great inspiration. Have a fab week.

  43. D Markey says:

    Oh yes! I agree with you and the Yarn Harlot. I just got back from a 3-day weekend at a Bluegrass Festival. Had a fabulous time. Normally, I bring the project I am working on and always bring a couple of bags of extra yarn, so I can make hats for charity. Not this time. I was making a baby afghan for my soon to be great niece and brought only the yarn for that! And, worse yet, not even enough of that. Never again, I tell you, never again! Your socks are lovely!

  44. So stunning! Your socks are such an inspiration, Alice! I’ve been meaning to come back and add my first socks to your sock hop since I got this post in my inbox and couldn’t post a comment for some reason – here we go http://www.craftsfromthecwtch.co.uk/2012/01/joy-of-socks.html – fab idea!!!

    Can’t wait for the Feb socks!
    xxxx

  45. I love both pairs! I bought natural sock yarn a while ago, to give dyeing a try, and I love your greens so much I just might try it this week!
    My blog is in French, but here’s my lastest pair of socks, with the new on the needle: http://catherineemmelee.blogspot.com/2012/01/des-orteils-heureux.html

  46. The socks are beautiful, thanks for sharing x

  47. silvia says:

    I was one of those want to buy a pair! It’s a pity, but I agree with you.
    Wanna be your frieeeeend!!!

  48. Sandy Baker says:

    I love the socks…I crochet but I want to learn to knit so I can make a pair of socks..

  49. Pingback: On the needles « Dolly Up

  50. Léontine says:

    I would like one pleassssssssssssssssssssse !!!! Wonderfull colors, i just love it, congratulation…. I will dream about the socks all the winter (very cold in France for the moment), i love your blog, good job !
    Have a nice week-end. Léontine

  51. Pingback: Something Awful and Something Awesome | cookiecuttyer

Leave a Reply

