Faffing around with Fair Isle….

I’ve never been inclined to learn Fair Isle before, but this week I’ve been knitting a little gift for a gorgeous wee girl who I love very much who is part of a family of performers.  They are quite the circus family, and her Mum loves bright, eye-popping colours, so I got out my stash of random ends of balls and knitted possibly the funnest little dress I’ve ever seen….

I’m telling you, I had soooooooooooooooo much fun creating this dress, picking up random balls and using them until they ran out, experimenting with slip stitches to make patterns that looked a bit like Fair Isle, then *gasp* trying it out on a few rows and making fun and colourful patterns!  I used the Apron Dress pattern from Hadley Fierlinger’s Book Vintage Knits for Modern Babies.  I LOVE this book and highly recommend it.  The patterns are just so lovely and most of them are nice and easy too, plus, Yay, Hadley lives in Wellington so it is even more exciting to knit from a pattern so close to home.  The Apron Dress in the book is very plain, so perfect for me to play around with and make all “patternedy.”

I also learned a new technique when knitting this, I got brave you see, and tried picking up stitches and knitting a neckband instead of crocheting one and must say, I love the result… I’m not the bravest of knitters, so stepping out of my comfort zone with knitting is quite an exciting thing for me!

While photographing it, I had some help…

Himself does like to climb trees, I have the most hilarious photos of him on his first venture out, I just need the time to upload them all to show you!  Can you see him up there?

Can you believe that it is only six days until Christmas?!  We’re distinctly unfestive up here, and I know I’m going to miss my family heaps on the day, but am getting quite excited about a little pile of care-parcels from home which are accumulating next to the fireplace… oh and five days off, right in the middle of Summer!  Bring on the sunshine, KB and I are planning a beach picnic.

Hope you’re all happy,

lots and lots of love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Knitting!, Raymond Appreciation. Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to Faffing around with Fair Isle….

  1. Liz says:

    It is so beautiful. I love it. I would love to try something like this…I am not a very brave (or skilled) knitter, but this is certainly inspiring. Thanks for sharing it.

  2. Colette says:

    Hope all three of you have a very Happy and Peaceful time this Christmas. The dress is really good and the colours wonderful.

    Colette

  3. Jeannette Lazet says:

    Just gorgeous Alice and I saw Hadley at school just on Friday!! Very very inspiring!! Raymond looks quite in his element! Wishing you and yours joy, love and peace at this merry time! xxx

  4. Sabine says:

    Adorable… I wouldn’t mind wearing this myself, but I fear it wouldn’t look so good on me. Have a wonderful summer!

  5. Netty says:

    “Not the bravest of knitters”?? You got to be kidding me?! You ARE brave! You keep trying new things and it turns out to be all beautiful. I only wish I had a little bit of like that! I always keep in my comfort zone. I like to learn new things but when I start a new project I just want to get on with it and don’t want to waste any time on learning…
    Such a lovely little cute dress! And Raymond is so so cute too! I love him!
    Wishing all three of you a wonderful Christmas!

  6. Teje says:

    Oh Alice, that is really beautiful! You have became an expert!
    Merry Christmas! xxx Teje

  7. Hahnsmum says:

    Thats lovely Alice… l knitted a fairisle vest for our youngest ( now is 33 ) so thats a while ago… l especially like yr colours.. Been wondering where you were!!..Now l know, you were busy knitting away.
    Have a lovely Christmas.. Best Wishes… Hahnsmum..

  8. gaia says:

    The dress is so lovely! I love the colours. So inspiring…

  9. Rachel says:

    I LOVE that dress!!! And I love that it’s for someone from a circus family!!! That is so adorable!!!
    Hope you and KB have a lovely lovely Christmas, and also that your new job is going well

  10. Judy Magner says:

    Hi Alice
    I haven’t come across your blog before and it is lovely. Two things I don’t understand are blocking and frogging.
    I’ve been knitting since I was a child and am now retired, so I would be grateful if you could enlighten me before too much time passes.
    Judy

  11. Really nice! have you seen the proper one from the Scotish Isle… OMG! and ho much the worth! :O and ho much work also, it is my dream to visit one day, and I am not that far! :P

  12. stocki says:

    What a superb colourful little dress! You are brave indeed trying a little Fair Isle… I get butterflies just looking at a pattern! I was just imagining you and KB wrapped up snug with the snow falling beyond your huge windows… the tree lights twinkling… 2 pairs of toes wrapped in beautiful socks…. under gorgeous crochet blankets…and then you mentioned the beach! I will never get used to the idea that most of the world has hot weather on Christmas Day! I hope you have a fantastic day with KB and Raymond :)x

  13. Deb says:

    That is so beautiful, the colours are amazing! x

  14. Karisma Fine says:

    The dress is absolutely adorable! Love it!

  15. sue says:

    That’s gorgeous, I love fair isle must get back into it. Glad to see Raymond adventuring too.

  16. kashi says:

    Alice, you have out done yourself. That dress is fantastic. I love it. I am re-inspired no to pick up knitting again.

  17. kashi says:

    The no is a typo.

  18. Textureknit says:

    What a beautiful/bright dress lovely work.
    Seems so funny you celebrating Christmas in the sun. Here in UK (Gloucestershire) it is a combination of rain and cold but I guess that is what we are used to here.

  19. Sara-Jane says:

    Love the idea of a beach picnic – I was thinking of going to the beach this weekend too! Difference is, the weather will be about 30 degrees! Have a wonderful holiday!

  20. zahralayla says:

    Hi Alice, the dress is so sweet, I love the colour combinations. I’ve gotten ‘hooked’ again with my crochet, I finished the granny teacosy from your blog, made several kitty and owl hats which went down a treat at my son’s school,(now able to afford to heat the flat over the holiday period!) and decided to crochet some baby clothes just for fun. I have done fairisle knitting in the past, it looks great on hand knitted socks. And for those people who love fairisle but don’t like getting tangled with the different balls of yarn, there are some lovely commercial yarns that knit up as fairisle without the need to change balls. Have a lovely holiday, think of us poor things in the UK with the rain here in Plymouth and snow further north.
    Zahra

  21. Robin says:

    Alice, SO nice to hear from you. Seems like you are all adjusting well and in fact enjoying your new surroundings and home. The knit dress is so sweet and a wonderful way to use up your stash. It is so colorful and will be so much fun to wear. Enjoy your Christmas beach day and picnic. xoRobin❤

  22. Meredith says:

    Raymond seems to be quite happy in his new home. Love the dress Alice, and a beach picnic sounds like a perfect way to celebrate a Holiday,
    Hugs,
    Meredith

  23. Julie says:

    Simply beautiful.

    Have a wonderful Christmastime

  24. Tickety-boo says:

    I want one! That dress is awesome. Who wouldn’t love it? Looks like his Nibbs would like one too!
    Glad you are settling in to your new home. I hope you get the sunshine for your picnic we are hoping for snow! We had a little last week but a white Christmas would be fab.
    Love to you KB and his Nibbs.
    A very Merry Christmas to you and your family.
    Lots of Love
    Tickety-boo
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  25. dumb77 says:

    I nominated your blog for the Versatile Blogger Award. Thanks for making a beautiful world.

  26. Bria says:

    It’s totally gorgeous! (I love the woodland pixie dress too!)

  27. D Markey says:

    That is so pretty!! You did a great job. That little girl wil LOVE it, I am sure.
    Merry Christmas to you, KB and Raymond in your new home
    Diane

  28. Carol says:

    What a wonderful dress, it just zings. One little girl is going to look so beautiful wearing it.
    It looks distinctly unChristmassy here, it is raining and raining and raining and raining…………
    Lovely to see Raymond exploring his new adventure playground.
    Carol xx

  29. Love the dress and the experimenting with knitting — I have been knitting toques (hats) and am branching out to mittens and maybe it is time to try a little vest or dress like this one. Love the idea of going to the beach on Christmas but where I am, it is rather blustery and cold (western canada)…

  30. mary i says:

    How absolutly wonderful. Amazing what happens whens you step outside “The-Box”! I adore all the bright colors…Dear sweet Raymond he looks like such a wild Kitty up there. looking forward to the rest of your pics

  31. Sarah says:

    Good job on the dress, I would love to see the wee one in it. The picture of Raymond in the tree is beautiful, I will print it and add to my collection on the wall above my computer so I can look at it every day. Here is wishing you a very Happy Holidays and enjoy your time off.

    Sarah from cold, wet Texas

  32. As usual you have outdone yourself! Such beautiful patterns and colors! I, too, would love to see a picture of the wee one in it! Happy Christmas!

  33. Jo says:

    What a stash buster! but it looks like you have chosen the colours specially. Love the dress, I have knitted similar with little sleeves and it looks great with woolley tights in the cold Uk on my 2 year old.
    xx

  34. L. Forde says:

    It’s so fun to knit for little ones! My kids are now 15,13, & 10, and won’t be caught dead wearing anything I’d make for them. So this year, I’m knitting slipper socks for me! Enjoy your Christmas! As someone else said, it’s strange for us up here in the frozen North to think of going to a beach at Christmas. (except for those folks lucky enough to live in places like Florida :-)). Last year we had 2′ of snow by Thanksgiving (Nov.), this year you have to hunt to find any!
    Linda in Minnesota

  35. Nicole says:

    Oh I love your fairisle so much! The one that looks like a wave is my favourite :-) Unlike yourself I’ve always wanted to give it a go but I have no idea where to start. One day…

    Loving Raymonds new tree, at least he’s not got a balcony to fall off anymore :-D Hows he settled into the new digs? More importantly I hope you & KB have settled in!

    Christmas day on a beach seems so bizzare to me (because here in the UK we’d freeze to death!!) For me Christmas conjours up images of snowmen, ice, scarves, snow… I can’t imagine being warm at this time of year! Reading your blog really does open my eyes to the other-side-of-the-world, I love it!!

  36. Melissa says:

    That dress is so stinking cute! You did a wonderful job! Merry Christmas!

  37. Joanna says:

    That dress is beautiful Alice!. Wishing you all a very merry christmas Joanna xx

  38. Shirley Flavell says:

    That little dress is lovely,Wishing you all a very merry Xmas and a happy New Year.Shirley

  39. beautiful!!! someday im going to try that.

  40. jo says:

    What a beautiful dress in fab colours! You always bring lovely work in such lovely colours. Weel done.
    Jo x

  41. Lisa Ruff says:

    Wow gorgeous! Your knitting is so beautiful and I think you are a pro!!! I absolutely love your pics of Raymond!
    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

  42. Angie says:

    Love the little dresses you have been knitting! Merry Christmas to you and yours!

  43. Alyson says:

    I love the little dress. Fair Isle is on my 2012 Resolutions list of things to learn. I also love the pic of Raymond, and how he’s showing his fangs. :D

  44. Louise says:

    It is absolutely beautiful! How lovely to see Raymond enjoying himself up the tree. I hope all is well in your new home and you are settling in quickly. Merry Christmas to you, KB and Raymond!

  45. Have a wonderful Christmas to you KB and Raymond, and the dress is wonderful! Vanessa xxx

  46. Val E. Wales, UK says:

    Love the results of your Faffing, it made me smile on a grey winter’s day here. And by way of an ‘exchange’ smile – please have a look at the largest blanket in the world, comprising 7,800 brilliant granny-square blankets made by members of three communities(?) in Finland, displayed on the town hall steps, in Helsinki. The joy goes on….. and this would make a good starting point http://www.scandinaviandeko.com/blog/crocheting-the-largest-blanket-in-the-world/

  47. Taryn says:

    This is beautiful! I recently took the plunge into fair isle knitting and I’m addicted! Though right now I’m engrossed in crocheting, this dress makes me think I might be doing some more stitching very soon.

Leave a Reply

