A catch up day…

Hellooo!!!

And how are you on this miserable rainy day?  It’s pouring here, grey sky, sideways rain, but it’s not too cold for winter, I’ve got windows open airing out the house which is quite nice, and rain is not a problem for people who like cozy days creating things from woolly goodness… It’s an excuse really for not going out for a jog or to the post office or anything like that… what a shame, I’ll have to stay inside all day making my blanket and spinning!  So sad!

So today is a catch up post for me because I’ve got quite ahead of myself lately after my craft-a-thon two weeks ago!  I did a lot of spinning which I haven’t poted yet but want to because it is all part of my spinning journey, so here is Miss Molly, another Maude and Me braid which I spun before Monsoon

God I love those pinks and purples!  I haven’t decided what to do with it yet, but I’m thinking about making a purse with it which will involve a sewing machine to line it and make it nice and strong… that involves learning to sew, so for now Miss Molly is the stuff of dreamy inspiration.

It’s a few hours later and I’ve just come back to the computer after being horrifically sidetracked… can you believe the sun is now shining and it is a lovely day?  Unfortunately I’ve run out of time to finish what I started and give you a blanket update, so that is going to have to wait until next time!  I’m off to stitch and bitch to hang out with some cool fun knitters and hookers, so I’ll catch up on my catch up post soon!

Have a lovely day,

lots of love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to A catch up day…

  1. Monsoon is scrummy! I am currently knitting a hoodie from some lovely almost handspun wool. I’ve done the back so just the two fronts, sleeves and hood to go….wish me luck :-)

  2. Teje says:

    Hi Alice! That wool and yarn are so delicious! In Finland we have a good dessert with berries just that colour and the colour has got a name from the dessert!
    We have too much hot and sun – hope I could send some to you!
    xxx Teje

  3. Planet Penny says:

    Oooh that’s SO pretty, lovely rosy colours, no wonder you’re itching to get it on the needles! You must be so fast on the spinning wheel now, couln’t you rig it up to generate your own electrictity?!
    Penny xx

  4. Tickety-boo says:

    Lovely Rosie Posie colours Alice you spinning frenzied genius!!!
    I am to Crochet Club this morning for the first time in ages. Really looking forward to it :)
    Love
    Tickety-boo
    xx

  5. Rachel says:

    That wool is just beautiful!!!!
    I have a beautiful daughter called Molly, so I love that you’ve named it Miss Molly, it’s a perfect name for beautiful wool!
    Hope you have fun making whatever you decide to make with it- I am sure it will be lovely!!
    x

  6. suzanne says:

    Looks gorgeous, can’t wait for the end product! I would stare at all that selfspun wool all day long :p.

  7. Briony says:

    I love your wool hanks. I bought myself a spinning wheel a while back and some how could never quite get inot it, now I’m looking at all your lovely yarns and wishing I had never got rid of it.
    I also love crochet, embroidery and beading so I guess I can’t do everything.
    My husband who is 71 has just started to crochet, it’s taking him a bit of time to get the hang of it but he’s getting there. I have just finished a granny blanket in Rowan pure wool dk, and it has inspired him to make one. You can see it on my blog.
    Lovely blog, will be returning
    Briony
    x

  8. Heather says:

    Miss Molly is LUSH xxx

  9. Penelope says:

    Good golly miss molly you are quite the beautiful rosy hue! Alice I hand stitiched my fabric into one of my knitted bags as sewing with a machine and wool can be challenging. It’s very satisfying sewing by hand something Victorian about it :0) xxx

  10. I love the colour and have a little bee who would love it even more. I’m facinated with your spinning-ness. Look forward to blanket update.

  11. 'me' says:

    such nice yarn !
    And here it is summer, but today it’s also raining and raining .

  12. MeredithJean says:

    Luverly work, you are such a Spinner. The Miss Molly purse will be so pretty in due course. Get one of your hookin’ knittin’ pals to line this one for you, teach you by demonstration.

  13. LaceAnn says:

    A purse sounds like a lovely idea for your pretty Miss Molly :) I’d love to get my fingers on some yarn that looked like that to make something up for my mom. She adores color combos like that! Well done! I’m also envious of your cool rainy day. It rained solidly for a good two hours yesterday, but considering the temp is at 96 degrees F, all the rain did was make it extra hot and muggy…Boo for summer! Anywho, enjoy yourself and I’m looking forward to the delayed update!
    Best Wishes,
    ~Lacey

  14. Melissa says:

    What a lovely yarn! Sewing is not difficult. If I can do it, surely you can too! :)

  15. Julie says:

    Loving this colourway, so pretty. I’m sure you’ll sew a lining for a bag with no problems, happy crafting!

  16. Faye says:

    So beautiful. I. LOVE. It.

  17. Jill says:

    Do you sell any yarns you spin? I’d buy this one up! It’s scrumptious!

  18. Oooo. Lovely colors. Would that the colors came that way on the animal. Wouldn’t that be cool?

  19. tatiana says:

    Oh, my, but that’s one snuggly skein of gorgeous! I think it wants to be a slouchy hat, or perhaps a pair of gauntlets.

  20. Nikkole says:

    A bag made of miss molly would be stunning! Until then, miss Molly might just have to be admired and cuddled with :) I can’t wait to see the update on the blanket! Have a great week!!!

  21. MaryL says:

    How heavenly gorgeous are your colours…!!! Amazing…!!!! Love that you share with us…!!! I Would like to share something with you…I have a disease that causes horrific pain. My pain Dr. suggested meditation, instead of additional narcotics. When I start my session, my minds eye focuses on your Mandala’s & your lovely colors you share. I believe things happen for a reason…I was meant to find your Blog from the other side of the world…Who would have guessed….
    Love to you & Raymond xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  22. Liza says:

    Hi Alice,
    I just love the way your yarn turned out such lovely pinks . Kinda looks like the colors of raspberry sherbert. Can hardly wait to see where your at in the blanket. Take Care and warm wishes to all of your loved ones. Your friend from Texas

  23. Sandi says:

    Yes…Raspberry Sherbert, I like that. I love the comment from MaryL :)
    x Sandi

  24. Patz says:

    Oh WOW Alice! Just wish I could swim in that colourful gorgeousness!! And I am soooooo loving the blanket of the previous post :-) Can’t wait to see it in its amazing full size! And I really need to work on my stash coz I’m so envious of your colours…
    Positive thoughts to MaryL too from this side of the world.
    Hugs to you, Alice, and your loved ones. XOX

  25. Sarah says:

    gorgeous yarn Alice. & I would be happy to sew a fabric lining for the Miss Molly bag-to-be for you. It may need some hand-stitching by you to finish though…..
    Your spinning is very inspiring, & I have been thinking about digging out my drop spindle, & trying to learn to spin again. But do I need another craft? :)

  26. Debra Lloyd says:

    Hi, I just found your blog and am enjoying reading about your journey into spinning. I am new to spinning, although I have been knitting and crocheting since I was seven years old. Let’s just say many years have passed between then and now! I can’t thank my mother enough for teaching me something that has brought me so much pleasure through the years.

  27. Rachel says:

    We’ve been a tad Raymond-deprived lately (hint hint).

  28. Beautiful yarn! You’re doing great!

  29. Wow, what gorgeous colours! Looking forward to seeing what you’re going to make with it!

  30. Cuckoo says:

    Now do be careful, sewing can be addictive too!

Leave a Reply

