Monsoon

Hellooo!!!

And Good Morning!  I was going to write this post last night, so I uploaded all the photos, but it takes a looooooooooooooooooooooooong time to create mosaics and upload them, and after all that my eyes were closing so I thought it would be best to save the post until the morning!  As I was shutting down my laptop at 11pm I thought to myself that it was funny that my Saturday was over and the Northern hemisphere bloggers’ Saturday is just beginning.  Then I thought about you all again, up there, this morning when I woke, having your day while I was fast asleep, and now you’re going to bed on Saturday and I’m about to have my Sunday.  Time difference is quite fascinating isn’t it?  That we’re all living our lives at the exact same moment, but all at different times…. Anyway, this is a craft blog not an amateur philosophy blog, so let’s get on with the crafting!

What a dilemma about what to post today!  I’ve heard the term “bi-craftual” flung around lately and I must say, I love it!  I had to toss up between my knitting FO, my crochet WIP or the latest bounty from the magic wheel… I decided on the spinning, but the crochet and knitting will be coming very soon!

Last week was an extreeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeemely productive week for me.  I’m on holiday from classes with a few assignments due soon, but nothing urgent, and it rained.  All week.  I barely left the house (literally) and in between doing bits of assignment I spent the week spinning, knitting and hooking.

Bliss!

Last week I bought the spiral of unspun goodness by Maude and Me in the very first picture. (want one?  her etsy shop is HERE) “Me” is Tracee and “Maude” is her cat, they are Wellingtonians who dye fleece into beautiful and irresistible colours (OK so just Tracee, not Maude too) and then sell it in places I frequent which is not so great for my budget but wonderful for my soul.  The other day I found this one and managed to wait  five whole days before spinning it into a big skein of yarn I love so much it’s scary!

A few people asked about the spinning process, so I took lots of photos for you.  Being that I’m only a very beginner spinner, I only know one way of doing things right now, but I hope you enjoy!

So to begin we split the fleece into nice long strips and spin it onto a bobbin… my aim right now is to create a yarn that is 8ply… I’m nearly getting there…  My spinning is no longer a mix between “super-super-bulky” and lace weight…. Once that bobbin is full, you do it again onto another bobbin so you have two!  (Top photos)

Then, (bottom photos) you put a fresh bobbin on the wheel, spin it in the opposite direction, and with the help of a lazy Kate, you ply the two strands together.  That is, without a doubt, my favourite part of the process.  It’s when it all comes together and it looks like yarn… so much fun.

It may look like my spinning has dramatically improved lately- I’ve got a few skeins between my last lot and this one -which I named Monsoon- to show you at some point, but I heart this one so much I couldn’t wait.

The last part of the process is to wash and spin-dry the skein as the fibres are all stretched (according to the spinning-goddess that is Mum) and do you know, I MUST love spinning, because usually I get a bit bored with the fussing around, but I even love this part of the process.  Then, voila!  One beautiful skein of yarn that is currently too precious to make anything with, that sits around being lovingly stroked and admired!  This one is 100gms and seems to be a lot bigger than the others, so I’ll measure it and have a hunt on Ravelry for something to make with it!

OK then lovelies, I hope you have a happy rest of your weekend!  I’m off to visit my Mum and Dad and brave the freezing wind and go to the vege markets.  Thank you for popping by!

Lots of love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Monsoon

  1. Nikkole says:

    Alice it looks wonderful! I am in love with the colors! I can’t wait to see what you make!!!!! Whatever it will be I know it will be a masterpiece!

  2. Sarah says:

    Beautiful – I adore those colours! You are surely tri-craftual now? Or is more than two just multi-craftual? I don’t know – but I am a little in awe :)

    (And I also had the SAME though about time earlier today -Saturday- when your comment on my post mentioned Sunday and I was eating breakfast on Saturday!)

    So whatever time/day it is, enjoy it xxx

  3. Hannah says:

    Love the monsoon! May I ask? How do you wash and spin dry the yarn?? I never washed yarn and can’t quite imagine how it is done. About the time difference, it sure is fascinating. You are one day ahead of me! How can that be? Does this mean that you are one day older than some of us? Ha Ha. Don’t understand that one either.

  4. Bimbi says:

    What wonderful colours! Spinning sounds like a lot of fun. I have an antique spinning wheel, but absolutely no idea how to spin. I can imagine the sense of achievement as the spun yarn appears. Fabulous!
    How is Raymond?
    Bimbi x

  5. Tickety-boo says:

    and so the alchemy continues :o)
    I rediscovered my hooky mojo today after my knit-athon startitis. Hope it will be a ta-dah by tomorrow.
    My name’s Tickety-boo and I am bi-craftual! Fantastic phrase.
    Love
    Tickety-boo
    xxxx

  6. Lisa says:

    Wow so very pretty. It looks luxuriously soft.

  7. wendy says:

    Beautiful wool!!! and beautiful colours, will turn into something lovely.
    xo

  8. Lovely yarn Alice…its in your blood for sure :-) I just navaho plyed some yarn, makes it nice and chunky! Have you tried that yet??

    Have a great Sunday :-)

  9. penelope dubois says:

    Bi-craftual – that’s me! Can’t wait to see what you do with the Monsoon!
    Tonight I don’t know what to do, knit on my shawl, hook a blankie or Spin Annie’s fur!

  10. Susan H. says:

    Hi Alice, I am always facinated by the time differences as well. Knowing someone already finished their Saturday when mine has not begun is so neat.
    I LOVE that yarn you made, so pretty. I can’t wait to see what you make with it. We’ve had some rain around here but not very consistently in my neighborhood. I would like some full rainy days so I can do nothing but crochet.
    xo Susan

  11. Rachel says:

    such beautiful photos, hope you enjoy your holidays, there is nothing nicer than time to do the things you love with the people you love :)
    x

  12. Michelle says:

    Let me know when you will start selling your creations! I love it! I want to get into spinning, but I lack the funds currently. I thinking of having DH make me one. I also just discovered spinning, and I love it! I told my DH that we need to have sheep or alpacas, because it would be cheaper to feed them than my yarn habit. LOL!
    Michelle
    http://croppperhopper.blogspot.com

  13. Liza says:

    Hi Alice
    Loved what you did with the yarn, colors are very pretty. Have you ever made some slippers the yarn looks just right for toasty slippers a treat for tired , cold feet. I found this blog under nequibah
    she does all kinds of slippers one of them is called the holiday button side boot. Best wishes to you
    and all your loved ones . Warm reguards your friend from Texas

  14. MeredithJean says:

    Spinneretta Meistronomous! You made magic yarn from Tracee’s unspun dream. And I love your yarn photography Alice, beautiful sharing xxx I love to think about the position of the Sun. We in the southern hemisphere have just passed the Winter Solstice and have had the longest rays of sun stretching into our lives, and drawing the longest noon shadows. Our back windows face north so the sun streams in at this time of year as she sits lowest in our sky. The rug and floorboards that never feel the warmth directly get kissed for one day only….. there’s a love story in there… but it’s tragic and full of waiting…

    • Lyn Zalk says:

      MeredithJean: I was redirected back to this blog in the one Alice recently wrote… I am writing as I wanted to tell you I adored your descriptive bit about the rug and floorboards love story with the Sun during your WInter Solstice…. such lovely images in my head… I also noticed you had written it on 7/3 which happens as well to be my wedding anniversary <3 Your final comment: "about a love story both tragic and full of waiting really touched a special cord with me…. Lovely writing!!!! You have a gift with words :)

  15. Jude says:

    My son has been working in Sydney for the last 6 months (instead of London) and I’ve mused about the sleeping while he works ‘thing’ many times….
    The skein is a wonderful mix, well done…can’t wait to see what you make with it..
    Take care
    Jude

  16. Carole says:

    The whole time difference thing messes with my mind a little too!

    Loving the colours in Monsoon and I’m really excited to see some projects with all this yarn.

    Enjoy the rest of the weekend and good luck with your assignments xXx

  17. kiwiyarns says:

    You’re such an adventurous and inspiring crafty spirit. Enjoy that Monsoon! xx

  18. ohangelina says:

    i love your posts. i always know i’m gonna see some form of beauty in them.. love the wooden spools and you are doing such a marvelous job, i love the colours. i know just what your philosophical mind means.. my friends are all in the northern hemisphere and im down here in the south and when i say good mornin’ they say good nite!

    anyhow, since you have only begun spinning and seem to be doing quite fantastically, i have hope that i myself can learn it too one day. love ! xoxox

  19. Planet Penny says:

    Oh that yarn is FAB – YOO – LUS! I LOVE those colours! Like a gorgeous pudding made with berries and cream, just yummy!

  20. Amanda says:

    Wow, I am in love with all these fleeces and yarns you keep showing us! Thanks for sharing the process :)

    I’ve been meaning to ask… how do you create your mosaics? I see them on various blogs but have no idea how you all do it.

    As for time differences, isn’t it a bit mind-blowing? With knowing so many people from around the world now thanks to blogs and forums it is hard not to be aware of it and wondering what other people are up to. And its quite fun to do so too, don’t you think?

  21. lily says:

    Fascinating insight into the spinning process, after seeing your beautiful spun yarn it’s definately on my to-do list at some point……………..the colours are gorgeous.

  22. Monica says:

    gorgeous colours!

  23. Baautiful! Can’t wait to see what you make with it. Have you or your mum tried spinning cashmere???

  24. Debra Wolf says:

    lovely, thanks for the brief explanation and the pix of the process

  25. Joanna says:

    Beautiful colours Alice, look forward to seeing what you make with it.

  26. Stacey says:

    I’ve been so tempted to try my hand at spinning and with results like these, who could resist? Your yarn is gorgeous – I would snap that up in a second if I had half a chance. Think about this: if you sold it on Etsy, and I bought it in London, how long would it take (in days) to arrive? Could you say 2 – 3 working days, but add an extra day for the time difference? I always get caught out by that when buying things in other parts of the globe ;)

  27. Fee says:

    Crikey Alice that is scrummy yarn you have spun there ! :-) xx
    My name is Fee and I am Bi – craftual ……and proud of it ……lol xxxx

  28. Mary Jo says:

    Beee YOU tee ful colors. jCannot wait to see what you do with them.
    Lovely blog as always. What ever time it really is…I am glad that you are there and I am glad that we are friends.

  29. Sara says:

    Hello Alice… I have been so intrigued by your new yarn spinning obsession. These look AMAZING! I asked my hubby to sign me up for a yarn spinning class this month for my birthday gift. I am sooooo excited and can hardly wait! Wishing you a happy week. :)

  30. Ruth says:

    This is beautiful! The colours take my breath away!

  31. Such excitment for me yesterday, i went to a summer fete and there was a demonstration of spinning, i told one of the laides i had been reading a bloggers account of learning to spin and now i had seen it being done, big smiley smiles on my face all day yesterday

  32. I’m just thinking that as I write this, you’re fast asleep Alice! It is lovely, lovely, lovely seeing the beginning to end process of your spinning, it’s very satisfying to see where your yarn has its beginnings. Thos colours are beautiful, they remind me of the moon for some reason. Can you bear to knit it up?! Love Vanessa xxx

  33. Liz says:

    I know nothing about spinning.. but I do know that this is GORGEOUS!!! Love all the colors! Great job, can’t wait to see what you create with it! :)

  34. sandiart says:

    Once again…beautiful. You have the gift of blending colors.
    x Sandi

  35. Ronda says:

    “Monsoon” always reminds me of the show “Absolutely Fabulous” with Edwina Monsoon. Love that show AND the yarn you spun!!!

  36. The colours are stunning! I would never guess your a beginner at spinning

  37. Penelope says:

    Oh Aice those bobbins are a work of art within themselves and then with your beautifully spun yarn..well what more can a girl say! What bliss not leaving the house for most of a week…sounds like a plan for me this winter sometime :0) It’s so hot and humid here today I’ve been fr a swim in the sea after work today, winter feels a long way off which is only a good thing as far as I am concerned! xox Happy days to you and KB and Raymond x

  38. Penelope says:

    Oops sorry about the incorrect spelling of your most gorgeous name ;0)

  39. Nisilynne says:

    Absolutely beautifully done. I know nothing of spinning, but this is wonderful. Enjoy your new talent!

Leave a Reply

