Making stuff for KB.

The knitting above is not for KB, I’m terribly sorry to tantalise you in my previous post with knitting and not tell you what it was!  (Oh my goodness, can you imagine what a non-knitter who just stumbled into Crochet with Raymond might think if they read that?)   I’ve finished the above knitting, that is the remainder of the hank of wool I bought from The Wool Company on the trip up here, however the finished object needs a darn good soak and spin in the machine and a very rigorous blocking session which I can’t do until my washing machine arrives at our new house on Tuesday.  I’m dying to see it all blocked and nice, so you won’t have long to wait!

I am dying for my stuff to get here.  For the first few days it was kind of fun camping on the airbed but I’m missing my fridge like crazy.  I believe that of all the things I’m looking forward to arriving on Tuesday, my fridge is the thing I am most excited about, even more than my malabrigo and that’s saying something.

So, today I have some pictures to show you of things I’ve been making for KB.  During the blogging break (or should I say “the month I was so busy I had no time to blog or read blogs”) I had last month I came to Whangarei for a week for some job interviews and to make sure KB and I wanted to live here.  I stayed with my wonderful friends and their two toddlers, one of whom is KB and my God Daughter and took the yarn, pattern and needles to knit some ace socks for KB.  I was only planning to stay for three nights but ended up having to stay for seven and had mild anxiety that I had only bought one project with me because I had not anticipated staying for so long.  I managed to ration my knitting over the time I was there and finished the socks on the last night which was great in terms of getting the project finished but not so great because I had nothing to knit on the plane ride home and had to read trashy gossip mangazines.  It was not good for my self-identity and I actually found myself wanting to say to the man on the plane sitting next to me “I’m a knitter you know, I’ve just run out of knitting.  I don’t normally sit here reading about Kim Kardashians arse….” I managed to restrain myself.

So enough about the knitting of the socks, would you like to see them?

You may recognise the pattern, the Red Wine and Port socks from Jane Brockett’s “The Gentle Art of Knitting,” the same pattern I’m using for my Croc Socks which are in hibernation right now, I’ve already knit three of this pattern and need a break from it.

Being that burgundy is not one of my very favourite colours, these socks were a wee bit zing-less, however because it was this or nothing else, I loved knitting these and didn’t even get bored on the second sock!  The yarn I used for these was Naturally Waikiwi a lovely blend of Merino, Alpaca, Nylon and “other”- I’m sure the label said what the “other” was but I’ve thrown it away already so can’t check.

 These socks have had a lot of frogging… more than I have ever frogged a project!  Some eagle eyed people may notice one tiny mistake on the foot where I did one extra row between the cables, however when I was grumbling about it, our friends teenage daughter pointed out that KB would probably prefer some socks with a mistake in them to a perfect pair of socks….

She is spot on.

KB and I are so different.  But being that the socks were a six year anniversary present it seems that different is good. 

I’ve been making some progress on her Higgledy-Piggledy Blanket

And we think it is looking quite awesome!  I’ve never made a granny square thingumy with different coloured edges on the squares and I’m quite enjoying it.  I still haven’t decided what kind of blanket to make with my wool which I will show you soon!  I have to roll it into balls first but I’m scared if I do that I’ll want to start right away.  Maybe if I show you the colours you can give me some inspiration!

And on the Raymond front, he was allowed out yesterday because of the heat, my god it was hot here!  Our house was like a sauna and it would have been cruel to keep him locked in with the windows shut, so out her went and of course he came back just as we knew he would!  He loves his new home, we have some hilarious photos of him exploring his very own big garden which I’ll show you next time.

Wishing you a beautiful day,

love Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Cables, Raymond Appreciation, SOCKS!!!. Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Making stuff for KB.

  1. Casey says:

    I love the name of the blanket you’re making KB!!

  2. Rachelle says:

    the “Other” in the Waikiwi yarn is possum, I’ve got to knit some of that someday, but stash is currently full (to the point where I’ve had to sell some to make room) and the budget is empty!

  3. Carol says:

    Those socks are awesome!!

  4. The Blanket Is Beautiful, I Like The Colors Chosen

  5. Karisma Fine says:

    The socks are fabulous! I could use some right now. Our transition into summer is a bit higgledy piggledy! It was hot and sunny this morning and now it is like the middle of winter, windy, cold and miserable! Brrrrr. I am consoling myself with crochet. :-)

  6. minaandme says:

    The rate at which you knit socks blows my mind! That’s about all I have to say for now. Just feel the need to express my admiration.
    ~Lacey

  7. Hannah says:

    The socks are wonderful. Wish I had them. It just snowed here! The blanket is coming along beautifully. I’m so glad that Raymond was able to go out and return on his own. Have fun when your refrigerator arrives!!

  8. Wilhelmina says:

    Happy new house! So glad Raymond likes it. Loverly socks….I wish I could summon my nerve and finish the second one of my first pair (knitted)….perhaps your excitement will infect me. Meanwhile I’m totally addicted to crochet and have bought some yarn to crochet a pair. Can’t wait for you to get all your things, fridge included.xxxooo

  9. Alyson says:

    The socks are GOOOORGEOUS! And happy anniversary to you and KB! My hubby and I are celebrating our 7th anniversary on December 4th, too! Congratulations!

  10. Wow Alice your socks are stunning! Beautiful work and I bet KB loved them! Happy Anniversary to you both xx Good to hear Raymondo has been out and back, he is such a sweetheart. Why the fridge??

  11. Dori says:

    Oh my Alice! I absolutely love those socks. KB is lucky to have such a talented crafter for a partner. Happy anniversary to the both of you.

    It’s nice to see Raymond getting used to his new home. I can’t wait to see more pictures of him!

  12. Regula says:

    BEAUTIFUL socks! You are making me starting a new pair right away as I am totally in love with cables.

    I wish you luck in the new home. -)

  13. Teje says:

    Good Morning Alice! Wonderful socks and the blanket is going to be fantastic!
    I’m happy You and Raymond all feel at home in your new place!
    xxx Teje

  14. Belinda says:

    I think the comment about KB not wanting sock that are “perfect” is just beautiful. You’ve got to love the practicality of a child’s mind! And the socks are just beautiful.

  15. Carole says:

    Oh my – I adore the yarn in the top photo, such beautiful colours. I can’t wait to see what you used it for.

    KB’s blanket and socks are mighty fine too :)

    I’m pleased Raymond enjoyed his trip outdoors, and that he came home. I’m so looking forward to hearing how he settles into his new neighbourhood and his new friends.

  16. Rachel says:

    Most awesome socks ever!!!! I love the colour. And even lovelier that they are for an anniversary present..
    The blanket is also looking fabulous!!

  17. Hmmm, I remember my time in Australia with the seasons topsy turvy to here in the UK. I remember getting off the plane at Sydney Airport in January 2001 having arrived from snowy Birmingham. The heat hit me right between the eyes! It’s wet and getting colder day by day here in Plymouth so socks would be perfect if I was into knitting right now. KB’s socks look great and I just love the colour. Cables are great cos it helps to make the project work faster, which is good when you need to knit another. I just can’t get my head around working two socks at once on a circular needle. Good to see that Raymond is allowed to go out now and is currently behaving well by coming straight back.
    Looking forward to seeing more of your new home as you all get settled in.
    Zahra. :-)

  18. Micro G says:

    Dear Alice and Raymond,

    I’m glad to hear you are settling into your new home ok. Good luck with the job interviews. The blanket and socks look great and as always, the picture of Raymond made me go “Awwwh!” with delight. Love that boy.

    I will be experimenting with dying today, the first time since tie-dying my leggings in the ’80s! Please let me know if there are any patterns or books you’d recommend for granny squares as I hope to start trying these out soon too but don’t know where to start.

    g

  19. Terrie says:

    Congrats on your 6 years! I am in love with KB’s blanket – not the usual colours I would pine after but they work really well. x

  20. kashi says:

    I love the socks and I really love KB’s blanket. Can’t wait to see what you make for yourself. Life without a fridge is awful isn’t it. Having to eat out and not make too much at home is no fun. Soon you will be all settled in.

  21. Tickety-boo says:

    I hope your own things don’t take too long to arrive. It’s always the simple things that you miss when you’re waiting.
    Those socks are gorgeous, I am sure KB is going to LOVE them.
    Congratulations to you both on your anniversary.
    Love
    Tickety-boo
    xxxxxx

  22. stocki says:

    Congratulations on 6 years together! I think KB’s socks are gorgeous.. sorry, but I love the colour! KB’s HPB is making me drool….don’t worry… I’m no where near it :) Which joining method are you using Alice? I am about to set out on a big joining session (hopefully) with the blanket I am organising on my blog…come and take a peak Alice.. It would be so lovely to have a square all the way from you :)

  23. Nicky says:

    Congratulations on your anniversary. i love the blanket, those colours look great together. xxx

  24. Hahnsmum says:

    Malabrago ??? What is it ??? .. Have l remembered to spell that right ??
    Those sox are to die for.. So nice.. And colour is quite nice..
    Best Wishes,
    Hahnsmum,
    New England, NSW, OZ..

  25. Meredith says:

    Alice, what a lovely present for KB and a big Congrats to both of you for 6 years. You are still going strong and embarking on this new phase of your lives, it is so exciting and I am sure exhausting all at the same time. Love the blanket, it is nice KB is getting some spoiling.
    Glad you are all happy in your new home,good luck unpacking.
    Hugs to you, KB and of course Raymond.
    Meredith

  26. Liza says:

    Hello Alice,
    First of all I want to wish you and KB a very happy and long life of wonderful bliss and good health . Happy Anniversary!!!!. Just love the socks and the blanket is beautiful. Raymond looks so peaceful looking out the window. Glad to hear he came back from his adventure outdoors.. Sending you lots of warms wishes to you and your loved ones. Take care your friend from Texas

  27. Carol says:

    Hi Alice, glad you are settling in and Raymond is enjoying being the intrepid explorer.
    KB’s Socks are indeed beautiful and match the blanket too!
    Carol xx

  28. Penelope10 says:

    Love the socks!
    Bet you can’t wait for Tuesday!! Oh the luxuries of life!
    Good to know Raymond ventured back to his new home!

  29. Netty says:

    Love the socks! I wish I could do that!
    I am glad Raymond is out and about again…what a great picture!!

  30. Lovely socks, although I miss all the fabulous colors you usually have. The blanket is beautiful!

  31. bridgirl says:

    I enjoyed your blog Alice, it was so good to see Raymond settled in his new home. Looking forward to seeing your photo’s. Love the socks – didn’t you do well! I only crotchet now, so I was inspired to think about knitting something again. Hope your fridge arrives soon ! Best wishes to you and Raymond. Viv

  32. Barbara Reichard says:

    Thanks for sharing. Your blog brightens my day. I know what it’s like waiting for your household to arrive. (Then when it does, it complain- complain about putting everything away.)
    I would like to get some of your heat, here in Ca. we have winds making it very cold.
    I am glad that Raymond finally got to explore his new home. He looked ready to jump to freedom in the pic you posted.
    The socks are beautiful ,and who cares about a little mistake?
    Hope your new home is ready real soon.
    Regards, Barbara

  33. lemon says:

    I like very much the colors in the first photo but I can non understand how you compined them together-can you show us some details please?
    I know how to knit and croshet, although I am not very experienced.
    I liked the colors seperetaly and the result with all of them together.
    My love to you and KB, from Athens, Greece.

  34. maura says:

    love the vibrant colours How did Raymond get his name?

  35. Joanna says:

    Hi Alice, love the socks and KB’s blanket – great name! I bet Raymond enjoyed his first exploration of his new garden. It will be lovely when all your things arrive – fridge and everything! Joanna xx

  36. Brenda says:

    Love the socks! Glad Raymond has survived his first outing, I don’t know about you but I always find that first time out in a new place nerve wracking!

  37. Penelope says:

    Oooooh I wonder if I could get Andy to knit me some stunning socks like these for our next anniversary (hee hee). In all seriousness Alice they are just too lush and gorgeous for words, I guess they will need to be put away until the winter in view of the hot weather you are having.
    Hope you get your fridge soon and start to really feel like you are settling in xox When do you start your new job? xxx

  38. mary i says:

    happy you Raymond! I knew your day would come… Love your socks. I am a fan of burgandy so to me they look wonderful. I am still just a hooker. Looking forward to the day I will grow up and become a knitter as great as you are.. Thank you Alice for your inspiration and smiles. Your new home is filled with Love I can tell. KB is one lucky gal, so are you. Peace from Alabama USA

  39. Susan H. says:

    Happy Anniversary Alice and KB. Those cable socks are really great. I am amazed at how fast you are knitting socks. KB’s banket is looking very nice too. She is so lucky to get all of these great goodies!!
    p.s. Glad to hear Raymond came back
    xo Susan

  40. Annemiek says:

    Oooooh!! The colours of the wool in your first photo are sooo pretty! Wish I would have the guts to start on socks ;-)

  41. Lynne Gill says:

    Wish I could knit socks! Congratulations on your 6th Anniversary and your new home! Am waiting with bated breath for some lovely pics of your house and surrounds – please???? I live in the UK but have driven through Whangerei this year while visiting our son and his family near Aukland, and wished we’d had more time to look around. Envying you your weather as it is VERY CHILLY here, though we haven’t had the snow they had up north.
    Glad Raymond is settling – it’s usually quite fraught with escape problems when you move with a cat.

  42. Planet Penny says:

    Amazing socks! I love cables, they look so cosy/ I’m glad Raymond is getting the hang of his new home, especially coming back! Thank you for your lovely comment on my blog, I love your blog too!
    Love to the three of you x

  43. Angie says:

    I’ve always been quite contented with crocheting – I love to do it and have never had the patience to learn to knit – but socks are the one thing that always make me want to learn! Especially these, I just LOVE this pattern and you’ve done a lovely job!

  44. Lana Richey says:

    Oh my how I LOVE socks and the burgundy ones are AWESOME! Wish I knew how to make them, but I never did get the hang of using several needles :(. Someday I am going to purchase myself a pair of handmade socks.

  45. Shirley Flavell says:

    Love those socks, beautifully knitted. Will have to try and find the pattern.Happy ‘ventures Raymond.You will be pleased to be properly settled in. Get some nice Ginger Beer to ‘pop’ into the fridge when it arrives. Shirley

  46. Julie says:

    Beautiful socks!
    I just had this vision of Raymond saying, “thanks for opening the windows but i think i’ll stay inside in the shade” when i saw the beautifiul pic. Happy exploring Raymond!

  47. Emily says:

    beautiful socks!! my 9 year old just told me he wants a pair, and my 11 year old said everyone needs socks like those! lol!!

Leave a Reply

