Endings

Thanks to a mammoth effort on KB’s part this morning, I estimate that we are 97% packed and ready to leave on Monday morning!

We have had an enormous week of ‘lasts’ and saying goodbye and now have the weekend (as planned) to spend with my family, soaking up the last of their company for a number of months.  November has been the most incredible month, every dimension of my life changed at the end of October, my studies finished, my two jobs ended and the lease on our flat ran out, and November was all about opening ourselves up to the potential we created by dreaming big.  Life is exciting and as sad as it is to say goodbye, I’m really looking forward to getting on the road.

Raymond is wondering what is going on, he had his last time playing silly-buggers on the balcony railing -you don’t want to know how far it is to the ground from up here, he isn’t really allowed up there but loves to sneak up and run along it meowing and looking inside!- We have his cat prison ready and a harness for him in case he wants to get out in the car, I’m praying he doesn’t get car sick…. Many of you have expressed concern for his well-being over our move, but please do not waste any of your precious energy worrying about him, KB and I are quite responsible people and know Raymond’s personality.  I predict that the day we let him outside for the first time at our new place he will disappear for three days… he does that quite regularly, especially around the full moon!  I was wondering the other day if the other people he visits regularly will wonder where he has gone suddenly… he has a lot of friends in the neighbourhood, there is enough Raymond to share around (the whole world).  We are a little concerned that some “lost cat” posters might start appearing around the neighbourhood a few days later!

My darling niece is getting bigger by the day and is the most dreamy little angel in the world….

Ooooh it’s going to be hard not seeing her grow, but I’ve been visiting her constantly and have even had the pleasure of giving her bottles which is too special.  Pixie coming into our family is without a doubt, the highlight of November and even more, the highlight of 2011.

So here is November’s mosaic, for the first time since May, there are no socks!  That’s not to say I haven’t been knitting socks, but they are Christmas presents, so not for blogging yet!

But before I leave you for now, I must show you my purchase from this morning… yes, while KB was organising the last of our packing, I was having coffee and yarn shopping with a lovely knitter.  Oh so naughty, but it was so lovely (!) guilty pleasures for sure.  I needed to go out you see, to visit Sourkraut who was visiting the Wellington Underground Markets with her spindles.  As I felt completely obliged to make her trip to the City worthwhile, I bought these….

And these….

Lovely little 60gm bags of rainbow happiness, if you need some too, you can find her yarns here on Ravelry and I’m sure she would welcome any messages of inquiry!

Thank you all so much for your lovely well wishes on our travels!  I have loved reading them and appreciate them very much, and I’ll be in touch from our new home!

Wishing you a lovely week,

from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Circus Baby Blanket, Fibre P0rn!, Monthly mosaics, Raymond Appreciation. Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Endings

  1. Louise says:

    Best wishes with your move and long journey. I’m sure Raymond will be fine and will enjoy the adventure!
    Take care,
    Louise

  2. Safe journey to you all, best wishes and I look forward to your first post from your new home!

  3. Sending lots and lots of positive happy vibes your way for the trip, and for the goodbyes.
    Hope it all goes well. Love the view from Raymond’s favourite spot!!
    Novembers mosaic is beautiful, love the shot of Pixie in the middle, so adorable!!!

  4. Kate says:

    Have a happy adventure to your new home Alice! Love to Raymond.

  5. meredithjean says:

    Enjoy Enjoy Enjoy and Bravo!
    xxxxxxxxx

  6. Wendy says:

    Wishing you the very best with safe travels and good times to come in your new home.
    Love to Raymond, KB and you xo

  7. Rita says:

    I love your blog an wish you all a good travel and Good bless you!
    Regards Rita;)

  8. Katie says:

    Best wishes for the move :-)

  9. Rainbow happiness indeed! And Pixie is so cute!
    Wishing you all a safe trip to your new ‘Beginnings’ – so excited for you. Looking forward to seeing your lovely things installed in your new home (I’m so glad to see the chair is going with you!)
    xxxxx

  10. Carole says:

    Wishing you all the best for the big move, to all of you! It all sounds very exciting.

    I hope Raymond settles for the journey, we moved around lots when I was younger and the cats were always fine.

    I’m really looking forward to seeing your new home and watching you make it your own. Have fun!
    Carole xXx

  11. …and a new beginning!
    Good luck to you in your new house and town! Looking forward to read your blog entries
    Maria

  12. Esther says:

    Good luck on the move!! The kitty will be fine. I mean…. there’ll be BOXES around, lotsa boxes (= kitty heaven), hehe. Our cat didn’t mind driving in her little travel basket (the only cat I have ever met that didn’t mind het travel basket, she used to go in there without a hiss) as long as she would be on the lap of my husband on the passangers seat, she loved looking outside and meowing a little every now and then. You’ll be fine.
    Esther.

  13. Hahnsmum says:

    l remember when we left our last farm & moved here ( almost 8 yrs ago))..Our CAT went missing..No amount of calling, would bring her in..So l got a close friend, also a neighbour to wartch foir the wayward Putt-Putt..l had only driven a short distance l could hear a loud ”YEWING ” from in back of my canopy covered ute… YES there was PUtt Putt , she had snuck in earlier , way up into the bowels of the back of ute with all the boxes, etc.. ONe relieved Granny, one relieved Putt Putt.. AND then she HOWLED all the way from Nundle to BIngara.. All the 200 kms..
    Bloody cat..
    But seriously, have a safe trip.. Raymond will be fine.. XXX
    Best Wishes.. Hahnsmum..
    New England, NSW, OZ..

  14. Julie says:

    Safe journey to the 3 of you. X

  15. kashi says:

    What an exciting time in your life! Enjoy every minute of it.

  16. Penelope says:

    Beautiful mosaic Alice, Pixie is heavenly and I can well appreciate your sentiments in saying goodbye. Have a wonderful time this weekend with your precious family and here’s wishing you and KB and Raymond a safe and happy journey into your next chapter in your lives, full of possibilities. Really look forward to having a “tour” around your new home. Keep safe and big hugs xox

  17. winkieflash says:

    Have fun on the road you 3! :) I can’t wait to see what the new pad looks like.
    Enjoy every second of these exciting times!
    xo,
    wink

  18. Teje says:

    Hi Alice! Wow you are ready for your new adventure! As you said it’s sad but also so exiting! I don’t know if you can or have time, but you could put few posters in the neighbourhood where Raymond says that he is moving away.
    I’m exited for you and I wish you great journey and all the best in you new home!
    Hope to hear from you soon!
    xxx Teje

  19. Sara-Jane says:

    Best of luck with the move! You are so lucky to have a great partner who works as hard as you do. Love the pictures of Pixie and can I say that’s the best name!!! Keep us updated!

  20. Anushka says:

    beautiful mosaic! i just love your colors – am a big rainbow fan myself. your mountains are so pretty where you live – are you leaving mountains or traveling to new ones? good luck in your move. we move too – next week. blessings.

  21. Mar says:

    Have a safe trip to your new house. May Raymond find lots of new friends and may he stay in the hearts of those who are staying behind.
    Greetings from Canada

  22. Hi Alice, I’m so exited for you! I remember when we moved a few years ago, it was so sad to say goodbye to everyone, but so exciting to start on a new adventure. All the best on your move! And I hope Raymond enjoys the car ride!
    Em

  23. Karen says:

    Dear Alice, KB and Raymond

    Wishing you all a safe trip up North this week and looking forward to hearing about your antics as you settle in to your new chapter. I just wanted to tell you how much i’ve loved reading your blog these many months and i’m going to miss catching glimpses of Welly and the hills and surrounds which, as you know have special memories of my son J for me. I would have loved to treat you to a mug of tea when i’m next in Wellington visiting my son D :-) May just need to post you a tea bag instead lol. Wonder what customs would make of a teabag and ball of yarn in a parcel :-)

    K

  24. KatieQ says:

    How exciting it is to begin a new path on your life’s journey. I wish you much happiness and success in your new home. I’m not worried about Raymond at all. He’s quite capable of making friends and enjoying adventures wherever he goes.

  25. Have a safe and uneventful move!

  26. Maria Shaikh says:

    Hi Alice
    I am a follower of your blog from far far away!! (Pakistan). Wish you all the best with your move and hope you have a safe trip and settle down soon, especially Raymond who is so gorgeous!!
    Maria

  27. Carol says:

    Safe journey, looking forward to hearing from you as you settle in to your new home. Fabulous rainbow wool.
    Carol xx

  28. Sarah says:

    All the best of luck in your new home. I am very impressed you managed to get packed up in good time to have a last weekend relaxing with the family. I WISH, WISH , WISH I was that organised. Sadly, it’s always last minute with us!
    Have a safe journey and enjoy your new home – a great adventure! Good luck.
    xx

  29. Barbara Reichard says:

    Wishing you a safe trip and a quick unpack. This from one who moved 3000 miles from home. It took almost 3 months to finish the unpacking. Thanks for sharing your latest purchase- beautiful!
    Barbara

  30. Safe move! One door closes and another opens!

  31. Liza says:

    Hello Alice,
    Wishing you a safe trip, sending you only good vibes your way. What a beatiful picture of Pixie so
    loving, just want to squeeze and kiss that little face. You take care, hear from you soon.Your friend from Texas

  32. Joanna says:

    Safe journey to you, KB and Raymond. I hope you are soon settled into your new home and look forward to hearing of your new adventures xx

  33. Sending you wishes for a safe journey and much happiness in the future. Looking forward to catching up with the three of you once you are settled. x

  34. Hannah says:

    May the Lord bless you and watch over you (and that includes KB and Raymond too). Love, Hannah (from the desert southwest USA).

  35. amandacav says:

    Hello Alice!
    Safe travels to you, KB and Raymond! I’m so happy to see more blogging from you, I miss you while you are on hiatus!

    Amanda

  36. Lee says:

    Best wishes for your new life ahead. It is a very brave thing to move on but Oh so good to do.
    Families can be scattered but it’s very easy to stay in touch these days. And then there’s the excitement of coming together.
    Good luck to all. Look forward to your posts from your new abode.

    Lee

  37. Darlene says:

    Dear Alice, wishing you the best in your move to your new place! I couldn’t help feeling a bit sad seeing that flat all packed up and all the change in your life, but then I had a laugh to myself at my projecting my own difficulty with change onto you :-)) If Raymond gets a little anxious on your car trip, try giving him one drop of Bach Rescue Remedy in his water. It works on cats (and me) ha, ha!

  38. sandiart says:

    Happy travels Alice, KB & Raymond, a new chapter of your life is opening up before you like a beautiful flower…..enjoy.
    Our cat Meggs is so good, she is used to moving home and I can let her outside straight away and she doesn’t run away…..she knows shes on a good thing with us as she is so loved and of course fed well.
    Pixie is very sweet indeed and I am sure you will finds lots of opportunities to visit often.
    x Sandi

  39. Amy says:

    Oh, that rainbow fibre is beautiful! I’m kicking myself for not making it to the market yesterday.

  40. sue says:

    Wow that’s really packed now isn’t it! Raymond looks all ready too, although he looks like he might be thinking of doing the old hiding trick just before he needs to get in his travelling bag! my cat Wally used to do that when it was time for the vet and after he was gone I had people asking me where he was for months! Apparently he used to spend his afternoons having tea with an old lady up the road and used to go to another lady for a great brushing session! he also used to follow local children up to school LOL. God we miss that cat! Give Raymond a kiss from us here in the UK. Have a good trip. ♥

  41. Lynne in MI says:

    Safe journey, good travels, be sure the box with the coffeemaker is marked (you will want it right away). Hugs to Raymond.

  42. Robin says:

    Safe traveling Alice! Enjoy your adventure with KB and Raymond. Be thinking of you and sending all positive energy your way. xoRobin❤

  43. Alyson says:

    I hope you have a safe journey, Alice. I’m sure the three of you will settle in very quickly. Hopefully, you will unpack super-fast, so you can get back to yarny goodness! Please post pics of the view from your new home! Love and hugs.

  44. jennyb says:

    Hi Alice!
    I hope the move went well for you and Raymond!

    I’m one of the Editors at http://www.allfreecrochetafghanpatterns.com/ and
    I just wanted to let you know how much I enjoy your site. I think it’s a
    great website with plenty of projects that our readers will just love to
    make.

    We would love to add some of your projects to our site, so feel free to
    let us know as you add or create projects. We are always looking for
    afghan projects as well as other projects so if you have any of these
    please feel free to send them my way or let us know if you prefer we not
    link to you. We also feature projects from our website on our blogs,
    eBooks and e-mail newsletters.

    Your projects are great and we know our readers will enjoy it. With that
    said, can we have permission to link to any project on your site as well
    as use the image? This will easily bring traffic to your site and allow
    others to see what’s new on your site. We will credit you, of course.

    Thanks!
    Jenny

  45. Annemiek says:

    Hi Alice,
    I found your blog a few weeks ago and I’m reading through all your old posts. I just read one post where you told you live, wel… used to live by now, just a few minutes away from Wellington’s city centre. I saw the photo of the hills and I can’t stop but wonder if there’s a golf course in the valley below :-) My grandmother’s cousin went from The Netherlands to New Zealand when she was 17 and she lives in Wellington, on a hill, close to Wellington’s city centre and there’s a golf course down the hill that she looks upon :-)
    I took up crochet a month or 2 ago and I really love reading your blog. Today is one of those days that I rahter stayed in bed, but because of all the positiveness and colours on your blog, I’m feeling much betterer now :D
    Thank you for all the pretty colours and the ever so cute Mr. Raymond!

  46. Ana says:

    Good luck to you! Moving is always stressing!! My cat used to love travelling. He sat on the back seat and slept all the way!!

  47. Pati from London says:

    What an exciting time in your life with all these changes!! I hope everything goes very well for all of you. November’s mosaic has to be my favourite so far. Pixie looks just adorable. Loads of love, Pati x

  48. Country Rose says:

    Good luck with the move! Blimey… that looks like a a Huge amount of stuff packed up! I dread to think what it’s going to be like when we have to pack up our house to move when Ray finishes his training. Ahhh well, I think about all that when I have to..!
    Your niece is So beautiful, what a darling… it’ll be hard to not have so many cuddles..!

    Ashley xxx

  49. purple princess says:

    Hope your move goes well. Looking forward to your moving in posts. Deb x

Leave a Reply

