Tripping

It turns out that it is silly to take a Siamese Cat on an 11 hour car journey… He yowled from Wellington to Taihape…

He continued to yowl from Taihape to Turangi and even though I had hoped that the two HUGE bags of yarn purchased at The Wool Company might muffle him, they didn’t…

He was however, a most excellent house guest, behaving himself impaccably at both my parents house and KB’s parents house overnight…

The next day he meowed from Turangi to Auckland.  For the 100km(ish) duration of the Auckland motorway he yowled, and howled when a truck went past us, despite having a blanket tucked right around his cat prison…

And 20kms away from our new home he finally fell asleep!  After nearly 24 hours in his new home he has finally settled down and has stopped trying the window latches (have you ever seen a cat do that?!) and meowing.  He is now sitting on my lap in front of the laptop having a cuddle with his arm stretched out so his paw can touch KB, having some happy family cuddles.

And I know that if he knew he was famous and had a large Raymond fan club he would want everyone to know that he is doing just fine.  Possibly better than us.  KB needed much rescue remedy for the drive but I had my knitting to keep me sane.

Are any of you remotely interested in my purchases from The Wool Company?  Raymond can tend to hog the attention and take the limelight off woolly goodness sometimes, I understand, he is a very nice boy and all, but I do want to show you some of my yarn fun!  As we have moved to a city with no LYS (that I know of, Spotlight doesn’t count until it starts selling Malabrigo in my opinion!) I decided that on the journey we would stop at The Wool Company and I would buy enough yarn for two blankets for our new home.    One of the blankets would be for KB and I decided no matter how hard it was not to interfere, I would let her choose the colours and the pattern she wanted and make it for her.  The other one is for me, same rules!

So KB chose these colours…

From top left to bottom right the colours are: Graphite, Port, Tomato, Charcoal and Grey.  Yarn is very cheap from The Wool Company, $14.00 for a 200gm hank and it is one of my favourite yarns to work with, so the stop was the highlight of the trip.  (Apart from the caramel oat slice from Cambridge, that was awesome too)  I started on the blanket at KB’s Mums house and so far have created this…

KB has requested a mismatched blanket with lots of different types of squares and in different sizes.  Its going to need a good blocking but I’m quite excited about it.

Anyway, I have to fly, Raymond is now trying to open the side door so I’m going to go and try to distract him from his burning desire to get outside.  When our furniture arrives I’ll take some lovely shots of our new home!   It’s not what we were expecting and needs a good clean, I feel like I want to waterblast every inch of the inside to be honest, but it has much potential and will look amazing with all our stuff in it.  Plus, it has three windowseats so I’ll be needing to crochet some cushions to fill them up.  Such a shame!

Thank you for all your kind messages, you are all so lovely and I love how no matter where I go in the country, my bloggy friends are there with me!

Lots of love,

from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Crochet Blankets, Raymond Appreciation, Travelling NZ!, Whngarei. Bookmark the permalink.

75 Responses to Tripping

  1. Brenda says:

    Yay! I’m glad you 3 made it safely to your new home! The colors KB picked are nice but definitely no color orgasm like the awesome colors you usually pick!! I’m still excited to see how it comes out. I cringe when I see you say that $14 is cheap! Are those US dollars? Or New Zealand dollars? I’m curious…

    Wish u the best!

  2. frou-frou says:

    Hi there glad you all made it safely to your destination. I love the colours of the new blanket – just my sort of faves.

    Hope Raymond stops trying to escape soon – but knowing cats that’s not likely

    Fiona x

  3. Suzanne says:

    If I had thought about it and realized you had never traveled with Raymond before I could have warned you about he yowling. Our Siamese mix Matrix yowled the entire time she was on a military plane from Spain to the US. I am glad you all made it safely. Sorry to here there is no lys.
    Happy Cleaning and settling in.

  4. Anne Marie says:

    Oh yes! Siamese yowl incessantly. My boy Merlin yowls the whole way to the vets, even though it’s only about 2 miles. It’s embarrassing as anyone passing would think I am ill treating him. Then the yowl gets louder as though he’s shouting! Surprisingly, on the way back, he’s not that bad.

    I’m looking forward to seeing your new home. Hope you settle in very quickly and are happy there.

  5. Wanda says:

    Bless his heart! I’m sure once he gets settled in, he will be fine.
    I’m glad you arrived safely but sorry the place wasn’t what you expected.
    Hopefully it will be much better once you get it cleaned and get your things in it.

  6. Robin says:

    Hi Alice and KB and Raymond so happy you got there safety. Hope your furniture comes quickly. Now you can get settled and sit back. (a little) xoRobin❤

  7. Rachelle says:

    Both my kitties who have the siamese face shape yowl on the short trip to the vets, basically any time they’re in the cat carry it happens.
    Love the look of the new blanket, going to have to learn how to do granny squares at some point I think. Oh, and finding the house you’re going to move into is mucky is unfortunately not uncommon; we were lucky with ours, but friends who bought around the corner weren’t. It took us most of the day to clean their place.

  8. stocki says:

    Actually Alice, you could probably go anywhere in the WORLD and we would still be here! So glad you arrived safely…poor, poor Raymond… but I’m sure that given the choice, he would rather have endured the journey than be left behind! Umm… can I give a message to KB? Look away Alice… KB I love your colour choice!! The blanket is going to be stunning! Okay Alice, you can look now… have fun settling in :)x

  9. Hannah says:

    I am so glad that you all made it safely to your new home! Raymond is such a character. Yes, I do know about window latches and cats. I wonder when it will be safe for him to venture out – maybe not for a while. The new blanket is beautiful. I wish you much happiness as you decorate your new home.

  10. 'me' says:

    KB has a good taste !
    And i don’t know if i have to feel sorry for raymond because of the trip, or you and KB because of the meowing :-)

  11. Shell says:

    Aww .. poor Raymond :( .. I’m sure he’ll settle in just fine
    Congrats on your move ( love the way you nipped in to a wool shop on the way, I’m hoping to get away with it on a Christmas shopping trip )
    Good luck to all in your new home x

  12. Jan Quigley says:

    Ah the joys of a singing cat on a long journey, he does seem to have survived unscathed. He was probably just asking ‘When are we going to get there?’ & ‘Are we there yet?’, lol.
    Not colours I would choose for a blanket but they look great!
    You have to love the internet, we moved from the Central Coast, NSW to Melbourne, 1000km, last year, & I was able to take all my friends with me on my laptop.

  13. Tanya says:

    Breaks my hear to take kitty on trips, she sounds so sad!

    KBs blanket will be gorgeous! V Jealous!

  14. heather says:

    The yarn and blanket is gorgeous! Raymond’s misadventures are pretty darn funny too!! Glad you are all settling in and Raymond has stopped staging a jailbreak.

  15. Casey says:

    Poor Raymond. My cat always hated being in a car too.

    I plan on making a blanket similar next year, different colors but grannies of different sizes!

  16. Jeannette Lazet says:

    Thanks for the update! I LOVE THE WOOL COMPANY – always a compulsory stop on my way home for the mountain once or twice a year!! Love to you in sunny Whangarei!! xx

  17. D Markey says:

    So glad you made it safe and sound. It will take a while before everyone is settled in and that it really does feel like home. New blankets and cushions will definitely help that along. I suspect that as long as you and KB are there, Raymond will be fine. I’m off to make dinner and get in some hookie time.

  18. Faye says:

    I love what you are doing with KB’s color selection. I hope that your new place feels like home to all of you very very soon. faye

  19. kashi says:

    KB’s blanket is going to be really neat! I didn’t care for the colors until I saw what you did with them. I love it. I really want to see what you got for yourself. Hope you and KB and Raymond start to settle in and enjoy your new home.

  20. Jillian_R says:

    Glad you made it and Raymond as well! Our dogs seem to yip a lot whenever they think they are getting close to getting out of the car too. They also feel they have a right to tell people to get off the road when we drive. I am glad KB made it ok, those kind of trips can be crazy. KB’s blanket is turning out great, are you basing it on a Babette style? It is lovely, but more subdued compared to your usual color schemes! :-) Well I see I am starting to ramble, good wishes and happy vibes are going your way!

    PS – I am excited to see your finished blankets!!

  21. I love how the family cuddle time seems to have calmed Raymond. Looking forward to seeing the two blankets!

  22. Alisia says:

    I am rather impressed that you convinced Raymond to ride in his kitty cage! My cat insists that his space is up front with me. Ususally in my lap and looking out the window!
    So glad that you made it to your new home safe and sound! Moving is a horrid affair! The last time we moved it was a 4 hour drive (3 trips at least) and I was ready to destroy the car after all that! So, I do not envy you your long trip, but it is quite rewarding to have it over!

  23. Shani says:

    So happy to read the arrival report. On Monday I said to hubs and the boys, “a bloggy acquaintance on-line is moving from southern North Island, NZ to northern NI, NZ, and do you know how long that takes to cover the island?” So, thanks for the impromptu geography lesson. Prayed a happy, uneventful travel for you… forgot to pray for a mute cat, lol.

    Loved KB’s blanket so far, but where are your colours? Can’t wait to see the house all settled and lived in. :) Have a peace-filled and contented rest-of-week. :)

  24. minaandme says:

    Poor Raymond! He looks very unhappy in those pictures…..I’m sure he’s quite glad to be in his new home! Not to mention you and KB! I’m sure you are happy to be in your new place and are ready to get all settled in over the upcoming weekend. I’m sorry it’s not quite what you expected but I’m positive you’ll turn it into a beautiful little home before much time as passed. I’m very jealous of your window seats ;) Looking forward to seeing pics of your new place!
    ~Lacey

  25. Kathleen (Steeler-Gal) says:

    Poor guy! I’ve traveled with my cat too and she howled the entire time. I don’t think any of them like cars much. I’ll bet that he’s very happy home now. Raymond makes a house a home. :-)

  26. Glad to hear Raymond is ok, and I love the colors for the mismatched blanket! I like to make new things for my home when I move, too.

  27. Adriana says:

    Hi, I’m Adriana and I used to live in Houston TX. My husband decided to come down and live to Mexico a year ago. Things were very tough for very long time since we had no jobs and was a huge change to us all. Well, I actually wanted to tell you Lacey that I find your blog very interesting and helpful I started to knit- crochet about a month ago and I have finished one dress for my niece and a very original vest for my daughter (17). Your blog is very inspiring for me.
    Thank you and I’m sorry for my spelling- grammar. My husband is American but I’m from Mexico and is hard for me to express myself sometimes.

    My best wishes to you in your new place and home.

    Adriana

  28. Good luck!!
    I suppose Raymond didn’t understand how boring it would be to move…

  29. Amber says:

    So glad you made it safely to your new home! I must admit, I was rather curious to see how Raymond did… My cat absolutely hates being in the car. I like the colours KB picked out, but I do have to say, I think I much prefer your brighter, more colourful choices! Can you explain how you are joining your squares? It looks like you’re joining between the clusters only? I do not know how to do that! Wishing you all the best of luck in your new home!

  30. Christelle says:

    Poor thing! most unhappy with his little prison.
    I’m going to love KB’s blanket, I know. Lovely colours.
    Enjoy the settling in bit, it’s also fun.

  31. Sarah says:

    You know, a Siamese yowl is enough to drive anyone to Rescue Remedy!!!! :) We had a ginormous black cat called Floyd who was apparently half Siamese – he didn’t look it at all but had THAT yowl. In his later years (he was about 15/16) he started doing it all through the night and drove us crazy!!! (Miss it now, though *sigh*)

    Anyway, I’m so glad you arrived and with lots of lovely yarn too. KB’s blanket will be gorgeous. Can’t wait to see what you chose.

    Get the rubber gloves on, burn some smudge sticks and it’ll be YOUR home in no time

    Xxxxx

  32. Terrie says:

    Road tripping with our dog was never much fun either. He used to stick his nose out of the window, repeatedly sneeze and well, yuckiness repeatedly flew back in our faces! Gross! This happened allll the way there and alllll the way back. The window was the only way we could keep him settled.

    I’m so pleased you, KB and Raymond are there safe and sound. I know when we arrived at our new flat (which was supposed to have been cleaned) I reached for the rubber gloves and bleach pretty sharpish! But it won’t be long before it feels like home. xx

  33. Esther says:

    Aww, poor puss. You know the way to his heart: food ;-)

  34. chmurka says:

    Ohhhh poor Raymond, my cat also hates cages, and cars,and trips. Great colours like always

  35. Marlene says:

    Poor old Raymond! I also had to move more than 1000kms a few years ago with 2 teenagers, 3 kitties, 3 dogs and the rest of the stuff from the house that was needed for our last night in our house. And all in an Uno! What a journey! Although the vet gave me some tablets to calm the animals, cats don’t like cars, full stop. We eventually let them out of their baskets so that they could sit with us and under the seats in the car. At our new home, the minute the car doors opened, they flew in all directions. Luckily they were not lost, just looking at the chaos from the pergola and the roof. My neighbour still laughed about it years later! He’ll be fine! Good luck with the cleaning out of your new home!

  36. Glad you’ve made it to your new home. Wow nearly as bad as our dog. We went a long way (well for England) to pick him up from a good breader. He howeld and cried all the way home and still crys and howls when we leave him now. Love the yarn and love the blanket!

  37. My siamese, Max, was exactly the same. When he was first in the car, the noise was so bad, I thought he would be better on my lap. Big mistake to make…

  38. Hahnsmum says:

    Pleased you have arrived safe & sound… Looks like Raymond followed our cats antics.. Like the colours of your new blankie.. l am personally into varigated pure wool at moment.. OMG l LOVE wool.. Looked at Wool Company website..OMG, all those yummy colours.. Happy unpacking.. Best Wishes in your new home..

  39. Hahnsmum says:

    Oh yes & good luck cleaning the house..When we moved in here, this house was SO grubby, greasy in kitchen & just plain Uuurrrggghhhhh… Took us 6 mths to get it the way it should be.. Best Wishes.

  40. Planet Penny says:

    Oh, I know that Siamese yowl! We had enormous black half Siamese called Prawn (don’t ask!) when I was little, he’d have been just the same. Sorry to hear the new home is yucky but I’m sure you’ll put your stamp on it soon. Very brave to offer to make a blanket in someone else’s colour choice, I really struggle if the colours do jangly stuff in my head but KB’s choice is very subtle and calming.
    (By the way, re your comment on my blog, I’m quite concerned about that bomb! Hopefully you would have ‘spent’ it, not ‘sent’ it!!!)
    Hope you all settle in soon. I love it when cats do that sharing thing, sitting on one lap with a paw outstretched to include the other person…
    love Penny xxx

  41. Niamh says:

    Hope your settling into your new home. Ah poor Raymond, its good that he’s settled now. My cats hate the car too, they cry all the way when we go home, thankfully thats only once a year. One of our cats opens doors, he crouchs down, leaps and hooks his paws around the handles. No one believes it until they see it. The only door he cant open is the sliding door and thats because of the key. He spends ages trying to work it out, its hilarious watching him.

  42. Claudia says:

    I just LovE KB´s choices: the colours and the pattern!!!
    Good to know you´re settling down!

  43. Sandi says:

    Oh I hear you re the dirty house, this house was filthy and took hours to get it fairly reasonable. Why do people do that and why do the people who let them not get someone in to clean them, (they get paid enough) Good old Raymond, he probably thought you were bored so he sang for you all the way (yeh right!!) Happy settling in and can’t wait to see the photo’s.
    xx Sandi

  44. Rachel says:

    Love the colours of KB’s blanket!!!
    Hope your furniture comes soon, and that it starts to feel like home, also that Raymondo relaxes into his new home, and doesn’t start regressing and yowling again!!!

  45. Dianne says:

    I have been following your blog for some time now and have really enjoyed it every time. I love Raymond! And your “reports”. Poor Raymond, I know cats do not like to be transported, my sister has 5 cats. I have two dogs but it is not because I don’t like cats it is because they were rescues. Anyway I thoroughly enjoy the blog. Just wanted you to know. Dianne

  46. SherrySmart says:

    Best wishes to you in your new home!

  47. Carol says:

    Hi Alice, I know I shouldn’t but I did laugh at poor Raymond yowling all the way, perhaps because yesterday I took our two cats for their annual vaccination. Amy was fine, her usual gentle self but our Rosie – well if she could have removed the vet’s arm she would have. DH tried to get her out of the basket, she growled and kicked up such a fuss, finally getting her jab half in half in/half out the basket. She then proceeded to tell me off all the way home, bad Mam.
    I think KC’s colour choices are really nice, not too garish, just warm, cosy and classy. Look forward to seeing the finished blanket.
    Glad you arrived safely and are settling in to your new home, hope you will all be very happy there.
    If you fancy trying to win a copy of the Christmas issue of the Mollie Makes magazine (and a brooch) come and visit my blog again – I’m having my first ‘Giveaway’.
    Carol xx

  48. Vicky says:

    Poor Raymond. . .I know that yowl well. I have three girls and when we travel it comes from the backseat in 3 part harmony. Best of luck to all of you in your new home.

  49. Penelope10 says:

    OMG, all the howling! Nothing like a Siamese Howl! Poor Baby! and you two, also!
    Love the combo of colours for the blankie!
    Glad you have arrived in your new home!

  50. I had to laugh as you recounted the travel tribulations a la Raymond….been there, done that!

  51. Angela says:

    Exciting and exhausting work! I wish you well and lots of vitamins C, D, and H (hugs) to help you over the moving-slump. I always get a bit down in the dumps about the 2nd week in a new place.
    Best of luck.

  52. crochetingdoc says:

    Best wishes for the new home! I am sure it’s going to be as amazing as the previous one, because as we all know, it’s the people that matter the most (and the cats…)! :)

  53. Darlene says:

    Poor Raymond! He looks so upset in those pictures. I guess the Rescue Remedy trick didn’t work on him. Hope you took lots of it though because that yowling must have been awful. My cat, Blue, used to yowl like that and he did it at night too when he got very old and sick. He used to “sing” as well in the night, which was kind of funny and loud. Love the granny square blanket and the colours chosen, very organic and calming. I hate that when you move and have to practically scrub everything.

  54. Yay! The worst is over! The Goatmother and Goatfather traveled once, to a new home half way across the U.S., with two cats, a dog, two children, seven rabbits, a parakeet and hamsters. Yes, it is good to have the traveling done! :) We particularly like the square in the upper right hand corner of KB’s soon-to-be blanket. Can’t wait to see what it looks like when it is finished – and your new home too! Goat hugs to you all!

  55. mary i says:

    Bless you kb and raymond. i traveled with 2 cats and a kitten from Santa-Fe, New Mexico to Grants Pass, Oregon back in the early 80s It was and adventure. We all survived. Great work on the blanket……

  56. Liza says:

    Hello Alice,
    So glad to hear that you made it safe and semi sound from you trip . Now comes the fun part making your new home yours and KB and of course Raymond. I just love KB’s blanket the colors are awesome. Your such a talented woman, I love the way you combind your colors. Can hardly wait to see your blanket. You take care and only the best and warmest wishes to you and all your loved ones. Your friend from Texas.

  57. Alyson says:

    Poor Raymond! Travelling with a cat is never fun, but I’m glad the three of you are home safe. Hopefully, Raymond will accept this new location and not try to escape back to Wellington- I’ve heard of pesky little kitties doing so. KB chose lovely colors for the new blanket, but I must confess that I highly prefer the “obnoxious” colors that you (and I) would choose. Congratulations on your new home! Have fun making it your own! Love and hugs from the U.S.

  58. Julie says:

    So peased you have arrived at your new home safely.
    Poor Raymond, I’ve just spent 20 minutes in the car with an irate kitty who was certain he did not need a trip to the vets and his meowing drove me nuts for that short time, I think you both deserve a medal for lasting the time you did lol.

    Enjoy your new home, KB’s blanket will be stunner, going to be exciting seeing it grow.

  59. Carole says:

    I’m so glad you all made it safely to your new home. I’m glad Raymond kept you entertained on the way! I hope your furniture arrives safely and I’m looking forward to seeing some photos. Good luck with the cleaning, there’s nothing worse than other people’s dirt!

  60. Maria Shaikh says:

    Hi Alice
    Glad to hear you’ve arrived safe and sound!! Poor Raymond, looked soooo unhappy during the trip. Best of luck to you, KB and Raymond in your new home!!
    Maria

  61. katie says:

    I LOVE those colors. Good job KB! And glad to hear that Raymond’s doing alright. A yowling cat is not pleasant!

  62. bridgirl says:

    Hi Alice

    You have given me a good laugh, Raymond is a wonderful cat! Hope you soon get settled in your new home – there is nothing like getting your ‘own stamp’ on a place – can’t wait to see you pictures. Good luck and good wishes in your new home .

    Viv

  63. Sarah says:

    Oh Raymond – glad you got him there safe and sound and I hope you and KB recover from the trauma soon! Very interested in your purchases – this looks like a fabby blanket and looking forward to seeing your choices too. Happy settling in to your new home time.

  64. Val E says:

    Hi Alice. Wishing you, KB and Raymond much happiness, love and joy in your new home. We moved house when my daughter was about 6 yrs, and her kitten ‘Fluff-bag’ behaved perfectly in the car….BUT my mother suggested rubbing butter on the cat’s paws and leaving her to settle down,with her basket in a quiet room while other rooms were cleaned and tidied… Alas, my daughter was over generous with the butter, and the room had an open fire grate which had some ash and soot. Fluff-bag found this , used it as a litter tray and had fun scampering around window sills, over-mantel, furniture (dust-sheeted thankfully) and bouncing off walls. It doesn’t take much imagination to picture how far the soot, ash and butter spread around the room…. We kept the cat, but ditched the butter idea next time we moved!

  65. TracyMB says:

    Poor Raymond – hope your ears and nerves have recovered. Enjoy your new nest! xo

  66. Susan H. says:

    Hi Alice,
    I am glad to hear you, KB, and Raymond made it there safe and sound and are getting settled. KB’s blanket looks great. How will you block such a large piece? Please share your photos when you do it. Looking forward to the window cushions.
    xo Susan

  67. Sarah says:

    Whew, glad you made it! I was so surprised to hear from you so soon. Poor Raymond I will breathe easier when he can go outside and find his way back. I am so excited for the three of you starting the next chapter of your life and I am so happy to be a part of it. May God bless you…………………………..Sarah from Texas

  68. Brenad says:

    Being the owner of two siamese I have laughed and laughed at this post – I know how much noise they can make and had comical visions of you both trapped in the car with Raymond. I’m glad you have all arrived safely and Raymond has forgiven you for kidnapping him! Enjoy your new home I look forward to seeing some photos. xxBrenda

  69. Sarah says:

    Glad you have arrived safely. Have fun settling into your new home.

  70. Karen says:

    My Son D’s girlfriend sent me a book last Christmas called The Crafty Girls’ Road Trip and I had a little nosey in the north island section and found Parua Homestay 856 Whangerei Heads Rd Parua Bay (09)4365856. Apparently it’s a great treat for fibre fans -Pat is a spinner, Peter is a professional weaver and they have a collection of spinning wheels from around the world. They have beautiful walks too and serve food. 14 km’s outside Whangerei.

    Glad you arrived safely :-)

    Kx

  71. baamekniits says:

    Oh dear rescue remedy all round I think! Poor Raymondo, some cats do hate the travel think, glad he finally fell asleep in exhaustion! Keep his in for a bit longer so he doesn’t get lost. Sounds like he needs the reassuring touch from you and KB.

    LOVE KB’s blanket, my sort of colours….tell her she has taste ;-)

  72. Shirley Flavell says:

    Glad you have arrived , whether fit, but well. Doesn’t rescue remedy work well KB! my goodness with the yowling all that way glad you didn’t drive into Lake Taupo by mistake.I can’t knit in a moving car I get car sick but the vision of you two made me giggle I bet some of your comments to Raymond were somewhat colourful or were you most understanding!Liked KB’s colour choices and look forward to progress photos. When on earth did you find the time to have crocheted those blocks?Happy settling in.Shirley

  73. Kylie says:

    Welcome to the North! We did the same journey 4 years ago but we freighted our Burmese up as the chatting would have driven us insane ;) I’m so please that Raymond coped okay. I hope the new house feels better for you soon, I’m sure it will once you have all your things sorted in it. And yes it’s awful having no LYS – I’ve been buying plenty online lately!

  74. sue says:

    OMG that’s a lot of yowling, he must have a sore throat. That’s the sort of noise that makes your ears bleed, especially in a confined space LOL! My cat Wally used to be a dab paw at latches, we even had to keep a fridge lock on our fridge because he used to break in and steal food!
    You will feel at home I’m sure very soon. ♥

Leave a Reply

