The Woodland Pixie Dress

You have seen this knitting in a couple of posts now…

And today I can finally show you the FO!  It has taken me an entire week to wash, block and photograph this dress, life is busy, busy, busy right now, and from now on actually… wonderful of course, but very different to how it has been over the last few years where I had a lot more time to create and blog and relax!  This week I managed to knit one tiny baby hat, it took me three nights to get it done… productivity is low but that’s OK!  I’ve been feeling idle over the last few months as my jobs dwindled and study ended and I am entering this new (very hard working) phase of my life with much enthusiasm.

Enough blather… shall we have a look at the Woodland Pixie Dress?

This was such a lovely little dress to knit, and so easy.  I love easy knitting, knitting that you can relax with rather than fight with!  The yarn I used is The Wool Company Oasis, I’m not usually a fan of variegated yarns, but needed something to occupy myself on the long car ride up here and knew that stripes would be too challenging in the car and a single colour would not provide enough entertainment!

The pattern is HERE and if you are a new knitter or not a very adventurous knitter (like me) I highly recommend it.  The only modification I made was to knit two i-cords instead of sewing on a ribbon as the ties as I wanted the dress and the ties to be the same weight rather than something bulky and knitted matched with something light and silky.

So there we have it!  I had intended to knit this for Pixie for Christmas with the intention of her wearing it next winter but I think it will fit an 18 month old as I tried it on my god daughter… It fits her now but by the time Winter rolls around she will have outgrown it, so I am saving it for now with plans to start up an etsy shop in the very near future for KB and I to sell our wares!  It might be a while, but pipeline plans… resolution time is coming, maybe that’s one for us for 2012.

Hope you are all well and enjoying the lives you have created! 

Lots of love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

 

 

 

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Knitting Baby Clothes!, Knitting!. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to The Woodland Pixie Dress

  1. Your dress is adorable! I actually quite like variagated, the last pic you posted of this yarn really caught my eye. My kind of colors! Have a good one!

  2. The dress is so cute! I love variegated colors, especially for socks! :D I am excited to see an etsy shop in the future! :D

  3. meredithjean says:

    SO looking forward to your etsy shop!!! Woodland dress is gorgeous and you have photographed it perfectly against one of the trees that shares your new world. All the best with the career escalation xxxx, of course expect to be very tired for up to a couple of months, and then your old energy will return – after all, we are such adaptive creatures. Love to all xxxxx

  4. Teje says:

    Really wonderful! Have a great weekend, Alice! xxx Teje

  5. Sonia says:

    gorgeous :-)
    I can think of a couple of little girls I’d love to knit this for…

  6. Carole says:

    I love the yarn and the dress is very cute. I think the I cord ties work beautifully.

    I think an Etsy shop would be a brilliant idea and I think it would be very popular :)

    Have a lovely weekend, xXx

  7. Becks says:

    Lovely dress, would be great for my teeny 2 year old. Hmmm, thinking biggest size, thicker wool, fatter needles, what do you reckon?
    Love the yarn.

  8. stocki says:

    Yep that is a lovely little dress… I prefer the woolly ties too. I want Grandchildren! There is no-one in our family at this stage of family life, who is tiny enough to knit little things for… Ah well…one day! Goodness me how popular would your Etsy shop be….now there is something to look forward too. It’s lovely to hear you excited about being busy and beginning this new stage in your life…:)x

  9. Penelope says:

    It’s just too lovely Alice….do they do it in adult size?hee hee. Wish i knitted when Alice was this small, oh dear I must have no regrets. My sister in law has a baby bump though and now I’m really hoping it’s a baby girl :0) I’ve been umming and ahhhing about making a baby blanket but just can’t make anything without pink…I don;t feel inspired about “neutral” baby colours at all and as you say, entertainment MUST be a key feature when knitting!
    I too will have less time for creativity when I start my new job, I am going back to full time employment after after having worked part time since Alice was born, it’s going to be exhausting I’m sure but oh so worth it. Really pleased to hear that you are loving your new job and settling into northern NZ life xxxxx

  10. Karen says:

    It’s gOOOOOrgeous Alice! and I also love your imaginative photography ie the tree!!! it really brings out the earthy colours. As for the etsy shop I’m very excited to see that evolve too. Hope the unpacking’s going well and you’re both happy in you new home and the beautiful setting. xxxx

  11. Alice that dress is totally gorgeous! Am definitely going to check out that pattern :-)

    I too have been doing a lot of crochet lately that has required concentration so I picked up the needles and knit a really cute pair of bunny slippers that were all s/s and garter, no DPNS, no picking up stitches and no hard seams because they were then felted….it was bliss to knit like that for a change and the slippers were for me so even better!

  12. Hahnsmum says:

    That truly is a dear little dress..l can see the little tot running around with tights & skivvy on , & this dress over the top. l am a serious fan of varigated colours , . These colours are quite nice.. HEy , Wheres the pics of your new abode.. Come on, dont keep us in suspense !!! Best Wishes, Hahnsmum..

  13. penelope10 says:

    That little dress came out great! love the colour variation!
    It must be so nice to start living and setting up in a new home! I am starting to rid of stuff now, to ready myself for when I do move.
    Looking now for a cabinet for all my wooly stuff, to add as a design feature!

  14. Julia says:

    The colours are glorious, I love the design! Sending you love and luck for your new enterprise, I know you will be a huge success!

    Julia x x x

  15. It is beautiful! What does KB make?

  16. This dress i just adorable!!!!
    And I think the etsy shop is an amazing idea and will be a stunning success for sure
    x

  17. Neulisti says:

    I’m in love with the yarn you used for the dress! :)

  18. LaceAnn says:

    Your little dress is darling! I’m sure your little Pixie will make it even more so :)
    ~Lacey

  19. mary i says:

    Awesome.. Again i need to learn how to knit…. Please Alice don’t leave us “hookers” behind. Do you do any ” afghan hook work”??? How is Raymond doing?? Peace from Alabama USA

  20. Susan H. says:

    Hi Alice,
    The dress looks so lovely. I especially like the way the colors show up on the back. Once I get some more practice, I will try this pattern. Although you will have less time for relaxing and blogging things, we look forward to hearing about your new adventures at this very exciting time of your life (with some yarn on the side and hooks!).
    xo Susan

  21. Leah says:

    Hi Alice, so pleased to hear that you’ve all arrived in Whangarei safe and sound. I loved your post about Raymond’s car journey!! I bet he’s absolutely loving being outside now. Your wee knitted dress is stunning and the burgundy socks are incredible!!!

    We had a cracker of a day here in Welly today – it was almost too hot. Nothing like what you’ll be getting up there I’m sure, but certainly nice for a change. Took the kids fishing beside the overseas terminal – it was lovely.

    Have a fab week hon.
    Leah
    x

  22. louise says:

    Love the dress! It’s gorgeous and the woolen ties definately makes the dress even cuter! Oh and the wool is gorgoeus too!

  23. Tracy Coldwell says:

    I read this post a few days ago when it came out, and have to say I can’t stop thinking about this dress, it’s beautiful! I crochet like a mad woman but never learnt to knit. You’ve inspired me to start, it’s my new years resolution!

  24. Hola!
    It is Lovely! and a very nice yarn as well.
    chao!

  25. Melissa says:

    So glad you are enjoying all the wonderful newness in your life! I hope it continues to be a wonderful journey. The dress is absolutely adorable.

  26. Katie says:

    Oooh, so excited about an etsy shop!

  27. Carol says:

    Fabulous dress, love the yarn.
    Has Raymond been on another trip or has he got a brother? Have a look at Jess’s watercolour/collage and you’ll see what I mean. http://jessielilac.blogspot.com/2011/12/illustration-friday-separated.html
    Carol xx

  28. Alida says:

    I love this too! Does it come for bigger sizes? What was your beginning sock experience like being a crocheter? I really want to try socks, but I’m not sure where to start.

  29. Lori says:

    What a lovely dress! Oh how I wish I knew how to knit!

  30. Claudia says:

    Adorable, Alice! :)

  31. silvia says:

    an a etsy shop, great!! I book a pair of socks :)

  32. amandaspatch says:

    You’re getting an etsy shop? Whoooo!!

    I haven’t been by for so long (sorry about that, new baby and all, I’m sure you’ll be forgiving!) but what a post to come back to. I love, love, love the dress and the yarn is just glorious. I’m just a teensy bit jealous right now ;)

  33. Nelly says:

    What a gorgeous dress, how inspiring! A store for your wares sounds exciting..will there be socks? I always love your socks..so gorgeous! Hope you, KB and Raymond are loving your first (nearly) Christmas in your new home. Nelly.xx

Leave a Reply

