Colour Junkie

I love colour, that’s no secret,  I love being immersed in the bright and vibrant energies that colours create, the way each colour has a different vibration that stimulates a different response from me.  My home is normally a colourfest, but as I’ve been on a packing frenzy today the walls are very bare and very white.  KB, believe it or not, just wandered into the room as I was typing that and stated that she liked that fact that the walls are so plain, that she is finding our home very zen at the moment.  Hmmmmm.  So because colour is severely lacking in my surroundings right now, I thought I would create a sanctuary of colour here in my virtual space and share some of the brightness I’m creating and creating with!

First is the rose of course… can you believe that rose?  Looking at that moment caught in time is like a mediatation, everything just stops for a second.  Eckhart Tolle said in “A New Earth” that flowers are the enlightenment of plants and seeing a bloom reaching it’s blooming potential just blows me away!  Plus the colour… my favourite, totally favourite shade of pink perfection.

The next colourful goodness is my cabled sock.  Yes, still just a sock but I’ve had to put it aside for some very important Christmas making.  The second ball is sitting with the pattern and needles waiting for the looooooooooong drive to Whangarei.  I wonder if I can manage a whole sock in one trip?  Not if I’m driving half, but it’s something to aim for!

I am most excited by my sock, I’ve named them the Croc Socks because, well, they resemble cabled crocodiles.  The yarn I’m using for these is one of Knitsch’s semi-solids, the 1/4 acre dream colourway which is suiting this project just perfectly!  The pattern is from “The Gentle Art of Knitting,” the Red Wine and Port socks which is a very easy pattern to follow and so much fun to make. 

Also giving me a colour hit at the moment is Ashford hot water dyes… It has been ages since I’ve done any dying as I’ve been so busy, but I had 500gms of white merino I needed to dye before I leave so went out to my Mum’s and spent the afternoon borrowing her gas stove, her big pots and her dyes… a small payoff for my enchanting company really….

I am on a hunt for a long rectangle dye pot, as even thought the big round ones work well I would like to try making regular stripes with my colours which I can’t achieve in a round pot.  Maybe some people can, but I am still at the “throw it all in and hope it works” stage of my dyeing career.

Despite being very out of practice with dyeing, I managed to dye four of the most vibrant braids I’ve ever made and I am ridiculously pleased with them!

 

Raymond of course was available to assist me with photographing the fibre… and give you a glimpse at my makeshift photo studio!  (an old white pillowcase… chic!)

As Peggy is coming in the car with us, I may have to bring a couple of these to spin while I wait for my stash to arrive.  We are arriving in Whangarei on the 30th and our stuff is due to arrive on the 6th… I’m already having stash separation anxiety and I haven’t packed it yet… it’s going to be one long week waiting for the truck! (Peggy is coming in the car because there are too many little things to break off her, not because I am an obsessive compulsive spinner, I promise!)

On a final note for today, when I was at my Mum’s I went into the paddock to help her feed her chickens.  Her sheep have just been shorn as the weather is getting very warm here so they all look funny and a bit nude.  I happened upon the Ram from behind… his enormous balls gave him away and I couldn’t help but laugh at him with no wool

He doesn’t look quite so scary in the nude as he did a few months ago when he was bullying my Dad!

Little Richie had his first shearing but as he is currently being weaned off my Dad he is in the top paddock but I’ll definitely get a picture before I go because he will be such a big boy now!

Hope you’re happy and well in your life right now, I’m going to sleep in front of the computer so I’m off,

Lots and lots of love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXx

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Cables, Colour Therapy!, Dyeing Wool, Mum's Sheep, Spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Colour Junkie

  1. Planet Penny says:

    I’m just the same about colour Alice, as you’ve probably guessed. Our cottage is painted white throughout so I can happily hang, drape, dangle, display all sorts of colourful goodies to make me happy! I’m loving all your beautiful dyed fleece, can’t wait to ogle it all over again once you’ve spun it!,
    lots of love , Penny (and Higgins of course!) xx

  2. Sarah says:

    Lovely colours you’ve achieved with the wool! They are going to make funky socks! Love the aptly named croc sock, too!
    We have lots of big plain white walls like you at the moment, but we need more colour! A happy medium is what I’m striving for – zen but with pops of colour…just haven’t found what I want to hang on the walls yet though!
    Good luck with the move. I hope Raymond copes ok!

  3. Penelope says:

    Dearest Alice
    Aaaaah a beautiful colour fix, just what the doctor ordered! Love your sock yarn, wowee it’s just lush with all those green cables. Sometimes I quite like the minimalist look but then it’s only momentary and I need to all colour just like you.
    Take care, hope your stash separation anxiety reduces and that Peggy is a comfort.
    lots of love, P xxx

  4. Good luck with the long trek, packing, unpacking…goodness, I’ve done so many of those I’m afrain I’m quite rooted now. Before the 5 yrs in this house, the longest I’ve stayed anywhere was 3 yrs…don’t want to go but I do feel “packing fever” come October…
    love the new dyes, specially the first one! Can’t wait to see what you come up with.

  5. Sarah says:

    Awesome rose – I have been admiring your colourful blooms on Pinterest already and I just love Tolle too (I have a tattoo on my wrist, taken from The Power of Now).

    Your splash of colour has certainly brightened up my morning – it’s very foggy here today and I’m knitting GREY and just looked down and realised that my PJs are also GREY! Bleurgh! Luckily I am in the Cwtch which has lots of colour in it.

    It must feel very strange with everything packed. If it were me, I’d be excitedly planning my new space already, and I’d have to take certain things with me to put out as soon as I arrived – there are some things that just make a space feel like “MY space”, you know? Anyway, it’s lovely to see your posts and the colour and vibes you bring with you. Have a great day.
    Sarah
    xxxxx

  6. Rachel says:

    I always feel warm and happy when reading your blog, and think the beautiful colours you have on here make that happen. So thanks for sharing your colours

  7. Dearest Alice,
    The colors you dyed are so gorgeous, especially the pink/magenta one. You do such a lovely job on your dyeing and spinning. Best of luck on your packing and hope your week without your things goes by very quickly. Your cable gator sock is so cute. I just love the varigatedness to it. Hopefully you will get to finish the other one on the drive to your new digs. Happy and safe travels and drink lots of soothing tea……

    Blessings,
    Misty and Pets.

  8. Sophie Slim says:

    Cool!! Good luck for the move!

    You’ll have to look up paisleyjade.blogspot.com <- She's a big crochet-er and gets together with a whole lot of the bloggers in the area :)

    They are pretty infamous

  9. meredithjean says:

    Awesome dying – they are vivid and quite different from each other, well done! I can’t stop thinking about Raymond on the drive… valium?

  10. Hannah says:

    Alice, thank you for the rose. I really needed to see that. I just lost my best little furry child. I am so sad. Good luck to you on your trip. Take care of Raymond. I hope you will be very happy in your new home. Love, Hannah

  11. Penelope10 says:

    Oh, the colours came out so vibrant! The best of luck with your move and how exciting to set up a new home, like a fresh slate! Lucky you for entering the summer season!

  12. Robin says:

    Hi Alice, Loving the colors and the beautiful yarn! Your mom must have loved your visit and the sheep too. Can’t wait to see Richie again. Hope the move goes well and you can get the gorgeous green sock done. It is so pretty. We are going to be having Thanksgiving over here in the US, so lots of cooking and eating happening. Be well, xoRobin❤

  13. Kristen Rigney says:

    Thank you, Alice! Here in New York the leaves are almost done falling from the trees, and we are in for at least 3 months of grayness, so that color fix was just what was needed. Good luck with your move.- Kristen

  14. Carol says:

    What a wonderful colour fest and Raymond too! I have a picture on my lounge wall almost identical to your pink rose (plus 2 in other colours), DH wanted a change, took them down, put something else up, neither of us like the change so back went the 3 roses, I love them.
    I hope you are sitting down………. I’ve finished my socks! Yes, honestly, after 50+years I have now made a second pair of socks! I need a Ta Dah blog post. One little problem – they make my feet itch, so best get another pair made in a different yarn. Love your cable crocodile green one.
    Sheep/rams do look strange when they are first shorn and that ram looks none too happy after his haircut.
    Carol xx

  15. Sue Sanderson says:

    You might try looking for a fish kettle – a long basically rectangular pot – comes with a lid – used for cooking fish whole.

  16. chmurka says:

    Great colours of yarns, Raymond is cute like always, and Richie I can hardly belive that’s he !! He’s cute of course !!!

  17. Lovely colors and so glad to have an update on Richie! Safe and happy move! It will be all over before you know it!

  18. Terrie says:

    OOOooo! I LOVE the first fibre – Can’t wait to see it spun.

    I am the same with colour. Our walls are looking far too bare at the minute too but I know they won’t stay that way for long! xx

  19. Micro G says:

    Good luck with the move! Poor Raymond will have to go into a box for the journey of course but he looks like nothing ever really phases him, must be the relaxed kiwi lifestyle. Raymond really is a beautiful boy isn’t he, I have taken quite a shine to him (and his woolly pal Richie, what a cutey!). By the way, your hand dyeing endeavours have inspired me to have a go myself. Hubby bought me some natural extra chunky weight yarn in Morocco and I’m looking forward to giving it a make-over before transforming it into a pouffe for our living room. The piccie of the green and pink mix you created reminds me of rhubarb (in a good way). Have fun and keep blogging.

  20. Tickety-boo says:

    Sqqqqqqqqqqquuuuuuuuuuuuuueeeeeeeeeeee!!!!! Those socks are so awesome I think I’m in love! Totally totally in love. My perfect colour and my kind of pattern. Love love love them!
    Packing sucks! We have lived in five houses in 16years. Actually I am ashamed to admit that we still have boxes unopened in the garage from moving in 7.5 years ago!
    WTF is with that ram? Is he smuggling space hoppers in there or what????? Terrifying!
    xxxxxxx

  21. Seeing vibrant colors is one of the main reasons that I love to visit your terrific blog!

  22. Your rose, colors, the way you color your yarns, Fabulous!
    The ram made me laugh, what a guy!

  23. Brenda says:

    Good luck with the move, keep Raymond inside and safe for a while XX

  24. Wilhelmina says:

    Hope the packing goes quickly and before you know it you will be in your new home. How exciting to have a clean slate to decorate….I know you will have fun. Wishing you much color now and in your new home!

  25. Shirley Flavell says:

    Good luck and best wishes for the next “stage” of your life. You will find fibre groups/crochet groups ok. When you have a passion for craft it seems to find you . Wonderful up that way with a great neighbourhood of the Bay Of Islands.Shirley

  26. Leah says:

    Wow Alice, what an exciting time for you! I’m more than a bit jealous especially given that you’ll be getting a much hotter summer than us in Welly this year!!! It’s a gorgeous part of the world up there isn’t it – all those amazing beaches to discover. Perfect for some summertime hooky!! Take care hon – safe travels.

  27. Zooperson says:

    That is the best looking sock I’ve ever seen! I wish I had the skill to make such a beauty. Good luck on your travels to your new home.

  28. wendy says:

    Gorgeous colours. I actually thought you mean you would take some of them to spin on Peggy IN the car on the way! I was trying to figure out how you could operate a spinning wheel in a car!!

  29. Color color color- I can’t live without it.
    Wishing you a safe move and an easy drive.
    I remember our move from the East Coast ( Boston, Mass) to the West Coast ( San Francisco, Ca) about 26 years ago. A very far move from family and friends. However, I would never move back, I tell my family, this is the reason for airplanes.
    Good Luck on the move , looking forward to seeing your crochet work too.
    Barbara

  30. baamekniits says:

    Lots of gorgeous colour!! Loving that sock, cant wait to see the pair and your dying is divine. Hope you have enough to keep you going…..I couldn’t imagine being separated from my stash :-)

  31. peasandbob says:

    WHOOOOOAAA he has grown sooo fast!!!! I love him sooo much. I just want to hold him!!!!! Still loving your blog Alice!!!! You are amazing. Sending you so much love and blessings down here from windy Wellington!!!!! xoxox

  32. tea cozy says:

    I always feel warm and happy when reading your blog, and think the beautiful colours you have on here make that happen. So thanks for sharing your colours

Leave a Reply

