Sock Self Portrait

Last week I said to you that I would knit all day in class to get these socks finished….

I was expecting to take until Friday, but by 2.45pm on Thursday they were done!

I had to take these photos myself because KB refused to get out of bed and take photos of my feet in socks for my blog… apparently relaxation is more important than blogging.  Apparently I take PERFECTLY good photos of my own feet in socks.

So Raymond and I went downstairs together and took some photos ourselves!  Voila my latest pair of socks…  These socks have taken me such an incredibly long time to knit!  I only knit them on the bus and on my breaks at polytech and believe it has been almost a month since I started them.  On Thursday I sat on the bus in a freak traffic jam and finished the entire gusset on a trip that normally takes me 15 minutes… then finished the rest of it over the course of the day and kitchenered up the toe when I got home.

Lovely.

Have you noticed that they are different but the same again?  I used more of my knitsch stash- actually, the last of my knitsch variegated stash and the first colourway I ever bought, oh the excitement when I found that colourway!!!- and had the same result with these socks which I finished a few months ago…

I still love my stripey cosmic socks but I have to admit that I wish they were the same… but they are a bit quirky like that and that suits me quite well….

I’ve ravelled them HERE if you want any information about where to find the pattern and yarn!  I always use the same pattern so don’t want to repeat myself for the 11th time! 

Meanwhile, I’ve started another pair (surprised?) out of my own hand dyed sock yarn… you might just need sunglasses to look at these, they are fabulously bright like you wouldn’t believe!

The superwash merino sock yarn is so different to the supertwist merino I’ve just used, these ones are knitting themselves and I just turned the first heel this morning.  Rather exciting.  It happens to be getting quite warm here in Wellington and I don’t know how much longer I’m going to be needing warm woolly socks, so I have to get cracking so I can wear them at least once before the season changes!

I’m baking apple, banana and white chocolate gluten free muffins right now and I can smell the white chocolate cooking… it’s divine… and a sign that I need to run and check they are OK…

I’ll leave you with some love from Himself.

He loves a little excursion out into the backyard in the early evening!

So how are you?  What are you making at the moment?  Hope you’re well and enjoying life,

Lots of love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

p.s I almost FORGOT!  It has been a while since your latest Richie update… here he is, a real little sheep now who even has his ear tagged.  Still the cutest little sheep that walked the earth… Awwwwwwwwww!

Yes, he is smiling at you! XXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Raymond Appreciation, Richie the Lamb!, SOCKS!!!. Bookmark the permalink.

59 Responses to Sock Self Portrait

  1. meredithjean says:

    The cutest little sheep who walked the earth…. you are writing a children’s book! I was nursing a secret hope you were selling or gifting all your socks… omg you are wearing them all… Love handicrafting on the bus xxx

  2. Happybee says:

    OMG!!!! he’s really smiling!!!!!!!!!!!!!! toooooooooooooo cute!!!!

  3. Happy in Red says:

    Ooooh, I don’t have the patience for socks ;-) Isn’t that the cutest sheep ever!!
    Esther.

  4. Kath says:

    You’re a great sock knitter for sure. Lov e the colorus and cant wait to see the orange ones. And as much as I love to see Raymond, I just love to see Ritchie too. Just too cute. And yes, he has gorwn so much, so quickly! Must show the girls at work tomorrow that boy Ritchie.

  5. Sherry says:

    Oh my gosh he is smiling! :). He is simply precious. Thank you so much for the picture. I was in need of something to make me smile and that was just the thing.

  6. Bimbi says:

    What a nice smile to wake up to on a dreary and pretty cold (6 degrees) Sunday morning in the UK! And if that hadn’t woken me up fully the bright socks certainly did.

    Bimbi x

  7. Teje says:

    Hi Alice! Your new socks are beautiful and perfect like that – better not be exactly same! Raymond and Richie are just adorable!
    xxx Teje

  8. Your socks are so nice. You have so many. I bet you never bought socks again! That makes me wonder… Cold days are approaching here in the Uk and nothing better than nice colourful socks (handmade) hmmm I think I am not ready. I do not know why, but I fear them :P
    I have made some really cute crochet figures (amigurumi), obviously, for the first time, and I am quite impressed with them – ja, would not I be!? :D
    I invite you to have a look @ :

    http://lorybeat.blog.com/2011/09/14/home-sweet-home-amigurumi-family-cupcake/

    They are all gone now. I gave them away as a present and the snake was totally confiscated by my 5 year old.
    Have a fantastic day! Chao!
    LoREna
    (Today we are celebrating the Chilean Independence day! Viva Chile! From the Spanish Crown))

  9. sue says:

    Those socks are amazing, the stripes are awesome! When I get a few years free I’m going to learn how to make those lovelies. Ritchie is looking sooo cute and Raymond looks very handsome too tell him!

  10. Regula says:

    I’m going into shepp business. ;-) Richie is so cute and looks very smart. And the day of me knitting socks again is coming closer. I feel it, but now I am sitting in a pile of old sweaters making new ones. A very colourful business, that brightens up the rainy day here.

    Have a nice Sunday (or what’s left of it)

  11. Penelope says:

    Too cute for words, Mr. Richie and Raymond, I wonder what would happen if they had to meet each other! I am so pleased Alice, to hear that I am not the only one to take my knitting with me WHEREVER I go, traffic jams are the bestest. I couldn’t think of anything worse than just sitting there getting frustrated at how much knitting could get done ;0)
    Love quirky socks, that’s me too, perfection is not a trait I possess, I do like little variation off the norm. It’s incredible that you are on number 12 with your delicious vibrant socks, I wore a pair of mine last night as the autumn chills are creeping in.
    I need breakfast now and I think I can almost smell your muffins…yum xox
    Penelope xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  12. kashi says:

    I love your socks, my own knitting hasn’t quite been successful yet. I learned how to knit and purl in March. I have not completed one thing yet. I have gotten quite far on a project, made a mistake then frogged the whole lot. I am too much a perfectionist about it. I like it though and since reading your posts have gotten my needles out and been practising again. I am on a yarn diet like you and I have been good and am only using yarn I already have. I love your photos, Raymond and Richie are sweet as ever and my Grandala blanket (from One-a Day) is coming along nicely. Take care.

  13. Jill says:

    Ah you, me and Penelope all knitting in our respective traffic jams :) I drive a 6 hour round trip every other weekend, and what should take 3 hours often takes 5 as I sit in jams on the M25 – have you heard of the notorious M25 around London? So I sit there, contentedly working on whatever is current in my bag… happy as a sandboy (what IS a sandboy?) that I am stuck and not allowed to go anywhere… kind of compulsory knitting time! I love it that your socks aren’t identical…I think it says something creative about a person when they don’t wear matching socks. Thanks for the smile from Ritchie… it made my Sunday morning :)x

  14. Caroline says:

    Love the socks, love the yarn, love Raymond (no brainer!), love Ritchie, can just feel his wool face and hot nostril breath! Have a great week. C

  15. Lyanna says:

    I would love to see your hand dyed all done up. The colors are too yummy!

  16. winkieflash says:

    I’m so glad you posted this! I was reading this like: ‘socks, socks, yadayada, Raymond, bless him, yadayada… RITCHIE!’ :D Seriously, I have a HUGE Richie crush! Can I adopt him? :)
    (by the way, I mean no disrespect to your fabulous knitting. it is fabulous.)
    xo,
    wink

  17. cazz says:

    That is one seriously cute sheep. I am sooooooooo glad i’m vegetarian :) Great socks love whatever it is your stood on too. Bench, tree, decking?

  18. I like that orange colourwork, look forward to seeing those socks! Doesn’t Richie have the softest little nose and mouth….thats my favourite part of the horse too :-)

  19. kiwiyarns says:

    Well, you’re definitely much more of a sock knitter than I am. I’m sitting here wearing my lovely first socks I ever knitted, and looking at all that pretty yarn I have stashed, and wishing I would knit more… the only problem is I seem to poke holes in my fingers whenever I knit socks, and it hurts. And puts me off. I think I shall have to invest in bamboo needles. Maybe that will cure it. Talking of Knitsch, I’m knitting the most beautiful scarf on earth in that yarn at the moment… oh it’s lovely!!

  20. Emily says:

    I love the claiming that because something is handmade, it doesn’t have to match, just like your beautiful socks. P.S. I’m so jealous you have bananas to bake, they are over $11p/kg her in Aus. I buy one banana and share it among my friends.

  21. Tanne says:

    I love Sunday mornings. I make myself a hot cup of chocolate or sometimes coffee, turn on the computer and go to your blog. This is the part where it get’s exciting – is there a new post? – or will I dwell at your last post and enjoy it once again? :) It bubbles inside me when I wait for the page to load and you can only imagine the happiness when I see a new post. :)

    Thank you for sharing a bit of your life and your love for crafts. I love your colourful socks and Raymond looks so squeezable and Ritchie – he adores you. Look at that love in his eyes. :)

    xxx Tanne from Denmark

  22. Monica says:

    lovely socks!! can’t wait to see your bright ones… or should I say brighter ones? but I agree, colourful socks are happy socks!

  23. chmurka says:

    Great soks, I wish I could knit it :) Raymond is absolutly amazing, and Richie is so cute- Kiss, kiss, kiss

  24. Tanya says:

    love the colour of the new sockies! Just the colour I want to achieve with hand dyeing!

  25. Carol says:

    Yeah Richie, what a wonderful smile you have! Raymond looking fantastically handsome as always.
    More fab socks, love the happy colours. I have made sock progress – I have the book, I have the wool! Next month I have a friend coming over from Canada and we have a booked a cottage in Cornwall, the socks will be my holiday project.
    I joined ‘One a Day’ after reading your post and, although I haven’t posted about it yet, I have (re)started a long neglected project. Also been making a few squares for Sibol http://sunshineinternationalblanketsoflove.blogspot.com/.
    Hope you and KB are having a wonderful relaxing Sunday, we have some lovely sun here for a change.
    Carol xx

  26. Julie says:

    Hand dyed, hand spun and hand knitted, these new socks will be so ‘handsome’

  27. Robin says:

    Sure am loving all your sockyness! You are officially the queen of sock making. It doesn’t stop there, no no no you spin it , dye it, skein it and knit it!!! You are truly amazing, while you are baking muffins in the oven and taking pictures of your feet! I want some of that non-stop energy. Not to mention sharing Raymond and Richie with us all.
    Thanks and have a great week, xoRobin❤ Did I make a mistake? Do you dye it first then spin?

  28. Beautiful socks, Alice! And Richie is so grown up now (that smile is just too much)!
    Looking at handsome Raymond sitting outside, it’s really starting to look like summer where you are now. Hope you are enjoying the nice weather (but I hope it’s not too warm yet so that you can still enjoy all your amazing socks).
    Em

  29. Wendy says:

    Lovely socks, I’m inspired to dig out my dpns again after this post and get sock knitting again. Richie is very cute, do you think one day you’ll be blogging about ‘Richie socks’?!!

  30. Joanna says:

    Lovely socks Alice! Raymond is as handsome as ever and Ritchie is still cute even though he is not a little lamby anymore! I’m having a lovely lazy afternoon crocheting. I’ve almost finished a blanket I’m making for a friend – just a couple of rounds of the border left!

  31. I love socks that are fraternal rather than identical twins. The colours are gorgeous.

  32. Karen says:

    Richie’s little nose and lips are so adorable, you can just imagine they are like velvet much like our bunny’s nose is and he’s pretty much the same colour scheme as Richie too. The “sunglasses required” wool is fantastic!

  33. renee says:

    Hi there you go again beautifull knit colors socks with your buddies showing also boo hoo I can not knit with a d-m but i enjoy your work and site thanx Renee from Florida

  34. Zooperson says:

    Sweet smiling Ritchie. What a little darling. Great socks–way past my ability but I do love them. I like the roundy front. Beautiful Raymond, too, of course.

  35. carol says:

    I wish I could knit a pair of socks in a month…!! Your colors are awesome!

  36. minaandme says:

    As per usual, loving your socks! You crank them out like nobody’s business. It’s really quite impressive! I just started a new little scarf for myself and it’s coming along nicely. Huzzah for quick projects! Good to see Raymond and Richie again. He really is the cutest little sheep! I saw some cuties yesterday at A Wool Gathering, but none compare to him!
    ~Lacey

  37. Emily says:

    Keep socking! You’re inspiring me to attempt socks sooner than I was planning on! Right now I’m working on a scarf that I’m going to shorten or it will take me too long to finish – I’m a very slow knitter, still. Smooches for Richie and Raymond!

  38. miek says:

    hello Alice, love your socks, i`m making them too, still!
    and i have learned to knit gloves, very easy and faster done than socks.
    you should try it, with your colorfull yarn, it`s so great to look at your work (and don`t have to bent over or lift your feet haha) and you can/may strook it against your face, and say, ohhh how nice and soft hahaha.
    will i`m reading your blog i`m knitting a dog coat, finely a good pattern and it is with a norwegian patern in it.
    my husband has already sayd that the dog won`t like it – read, he does not want to go on the streets with our dog waring this coat hahahahaha.
    we will see about that, the dog is the one how has to suffer so if he dosn`t want to wear it than it s only for a picture.
    greetings

  39. Susan H. says:

    Richie really is the cutest sheep, and he smiles so nicely for you. Your socks are great. I need to keep practicing knitting so I can make socks too some day. For now I am just crocheting.
    xo Susan

  40. Nicole says:

    Richie is actually smiling!! Oh if only Raymond could see us swooning over him, I don’t think we’d ever see or hear from him again :-o

    Your socks never fail to amaze me, who wouldn’t feel good going out of the house in those? I can’t believe your winters ending and ours is on it’s way… I find it really weird that your Christmas will be sunny and warm though! How do you guys build snowmen? In fact do your xmas cards even HAVE snowmen? This surely makes no sense!? I feel a bit like the world is literally upside down now – I don’t think I could cope with living in the Southern Hemisphere…

    Anywhoo enough of that, thanks for sharing your wonderful socks and cat as always! x

  41. Alice,
    Your socks are so cute, and I love the color of your new ones to be. Can’t wait to see them. Thank you for the Raymond and Ritchie love, they are both so cute. I’m working on a granny flower blankie for a christmas gift and trying to finish cross stitching a pillow. Have a great week.
    Blessings to all,
    Misty and Pets.

  42. penelope10 says:

    Richie is really special! You are too Raymond.
    I envy your weather!!
    Woolie things on the needles, socks, sweater, shawl!!

  43. Sandra says:

    love, love, love these not quite matching zingy socks! And the muffins sound fab – would love the recipe, sounds like one my coeliac eldest son would enjoy! x

  44. Kepanie says:

    I love the how they’re the same but different vibe. I don’t know why ppl get so anal about matching, handknitted socks to the tee. What fun socks and great photos BTW! You are truly inspirational for dyeing yarn.

  45. Wendy says:

    LOL Ritchie does look like he is smiling. lovely sheep he is. Those socks are “awsome” as my grandons would say. I have been knitting a pair for a month now, 4ply taking aaaggeess.
    Usually do 8ply and love how quick they work up. Oh well must continue. And of course I
    always love seeing mr raymond himself.
    Take care Alice and hey to KB too. xoxo

  46. Suzanne says:

    How lovely! You are an important factor in my latest purchase at my local craft store: circular needles. Yep, you can guess right? I want to make socks! It is going to be a challenge and that’s why I haven’t started yet. I need to pick up the knitting again (have done it a few times, but I all I do now is crochet) and then get around the sock technique with all the different parts etc. It’s going to be a struggle, but I do want my own knitted socks! It’s getting colder here and I hate cold feet! I still need a rug, but since I also want to make that one myself (my oh my, the list is getting longer again) I need socks!

    Anyhow, enough with the rambling. Just want to stop by and say again: I love your blog!

  47. Louise says:

    Your socks are fantastic. One day I hope to be able to knit socks. Raymond and Richie are still both adorable.

    Take care,
    Louise

  48. what beautiful socks – I love that they are different but the same :) at least you’ll always know which is the right one and which is the left one! This coming winter (I’m in the UK so reverse seasons to you) I am going to finally learn to knit socks. I’ve had the wool and needles in my stash for far too long but keep getting distracted by crochet! I’m sure that your sock posts are going to be extremely helpful when I finally get going!

  49. De Selby says:

    Love your work! De Selby, editor Spool (www.spoolmag.com)

  50. Alyson says:

    Beautiful socks! I like that they’re not quite the same- that’s how I always make mine. They’re a little quirky, just like me. I have had a knitty weekend. I finished up the yoga socks for my mom’s birthday, and I got back to work on the yoke on the merino sweater for my daughter. Fall and winter is right around the corner here in the Northern hemisphere, so the time is ripe for all sorts of woolly happenings! I have my heart set on using some Opal sock yarn, but I think my next projects will be hooked. I need to make sweaters for my little dachshund and my elderly cat. (He’s old, and his fur is rather sparse.) So, I guess my rainbow socks will have to wait.

    Thanks for the Raymond and Richie love! Have a wonderful week! *hugs*

  51. I love the beautiful colors in these socks!

  52. Leah says:

    Hi Alice, I am absolutely in love with the wool you use especially the bright pinky/orangey/redy one! Can’t wait to see that made into fabulous stripey socks. I really wish I could knit something so cool but my skills are just too basic at the moment so I’ll stick to a hook for the time being. You’re right – Richie is the cutest sheep ever – gotta love a smiling sheep! Have a fab week hon.

  53. Planet Penny says:

    Gorgeous colours! I’m socking away at the moment, wish I didn’t struggle so hard with making two things the same, it’s a bit inevitable if you are making socks after all! Lovely Raymond looks sooo superior, he just KNOWS he’s cuter than a lamb doesn’t he?

  54. Donna says:

    Loving the socks – even better that they are not quite the same – really quirky! Great that you knit on the bus – I can’t do anything on any kind of transport without getting seriously motion-sick! Loving Raymond and Richie too!

  55. Liza says:

    Hello Alice,
    Just love your socks, I love the wild colors . There is nothing like looking down at your feet and I call them my funking socks on and make me happy all day. I bought a loom that is called the sock loom . Im going to try to make me a pair of socks. Lets see how that goes. You gave me the sock fever. It was nice seeing Raymond and Richie all that is left for those two is talk, the expression on their little faces say a thousand words. I can just picture the expression on your face while you were knitting your socks on the bus . A women on a mission!!!!!!!!!! You take care and warm wishes to you and all your loved ones. Your friend from Texas

  56. Irene says:

    I am sure that Richie is an adventurous lamb who would love to go to Sweden. And if so, there is a home waiting for him here! Just put him on the plane and I will meet him.

  57. Elaine says:

    Awww he’s such a cutie….love his woollie wool…..soo cuddly looking :-)

  58. Charis Griffin says:

    Alice, your socks are SO gorgeous-I am green with envy as I would love a pair exactly the same! Your dyeing experiments are inspirational.I am trying very hard not to start another pair of socks(3 pairs so far) as I am determined to finish several other projects first-a crochet blanket, a beret, a baby cardigan, squares for KasCare charity blankets,a chunky jacket,a shawl …….well maybe I will just look out the wool and decide on the colour!! I have been reading your blog for some time-it always brightens up a dull grey Cornish day, both with your fabulous colours and the pics of Raymond and Richie. Thank You!
    Charis

  59. Cuckoo says:

    Ah, look at him all trendy with his earring. I mut go and snoop about your ravellry. i have a feeling my sock knitting solutions may be hidden in there.

    DPN’s freak me out, must just get over myself.

    Crikey all I ever say to you is how much knitting blows my mind and that I want to knit socks. Hell, I am such a bore!

    xxx

Leave a Reply

