Colour theme for January…

Blue and green are totally my colours for January 2012… They usually are, but right now they really, really are.  I’m drinking in these colours and just can’t get enough of them, as you will see in a few upcoming posts!

Want to see a sneak peek of my latest crochet project?

Yes indeed that is my first ripple blanket… I have a love/hate relationship with ripple blankets, meaning I love everyone else’s but I always hate the ones I start myself.  I’ve made a deal with myself to stick with this one to the very end.  But more about that another time, I still have to show you KB’s finished Higgldey-Piggldey Blanket before we get onto ripple business.

I’ve been learning to bake brownie since New Years, when I found what seemed to be a totally do-able brownie recipe!

Back home, as a day-off treat KB and I used to go to our favourite cafe and buy huge slices of gooey, chocolatey, nutty brownie and take it home and sit in our little sanctuary and eat it with big mugs of instant coffee to wash it down… sooooooo much more relaxing than sitting in a cafe!  As yet we have not found a cafe that makes excellent gluten-free brownie, so I’m making it my personal mission to create the most perfect GF brownie I can…..

It’s looking good so far, and tasting awesome too, but still needs a bit of tampering before I’m happy!  Shall I post the recipe when I’m happy with it?

Hope your January is going well!

Sending you much love,

from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Crochet Blankets, Fooooooooood!, Granny Mandala, Ripple Blanket. Bookmark the permalink.

70 Responses to Colour theme for January…

  1. Wendy says:

    My sister is GF and know she would LOVE this ☺☺
    Loving your ripple, I have only ever done one very small one for a dolls cot lol.
    xo

  2. Lisa says:

    Absolutely post the recipe when you’ve perfected it. I would love to try it.

  3. Jane says:

    The blanket & colours look great – so do the brownies!

  4. KatieQ says:

    I love the blue and green tones they look great together. Definitely share the recipe when you have perfected it.

  5. Lu Douglas says:

    Hello dear Northern island Alice, wow, the brownies look fabulous and those chunks of chocolate make it even more irresistable! What a pity you have to eat so many samples of it whilst trying to perfect it! ;-) My ripple, after ten (or eleven??##$$@@””||?|||!!) starts, is progressing nicely but I definitely feel there is a wrong and right side – oh well… I love the right side and the colours I’ve chosen. Gelati, I’m calling it, and can’t wait to get further along…though it’s done-in my hand and I have pins and needles constantly from gripping the work, even though I grip it ever so lightly! I’m so hooked (oh, there’s a pun), I can’t stop and have decided it keeps me sane…made a crocheted babuscha doll inbetween just to get some instant gratification. So lovely to hear from you and thanks for taking the time to write. I thought we’d have a huge drought of ‘Crocheting with Raymond?’ so seeing your post come up in my email made me smile! :-)

  6. Sharon Attwells says:

    You’re back….yeah!!!

    Sharon

  7. kashi says:

    The Ripple is gorgeous. Can’t wait to see KB’s blanket. And I have a gluten intolerant nephew. I will make your brownies when you post the recipe.

  8. PJ Silver says:

    I LOVE the blue and greens together! Also, you are not alone when it comes to the love-hate relationship with ripples. I’m not sure what I always seem to do to “mess it up”….. I guess we keep on tryin’
    DEFINITELY post the brownie recipe! I’ll be glad to try your recipe! YUM!

  9. Gracie says:

    Would love to try the GF recipe, but I am dairy free too. Don’t suppose you have a great recipe for that. Love from Tassie

  10. Gina Pike says:

    Hello Alice,
    I have been reading your blog for a while now and I had no idea that you have to eat GF too! I have been diagnosed since 2005 and the brownie was one thing I really missed as well. I also have to eat soy-free too as I get the same reactions for glutens when I eat soy containing products. I don’t know if you have Amazon in New Zealand or if you can get it there, but we have a product made by Namaste and it’s a brownie mix. You can see the product here at http://www.amazon.com/Namaste-Foods-Gluten-Brownie-30-Ounce/dp/B000LKVHZG/ref=sr_1_sc_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1325987899&sr=8-1-spell
    I promise you it is the best, ooey, gooey brownie you could ever have! It’s so easy and so amazing. I love it so much that I request this for my birthday “cake” instead of gluten-free cakes. I hope that helps and i wish you all the best in obtaining these. I also would be willing to help in any way if necessary, just email me to discuss.
    Best wishes always,
    Gina

  11. Faye says:

    Just today I was drooling over ripple blankets on Rav and dreaming up my own. That is, until I realized that in order to make one it takes like 25 skeins of yarn. Am I right? Please correct me if not. That would cost a fortune! Yours looks lovely.

  12. Rachel says:

    Love the colours on your ripple, love your ripple. It’s just beautiful!!!
    I so want to make one, but have to get up the gumption to try!!
    I’ve been making a green, blue and yellow blanket, which i’mm calling my beach blanket, but it’s way too hot and muggy at the moment too think about getting it out
    Your brownies look amazing- I really feel like a brownie now, a gooey nutty one!!
    Today I have read a post that has made me crave apple pie, gingerbread, and now your brownies!!

  13. Helen says:

    I love the blues and greens. Brilliant blue is my favourite colour and being a redhead I can wear any shade of green – no matter how putrid!

    I like the look of that brownie too. I have had a gluten free diet for the past 10 years or so when I realised that it was mostly wheat based products which caused an itchy rash on my skin. Not sure if I am a true coeliac or not. But strangely enough the hormones released in my body when I am pregnant or breast feeding stops the reaction I get from the gluten. So for the past 4 years I have been able to eat normally! I estimate I have about another 18 months or so before I have to start removing it from my diet again. :(

    xXx Helen

  14. Melissa says:

    EVERYTHING looks wonderful! Would love the recipe once you’ve perfected it as my sister is GF as well.

  15. Joya Roy says:

    you’re a happy joyful spot in my day, alice. thanks for posting your ‘loving life’ posts and celebrating each day.

  16. Oh! Your blanket reminds me of ocean waves! By all means. Post the recipe. :)

  17. Hannah says:

    So glad that you are back on-line again. The blanket is beautiful and please, please post the brownie recipe.

  18. No, no, we don’t want any brownie recipes. Are you kidding!???!!! OF COURSE WE DO :)
    YUMMMM! Love youre newest mandala. The color combo is delightful.

  19. Joey Snyder says:

    Very lovely Alice, Seeing your post so soon made me smile….I was prepared for a break. Welcome surprise! I am working on the ripple blanket right at this very moment too, working with blues and purples for my sweet daughter who is in a wheelchair and always telling me she is cold. It is hard for me to be using acrylic yarn… but she puts everything in the washer on hot…
    Your yarns always come through to me looking sooo beautiful. You have inspired me. I am also working on personal prayer flags. cotton, single crochet retangles, all colors, then I will embrodier and crochet motifs that I adore,~~ like a goddess, mother babe, Buddha, lotus, my sweet dog, etc. I am so excited about it! This is my first time writting to you. I appreciate you. It has been a delight reading your blog. One thing you may enjoy knowing aobut me is that I go to jail every Monday and sit and knit and crochet with the gals there for 3 hours, We donate what we make to the homeless. Sweetness to you, Joey PS yummy looking brownies!

  20. Your ripple looks fabulous and I love the colors. The brownie looks great, so if it tastes even half as good, I would love to see the recipe!

  21. Lyn Zalk says:

    Very new to your blog and adore al of the saturated color but this blue green affair totally reminds me of Mom…. they were her favorite colors as well…. Miss her lots but seeing your ripple gives me the sense she is just near by once more! Thanx for the bright spot in my day!
    tried to make my first ripple about a month ago and did not get very far…. must have gotten the pattern wrong as I worked and frogged and worked and frogged to the same point about 5 times before giving up…. will search a new pattern and try again… thanx for the inspiration to move forward! Enjoy your luscious looking GR brownies as well:)

  22. baamekniits says:

    Blue and Green should never be seen together without something in between…….isn’t that the rhyme? Nature is always Blue and Green though isn’t she :-) Brownies look awesome!

  23. Betsy says:

    Beautiful blanket and the brownies look yummy. I would love the recipe when you’re ready. It’s ironic, the very first thing my Grandma taught me to crochet when I was 7 was a ripple blanket. I have never been able to make another ripple since,(and I’m 51 now). I’ve started dozens over the years and never completed one. Maybe it’s pyschological, my Grandma isn’t with me anymore? Who knows? But yours is beautiful! I love the colors.

    Betsy

    http://Betsy-thesimplelifeofaqueen.blogspot.com

  24. Lisa says:

    Yes, please post your brownie recipe. It looks delish.

  25. Alyson says:

    Alice! Welcome back! I’m glad your New Year is off to a good start. I feel the same way about ripple things. I really like your greens and blues, though. They’re such soothing colors. Among my numerous New Year’s resolutions (most of which have to do with needle arts), I pledge to reserve some calories to allow myself a little chocolate every day. (I feel better already!) So, please share your brownie recipe with us! I’m not GF, but I’m a teacher, and so many kids have this dietary requirement, it would be nice to have a delicious way to accommodate them without sacrificing deliciousness. Love & Stitches.

  26. Regula says:

    Oh, it’s cool!

  27. Planet Penny says:

    Poor you, having to test out all those Brownie recipes! Love the colours in the blanket, so restful. Px

  28. Penelope says:

    Your ripple blanket reminds me of the ocean Alice, it is well worth hanging in there as you will be delighted with the end result. It’s such a treat to see such beautiful fresh colours from the southern summer time. I’m still in dark green, ruby red and grey colour modes!
    I’ve never made chocolate brownies before but from your pictures I must say they are looking rather dense and gooey and delicious, would be a disaster to bake here as they probably wouldn’t even reach a storage tin! :o) The recipe would be great thanks, I could pass it on to my colleague who works in gastro-enterology and runs a coeliac clinic xox happy sweet colourful Summer time to you and KB xox

  29. Melanie says:

    Oeee yes please would love to have your brownie recipe! :D

  30. Cathy says:

    Blue ripples crochet and GF chocolate brownie- I am in heaven now!

  31. So good to have you back posting. I hope you enjoyed your days off and could relax.
    Well, I agree with your love/hate relationshio to the ripple blankets. I adore the ripples made by others, but as it comes to me, well…..
    Your brownies look very tasty.

  32. Joanna says:

    Yummy yummy – beautiful ripples to look at and scrumpious chocolate brownies to taste – drooling over here! xx

  33. Laymon says:

    The colours of your ripple blanket are lovely. I love blue and green together.

    Now I want brownies…must resist, I’m supposed to be eating healthily :(

  34. You might like your ripple blanket as much as others but I think it’s fantastic. I love the colours!

  35. Heather says:

    Your ripple is gorgeous, stick with it and you’ll really appreciate it. It can be hard going because it seems to take a while to get it to a decent size but when you do, it’s fab xxx

  36. Rubyted says:

    Hello from a new “follower”, in this very new year! I read three posts and KNEW that I had to “follow” you. Read a few more and got quite giddy with excitement.

    The blue and green is scrummy! I want to so a similar colour theme on a quilt for my son. (Although my appalling crochet skills means that it’ll be a knitted blanket.) It’s lovely to see how everyone uses colour differently, in equally fantastic ways.

    Having a coeliac step-mum means that I’ve had to experiment quite a lot with gluten free baked goods….not to mention be a very willing taste tester when she started a small business selling gluten (and sometimes dairy) free baked goods. I can highly recommend putting either sour cherries or cranberries in your brownies. They don’t last long when made!

  37. Karen says:

    Yippee! You’re back already!!!! So grateful for the lovely blueness and can’t wait for the recipe and KB’s blanket post…. so exciting. Keep at the ripples it’s really gorgeous xxxxx

  38. Anne Marie says:

    Nice to see you back and love the colours. Chocolate Brownie sounds great and I might even make it. I’ve bought some wool to start my own ripple blanket as it seems everyone’s doin’ it!

  39. Kitty says:

    I agree with the others that its great to have you back-I really worried how long it would be before we knew what you were up to Just yesterday I showed some of the pictures from your blog to my daughter so she could see the beautiful colors you use in your work. I told her then I didn’t know when if ever you would be posting again! Then, BINGO! You are back and with brownies to boot! Love it! You are a definite inspiration! Thank you!

  40. winkieflash says:

    I know what you mean, ripple-wise… I love seeing all those colorful ripples out there, but I cannot for the life of me see myself making one and sticking with it ;)
    Have a good January!
    xo,
    wink

  41. mary i says:

    I fell in love with those same colors. my local yarn store had them on sale right before christmas. I made my friend a Ripple scarf and cap to match. came out wonderful if i do say so my self… Ripple is fun to play with. your “blankie” looks great, stick with it! Glad to have you back, missed ‘ya….. brownies look yummo’ !!!!

  42. The new blanket is lovely. I really like your colors. I look forward to seeing it draped on a chair for a photo.

  43. Robin says:

    Hello Alice
    Loving the colors in the ripple, definitely stick with it, it’s going to be fabulous and is already!!! The brownie look ooey gooey gooood!
    Sounds like you are happy, that’s wonderful! Take care and hi to KB and Raymond!
    xoRobin❤

  44. Deco Cat says:

    Oh my, what a gorgeous ripple blanket, I want to make one in similar colours to go with my teal bed covers.

  45. Ginny says:

    It just so happens I have a ripple blanket pattern all printed out, and its been on my mind to have a go! Last year I learned how to crochet granny squares.
    Looking forward to the brownie recipe, going to try this!
    Thanks

  46. Julie says:

    YUMMY!!! both the brownie and the hooky blankie

  47. Tanne says:

    I absolutely LOVE the colours in your ripple blanket!!! :) And YES, please post the brownie recipe when it’s all done and perfeted.

    XX Tanne

  48. katie says:

    Love the new ripple! I really like the blue and green. :)

  49. Annie says:

    Hi Alice and Raymond

    Your blue and green ripple looks lovely and your brownies look good too!
    Please post your recipe!

  50. phyllis says:

    YES PLEASE POST THE RECIPE!!!!!!!

  51. stocki says:

    Oooo could you please post the brownie recipe before next weekend… cheeky I know but it’s my birthday on Friday and after that I am cutting out chocolate until Easter :/ I’m loving green at the moment.. all green…any green… just green! :)x

  52. Brenda says:

    Love the ripple colurs, the brownies look good too, Nigella has an awesome brownie recipe!

  53. janie says:

    Am so glad I found you and Raymond. Am looking forward to sharing 2012 with you guys. Hope you like your new home…..please..please post pictures. I would love to visit England.

    janie

  54. Loani Prior says:

    Ah ha! Here you are. I lost you in all the web / blog / domain name changing last year. But I found you again. Happy New Year.

  55. Molly says:

    You should definitely post the recipe! It looks very yummy. Love the blue and green ripple!

  56. Laura says:

    PlLEASE post the gluten free brownie recipe – there are a lot of us out there who NEED that particular recipe!!!!!! I am looking for some yummy GF recipes, as well as a GF wrap. love the crocheting and zest for life postings. BTW yours is the very first blog I am following. Happy New Year to you, KB and Raymond. Enjoy the new house.

  57. Mel says:

    Ooh I’m starting my first ripple blanket too – it’s very very zigzag though. Let’s hope I can finish this one too!
    PS – my fave gluten free brownie recipe: http://www.taste.com.au/recipes/3305/gluten+free+chocolate+pecan+brownies

  58. sue says:

    That’s a stunningly pretty ripple blanket, like waves on the sea!

  59. Nanita says:

    Hi Alice! Your ripple looks gorgeous, could you tell us which yarn you are using? I love greens, but it’s quite difficult to find beautiful shades of green sometimes… xxxx

  60. Tickety-boo says:

    ooooooooo Ripple! It is lush. Those are just my sort of colours too.
    As far as the Brownies go all I can say is Nom nom nom.
    xxxxxxxxx

  61. Valerie J. says:

    I LOVE ripple blankets and yours is beautiful.This year, for me, is going to be the year of orange. Every color from the lightest tangerine to the boldest burnt orange, I’m going to find a project for all of them. As for your brownies, as a diabetic, all I can do is sigh in jealous frustration. Bless your relaxing time with KB and Raymond. Enjoy!

  62. Camille says:

    My hubby and I are GF as well…I have a cake recipe that we really like that is more like dense thick fudgy brownies than it is a cake…so when we want brownies, we add pecans, dark choco chunks and whatever we fancy but when we want choco cake, it’s this recipe straight up with cream cheese frosting…totally yummy…and speaking of yummy…your color combos are always excellent. Love the bright happy colors…finding your site was a good start to my year. And Raymond…goodness he’s a handsome boy!!! Please let me know if you’d like the recipe for the GF fudge cake…I’ll send it right away…added bonus is that it has COFFEE in it! :) Have a great day Alice!!!

  63. Jill_R says:

    HI ALice! I am too excited to see the final outcome for your brownies! My daughter is GF and sensitive to many foods/spices, so I always love new recipies. I hope you, KB and Raymond are having a wonderful day!

    PS the afghan looks lovely!

  64. Cuckoo says:

    Hello!

    Missed you. Glad to be back here.

    I do hope you finish the ripple as I love it. Love the colours.

    Kiss Mr R for me.

    xxx

  65. Rene says:

    So happy to see you back! I would love the recipe for the GF brownies having just found out I am intolerant. Also loving the blue/green combo. They truly do work so well together.

  66. MJ says:

    I love your choice of colors. I always gravitate toward the greens and blues…to the point that everyone at the shop assumes when they see a bit of greeny bluey it is my work! Please do share your recipe for the gf brownies. They look killer! I know a lovely little lady named Emily who would love to try them!!! Happy New Year, dear!!!

  67. patricia wisdom says:

    Verrryyy nice to have you back….glad you took a rest, but great to talk with you again.

  68. kimberly says:

    i only recently found your site and fell in love instantly. i cant quit coming back for more of your lovely crochet and of course most of all… RAYMOND! :)

  69. cameo24 says:

    I can’t make brownies for the life of me. And being gluten free now makes it worse, can’t wait to see the post.

  70. Mo says:

    Hope you had an awesome break – and welcome back :D
    I tried finding the Namaste Foods, Gluten Free Brownie Mix, but not available here in the UK so a recipe from you would be brilliant I’m sure :D My LO would love it as a special treat and the rest of us could partake too ;0)
    Loving your Higgledy Piggledy btw and your ripple is just an ocean of ripply happiness :D
    Mo

Leave a Reply

