Saturday at my place….

A day trip to Waipu Cove, 40kms out of town….

Thank goodness we couldn’t find a car park at Waipu Beach and carried on around the bay to Langs Beach.  Pure Summer Bliss.  Same stunning golden sand and turquoise water, far fewer people.

A nice long swim in the waves is the perfect cure for a mild hangover, after being tempted in by KB (you can just see her head in the water below) I didn’t want to get out.

Despite looking small, those waves were knocking us over and dragging us back out to sea, it was sooooo much fun.

Hot chips after our swim

Then home to laze around, read books and do a few rows of my Ocean Ripple Blanket

And of course, hang with my buddy Ray

I’m off to wash the sand out of my hair…

Whats the weather like at your place?

Love Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXxx

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Beaches, Ripple Blanket, Whangarei. Bookmark the permalink.

108 Responses to Saturday at my place….

  1. Annegret says:

    Nice summer pictures! Here, in the North-West of Germany the weather is crazy. It is wintertime – on the calendar. All the time we have grey sky, the wind is blowing, often it rains. This weekend the temperature will go down to 3 or 4 degrees Celsius. Last winter we had much snow, cold temperatures, but this winter is more like an autumn.

  2. KatieQ says:

    It’s FREEZING here in New York. After weeks of unseasonably warm temperatures, the weather finely remembered it’s supposed to be winter. We had a few snow flurries this morning and gusty winds. Thanks for sharing the lovely photos. It makes me feel warmer already.

  3. Bobbi Nelson says:

    What a lovely beach . I could feel the sand, smell the water you captured the beauty and sent it on to us. Thank you for sharing your day. May your happiness be as deep as the ocean and your troubles as light as its foam. You have inspired me to get the hooks and yarn out and settle in for the winter. You have a eye for color and I truly enjoy and admire your work.

  4. Teje says:

    Hi Alice! Your beach looks like a dream! We have quite cold winter, but I don’t mind because summer will be again too hot. Your Ocean ripple blanket is so beautiful – those colours are just perfect together! Enjoy your weekend! x Teje

  5. faeryfay says:

    Looks beautiful there! Gorgeous!

  6. Amelitienne says:

    Hi Alice! Here in Italy it’s wintertime, but this year is not really cold, no snow neither for Christmas :( , and unusual sunny day :) ! Have a nice weekend! give Totoro’s (my cat) regards to Raymond :D

  7. Bimbi says:

    How lovely! What a wonderful to live in and have a beach like that practically on the doorstep. Here Winter has arrived with deep frost at minus 5 degrees, brrrrr…., but I can dream…
    Bimbi x

  8. Adriana says:

    Hi Alice! Great photos! Here in Mexico, the weather is dry, it has not rain for two years, so, everything unfortunately is dying. I live in Zacatecas state, so it is in the highs. It is winter here some days nice and some other with lots of wind. Seeing your photos, reminded me what is to be living in a nice place. I used to live in Houston Tx. Which is 90% humidity all year around. Big change for me now that I live in Mexico.
    I love your blanket! it seems to have the same ocean’s color palette.
    It is always great to hear from you.

    Adriana

  9. Cathy says:

    In LIverpool UK it has been very windy(70mph!) but now it is hovering around freesing point!
    You know I dont think I have seen your feet without socks on!! ha ha
    Looks like a wonderful day…but I am feeling even colder now!

  10. sara says:

    Here in uk (Cheltenham) it is around 7 degrees in the day -1 at night but I guess pretty normal for January.

    I love following your blog for 2 reasons, the crotchet & projects are lovely & one day i’d love to holiday there, so thank for sharing an insight into the country.

  11. Marjo says:

    Here in Belgium it is 3 degrees in the day now, and a little bit of freezing in the night , in the daytime a little bit of sunshine…

    Have a nice weekend

    Marjo

    Marjo’s Cosy Corner

  12. Esther says:

    Quiet beach, turqoise water, sun, warmth… yep, this is exactly like Holland right now… (AAAARRRRGHH!!!) ;-)

  13. Christelle says:

    HOT in Pretoria! Your photos make me miss the beach at Hartenbos, where we spent the holidays. Your ripple is coming along nicely!
    The other day I was sorting yarn after finishing my first ripple and a couple of blues, greens and lavenders ended up together…I was thinking along the same lines as you! Maybe there’s a sunset-seaside ripple in my feature :-)

  14. Planet Penny says:

    What a gorgeous beach, and a lovely breath of summer to while sitting here in the UK winter. Here Norfolk, UK) it’s grey, damp with the threat of icy temperatures to come over the next few days. I love that ripple blanket, the colours are gorgeous, I feel a trip to the wool shop coming on!
    How fascinating to read all the weather reports from across the globe too.
    Thanks for cheering up the gloom Alice!
    xxx

  15. Sophia says:

    Boohooooooo… I just got back to Finland from my summer holiday in NZ and it is going to be -14c here on Monday…. I wanna come home again already!

  16. Suzanne says:

    I am sooo envious, it is freezing and overcast with a possibility of snow. It makes me long for the previous 3 years of living in Hawaii, I need a good beach holiday already.

  17. Elizabeth Chowfin says:

    Beautiful pics of a beautiful place… i love d sea n d sand but since i do not know to swim i do not venture in the sea…. i love the way ur blanket is cumming up….

  18. Adrienne Sharman says:

    Oh my- that looks SO inviting. I wouldn’t want to come out of the water either! Here in Cambridge (UK) it is FREEZING! A cold wintery morning, but at least the sun is out and the sky is blue! I LOVE your ripple blanket – the colours are amazing. Can’t wait to see how it turns out. Love your posts and photography, and of course, Raymond is a star!!

  19. Maggie Moore says:

    What a lovely post! I can almost smell the sea air and taste the chips and ketchup! Here in the Cotswolds, England, I’ve woken up to hard frost and it’s very chilly. Gorgeous blue sky though :)

  20. Terrie says:

    You lucky lucky lady! Stunning! I love the way your blanket matches the colours around you – intentional or sub conscious I wonder?

    The weather here is blimming freezing! I’m thinking about taking the kids down to the beach today but it’ll certainly be a hats and gloves affair – no swimming in the sea for us! x

  21. French Knots says:

    Your blanket looks wonderful, such a reflection of the sea. We’ve woken to heavy frost but sunny skies in Manchester UK, so much better than the last few weeks of grey, wet and windy weather.
    Would love to be getting sand in my hair this weekend!

  22. Mia says:

    Ohhh!! Take me there… Now!!
    Weather here is warmer than usually in january. Still no snow – which I dont mind. Mostly grey rainy and stormy, but today actually a wee bit colder and sunny, clear blue sky. Really nice to have some sunshine as also days are still very short. A bit easier to stand it this year as knowing in ten weeks we are going all the way down to your side of the globe :))

    Your ripple is amazing!!

  23. Jessica says:

    Here in Sweden it´s winter just like Annegret from Germany describs. It should be cold and snow but so far it´s been grey and windy/stormy and raining all the time. But today I woke up to the sun and it´s a bit colder. No snow.
    I´m so jealous of your trip to this beautiful beach and weather. There is no beaches like that with this gourgeos water in Sweden. Summer is short up here and not so warm.
    I hope you can enjoy more days like that.

  24. Marlene says:

    Been so hot and humid down our end as well (Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa). Only time when you can actually do anything is either early in the morning or very late afternoon. But it is summer and we do love it! Water really looks good in those pics!

  25. meme-rose says:

    Oh that beach looks divine…. today we woke up to frost and sunshine and everything glitters in the sunlight. I was almost tempted to take a photograph of the bird feeder because it looked so beautiful and glittery with frost! It is the kind of day that makes me want to skip in the sunshine, which is what I am about to do now. Whilst my husband has forbidden me from walking over our garden – there is something quite wonderful about feeling the crunchy grass beneath your feet – I will go and find a field to have a crunchy walk in. The ripple is wonderful and the colours are just right up my street x

  26. Maria says:

    Aqui em Palmela (PORTUGAL) tem estado bastante frio, mas o sol tem brilhado.
    Acho que dava um mergulho nessa água….
    Beijo de Portugal
    Maria

  27. Cilla says:

    Fabulous blues in the sea I can feel the warmth coming off the pictures I need it as It is -1 this morning very bright and sunny in Nottinghamshire in the midlands of England.

  28. kashi says:

    What a treat! We are in the midst of a big snowstorm. Been snowing for three days. The ocean ripple is so pretty. Green is one of my very favorite colors. Your use of color is what brought me to your blog in the first place. My grandala blanket should be done in a week or two. Thank you again for coming up with that pattern. Talk to you soon Alice.
    P.S. Did you ever get your crochet hook from under the porch?

  29. stocki says:

    Oh my goodness.. your day has ALL the ingredients of a perfect day for me! What a superb beach…I have never seen one like that… and I don’t know if you had it to yourselves, but it looks like it. It is freezing here in Oxford, UK… white frost all over everything.. it is sunny too, so good photographic weather… Your ocean ripple blanket is perfect for a such a sunny post! :)x

  30. Louise says:

    My Mum and I had the New Zealand map out on Christmas day, she wanted to know where you lived. She visited some time ago and loves it so much as do I. Even more so after these photos. One day Alice………..

  31. Jacquely says:

    Oh my!!! You live in paradise!! Here in northern Alberta Canada it is cold cold cold. -15C and planning to go down to -36C before Wednesday. The sand and the sea and the sky in your part of the world takes my breath away. Thank you so much for all your posts. Isn’t the Internet amazing? That Raymond is such a character. Thanks for sharing him with us!

  32. planetcoops says:

    It’s Fff-fffrosty and misty here (Herefordshire, UK) today. Those beautiful beach pictures are just the tonic I needed.

  33. Sarah says:

    Wow – what a beach that is!

    Crisp, proper winter weather finally in Oxford today – plenty of sunshine but just a very different temperature :)

  34. Penelope says:

    Sheer and utter envy is the only words I can use to describe my feelings when I opened up your post today. Soooooo beautiful Alice, all of it, that sea and sand well I can’t even begin to tell you how very opposite it is here right now. What a stunning part of the world you and KB live in. As for your ripple blanket, i couldn’t think of more perfect colours right now ! Lovely, lovely post Alice, enjoy all your fab weekend moments together xox Penelope xxx

  35. Mia says:

    Blue sky and sunshine in southern Sweden – chilly but not really cold and unfourtunatly no snow …
    Your pict’s a dream!
    And your blanket amazing :-)

    /mia

  36. 'me' says:

    OMG !!
    Such tempting lovely summery pictures !!!!!!
    Here it should be freezing cold, but it isn’t : winter is not that cold and hard this year and it confuses my garden…
    I’m looking forward to summer though !

    enjoy it !
    And thanks for sharing ;)

  37. The weather here is sunny and a bit cold but nothing like your beautiful tropical weather..What a wonderful life you have…Enjoyed your photos and your beautiful ripple! Thanks for sharing…

  38. Cecilia Ullmann says:

    Hi Alice, We share the same hemisfere. Here in Lomas de Zamora (20km from the Buenos Aires´s “Obelisco”) and with a summer temperatures spent the day into the swimmingpool.
    Nice place and good crochet work. Regards from the other side of de world.

  39. Hannah says:

    I am enjoying your summer because I am in winter. If only I could keep traveling around the world and always be in summer!! Your beach is beautiful.

  40. mary i says:

    cold windy and wet here in Tuscaloosa Alabama… you made me so jealous with all those lovely pics!!!!Chips made me drool, and it isn’t breakfast time yet.. mmmmm do chips count as a breakfast food?????? Glad to see you are enjoying yourselfs. Feet in sand is such a very good thing. Raymond looks great next to that “bust”(?) I call my ripple projects “hills and vallys” as in the ups and downs of life… yours looks awesome! peace hugs and kisses from USof A. ps a bloody mary works wonders for a mild hangover.LOL

  41. Robin says:

    Alice, that place looks amazing! Now I can see why you moved there. Here in Vermont USA it is freezing and snowing and icy. Driving is slick and slow. I have been getting a lot of knitting done though. It’s cosy time here. BUT your paradise looks just like a dream. Enjoy, xoRobin❤

    Ocean ripple is so beautiful!

  42. ZebAlex says:

    London: I had to scrape the frost off the windows of my car this morning. Actually, I had to scrape ice off my windscreen at 5:30pm yesterday… brrr

  43. How I envy you! Living up there in that gorgeous region. I really enjoyed strolling along those beaches, sitting under a tree with a Tui singing above me.
    Poor bliss!
    It’s just the place that I would choose to live, too, if I had the choice. But….
    Now it’s only a memory for the rest of my life. But when I saw your photos I could still smell the sea and heard the swell and the native birds singing.
    I might get out those CDs that I purchased when I stayed in NZ, and listen to the NZ wildlife. Oh such memories.

  44. Tanne says:

    After many days of hard wind and rain – today here (Denmark) – it’s around 2 degrees celsius and totally sunny. The air is crisp and it feels SOOO good to have the sun shining on my face. There’s even a little warmth in the beams. :)

    I must say I jumped – and so did my heart – when I saw your beach pictures and wanted to grab my passport, go to the airport and find a plane to NZ!! :D Gosh I long for Summer and saltwater.

    I’m still totally in love with your ripple. :) Thanks for a summery post on a cold day!!

  45. Deco Cat says:

    Sounds like a truly blissful day! The beach looked amazing. In Scotland at the moment it is overcast, cold and drizzly, so not much chance of us swimming outside today!

  46. Baltimore has 26* and bright sun … finally starting to get cold here too.
    I’ve been crocheting scarves.
    Bella, Daisy and Romy send purrs to Raymond.

  47. Carol says:

    Awesome pics! What a beautiful place to live….and your ripple is BEAUTIFUL! Will you be sharing the yarn brand and color names at any time with us?

  48. hahahahaha!
    mmmmm chips….
    nice ripple too.

  49. minaandme says:

    Those pictures make me long for warm days and seasides. I haven’t been to a beach in about 8 years! Currently I am watching the snow out of my window as I type this. It’s been snowing for almost 2 days straight with no breaks here in my hometown. As much as I do enjoy winter, a warm swim in some ocean waves sound MARVELOUS right now :) Glad to hear you had such a wonderful time!
    ~Lacey

  50. The great thing about your blog is that you have summer! So with about 8 cms of snow on the ground this morning and the worry of my son’s drive to work, I can view your lovely warm beach… On the west coast of Canada, near Vancouver, we get the mildest winters of anywhere in Canada, but that still means a few days of snow. Your Raymond is very handsome, I have a chocolate siamese named Archie and he is very much darker — I was told that the colder the climate the darker the siamese colour… So happy to see your lovely summer, it does warm me up at bit…

  51. hello, Alice!
    In Sweden we have a beautiful, sunny, but short day (day light between 8.30 am and 3.30 pm today) About 0 degrees centigrade.
    I’ll borrow your lovely pictures from the sea…

  52. Nancy Picthall-French says:

    Maude, our Siamese, would like to tell Raymond that here in New Hampshire (USA), it is about 25 degrees, snowy, and likely to drop to below zero tonight. She is living on top of the pellet stove (not hot just warm) until spring strikes in April.

  53. Regula says:

    Sunny and blue sky here in Switzerland. No snow where I live, but from my house, I can see the mountains covered in a white blanket. Looks beautiful!

  54. Carol says:

    What a wonderful looking sea, no wonder you didn’t want to come out and your ripple perfectly reflects it.

    We had a very hard frost first thing but now the sun is shining and the sky is almost the colour of your ocean.

    Carol x

  55. Anna says:

    Ahhhh, just the thing to see when it is 18 F out my back door. Love how your afghan reflects the sea.

  56. Lyn Zalk says:

    Isle of Long (Long Island off of New York Coast) has been unseasonably warm with temps in the 50s until this past week when the season and temps were once again in alignment for this time of year… Sunny and bright with lows around the 30s and very windy the past few days… Nothing to complain about for this neck of the woods…. Beaches here are cold and very gusty – But the smell of saltwater is often an draw to pack up a thermos of hot tea, and head to the shore for some soul refreshing air and thoughts…. The ware always seems to right what is wrong regardless of time of year…… Adore the colors of your Ocean Ripple… brings to mind my Mom’s favorite colors and thereby creates a momentary sense that she is still with me….. Thanx for the lovely photos and for allowing us a glimpse into your day!

  57. Margo Boult says:

    Saturday at our place is -14 C with about 3″ of snow!!!

  58. Mo says:

    At my place it’s very cold! Not quite frosty yet but cold enough to have steamy breath :D Your beach looks so completely inviting. How I do love to be beside the sea. Around here though (NE Scotland) it never warms up enough to swim in the sea mind you :D brrrr
    Wishing you all a sunshiney sunday
    x

  59. -20C in northern BC, Canada! I’m so jealous that you are close to the beach! It would take me hours to drive to anywhere near a beach, and it would be so cold because it would be a beach in Alaska!!

  60. bartynboz says:

    What a fantastic view, I wish I could be swimming in that blue sea! The ripple blanket reminds me of the ocean colours, I must make a New Year’s resolution to start mine. Thanks for the inspiration Alice – you’re a star! Viv

  61. Liz says:

    Sunny and cold here in North Carolina. What a beautiful beach. It looked so secluded…that is the best way to enjoy a summer day. Your ripple is also beautiful

  62. Trish V. says:

    Love love love your photos! We are freezing in South West Louisiana, US.
    Thanks so much for sharing.

  63. jenn w says:

    ahhhh Alice! what a lovely day you have had! here in Kansas it’s breezy & 43 degrees F. i’d rather be on your beach for sure working on my tan. instead – i’m working on “Kristy’s Granny Shrug”. Finally something for myself?! Happy Weekend!!! – jenn

  64. Patricia says:

    Ooooh incredible!
    I am Spanish but live in the green heart of Germany, amid huge dark forests. We’ve had an unusually dry year and zero snow for Christmas, but yesterday the temperature dropped and it’s icy cold now. It’s incredible isn’t it? Enjoy the beach and pat Raymond’s warm fur for me, will you? Love the ripple blanket!

  65. Snowing in western Washington after unusually warm temps. Now all the flowers that got confused and started to bud will be in shock. So much fun to see what the weather is like everywhere else!f Poor Mexico,though. We have perhaps too much rain, but I can’t imagine it not raining for two years! That would be awful! The color of the ocean there is breathtaking. Now wonder you are working with the colors you have in your ripple blanket!

  66. L. Forde says:

    Snowing at the moment – which is fine, since we haven’t had enough to cover the dead grass. (We’re in Minnesota.) I was wishing your beach photos had sounds and scents included – then it would be perfect!
    Love your colors in the blanket!

  67. Jude says:

    Here on the island of Crete, we have similar looking sky and sea colour….but that’s all!! It’s 7 degrees and there’s snow on the mountains. Funny to think we are complete opposites, weatherwise, in 6 months my photos will be just like your and I’ll be frolicking in the sea!!
    Jude

  68. Julie says:

    Cold and frosty here in the uk, we have a roaring fire this evening to keep us snug and warm.

  69. Heather says:

    If I had a passport and a bit of money I’d be on a plane to visit you right now because apart from the obvious attractions of meeting the three of you, that beach looks so incredible that I am popping with jealousy!

    I LOVE your higgeldy piggedly blanket too, it’s gorgeous. Isn’t it great making things for people that you love and that they love the things you’ve made?
    xxx

  70. Darlene says:

    What’s the weather like at my place? Frickin cold – -18C, windchill -20 something and it snowed like nobody’s business all day yesterday after freezing rain all the day before that! But it’s sunny and fresh! Went out for a walk in it all, and it was lovely! Love your ripple blanket and your amazing photos. How do you get such good pictures? RayRay looks happy and kingly as usual.

  71. Anne Marie says:

    COLD here today, frost overnight, in the UK. The previous week has been really mild for this time of year. This cold spell is promised for a few days. Still each day past is one closer to Spring!!!

    Your beautiful warm sunny beaches make me drool. And Raymond of course. I could just hug him

  72. Rubyted says:

    Oh, you mock us with your perfect weather, whilst we have frost and chilliness! That beach looks like heaven.

  73. Marilyn Burgum says:

    CoCo, my Siamese, was sunbathing this morning here in very sunny and fairly hot Southern Spain, Andalucia to be precise. Weather here has been hot and sunny for weeks now, not at all what we usually get, it should be raining to fill up ready for the summer!! Your beach sure looks great, beautiful coloured sea not that I go in the water, just look at it I suppose I am a typical Sagittarian!! The ripple blanket looks great. Take care and keep the blog coming, love to read all about your adventures! Mazza xXx

  74. Susan says:

    SNowing here, pretty but freezin!

  75. Brenda says:

    Looks like a perfect day – and the new ripple looks sooo much like the ocean!

  76. Karen says:

    All of you lucky people having sun and warm weather. I live in the Northeast and it is cold, wet snow and no sun. I love the pictures of the sea and sand. I am a FL girl that hasn’t been back in 30 years, but I still remember the smell of the ocean and the sun on my face. I do enjoy the snow but do wish the sun would shine more.

  77. Jane says:

    In Leicestershire (UK) it’s been frosty & sunny. Have the fire lit this evening so are nice & warm. The photos look great, & the ripple blanket is lovely

  78. Anny says:

    Hot, hot, hot in Brisbane!!! Love the ripple blanket…they are so my range of colours. Beach looked fantastic, looks like you had fun :)

  79. Debbie Price says:

    I so miss the beach. It has been so many years since I have been and it is my dream to someday live in a little cottage by the sea….anyway, I so love your ripple blanket. What brand of yarn and colours did you use? I may need to try one myself! Those colours are very sea-dream inspiring1

  80. Lisa Goodwin says:

    Burrr its cold and snowy here in West Virginia. Your beach pictures are so lovely! I long to drive through the waves. The color is so rich just like the colors on your ripple. Take care and enjoy. Love your site and all your yarnie goodness. Raymond is adorable…

  81. Nancy says:

    OMG I’d give away ALL of my yarn right now to be at that beach!!!!! That just looks gorgeous, and WARM! Looking forward to summer already here in Upstate New York! Right now it’s about 2 degrees F, snowy and very windy, just bitter out there! Middle of winter here on Saturday night.

    Enjoy your summer and Raymond is adorable :)
    Nancy :)

  82. denise says:

    We got about 7 inches of snow a few days ago in Chicago. Our animals are huddled around us as if their sole purpose is to keep us warm. (2 dogs 2 cats). We’ve been waiting for the snow to arrive so it’s not a big shocker. I’m going to show my partner Deb your ocean pics and tempt her to take me to NZ.

  83. D'Ann Gayler says:

    Here in Utah it’s COLD. We expect snow on Sunday night and Monday morning. Today (Saturday) we had blue sky and sun shine. But only 30 degrees Ferinheight.
    I love seeing your pictures. They make Winter a little easier to take up here.

  84. Sara says:

    That looks lovely. Wished I could come and take a peek myself. Here in the Netherlands it’s winter. Though the weather isn’t really wintery. This night has been the first night of the year with some frost.

  85. sue says:

    Oh how you taunt us with your stunning summer sea! we are all shivering under cold frosty grey here in the UK! How I long to bury my feet in the sand and jump around in the waves. ♥

  86. Claudia says:

    Hi, Alice!
    Here in Brazil it´s summer now and our beaches are very similar to yours: golden sand and blue ocean. I was at Maceio (at Northest) until last Friday and it was very, very hot (37 Celsius degrees)!
    Your new place, the backyard, the plants and the blue sky reminds me a lot our landscape here! :)
    The ripple blanket is gorgeous!

  87. beadlework says:

    Here near Edinburgh it’s a little frosty but not the usual deep freeze we have at this time of year. I do envy you the gorgeous beach trip – I could hear the waves and smell the chips! Poppy, our lilac burmese kitten says hi to Raymond.

  88. Vicki says:

    In Kansas, USA, it’s 43 degrees with the wind blowing 15-20 miles per hour. So not that bad for January. At least the sun is shining and the cats can sit at the door and watch the leaves blow around.

  89. Here in Oregon, USA it’s winter… I was supposed to go hang out at my sister’s house today (we were going to do some spinning and crochet), but we got about an inch of snow last night. Not enough to sock us in, but enough to make me not want to drive on these not-very-well-maintained roads in my little tiny Metro. Pooh!

    Ah well, I need to do laundry anyway. Tomorrow is a holiday, here in the US and I have the day off; so does she. So, hopefully we can get together then!

    Your ripple blanket is beautiful! I love the colors! I’m in the middle of making a throw that’s based on your African Flower Mandala Potholder, but in pink and brown acrylic. I think it’s going to be neat when it’s finished!

  90. Alyson says:

    EVERYTHING about this post could make anyone envious! It’s cold and snowy here in the Midwest (US). It’s been well-below freezing, but it’s beginning to warm back up. Your blanket is looking better and better.

  91. HaakZaken says:

    I’m jealous. Here in Holland it is cold and there is a lot of rain. I like your lovely cat Raymond.

  92. Tiiti says:

    In Finland we have -11 degrees and snow is falling down. No wind, but no sun either… Perfect weather for horseback riding with islandic horses. Winter will soon be over in couple of months and summer can come, but then your winter will just start! More socks and scarves to make! ;-)

  93. JenB says:

    I think my new dream is to move to NZ! Here in New Hampshire it was a chlly -7 F this morning, without the windchill. Instant chapped lips!! Love your ripple :)

  94. Joanna says:

    It’s cold and frosty here in the north of england but with lovely sunshine. A swim in the sea and chips afterwards sounds wonderful. Your ripple blanket is coming along great – I love the colours.

  95. penelope10 says:

    Freezying cold here! Those pictures look divine!! Can’t even imagine the warmth!
    Raymond seems to have adjusted well!

  96. Kristen says:

    Oh mercy, that’s lovely. I’m such a beach girl at heart. Cripes, it’s about 10 degrees F here, which is awful cold, and there’s a lot of snow blowing around. Ugh. Your gorgeous blue sky and sea look much nicer. And your ripple is beautiful, too! :)

  97. Oh ,wow! So lovely Alice!! I love New Zealand! My parentst visited there twice, (once for 3 weeks and once for 3 months) and I really want to go too…

  98. Red says:

    What a great day you had!! Although I love the warm weather, I also love the cold weather so you won’t hear me complaining about our temps in the 20’s here in Southern Ohio.

    Love your ocean ripple. Looks so soft and inviting!

  99. Annie says:

    Hello. I just blog hopped here on the crochet trail. But oh, the pictures of the sky!

    If you would be interested in adding any skyscapes to the Project :: Sky 365 Flickr group we’d be honoured :D

    http://www.flickr.com/groups/1856130@N20/

  100. Kate says:

    I’m jealous Alice! It looks wonderful! I love winter and snow but your pictures make me miss the summertime. Just returned from my hometown in Michigan where we had about 2 or 3 feet of snow to Boston…no snow but 16 degrees F. Send us some warmth!

  101. Nelly says:

    We’re in the pits of frosty winter here. That sea made me have the serious aches of jealousy in my tummy. OHHHH..so gorgeous. Loving the picture of Raymond having a nice chill. Awww. Chin rubs to you Raymond.xxx

  102. Jillian_R says:

    Can you belive it? We have snow in Seattle! We are waiting for the big snow dump tommorrow, but it wil be freezzing rain again by Thursday. So after this week, we will be snow free again until next winter. ;-)
    I wish I could be there too, it looks delightful on the beach!

  103. Val says:

    Gorgeous! Love the beach photos, and can’t wait to see it in person sometime! Hugs to you, KB, and Raymond!

  104. Liz says:

    I think I am ready to move to New Zeland…it was raining in the morning and then snowed in the evening…thats living in the midwest (Chicago)

  105. Terri in Colorado says:

    Ahhh, a beach to yourselves. Wonderful:)) doesn’t get much better than that. I’ve got snow & cold alternating with sunshine here, and no beach, darn!

  106. Mimi says:

    It’s warm and sunny here in coastal South Florida, the sand is also golden and the sea turquoise. Alas.. it’s the height of tourist season, so beaches can be crowded. I wish I could find a deserted spot for some quiet reading and/or a nap by the sea. Crocheting just doesn’t seem to work for me while I’m there, alas.

    I love how your ocean ripple blanket is coming together. I notice you’ve varied the stripes very pleasingly, avoiding regimentation just as the sea and it’s waves are always a bit irregular too, so it’s in fine harmony and quite evocative.

  107. Pingback: Heart Farting and Chocolate Overload. | theaussieyarncat

Leave a Reply

