Higgledy-Piggledy Ta-da!

I would say that one of the best things about the house we are currently residing in is the view of the evening sky.  It is quite spectacular when the sky is not overcast and I’m loving taking photos of the different colours that present themselves.  I don’t retouch or enhance any of my sunset photos, how they come out on film is how they are and they are so completely different night after night….

While we are very much looking forward to finding a home more appropriate to our needs, we are enjoying the benefits of the view and the yard, after living in a top flat for two and a half years, having a half acre section is quite a luxury.  KB might disagree seeing as she is the official lawn mower in our home, but Raymond and I love it!  One of my favourite things about living in the Far North of New Zealand is the tropical goodness in the gardens.  I love beautiful, huge green palm leaves and lilies and the hibiscus trees which flourish up here.  KB went a bit mad with my camera the other day and in keeping with the green theme, for those of you in the snowy Northern Hemisphere, enjoy!

So as for the Higgledy-Piggledy Blanket… It is done!  I finished it before I started my ripple blanket (which I officially love now) and before I forget and it gets lost in time, welcome to the ta-da post! 

Are you ready?

Awesomely Higgledy-Piggledy and I am quite in love with it.  In saying that, I was thrilled when I finished it as the yarn for my ripple blanket had already arrived and I was itching to get started on it… Plus KB and I have very different tastes in colour, but at the very end when I laid it on the ground we were both quite smitten.  I love that it is different, that my KB doesn’t follow trends, she marches to the beat of her own drum and sticks to her own styles.

And it looks amazing in our house, folded on the back of her chair.

These blanket photos are all courtesy of KB too by the way!  Raymond finds blankety business quite boring…

Ridiculously boring in fact…

This blanket took one kilogram of wool and I’m surprised at the size, it is just a small afghan and I was expecting it to be bigger!  I’ve listed all the yarn on my ravelry page if you are interested… total cost for the blanket was $70 NZD- not exactly cheap but very cheap considering that the yarn is about as cheap as it gets here in NZ, selling at about $3.50/50gm ball.

So there we have it, Higgledy-Piggledy love!  I am totally making another one of these, perhaps for the bed, in lovely bright colours… I just have to get the ripple blanket done first, but I must say, I’m enjoying my ripple journey immensely right now, so there is no hurry!

Have a cool day, hope the sun is shining in your world,

lots of love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Granny Squares, Raymond Appreciation, Sunsets. Bookmark the permalink.

61 Responses to Higgledy-Piggledy Ta-da!

  1. Your Higgledy-Piggledy blanket looks stunning! And the Sunsets are so beautiful! :D

  2. meredithjean says:

    er… not much lawn mowing done lately by the look of it teeeheeee. But it looks lovely all grown and flowering, and Raymond will never run out of bugs and insects to chase and hunt. Yes find a house you love in more ways, it’s so important. ADORE your Higgeldy Piggeldy, so lovely and downy soft looking. Raymond is in peak fitness, looking handsome as ever xxx

  3. Sarah says:

    Ooooh, it looks so perfect on that chair. Beautiful! And thanks for the green. The only greens here are the dark dull greens of the hardy firs etc.
    (Now I need to work out the conversion rate!)
    Have a great day
    Xxxxx

  4. Marlene says:

    That is such a lovely blanket! In fact, it is on my list of to-do’s! I am busy finishing off a mohair blanket (please see my blog ‘marl on the move’) and also busy doing, what I call, a randomly blue blanket. Your sunsets are astounding too! We can also sit and watch the sun goes down for ever as the colours are never quite the same. The palest pinks, nicest oranges and I can go on and on. Glad you are blogging again! Love Raymond’s attitude!

  5. MiA says:

    Do understand your love for the blanket – it is amazing!
    Your ripple looks fantastic too :)

    Have a nice day!

  6. Sally Blake says:

    this is lovely esp the diff shapes. makes me want to make one. did you crochet the squares together at the end or as you went. thanks

  7. Nelly says:

    I love that blanket!! what an awesome gift. It looks wonderful on the chair and who’d want to mow the grass with all those pretty white flowers in it! WOW! The sunsets are awesome too..you must be loving your new home.x

  8. Jane says:

    The blanket is divine … love the colours and how it has turned out. Thank you for sharing. I’m sure Raymond is quite pleased in his own way – just not enough attention on him – lol!

  9. cazz says:

    Oh i love that blanket and the colours go so well with the chair, which is also a bit fab!! Raymond looks like he’s settled in well.

  10. kashi says:

    KB’s blanket is gorgeous! $70. I am going to have to check the exchange rate, that sounds pretty good though. I love your work. I made a huge ripple before the holidays, they are addictive.

  11. Rubyted says:

    Beautiful sunsets! We don’t get such colour during the winter. I can’t wait for the Spring to, well….spring.

    Loving your higgledy-piggledy blanket! Such sophisticated colours with a fun pattern! Wonderful combination!

  12. Jemma-Jane says:

    Wow what gorgeous sunsets, I can’t say i’m not a little jealous, I don’t get many views like here in the north of England.
    Higgledy piggledy is lovely! the colours work really well, I too hope to start a ripple blanket as soon as my yarn bundle arrives…will be my first, I can’t wait to start.
    Take care.

  13. Esther says:

    Fantastic blanket (and I am so fond of Raymond). I love th colours, how did you pick them?
    Esther.

  14. nice, congratulations!
    I´m in “Art Journal Proyect ” in my blog
    I love youy´ll visit me
    from Chile
    c@

  15. janie says:

    Seeing that blanket on the chair and Raymond walking around makes me want to stay home and curl up with a good book!! I’d have to do it inside as it is winter here. One of these days…..maybe I will try one. Pet Raymond for me and have a JOYful day!!
    janie

  16. Your blanket is absolutely gorgeous!!! Fru Inez from Sweden

  17. Its lovely, as is all your work…and how lucky are you to have such fantastic skies!!!!

    all the best

    H x

  18. Sarah says:

    That blanket is just lovely! I love the colour combination and they overall higgledy-piggledy-ness of it. Well done! Raymond’s bored yawn is so cute – I love cats! Looking forward to seeing your finished ripple blanket. :)

  19. Love the H.P. blanket … am surprised Raymond didn’t immediately curl up on it … my cats claim all the blankets as theirs immediately — which isn’t so good if I’m giving it as a gift — do you find cat hairs woven into your projects?

  20. Rachel says:

    The blanket is just lovely!!! Lucky KB!!!
    And lucky you to have a partner with such awesome taste!!
    Love the sky photos

  21. Sarah says:

    Once again you have made me so happy to see your beautiful pictures and Raymond too. I have tried so many times to crochet the Ripple but I keep ending up with too many stitches after about the third row. I need someone to figure out what I am doing to make that happen. Hugs to you, KB and Raymond.

    Sarah from cold Texas

  22. crochetime says:

    The blanket really is beautiful! I love the colours and I love grannies. It looks like a very snuggable blanket as well! Well done!

  23. mary i says:

    wonderful pics!!! Thank you and KB for sharing some of your world with us. blanket is awesomely beautiful. great shots of Raymond, he is ALLLLLLL cat isn’t he? looking very much forward to your ripple art piece.. thanx for sending sun as we need some here in southern U.S.A. to much rain right now. peace to you and yours……..

  24. Hannah says:

    That picture of Raymond yawning is so funny. He is truly a character. I just got a new puppy a few days ago. She is also a “character”. Your blanket is beautiful. Thanks so much for sharing.

  25. Melissa says:

    The blanket is lovely! I’m sure that KB loves it and it will keep her warm…if it ever gets cold there. Does it? As always, Raymond is a star :)

  26. Alyson says:

    I’m loving the blanket, and you couldn’t have chosen a better name. I love Winter sunsets (though I guess it’s summer where you are); they’re always the most colorful in these parts of the world. Please tell KB that I really liked her handiwork with the camera- I enjoyed the peaceful greenery pictures. And it’s good to see Raymond is finding the time to appease his adoring fans with some kitty pictures! Love & hugs from the USA.

  27. Jess says:

    It’s beautiful. Love reading your posts!

  28. minaandme says:

    Your new home appears to be very pretty, and with excellent views! There’s nothing like the simple, stunning beauty of the world around us. Your (or should I say KB’s) blanket looks superb on that chair! It looks like it would be perfect to snuggle into at the end of a long day along with a book and a hot cup of tea. Very comfy and homey :) Have fun with your ripple!
    ~Lacey

  29. Casey says:

    the blanket looks awesome!

  30. The blanket is very nice indeed and looks perfect on KB’s chair. Love the long green grass too!

  31. Monika says:

    Your new blanket is awesome! Love all the photos, especially with bored Raymond! :)

  32. stocki says:

    KB’s colour choices are beautiful! Look at that sunset coloured loveliness… although as you say, sunsets vary so much…one day it will be an exact match, the next day it will clash! Raymond has very large jaws… I can see what he had for breakfast! :)x

  33. Camille says:

    That blankie turned out very lovely indeed!!! And I am in love with your backyard…it’s amazing…I can see why you and Raymond (and KB too!) love it so much…very lush and green which is something that is lacking here in Minnesota right now…enjoy and thank you for the beautiful sunset pictures too! Have a great day!

  34. Nicky says:

    Is KB on strike with the lawn mowing ?!?!?! ;)
    LOVE the blanket!!!

  35. bobbi says:

    Your blanket is strikingly beautiful. Raymond is very handsome. The sunsets what can I say they take your breath away and you never see the same one twice. Thank you for sharing.

  36. I love the Higgledy-Piggledy blanket! Great color choices. Don’t be too offended, my cat is equally bored by my crochet masterpieces (although he loves to sleep in them).

  37. winkieflash says:

    It looks like the perfect blanket to snuggle under at night! :) And the colors aren’t my favorite either but somehow they still look cool. KB sure has good taste!
    xo,
    wink

  38. sue says:

    That is one gorgeous blanket even if Raymond thinks it’s boring. He compliments the colours very well by the way. Glad to here you’ve got ripple fever too LOL!

  39. Nicole says:

    I’m glad you’re blogging again! I was very excited about your last post but I forgot to comment :o Higgledy Piddledy blanket is awesome :) I’m gladd both you and KB like it, something to make your new home beautiful with.

    Happy New Year x

  40. bartynboz says:

    Love the new blanket – the colours look great and you have made a great job of finishing it all, it looks so professional. What an inspiration you are! Viv

  41. Deco Cat says:

    So impressed with the Higgledy Piddledy blanket, I have never see one before and the colours are gorgeous. Loving the pics of the garden, I am so looking forward to our garden waking up!

  42. Wendy says:

    Higgledy blanket is beautiful and of course so is Raymond even with the bored
    attitiude lol. Their are amazing sunsets in nz, I look forward to our trip to South
    Island late feb/march.
    A big hi to you all xo

  43. MJ says:

    The photos of the lush green foliage are just mouth watering. KB does know how to wield a camera. The blanket is beautiful. A cheerful labor of love. Cannot wait to see the ripple!
    It’s cold and rainy here in Virginia. It’s great weather for wine and blazes in the fireplace and yarncraft. Thanks so much for sharing yours!! Have a great week!

  44. Anny says:

    Love this blanket but yes I am more your blue, aqua, turqoise person and definitely ripples!!!! Loving the ripples xxx

  45. Julie says:

    Loo blankety and chair look so inviting, well done on a super finish.
    Raymond certainly looks bored with all the hooky excitement!

  46. severien says:

    yay! the blanket is really pretty. love the colors!!!

  47. Dionne says:

    Can you share the pattern? This is a wonderful blanket!

  48. victoriapeat says:

    The blanket look really great. I like the bigger squares mixed in, gives it a more interesting look

  49. Loani Prior says:

    gorgeous sky
    gorgeous blankie
    gorgeous Raymond

  50. baamekniits says:

    Love kb’s blanket, and that gorgeous photo of Raymonds teeth!! :-)

  51. Carol says:

    Yes, Higgledy Piggedly is an awesome blanket, it looks very snuggly. Great photos, Raymond seems to have settle down very well!
    We haven’t got snow here in Yorkshire (thankfully), it has been really mild and today we had bright sunshine. I bought Fuchsia pink shoes which match my stripey socks. http://smileattheflowers.blogspot.com/2012/01/very-quirky-exhbition.html
    Carol xx

  52. juniperjune says:

    the blanket is gorgeous!! congrats on completing it!

  53. Jane says:

    The blanket looks great, the balance of colours & different size squares is so good.

  54. Joanna says:

    Gorgeous sunset pictures and KB’s blanket is wonderful :-) x

  55. Suzanne says:

    That blanket is beautiful! It does look perfect on that chair.

  56. Becky says:

    Are you sure you aren’t a quilter hiding in a crocheter’s body?? The Higgledy-Piggledy is fabulous! :)

  57. absolutely gorgeous!!!

  58. Jane says:

    Hi I love your blog. I too have a Siamese cat called Issaac, we also had his brother Joshua but he died sadly about five years ago. Issy is now 18 years old and is, although very skinny, still going strong. The pic you have of Raymond stretching and yawning, I have of Issy doing the same LOL, thank you for sharing love Jane (janiepip is my blog) xxx

  59. Meb says:

    I love Raymond. Where do I find the pattern for the round design on your page? Also, do you have a pattern for a dogs dress or sweater? Thanks for the add! love it!!!!

  60. Meb says:

    I found the round pattern, now just need the doggie dress. Thanks

Leave a Reply

