A spinny catch-up

I had to record this evening sky, I’m not a particularly nostalgic or poetic person, but tonight I can feel Grace all around and as I sat at the magic wheel as the beautiful sunny afternoon turned into evening, I had to take a picture and file it somewhere.  In 10 years I might flick over the photo and wonder why the heck I took a photo of a reasonably nice evening (it’s not a stunning sunset that’s for sure) but maybe I’ll look at it and remember that specific feeling that is Grace.  Does Grace ever come into your life?  For me, it feels like the sweetest energy there is, sweet enough to bring tears to the eyes, and comforting too, like everything is going to be OK. 

I hope that if you are in need of a bit of Grace you will feel it wash over you too. 

Tonights post is a bit of a spinny-dyey catch-up… I had a fun day with the dye pot the other day and created six beautiful 100gm breaids of colourful goodness…

I am soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo in love with this fibre… Like, crazy in love with it… I keep dragging it out of its bag to marvel at it.  I can.not.wait to spin it.

All rolled up into braids that are not really braids, I don’t know how to properly braid them, but that’s OK, they still look fabulous…

Raymond of course was up for a bit of photo-bombing… He quite likes the new fibre! I’m not allowing myself to spin this lot until I have finished the last 1kg I dyed…. I’m nearly there, only about 400gms to go!  The last lot which I dyed in this post was quite pastel but I like that, it is very soothing to spin. 

I must state here, if I haven’t already, that Polwarth is my favourite fibre ever.  In the world.  It is so soft, softer than merino, it dyes beautifully and dries all fluffy and puffy and it is a dream to spin.  In fact, it is idiot-proof when it comes to spinning.  I discovered this when I was spinning this…

Into this…

I wanted to make it into a monster, so needed it to be nice and thick.  I kind of threw the fibre into the orifice, any old way, but once plied and washed, it was one of the most perfect skeins I’ve spun.  Idiot-proof. 

As well as dyeing fibre, Mum and I have been dyeing sock yarn… the last for a little while as we have run out, but we created these stunning colourways…

The middle two are mine and wowee, I can’t wait to have them on my toes!  Ooooohhh!!!  Perfection in sock yarn form!  As soon as I’ve finished these…

I’ll be ready to cast on those orangey-yellowey-pink ones.  I can’t wait.  However, these socks above have taken me many weeks to complete one sock and half of one leg and it feels like they are the never-ending socks, that I will be knitting them until the day I die.  I’ve decided that I’m going to be knitting them in class on thursday and friday, all day.  I might just finish them.

And on an end note, my one a day feather and fan blanket is coming along beautifully!

Although, I confess, I haven’t done my one a day since Friday.  Due to a mistake in the lace row, where at the beginning of the row I made 5 k2togs instead of 6 and ended up at the end of the row with ONE STITCH LEFT, I have stalled only because I hate unpicking, stitch by stitch, 288 stitches.  I’ll do it tomorrow, then carry on.  I promise.

All right then lovely people, I have totally purged myself of crafty news and photographs… my eyes are falling asleep and KB is getting sick of me tap-tap-tapping in bed, so I’m off for now and will be back when I have something new to report!  I hope that you are well and feeling the creative flow!

Lots of sunshine from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Dyeing Wool, One a Day Project, Other Ramdom Stuff, Raymond Appreciation, SOCKS!!!, Spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to A spinny catch-up

  1. Jill says:

    Wow… gorgeous spinnings Alice! I can’t wait to see the socks… one day I WILL try to knit socks… at the moment it seems a bit beyond me, but I’ll get there.
    Is it your own Feather & Fan pattern you are using? I would love to try it myself. Thank you for your own little bit of ‘Grace’ this morning :)x

  2. Awesome stuff there Alice! I would love to try dyeing some day but not sure on the spinning, I’ll leave all that to you! I’m sat here and my feet are freezing, very much wishing I had some handknit socks to put on them. I may have to cast some on soon once my new dpn’s arrive. I’ve ordered some bamboo ones as the set I have at the moment are metal and fall out all the time, it’s infuriating!

  3. Synnove says:

    I recently started following your blog, and I just have to say that you spin the most beautiful yarn I have ever seen! The colors are amazing.
    I really want to learn to spin, but I only have a spindle, I guess I should try it:-)

  4. chmurka says:

    Amazing yarns!!! and I love Raymond, love, love, love :))

  5. kashi says:

    Hello Alice,
    I love that you spin your own yarn. That is just so cool. You’re an amazing woman. I learned how to knit a while back and get so frustrated because I don’t know how to unravel to a mistake and then, successfully start up again. I am much more adept at crochet and long to get better at knitting. I always look forward to your posts to see what you and Raymond and Richie are up to.

  6. amandaspatch says:

    Sometimes I wish I could grab hold of how I am feeling and just give it to someone because no amount of words or pictures can ever capture it! I know that Grace you’re talking about and it always comes to me at the most needed times and usually outside looking at the sky. I mean I love all of nature, but looking to the sky and seeing the immense vastness of creation and how everything just happens and seems so simple but is actually so very carefully connected to every other living thing makes me stop worrying about whatever I was worrying about and I just lose myself in the vastness of it all. I once had the same experience when walking in the sea on a very blustery day because there was no one else around and the sky just seemed to become the sea where they met at the horizon and I felt I could have walked forever. You’d think it would feel lonely when you see such an immense space but actually it always makes me very aware of how connected everything is!

    As for the yarn… beautiful as always :) And unpicking the blanket… boo! I was trying lately to make matching hats for my dad and the baby in the red and white stripes of my dad’s football club and the baby one was fine but I had to start and undo and restart the adult one about 6 or 7 times. I just could not get the gauge right and it was either massive or too tight. I got so frustrated I had to put it down at one point and not look at it for a week before I could pick it up again and have another go.

  7. Meredith says:

    Alice, your spinning is fantastic, the colors are so perfect. Keep up the great work, your skills amaze me. I understand the feeling of Grace, sometimes it is harder to feel. Glad you are feeling so at peace.
    Meredith

  8. Teje says:

    Hi Alice! Oooh those yarns are fantastic! I wish I could make a cowl and a shawlet with them for the winter!
    xxx Teje

  9. Amy says:

    Love your blog! That grace feeling you are experiencing is God.

  10. Tickety-boo says:

    Oh that cheered me up my friend!
    Those braids?! Don’tcha want to wear them just as they are? Like a technicoloured Viking? You know what I mean not a horned helmet or anything just plats! Colourfull plats! Ok maybe that’s just me and maybe in that case it’s just too much information ;)
    The colourways are stunning. Looking forward to sqqquuueeeeeeeeing your new socks.
    Love
    Tickety-boo
    xxxxx

  11. Carol says:

    Hi Alice, oh wow, those colours! Absolutely beautiful. You can almost ‘feel’ the softness through the screen. You are talented.
    I look up/out at the the sky quite often, some amazing cloud formations, what wonders we see, how lucky we are.
    Today the clouds are rushing past and the wind is very strong but we (and the cats) are tucked safe inside.
    Looking forward to seeing the new socks.
    Carol xx

  12. What a lovely colours you have there, specially the gamma of greens. Green does it for me!
    We approaching very fast autumn and we need some colours to cheer ourselves up :)
    Take care!

  13. mary i says:

    Dear Alice and Raymond; Thank you for starting my Monday out with a smile!!! Yes “Grace” is the proper word. I know of what you speak,(write) thanx for sharing that. Your yarn looks good enough to eat…. It also looks like it would “smell” HAPPY AND COMFORTING…. (no i am not bonkers-just a all 6 senses user) I don’t knit or spin yet, one of these days. I am just a wee happy-hooker.LOL your socks and blanket make me want to get there though.. all are stunning!! Have a great week.. Peas and Carrots from Alabama U.S.A. mary i.

  14. Dori says:

    Alice, I love your colours! You surely have a knack for dyeing. I’ve never heard of Polwarth before, is it a breed native to New Zealand? Here on the other side of the world (in the UK) we don’t always get the native breeds.

    I love following along with your adventures. Thanks for being a breath of fresh air in my day!

  15. ktmade says:

    These are so gorgeous Alice! So when are you going to be opening your etsy shop?? ;)

  16. Joya Roy says:

    You are completely amazing! I love seeing all that you do. Thanks for sharing!

  17. buttermilk34 says:

    I did need some grace today – thank you!

  18. minaandme says:

    Thanks for sharing your Grace with us. I know the feeling! Such peace and happiness ^_^ And just look at those braids! What color! What vibrancy! Not only that, but it looks snuggly as all can possibly be! You’ve been doing a WONDERFUL job dying and your spinning has improved incredibly! I’m sure you’re so pleased. The “idiot proof” bit does look absolutely perfect. I’m excited to see your newest little monster :)

  19. Wow you sure make some beautiful looking yarn! Love the stripey look it creates.

  20. Jillian_R says:

    How beautiful the wool has turned out! Your colors are lovely, and I am looking forward to seeing what your finished products will be! :-)

    And a big “Yay” for Raymond for photo bombing too!

  21. Hi Alice, I would call it “Presence” but I TOTALLY know what you mean – those absolute moments of awesomeness are just so precious and intense that I remember every single one of them *sigh*

    I feel giddy from looking at your photos and all those amazing colours! The sock yarn is making me drool (you know I am imagining them made into a billion colourful hexipuffs!)

    Also you are really making me want to spin – I’ve been looking up classes in my area and have been scouring ebay for a spinning wheel but EEK they are SO expensive! I really should learn to avoid your blog when I have no spare cash! :D

  22. Love the pastels! So beautiful. Love your ‘Grace’ shot too. Everyone needs a little Grace in their life!

  23. Nikki Mommen says:

    Envy your sock wool!! I would love to dye and spin my own sock wool, but don’t want to start another hobby my sewing area is “popping” at the seams. Your colour choice is beautiful I cannot wait to see your socks. Thanks for sharing this with us. Love Nikki

  24. Melissa says:

    You’ve been having a lot of fiber fun! I’m quite envious. It’s amazing how “grace” can come to us in what seem to be the most mundane moments. For me it is when I’m doing some boring domestic task and I’m surrounded by family and love. It’s wonderful. Hope your week is filled with it:)

  25. Sandra says:

    Gorgeous colourful yarn – feel I could almost reach into the screen and feel its squishyness!! :-)

  26. penelope10 says:

    You are becoming quite the dyer and spinner! Such beautiful work! and Raymond Boy is enjoying the fruits of your labor!
    Love the “Grace” description, how true.

  27. Joanna says:

    Wow I love seeing your dyeing and spinning. It is absolutely beautiful. Oh no I’m sorry to hear you have to unpick a row of your blanket – that’s a lot of stitches to unpick and not a job I envy you of! It is looking gorgeous thought :-) xx

  28. sue says:

    Your spinning is sublime, those colours are so gorgeous! Can’t wait to see what they become.

  29. laura says:

    HELLO, HOW ARE YOU? I was wondering if THESE SELL FOR YARN AND IF I COULD TELL MY COUNTRY YOU LIVE IN ARGENTINA AND STILL LOVE ME DO ALL THAT IS VERY BEAUTIFUL. KISS forward to your reply.

  30. Liz says:

    Alice,
    Ive never spun yarn before but your beatiful creations are giving me the itch to try it. Would love to see more pics and hear about your experience and tips on learning to spin! Thank you for your inspiring blog! Absolute pleasure to read.

    Love from Chicago!

  31. Karisma says:

    Oh commiserations on the un-stitching! What a pain! On a lighter note though, the spinning work looks awesome. I LOVE those colours.

  32. Karen says:

    Alice, as always i’m enjoying your photographs of those wonderful hills in Wellington. I’m especially loving the spinny pictures – those colours are just soooo good for the soul.

  33. says:

    I love your art! Everything here is so beautiful!
    I feel happy looking your things…

    Good days for you

  34. Woo hoo you have been spinning your socks off :-)

  35. Julie says:

    Another gorgeous pair of socks on the pins there …. i also hate undoing knitted rows, so boring!!

    Lovely to see your spinning wheel and your little helper

  36. Brenda says:

    Hi Alice, yet again you amaze me with the beautiful colours you create, it’s like visiting a rainbow! Thankyou xxBrenda

  37. Liza says:

    Hello Alice,
    What a beautiful picture. The best thing of grace it always comes around when you need it the most. It’s like a song to your soul. Your yarns are so beautiful the colors are sooooo cozy. I see your helper is enjoying himself. What a charmer. Best wishes to you and all your loved ones. Your friend from Texas.

  38. Nicole says:

    I reckon you could give Tracee a run for her money your dying is so beautiful and your spinning is continuously making me jealous :-D I haven’t done any of my one a day in a few days now… I need to catch up and keep committed!!!

  39. Wendy says:

    The feather and fan is beautiful!! And of course so is Raymond……
    Clever girl you are and love coming here to lurk/spy/admire/get inspired.
    love it ☺♥

  40. Cuckoo says:

    First and fifth braid in your top pic are my faves. Lovely.

    I *think* I might be at the sock knitting stage soon. I am hooked on knitting. (Bloody slow at it though.) I’ve been eyeing up sock yarn but I’m not sure what to go for.

    Your spinning and your one a day make me want to knit madly but we’ve a house full today so no chance of that!

    xxx

  41. Ani says:

    Yummy colours! Greetings from a colour-addict from Finland!

Leave a Reply

