Goodbye July!

Helloooo!!!

And Happy Sunday to you!  It’s lovely and sunny here, a cold wintery sun, but sun all the same.  There’s nothing like sunlight to make a person feel good about life!  Thank you for all of your lovely get well messages, I’m on my way to feeling better but this is a nasty buggy germ which every second person in Wellington has, and it is seeming to hang around most people for a month or so, however, I’m over the worst of it so YAY!

Can you believe it is the end of JULY already!  Wowee that went fast!  I was preparing my July mosaic and wondering where all my photos were… it felt like I have been deeply unproductive this month, but looking back on the month I can see that I’ve been totally engrossed on two things.  The Gypsy Caravan Blanket and the Tour de Fleece!  These two things have been the focus of my creative attention, so my July mosaic is full of granny squares and fleece.  I like how these mosaics really document where I am on a monthly basis with my ‘making’… each month is so different.  The Tour de Fleece ended on the 24th and I’m proud to say that I completed it with only ONE day that didn’t involve spinning.  I can’t wait to do it again next year, although next year I will ensure that I have a better stash because this year got a weeeeee bit boring in terms of colour and quantity!

On Friday night we had yet another stunning sunset… I wasn’t at work as I had taken the day off sick, so got to enjoy the changing colours and beautiful energy blast that comes with watching such a phenomenon.  As this beautiful sunset was happening, I happened to be spinning some of my lovely roving bought from the spin-in the other day….

I bought 100gms of this and must say that the colours blew.me.away.  I loved them on the bobbins so much I didn’t want to ply them together….

I did, of course, but not with each other… Mum and Maria who dyes the wool recommend plying this with cotton as it keeps the colours pure and creates a stripy effect when knitted.  It also means you get more meterage out of your spinning, so I decided to give it a go!  And I must say, I love the result.  I needed THREE spools of cotton for this, and as I had underestimated the meterage only bought two, so I still have half a bobbin of wool sitting, waiting to be plyed.  Mission: Go to the op shops and hunt for big spools of cotton, otherwise this type of spinning can get a bit pricey! 

And here it is!

It is quite crinkly, which I think is cool!  But I haven’t washed it yet, and am waiting to finish plying the last of it before I do, so it may look a wee bit different once washed and spun.

The other thing I have finished in the last fortnight which didn’t take long to complete as it is cold and I really wanted to wear it, is my second Noro cowl.  I bought this Noro ages ago and saved it thinking I’d make a cowl next winter because I love THIS one sooooooo much!  I wear it pretty much every single day and now that we are in the depths of Winter, leaving the house without a scarf means you will get very cold, so while I was sick I pulled the stashed Noro out and got knitting.

Love love love love love!

It’s exactly the same as the first one I made, which has stretched so much I can wrap it around my neck three times now.  I love Noro in both stocking stitch and garter stitch, and love the way that when it is wrapped around you can see both textures.  To make it, I used 10ply (or worsted, whatever you call it where you live) wool and 5mm needles on a long circular cable, I cast on 250 stitches and made a k2,p2 rib for 6 rows, then stocking stitch until I nearly ran out of wool and finished with a k2,p2 rib.  I used 250gms of wool but you can use more or less depending on how thick or thin you want your cowl to be.

I love Noro, it’s great.  However, I think this will be the last time I buy the kureyon or silk garden as the breaks in the wool drove me crazy…. there were about 6 or 7 in this cowl alone and while I understand that this happens, the colour pattern started reversing constantly and I’m not prepared to spend that amount on something that does not deliver perfect results.  It’s OK for a cowl, but if I were making a garment it would ruin the effect.  Despite said breakages and colourway reversals, I’m in love with my Noro cowl and haven’t even washed and blocked it yet because I don’t want to take it off!

OK well I think that’s me for today… I would give you a Gypsy Caravan Blanket update, but I am so close to finishing it, I’m not going to!  Yes… I’m near the end and I can’t believe it is nearly all over.  My next post will be the ta-daaa so watch this space!   I’m off to enjoy the sunshine now… Himself is… He’s feeling much better after a night of illness… eating rotten bird will do that to you I suppose- we discovered the remains of his feast this morning… jeez what a housemate huh!

Wishing you a wonderful weekend!  Lots of love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Granny Squares, Gypsy Caravan Blanket, Knitting!, Spinning, Tour de Fleece 2011!. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Goodbye July!

  1. Can’ t wait to see the completed Gypsy Caravan blanket! And we Loooooove the crinkliness of that yarn! Happy end of July!

  2. kiwiyarns says:

    What a stunning sunset pic – it perfectly with the spinning! Love your cowl too! Such pretty colours. Noro is so yummy. Very glad to know you are feeling better. xxx

  3. val says:

    A bit funny ready about your winter in July. Here in Ohio USA, I’m suffering in 90 F degrees and am very uncomfortably warm. However, the cowl is gorgeous and so yummy looking in texture. Feel better!

  4. I can’t believe it’s the end of July either – it sure did fly by didn’t it?

    I’m glad to hear you are feeling better too.

    I’m very excited about seeing your Ta-Dah for your blanket and I cannot believe you are almost finished. Enjoy the rest of your weekend, Carole xXx

  5. Sarah says:

    Wow!! I don’t know what to comment on first!

    EVERYTHING is so beautiful! I have to make one of those cowls for winter! I have a love hate relationship with Noro. I’ve made some of my favourite things with it but find it incredibly frustrating too.

    The blanket is looking incredible – I can’t believe you’ve almost finished. And this spinning is just stunning. You’re an inspiration.

    So glad you are on the mend. Sounds like a nasty bug! Take care xxxx

  6. Penelope says:

    So pleased to hear you are on the mend after nasty cold… I’ve got that to look forward to this winter! You have however been beautifully productive Alice, woweee. The photo of your NZ sunset reminded me of a program I saw on the northern lights, just immense beauty and the your beautiful yarn to match. I love the bobbins(?), please can you do a “tour” of your spinning wheel in a mosaic or something as I would dearly love to learn about the bits and parts and how the function from a spinner such as you… or if you don’t fancy this can you point me towards a web site which you find helpful?
    When I saw the title of your post it freaked me out july surely cannot be over? My blog has been seriously lacking in makes these days…. must get a move on. Really looking forward to your beautiful gypsy baby xox wishes and kisses for a full sniffles recovery x P

  7. Penelope says:

    Oops I forgot to mention the Noro beauty cowl, smack on the hand!! How could I not mention this delicious pretty thing, I can well understand why you are reluctant to take it off. Yummy colours too, and thanks for all your tips on what the yarn was like xox

  8. Tickety-boo says:

    So glad your on the mend.
    Oh I have cowl envy now !! That’s a beaut and just my colours too. Your spinning yarny bobbiny type thingys ( yip that’s the technical terms) are fab colours and look like your sunset photo, all sunshiney and happy.
    Can’t wait for Gypsy Ta-dah!!!!
    Love
    Tickety-boo
    xxxx

  9. Nicky says:

    250 grams?????
    wow.
    Its fab tho. I want one!

  10. Alice your spinning is lovely! What sort of cotton do you use to ply with? I love that effect and looking forward to seeing it knit up. Do you know how to ‘Spit splice’? It will help with those annoying joins in the balls of wool ( I hate them too esp when it has cost so much). I can’t believe it is the end of July as well!!

  11. sandiart says:

    Alice, idle fingers you don’t have!!! The sunset is so pretty, we had a lovely one tonight, was a very soft peachy/apricot with a very soft, muted magenta. And today was 18deg, just glorious with 19deg tomorrow. I hope you are feeling 100% very soon, it is a nasty bug isn’t it.
    x Sandi

  12. Ashley says:

    I love the way that the yarn has gone all crinkly, it make it look lovely and interesting. Glad to hear you feeling much better, i’m just about over my cold too. Can’t quite completely kick it though!
    The Noro cowl is gorgeous, just my cup of tea!

    Ashley xxx

  13. I’m looking forward to seeing your blanket. I’m almost finished my turtle one – just thoses pesky ends needing sorted. Love the Noro cowl, I’ve bought my first balls of noro, as yet untouched but I know what I want to make with them. Beautiful sunset too, glad you’re feeling better.
    Anne.

  14. The sunset is amazing. I love the colors you always choose for your projects – you have a great eye for color (or is Raymond doing the color selection??).

  15. MiA says:

    Very very VERY beautiful red yarns! And… yupp… that sunset is really a stunnig one :))

  16. LaceAnn says:

    Glad to hear you’re on the mend. Being sick can get old fast. The sunset seen due to your sickness was beautiful though! I guess illness does have a few advantages :) The yarn kinda matches your pretty sunset! I like that you kept it pure by using the cotton. It will be stunning when you make it up! Keep up the beautiful work and hopefully August will take it’s time so we can all get new exciting things accomplished!

  17. Joanna says:

    I’m pleased to hear you are getting over your bug. What a beautiful sunset and lovely cowl. Looking forward to seeing the finished blanket. Take care Joanna xxx

  18. Glad to hear that you’re feeling better!

    I’m quite tempted to make one of those cowls!

  19. whitelavender says:

    Great to hear you are feeling heaps better.Love your cowl. I Finished the Stockholm Cowl. Too long if left single, too close around the neck twice. Will keep using it and hope it will stretch a bit to wrap twice.Knitted with merino touch yarn, lovely. Going to make some leg warmers for my grandaughter now.Funky wide pink and purple stripes. Your spinning is fab, I must get back to doing more. Keep warm and it’s lovely to hear from you Shirley

  20. Leah says:

    Hi Alice, I am totally in love with the wool on your bobbins!! Those colours really are so gorgeous! I am fascinated by the whole process and how it changes so much. I can’t wait to see what you make with it!! Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I am REALLY enjoying your grandala pattern – so a huge thank you for sharing it. I love your sunset pic too! It was the most amazing sky I’ve seen in ages. We had popped over to a friends place on the hill in Strathmore so the view of it was amazing (unlike the one from my own home!!!). Hope you are on the mend hon. Take care.

  21. Liza says:

    Hi Alice,
    I’m glad to hear your feeling better. I love your pic of your yarn project and what a beautiful sunset. I can hardly wait to see what beauty will be made with the yarn. And loveeeeeee the cowl the colors are to die for. Hopefully raymond will stay away from brids a while. Do more bird watching than hunting. Your blanket looks so cozy and planning to make one for my granddaugher for X-mas she lives in portland oregon and nights get pretty chilly , the blanket will be just prefect. You take care of yourself and warm wishes to you and your loved ones. Your friend form Texas,

  22. Melissa says:

    It truly is amazing how quickly July went by! I’m afraid August will do the same. Your blanket is looking lovely and I’m sure it will help keep the chill and nasty germs away once it’s complete. Hope you are back “up to snuff” soon!

  23. Sarah says:

    Your cowl is gorgeous, love it!!

    S x

  24. penelope dubois says:

    Love the effect of the 2 yarns together! So pretty.
    Raymond boy, you must be selective in your choices of snacks! Rotten bird? Yucky.

  25. Red says:

    Gorgeous pictures, esp the sunset and pinkpinkpink yarn. then the soothing contrast with the blue/green cowl.

    It’s refreshing to read about your NZ winter as it’s the height of summer here in Atlanta, Georgia, USA.

    I’m working on a summer scarf, using Plymouth Kudo, which is a cheaper (but not by much) alternative to Noro. Simple stockingnette on needles 2 sizes bigger to minimize curling. It’s all I want to work on, instead of, um, work.

    Hope you feel better soon.

  26. Hope your feeling better. I’m currently knitting my first cowl, I chose the Honey Cowl, on circular needles (also a first). Not anywhere as colorful as yours, but I’m already starting to look for other simple cowl patterns, and this one looks ideal. Kier x

  27. I just found your blog today and am so glad I did, it’s a feast for the eyes! I love knitting, designing and making jewellery, have just learned to crochet, have two squidge-able cats, am a reiki master and aromatherapist, and love anything wool/yarn related. Sending smiles, Em x

  28. Dotty One says:

    I love your gypsy blanket and I can’t believe how fast it is coming together! I’m jealous – I wish I could make granny squares as fast as you!

  29. Cecília says:

    Lindo o seu blog e jeito de viver! Amei seu gato.
    Abraços

  30. Garnguru says:

    Hey:)

    You make soo beaytiful things…:) I like it:):) The colore on the things s you made…make me happy:)

    Garnguru:)

Leave a Reply

