Christmas up North

Happy Christmas to you!  It’s mid-afternoon as I type this, so many of my blog friends will not have reached Christmas yet, still asleep for a few hours before being woken up by over excited children!

I started to write this post a few hours ago but could not muster any Christmas cheer so turned my laptop off and went for a drive with KB… to be honest, the post I was writing sounded as though it was written by the Grinch with a terrible case of PMS but thanks to a nice drive and some chocolate I’m feeling a lot more festive and cheerful!

We are having quite the beautiful day today here up in the Far North, a bit overcast but very hot and summery.  I get a lot of comments from people who can’t imagine Christmas in the summertime and I can understand that, as we are programmed with Northern Hemisphere Christmas images of snow gently falling, candles twinkling and general coziness… it looks lovely to be honest, but here in New Zealand Christmas is about jandals and barbeques, backyard cricket, trampolines and cold beers, beaches and sunburned shoulders and of course, pohutukawa trees which I have shown you before but will show you again!

Pohutukawa trees are the ultimate summer Christmas image, beautiful blazing red goodness, I just love them.  If the trees flower before Christmas it means we have a hot summer on the way.  Well, the trees here in the Far North flowered WEEKS ago so hot summer, bring it on!

KB, Raymond and I are having a quiet day, just the three of us.  I’ve been drinking too much coffee out of my new mug, a gift from my lovely KB…

Raymond has been doing a lot of this….

We bought him a packet of ping-pong balls for Christmas which are a lot of fun on wonky wooden floors like ours, plus a mitt with rubber spikes to sort out his shedding issues!  Normally I take him outside and de-fur him with my hands and to be honest, I was sceptical about a spiky mitt but oh my goodness, handfuls of fur came off, it was amazing!  He MUST be feeling better now, like he has taken a jersey off or something.

Other than eating, drinking coffee and brusing Raymond, our Christmas Day is all about reading books and working on my latest crochet project…

Things were going fine until my beautiful HiyaHiya PURPLE crochet hook fell through the slits in the deck *sob* … there are so many spiders under the deck there is no way in hell I’m going to even try to crawl under and retrieve it.  Meanwhile, as I have to order things online now, I’m going to try to finish this with a 4mm hook and hope my tension is loose enough that it doesn’t get smaller and smaller as I make it!  I’m hoping to have it finished by the time my five day holiday finishes, so stay tuned for a ta-da moment.  If there is no ta-da next post, it’s because it has not turned out how I want it.

Hope you all have a wonderful time this Christmas and enjoy your family and friends,

lots of love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Crochet Goodness, Raymond Appreciation. Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Christmas up North

  1. Happy Christmas. Sorry about the crochet hook though.

  2. Helen says:

    Have you thought about tying a magnet to a piece of yarn and trying to retrieve the hook that way? You might need a torch too, but it could work!

    Merry Christmas to you and KB. It is quite hot and humid where I am, and the day started quite early – the girls were up at 5.30 to be precise. So Santa’s presents were opened and much fun had by all, until about 6.30 when the sooking and wingeing started, so I sat them down with a new DVD and there was silence for all of 15 or 20 minutes. Just enough time to enjoy a cuppa! Now of course it is mid afternoon and almost time to think of preparing the chook for dinner.

    xXx Helen

  3. Alyson says:

    Merry Christmas to you, Alice! It is 10pm Christmas Eve here in the Midwest US. We have been having unusually warm weather here- no chance of snow for us! It’s been a busy day of travelling and visiting family, and tomorrow on Christmas Day we will stay home, and on Monday, more travelling and visiting. This is my daughter’s 2nd Christmas (she’ll be two in January), so she’s all about opening presents, but thankfully she’s still young enough that she won’t be waking up up before dawn (hopefully). I hope your day has been enjoyable. Love to your family!

  4. samm says:

    Merry Christmas from me in Canada where it was sunny today, but cold. :) I’m off to bed to wait for Christmas morning to arrive. Hope your day was happy.

  5. Helen C. says:

    When I’m crocheting in situations where my hook is at risk, I use an inexpensive eyeglass chain to keep tabs on my hook. The chain has an adjustable rubber eyelet at each end. One end slides onto the hook. the other I have attached to one of the pins for scissors with a retractable chain.

    If I’m in the car or at a meeting the pin is attached to my tote bag. In my chair at home, it is attached to the pin cushion.

    It doesn’t retrieve your beloved hook but for the future. . .

    I agree with the suggestion by the other Helen that a magnet on the end of some string might do the trick

  6. Helen C. says:

    I neglected to mention that I got the hook holder idea from a gal who used the eyeglass finding on a necklace – the configuration was similar to a rosary. While I love the idea of my hook not falling under the car seat or clanking on the floor at a meeting, I also knew that having a necklace meant that the necklace and hook would end up in all rooms of the house except anywhere near my project. Pinned to my tote bag or chair is much more suitable for me.

    Merry Christmas!

  7. I Love The Colors You’ve Chosen Alice, This One I’m Hanging Onto For Future Reference LOL, Lord Here Goes Another WIM( Work In Mind ). The Tree’s Are Beautiful And Raymond Looks Quite Comfy
    Merry Christmas From Central Virginia
    Dottie

  8. Lu Douglas says:

    Hello to you, Alice, from Brisbane, Australia, where the sky is azure blue and hanging like a ceiling over the lush green landscape. You see, we’ve had a lot of rain over the last week and the ground is smiling! But we folk are saying, Enough is enough, mother nature! Do not deliver us the rains of last summer when many of our cities flooded and we lost lives. On a happy note, I too, am working on a project (ripple blanket) while the TH (Travelling Husband) and Hunni (the spoodle) are conked out on the lounge! The wind is quite strong up here on the hill at the moment so we don’t know it’s summer and that’s great! Perfect for a blanket that has to grwo on your lap. Loved the idea of the magnet on string to get your hook back ! Good thinking, 99! I’ve crocheted so much, I have pins and needles in my hand! Terrible situation, but how do i stop crocheting??? You can’t crochet with your toes…so I’ll will my carpel tunnel problems to abate over xmas. I can’t believe you get so much knitting done while travelling, working, unpacking boxes, settling in…you’re amazing, Alice! In fact, you’re the ‘best’, Alice Best! lol! lol! lol!
    Lu xx

  9. Pene says:

    Hi it’s 6am here on the west coast of scotland and we’re just waking up to christmas. Can’t see us stepping outside at all today as it’s totally miserable and 80mph winds! Your cat looks like he thoroughly enjoyed his new mitt. We had one for our cat and he loved it, like you I was amazed at how much hair came off him with it. Sorry about the crochet hook it’s always a pain when something like that happens but enjoy the rest of christmas.
    Hugs
    Pene

  10. Sherry says:

    Merry Christmas to you! I would be glad to send u a new batch of hooks from the states if you would like?

  11. Magui says:

    Hello and Merry Christmas to you from Argentina, where Christmas is always in summertime too.
    Lovely blog!
    Cheers!

  12. Hahnsmum says:

    l truly really really love your blogs lady & came in here to see how yr Christmas day has been.. We`ve had a lovely sunny warm day with a tiny breeze..Just had our extra yummy baked chook with extra yummy crispy baked spuds.. And the old mans fresh beans outa our garden.. How good was that. !!! . My fave NZ show is just about to start on 7/2 , ( Country Life in NZ) .. Best Wishes to you three.. LOVE the colours of your UFO.. Cant wait to see what it is..
    Hahnsmum,
    New England, NSW, OZ..

  13. Hahnsmum says:

    And yes, cant you push a long handled garden rake under the landing & rake out the favorite crochet hook.. Good Luck.. Hahnsmum.. X X X

  14. Teje says:

    Hi Alice! Merry Christmas to you and your family! As I’m in Greece now and we have lots of sunshine, in Christmas time I miss white snow and dark days! Here I just can’t catch the Christmas magic – but I’ll enjoy the sunshine! Give my hugs to sweet Raymond! All the best for the New Year at your new home!
    xxx Teje

  15. MiA says:

    Merry christas to you too!!
    Although we are very north, this year xmas is not about snow and bling… More like green grass, grey sky and rain. Newspaper reporting about roses in bloom, people finding fresh chantarell mushrooms for their xmas dinner, and daisies in the gardens. Really the warmest xmas in many many years. Not warm enough for beach parties though…

    Love from Sweden
    MiA

  16. nicollie says:

    Merry Christmas! :D
    So sorry to hear you lost your crochet hook (seems to me I have the same purple one, a 5 mm.). :)
    And I noticed your crochet hook is only metal and no grip, doesn’t that give you aching hands after a while? I came up with a great solution, it’s a grip thingie that can be placed over the crochet hook and it makes it really soft to crochet with! You can see what I mean here: http://nicollie.wordpress.com/2011/12/06/haaknaalden-en-potloden/
    I buy pencils that have these grip thingies and take them off the pencils and place them onto the crochet hooks. If you like it and can’t find them where you live, I’d be happy to send you some! As some sort of a Christmas present. ;)
    Have a nice day!!
    Nicole

  17. kashi says:

    Alice, I love the colors in your new project. The yarn looks so soft too. If I lived anywhere near you, your stocking would have multiple sets of hooks in it. Nothing like losing the hook for the project you are working on.
    I grew up in the Caribbean so I know about warm beachy Christmases. I loved them. I now live where we have snow 5 months out of the year and love that too. When i first moved here Christmas wasn’t so great. I missed everyone so much. By next year things will be better. Wishing you the best of Christmasses and hope you and your sweet little family enjoy the rest of your holiday. Love Kashi.

  18. bridgirl says:

    Alice Thank you for the lovely photo’s – so enjoyed them. Hope you finish the crotchet project and the tension works out. Here in the UK it is much warmer than our usual Christmas – but cold compared to yours! Wanted to say thank you for the lovely blogs and all the interesting projects, I find them so inspirational and look forward to reading them. Wishing you and Raymond a very Happy Christmas. Best wishes Viv

  19. Angela says:

    I love this post. And as my little son always reminds me when I lose things like pins and crochet hooks…”Use a magnet, Mommy”. Maybe a magnet on the end of a broom if KB is feeling sympathetic!
    Merry Christmas to your happy family.

  20. 'me' says:

    merry happy warm x-mas overhere and a big hug for raymond!

  21. Eileen says:

    Merry Christmas to you and yours!

  22. Sara-Jane says:

    Merry Christmas to KB, Raymond and you! I’m still waiting for the family to wake up so I’ll have a nice cup of tea. /Thanks for explaining about Christmas in the warmer climates. I loved the picture of the beautiful tree. Do you put up Chrismas lights? Have a great day! love Sara-Jane

  23. Meredith says:

    Alice,it is warm here in Florida, too. So we are accustomed to sunny skies and no snow. Raymond has my idea of a perfect Christmas, relaxed. I am sure you are missing your family and your new little niece. Merry Christmas,
    Meredith

  24. meredithjean says:

    Meeeeeeerrry Christmas all in the North Island! In Adelaide our happy foodful day is done. Those who aren’t sleeping here have left, we only have a mess of glasses and are thinking we’ll leave them until tomorrow. Getting the hair off the cats is a summer MUST. We use a brush, one of those old octagonal plastic scalp brushes that were sold in barber shops years ago. Cats love being brushed. And you can make cute little balls out of the retrieved puffiness. They are our cats favourite toys to chase around the floor – little balls of their own fur. Much love, despite the loss of the beloved purple crochet hook, life will go on xxxxxxx

  25. D Markey says:

    Merry Christmas from California where it’s supposed to be in the mid-70s here today. It’s a bright, colorful and happy spot in my day when I see there’s a post from you in my mailbox.. I’m excited to see you working on a crochet project again! So sorry to hear about losing your crochet hook. Hate it when that happens. I hope one of the tricks mentioned about will work for you. I hope your day is a special one and best wishes for your new life in the New Year ahead.
    Diane.

  26. Michelle says:

    How beautiful it is there. You are so funny! I laughed when I read your post about the spiders. I hate spiders too! I’m not usually happy if I have to substitute though, and I’ll bet you won’t be either. LOL!

  27. Merry Christmas! We don’t like spiders either. :)

  28. Dori says:

    Merry Christmas! I am amused by your description of Christmas in the Southern Hemisphere, and loved the picture of the tree. It’s so brilliantly red! I’m sorry to hear about your crochet hook. Hopefully the other hook will work. Enjoy your holiday!

  29. Jane says:

    Merry Christmas to you, KB & Raymond from Leicestershire! Hope you enjoyed the good weather & relaxed! The Pohutukawa trees look amazing!

  30. Barbara Reichard says:

    What size hook ? I have many of each size ( can’t resist buying hooks). I’d be happy to send one or two to you. My stash of hooks is amost as big as my stash of yarn. Happy Holidays and New Year.
    Sunny, but cold northern California- Barbara

  31. Louise says:

    Hi Alice,
    Merry Christmas! Your photos are so bright and cheerful and I miss my warm weather Christmas Days from when I was a child growing up in Perth, Oz. Sounds like the three of you had a wonderful day, except of course the loss of your beloved purple hook. It sounds like you need a long stick with strong magnet on the end to retrieve it.
    Wishing you a Happy New Year and all the best for 2012.
    Take care,
    Louise

  32. Nicole says:

    Well I wish I had some sunshine here, it’s miserable! Raymond looks very comfy on his deck, so sorry about your crochet hook, is there anyone nearby who it’s terrified of spiders who might help? I think if my favourite hook fell through my balcony I’d be unscrewing the planks and searching! Then if the spiders came I’d get my OH to help ;-)

  33. julia grant says:

    Merry Christmas!!! ,Enjoy the sunshine for thr rest of us.

  34. Julie says:

    Merry Christmas to the three of you
    We had one of those gloves for my cat, amazingly good.

  35. Darlene says:

    Hi, Alice, happy holidays to you and KB and Raymond. Christmas here is cold and snowy. It snowed lightly all day yesterday. We had a quiet day too and my husband did a lot of what Raymond is doing in the photo (sigh). Love the fangy picture of Raymond. What are “jandals”? Did you mean “sandals”? I have to say that I was very Grinchlike too and had to resort to eating chocolate but not sure how well that worked. Anyway, thanks for your lovely posts!

  36. Anna says:

    So happy and thrilled to have found your blog! Merry Christmas to you and yours. My daughter is actually celebrating X-mas in NZ. She’s absolutely marvelled by the ways of southern hemisphere celebrating and loved the fact that she spent Christmas Eve on the beach. Good luck with your new house.

  37. Jess says:

    I hate when my hooks fall through things:( I once cut my hand, because I tried to retrieve my hook from a couch :P I love my hooks, but I would buy a new one if it meant not feeling spiders crawl up my hand. @_@

  38. Joanna says:

    Merry Christmas Alice, KB and Raymond! Sorry to hear about your hook – I’m with you on not putting your hands anywhere where there might be spiders lurking! I hope you find some way of getting it out :-)

  39. Planet Penny says:

    Spiders! What a nightmare, and so frustrating to lose the crochet hook mid project. Hope the Grinchiness has passed off and that you’ve had a lovely few days. Looking ahead to a Happy New Year! xxx

  40. Wanda says:

    I hope you had a wonderful Christmas. I must say that tree looks very Christmasy to me. :)

Leave a Reply

