The Gypsy Caravan Blanket

I just did a quick “google spell check” on the word ‘Gypsy,’ gypsy being one of those words I do actually know how to spell but it looks funny typed out so I just had to check because I don’t want to bust out a massive typo in my post title… anyway, on google, up pops the Gypsy Kings and I remembered I used to have their CD and looooooooooooved it!  I used to stick it on repeat and listen to it again and again at work but they haven’t even popped into my mind in years!  Are you a Gypsy Kings fan?  Their music makes me feel great when I listen to it, I’ll have to hunt down that CD…

So how are you today?!  Happy Sunday morning to you!  I’m taking a quick assignment break and popping in to say hello and talk about Gypsies… but first, if you live in Wellington you will have seen the amazing sunset we had on Friday night!  Wowee, I was at work, at the dreaded retail job which must be done because it funds my yarny adventures, but is dreaded all the same, and all of a sudden it became pink outside at about 5.30ish, so I went out into this beautiful pink world and wished I had my camera… Lucky for me I had a KB at home where the view was MUCH better than in the city, snapping away… the colours are nowhere near as vibrant as they were, but still breathtaking!

Beautiful work KB!  And my personal favourite…

So today’s post is about my latest crochet WIP.  It has been aaaaaaages since I’ve found something I’ve wanted to crochet, it’s not that I’ve fallen out of love with crochet- far from it!  Crochet is ace, but more that I’ve been expanding my skills into other areas which is ace too, and also feeling that I was getting a bit repetitive with the crochet projects.  But two things happened which initiated this new project, the first was seeing Sarah from Crafts from the Cwtch’s granny square blanket and coveting it!  It’s beautiful and I can’t wait to see it complete!  The second was that I needed somewhere to store my spinning wheel.  So I had a bit of a tidy around my rocking chair, and decided that I needed to use up my basket stash that lives next to my rocker which I use to make cushions and mandalas and pot holders and all those lovely crochet projects that need lots of different shades of colour.  This is inferior stash and I didn’t want to taint my real stash (which lives in zip-lock bags in my wardrobe) with this stash by stashing them together, so I decided to make a blanket with it.  I’ve been wanting to make a blanket for ages but I get terrible performance anxiety when I start big things, and I didn’t want to buy a big stash of wool for a blanket and decide ten squares in that I hated it, so this de-stash blanket is the perfect material to make my first blanket with.  I’ve decided to call it the Gypsy Caravan blanket because KB and my taste in furnishings is probably best described as “ethnic gypsy caravan styles” and my dream home is a big gypsy caravan, and that dream caravan has a blanket in it just like this one.

Enough chatter…. here is the beginning of my biggest project to date!

At this stage, I wasn’t sure about the colours… that’s the performance anxiety kicking in and I started to get a bit nervous, but as KB loves this blanket and is urging me to carry on I did…  Plus, of all the things I have ever made, these cushions are still right up there as my faves and the squares they are made from are the first squares I made, all perfectly random, made before I even considered how to blend colour, and their mis-matchedness is perfection, so I have them  sitting there in full view to keep inspiring me! 

I continued to not be sure until I tried it out for size on my bed…

Apologies for the poor quality of that photo!  It’s hard to get nice lighting in my bedroom!  So once I saw it on my bed I began to see what it might actaully look like and I decided I love it and can’t wait to be sleeping under all of those beautiful spinning circles of colourful goodness!  I’m making it from 8ply wool with a 4.5mm hook.  It  is 16 squares wide as I want it to be queen sized and I want it to hang right over the bed so it is the same size as the duvet.  I’m thinking it is going to be 20 squares high, so I got out the calculator thinking oh yeah, maybe 160 squares, HA!  I admit my maths is terrible!

16 x 20 = 320

THREE HUNDRED AND TWENTY SQUARES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

*gulp*

I’m not doing a border on this one, I plan to edge it with sc’s and hdc’s where two squares join in order to make it nice and even and that will be that!  I’m rather excited… I’ll give you another update soon because the excitement is making me want to work on it and I’ve made quite a bit more headway since those first pictures were taken.

I’m still loving the Tour de Fleece and haven’t become sick of spinning yet!  The last two days of dreaded retail job totally killed my TDF buzz, but I managed to get a bit done in the evenings!  I spent the last five or so days spinning the homegrown Romney and plyed the last of it last night….

Spinning this has been such a great way of learning… my spinning is a lot more even now and a lot thinner which is nice!  I’m ready for a colour explosion on my wheel now, so today’s spin will be from some of the first fleece I spun with, it will be interesting seeing the difference after a month of practice… it’s my one month spin-a-versary today… such a special day!

OK, enough break time, it’s back to the essay… it’s due tomorrow and I want to fine-tune it so I can go and play in the sunshine this afternoon…

Thank you for popping in today!  I hope you have an awesome weekend and spread some love around your part of the word!

Lots of love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

p.s How about this effortless downward facing dog?!  Lucky bugger!

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Crochet Goodness, Granny Squares, Spinning, Tour de Fleece 2011!. Bookmark the permalink.

66 Responses to The Gypsy Caravan Blanket

  1. What – that is a big project! But it’s going to look so beautiful!!

  2. Lisa says:

    Wow your blanket is going to beautiful. I love all the colors that you use in your work. Lisa

  3. Dori says:

    I love the blanket so far! Your spinning is also inspiring. I use a spindle and it seems to be slower. I haven’t finished a skein yet. Thanks for keeping my inspiration going.

  4. Karen says:

    Wow, the sunset is incredible in KB’s pics I can only try to imagine what it must have been like in reality! And as for the Gypsy blanket, it’s going to be fantastic if these first few squares are anything to go by, but the size….LOL good luck kiddo! Hope you’ve got enough of the grey(?) surround colour… can’t wait to watch it grow so am already looking forward to the next pics!! Sorry haven’t commented on your posts lately been a tad busy but will catch up… Good luck with the essay for tomorrow, hugs to all Kxxx

  5. Rachel says:

    I’m with KB, those colours are just amazing- that is going to be one beautiful blanket!!
    I love the long slow process of making a blanket, is almost meditative once you get your groove on with it :)

  6. Genki says:

    Your crochet blanket is looking great, don’t worry about the colours, they are really nice! I’m making a blaket too, it looks very similar to yours, except my border around each circle is going to be white.

  7. Faye says:

    Your blanket inspires me. That is a big, big blanket! And that basket of stash must be a little bit larger than I pictured. I can’t wait to watch those squares multiply.

  8. MaryL says:

    Hi Alice…!!!
    Glorious…Glorious…Sunset…!!! Thank You, KB for capturing such a breathtaking Image…
    Alice, your crocheted afghan will become a Masterpiece…Love the name you have given it…As for me…I am making pinwheels…lots n lots of colorful pinwheels…I’ll decide later what to do with them…Raymond is looking very handsome, as usual…!!! Have you ever seen a double rainbow? I just saw my first one a while ago…How I wish I had a camera with me…!!!!! However, I don’t go anywhere without one, now…!!!
    Sending love to you & yours…Enjoy your new creation…

  9. LaceAnn says:

    I agree with Rachel! That blanket may sound daunting now, but you’ll get into your groove eventually and churn those little squares out faster than you realize! Based on the picture above, I am quite positive it will look wonderful when it’s complete! I’m currently churning out my own little squares for pillows (based on your lovely grandala square, though I had to augment them a bit to fit my pillows) and I’ll admit that I’m rather enjoying the pretty little things. I will have pics up on Ravelry as soon as I finish the first one! Enjoy your crocheting and spinning!
    ~Lacey

  10. Susan H. says:

    Alice, this blanket is lovely. I like the idea of using gray for the “background” color. I just started increasing my granny circle blanket (I took a break leaving it as a lap blanket). When I finally finish it, I am going to make my next one with gray instead of white for the squares. The white just makes me nervous – so much white to get dirty! KB did a great job with those photos, very nice.
    xo Susan

  11. sue says:

    hI alice, love the ‘BIG’ PROJECT YOU ARE DOING. i HAVE just about finished my biggest ever chrochet project. an african flower blanket.(225 hexys) I am doing a try out of ‘join as you go ‘ (i’m learning), and have figured it out thanks to lucy attic24 blog. Love your blog, sue

  12. Liza says:

    Hi Alice,
    Lets just say you have the midas touch. Everything you do turns out beautifuly. The pictures that KB took are out of this world. And raymond looks content.
    Good luck on your essay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Take Care and warm wishes to you and your loved ones.
    Your Friend From Texas

  13. Erin says:

    That’s going to be GORGEOUS!

  14. gracey says:

    Great granny blanket and those sunset pictures were amazing!

    • Kate says:

      Alice,
      I just recently happened upon your blog from the Mandala pattern in Ravelry. I am 6 months into crochet and now in the exploring stage of stretching my skills and adventuring. I love it and love your blog. Well done.

  15. whitelavender says:

    Fantastic photos of the sunset, what amazing colours.Love your granny squares which are going to make a fab blankey, really liking the natural grey wool with the colours. Don’t you love it when you see your cat posing like that. To me it’s a lazy contented,controlled move which makes him feel very contented and maybe a “where shall I go now”. Love him. Shirley

  16. Kristen says:

    Alice, I LOVE your blanket! I’m so glad you swallowed down your performance anxiety and soldiered ahead. Don’t look at it as a whole big project, think in terms of a bunch of little projects, all those little squares are daunting when you do the math, but one at a time is totally do-able. AND…Gipsy Kings! Oh my, yes. “Un Amor” is the best ever. Love them. Just Googled them and found out they are French? Are you as surprised by that as I am?

  17. Janie says:

    Hi Alice,
    I’m a new follower – embroidery is really my ‘thing’, but discovered your blog the other day as I am thinking about dabbling in a bit of crochet and knitting. Love everything on your site – and especially love that you are embarking on this amazing blanket. I enjoy the meditative value of stitching, and I am thinking that crochet offers a similar form of brain relaxation! My Oscar cat sends his best to your Raymond.

  18. Casey says:

    that is going to be a gorgeous blanket! I love the grey behind the bright colors! I look forward to seeing your progress with this blanket :)

  19. MeredithJean says:

    Oh Raymond’s pose is perfection!
    Magnificent sky over Christchurch.. a consoling gift from Mother Nature. The beauty is there to sooth, it makes me feel at once sad and warm, and part of the ever moving current in which we swirl so briefly. Take this moment it whispers, feel inspiration and awe it encourages, share each other while you can it counsels, dare to BE it demonstrates loudest – and only those who are ready will hear.
    Your blanket is wonderful Alice – why do the projects to use our stash involve going out and buying more of it?
    When I think of grey knitting and crochet, I picture my Grandma who stopped swirling in 1967. Often she was working with grey, making socks for my Grandpa. We had friends over for dinner last week and one brought her mother (in her 80s) who still lives on ‘the farm up north’ but visits Adelaide monthly. She knitted her husband and her son 6 pairs of socks each every winter. She assisted like one of the lads on the farm, doing farm things with sheep and goodness knows what else, and kept her knitting in the ute for the times when she wasn’t required. Now there’s a picture that warms me too.
    xxxx

  20. Awesome clouds in that sunset! Great photos KB :-)

    Your blanket is going to be lovely, that mix of colour and a neutral is really nice and satisfies all tastes :-)

    Nice yoga Raymondo, animals make it look so easy don’t they!

    I love the Gypsy Kings Alice, the kids and I used to dance around the playroom with all the musical instruments to that cd, great for the castanets!!

  21. Regula says:

    Very nice blanket. Every journey starts witht the first step and you have already done some steps (squares). :-)

  22. Siobhan says:

    Hi Alice,
    Your blanket-to-be is fabulous! Can’t wait to see it finished, so don’t give up and disappoint me! *wags finger in the direction of NZ. Oh, BTW, my middle daughter’s middle name is Gypsy. Don’t tell her sisters, but her name is my favourite. I’m a writer, and have a thing for names. Did you know Alice means truth and noble. And Raymond means wise protector. Just perfect, don’t you think?
    Blessings from across the pond,
    Siobhan

  23. Sarah says:

    Wowsers! That blanket is goig to be amazing!!!!! I think you are very sensible not to put a border on as this is the point I’m stalling on – my blanket is only 99 squares but it’s so boring to do the border. However I feel spurred on now I’ve seen this and will get onto it again today.

    That sunset is incredible – fabulous pictures and yay for KB capturing them for you :)

    So lovely to see Raymond in action – I was doing my own down dogs in Body Balance yesterday and he’s totally put me to shame!

    I LOVE reading your posts on a Sunday morning, and even more exciting to get a mention. Hope you have a wonderful week – will eagerly await your progress :)
    Sarah xxx

  24. Saartje says:

    Happy spin-a-versary!
    The blanket looks amazing already! I’ve always wanted one of those. One day, when I actually find the time and courage to learn how to crochet, I’ll try and make one myself. One day…

  25. The blanket is looking great so far, I really like the colours you are using, it’s going to look brilliant when it’s finished.

  26. cazz says:

    Gorgeous colours. I LOVE the colours of wool you use. Looking for some crochet inspiration today this is just the blog for it. Fab yoga cat too :)

  27. Michelle says:

    In my head, I always like to think I look like a cat when I stretch, all serene and graceful. The reality, sadly, couldn’t be more different ;-)

    Love the blanket, I’m slowly building myself up to doing a throw for the bed, but it’s going to require a rather large yarn purchase. How terrible for me, having to buy some lovely new yarn… :-)

  28. Tickety-boo says:

    Hiya Alice.
    Wowzers what a sunset! You so have to put that in a frame on the wall.
    That is a lovely blanket indeedy! Would you get out of bed ever if you were snuggled under that circley beauty? You could just stay there all day snuggled with KB and Raymond choosing your favourite circle colour combo.It’s going to be another stunner.
    Is my stratitis catching???? ;o)
    Love
    Tickety-boo
    xxxx

  29. Carla says:

    Hi Alice

    I absolutely love your blog. I love your blanket and its earthiness. Many blessings. CM

  30. Rain says:

    Gorgeous Alice and Raymond, I am LOVING your Gypsy Caravan Blanket!!! One day I shall learn (relearn!) how to crochet so I too can make something so beautiful! I hope you don’t mind but I saved the image of Raymond in Adho Mukkha Svanasana to add to my yoga group, Shanti Shakti Yoga, on fb. Cheeky, I know but it is so wonderful to be able to show people that these poses do come from the heart of the moment and from the beauty of nature! Blessings!

    • renee says:

      Being that this is beyond my wildest dreams of crochet your work design an spin-ing the yarns, how soft it looks . Music of D Jango Reinhardt from France born Gypsey decent have you heard of him ? hope you have . love it, oh your friend will love it too by your side thanx once again

  31. Penelope says:

    Ok Raymond no need to show off… I need to practice more I know! Alice what a stunner your gypsey blanket is going to be, such swirls of colour and natural beauty going on there. It is a mammoth task but will be oh so wrth it in the end. Well done you for starting it and keeping your enthusiasm going. KB thinks along your wavelength with the camera and snapping such mind blowing skies. Wow, don’t think I’ve ever seen such beauties. So looking forward to seeing your blankie grow and grow and grow xox Penelope xox happy 3rd week of July xox

  32. Penelope says:

    Darn after all that I spelt GYPSY wrong!

  33. D Markey says:

    Greetings! I’ve enjoyed reading your posts about your newest passion and I’m loving seeing your beautiful grannys back on center stage! Love it. It is gorgeous and I will look forward to seeing your progress.
    I’ve been having lots of fun lately working on baby socks/slippers, mitts, hats, all for my dear friend’s first new grand baby. The shower was yesterday, so I’m on to my next project. I have 2 blankets to do, but first I am going to make a mandala. The thought of that puts a big smile on my face.
    Good luck with your essay.
    Diane

  34. penelope dubois says:

    Wow, never realized how long your tail is Raymond!! Very charming!
    So, I am inspired once again, Alice!
    I am going to copy out the tutorial you did for the circle granny and make some coasters. That CD idea that “By Elizabeth” did was pretty nifty!
    Your blankie looks so comfy on the bed!

  35. Louise says:

    Love your new project and I’m sure you’ll have the blanket finished in a snip! The colours are fantastic, as always. Hope you had a fabulous weekend.
    Louise

  36. Carole says:

    Oh I love the blanket, it will look amazing and you’ve done lots already :)

    Those sky photos are amazing – I love it when the sky turns pink and the whole light and atmosphere changes for those few moments.

    Raymond is looking mighty fine today.

    I hope you got your essay done and enjoy your spinning xXx

  37. Jill says:

    The blanket is just the sort of thing I want to make one day…having seen this one: http://www.ravelry.com/projects/rosape/hexagons-grey by Rosape… I love the way the grey gives a perfect background to the popping colours! Can’t wait to see it finished…. and the colours are perfect :)x

  38. amandacav says:

    Oh Alice,
    As always, your works inspires and amazes me. I love your choice of color and I think your granny blanket is going to be amazing. I wish I was able to spin, your work has been making me drool!!

  39. kiwiyarns says:

    I think that blanket is going to be your piece de resistance!! The sunset was awesome on Friday – I’m glad you got snaps of it. The kids and I were driving home at the time and I had to force myself to keep my eyes on the road! Your spinning is looking beautifully lofty and springy. Your mum must be proud! :-)

  40. juniperjune says:

    oh my, what an ambitious project! the colors are gorgeous, and i love the gray background to anchor them.

  41. Maria says:

    Your new project is looking good, love to see how it grows

  42. Robin says:

    Wow what a great post. Enjoyed all your pictures of the sunset and your new project. I love sunsets they are all so different and amazing! The blanket will be so warm and cosy, the random colors are what make a true granny. It’s going to be a feat but if anyone can do it, it’s YOU! Keep us posted on its growth! Good luck with your essay and have a great week. xoRobin❤

  43. sandiart says:

    Yogi ninja as well as wool ninja, Raymond keeps raising the bar. Love all the colors of the sunsets and your Gypsy blanket, I still haven’t introduced grey/natural into my blanket yet…perhaps the next one.
    x Sandi

  44. Makiko says:

    Hello Alice, I am Makiko in Japan and a crochetting mother of a boy. I happened to find your blog a few months ago and since then I always enjoy your beautiful combination of so many colors, which I can never think of.
    320 motifs for a blanket! Long way to go but not endless! I can say this because I am crochetting a bed covering for my boy (he requested one when I completed a small blanket) and when I started it last year I figured I would need 408 squares…and I finished 330 so far *sigh*. I will take a few months off from the wool WIP though; it’s notorious summer here.
    Your choice of colors are perfect, even though they are randomly chosen, so don’t worry and go on! I am looking forward to seeing your another work, and beautiful pictures of the sky.

  45. Ali says:

    Oh my! I am going to love your blanket – gorgeous colour choices!! I am planning on making at least two – so you can inspire me with yours until I have time to get stuck into mine :)

  46. Julia Grant says:

    Your blog and pictures always brings joy. You get me excited about working on my projects. Thank you for letting us peep into your colourful world of joy! Love the blanket!

  47. sarah says:

    hi there i just came across your blog and im just loving it!! very inspirational i adore all the rainbows and bright colours but most of all i LOVE raymond he is a beautiful little guy : )

  48. Love the squares! I know what you mean about taking on a big project. I have found that the only blankets I can make have to be in one piece for some reason. The thought of having to sew or hook squares together makes my brain want to have a melt down! Will be watching your progress with excitement

  49. Melissa says:

    I’m so glad to hear you have that same problem with words! Sometimes they just don’t look right. The problem with big projects is that they take a while, but once they are done, the sense of accomplishment is amazing! Glad to get some Raymond love. It’s been a while :)

  50. oldbagpuss says:

    Super sunset! Loving the new blankie, it’s going to be so snuggly and cosy.

    Well done on the downward dog Raymond, but i’d like to see you trying the cobblers pose next LOL

    Good luck with the essay Alice

  51. Sandra says:

    Fabulous sunset pictures! Love the blanket – it will look great on the bed x

  52. Sarah says:

    The colours against the muted grey look just right. It will be make a lovely Gypsy blanket.

  53. maudiemaudie says:

    I used to love the Gypsy Kings as well and that down facing dog is just perfect and with such an elegant tail too!

  54. MeMeRose says:

    This blanket is going to be a beauty… I bought some silver grey a few months ago to make something similar, but as yet I haven’t got round to it. I’m looking forward to following your progress with this project. I love the gypsy caravan name too x

  55. Sarah says:

    Ooh it’s going to be wonderful

  56. Gill says:

    Hi! I’m new to your blog and so glad i found you! Just love this granny blanket, the colours are fantastic set againist the dark grey – now i want to start one like this, i love it! It will make me get on and finish my current project quickly just so i can work with bright colours against grey.

  57. Anne Marie says:

    I love Raymond!!!!!!!!!! Lots!!!!!!!!

    Your blanket will look beautiful. I would never have thought that grey would provide such a beautiful background. Lovely.

  58. Dgibbs says:

    Love this blog! This would be an easy one to carry around with me and work on bit by bit, at least until the final piece together.

  59. Olga. says:

    OMG!!!! Good luck ;) i bet it`s going to look beautiful!!! kisses to Raymond.

  60. Joanna says:

    Wow what amazing pictures of the sky – so beautiful.
    Your blanket is looking great – that’s a lot of squares!
    Joanna xxx

  61. Nanita says:

    That blanket is going to be amazing! I love the Gypsy Kings, and if you like the Spanish gitano/flamenco style, try Camarón de la Isla. Ooh and if you have the time do check the movies of Tony Gatlif and the brilliant Emir Kusturica (Black Cat, White Cat)… Oops I got carried away, I wrote a paper on gypsy influences in the arts and get too excited when someone shows interest in this topic :D xxxx

  62. Cuckoo says:

    I like how the beige/grey yarn makes the colours POP! You have a magical colour talent.
    xxx

  63. sarah says:

    im so in ewe of this im struggling doing one african flower!! ha great work

Leave a Reply

