Three skeins of Seraphim

Hellooo!!!

And how are you today?  Well I hope!

You may remember the photo above from THIS post, going back a few months… I bought this beautiful 100gm spiral of fleece with the intention of getting my lovely Mum to spin it for me, as up until recently she has been my personal spinner!  Not anymore though, now that she has taught me how, she has relieved herself of that duty… although she did prepare this for me to spin, lovely lady that she is!  My Mum is quite fond of her drumcarder- if you’ve never seen a drumcarder, click here and scroll down a bit, it’s the evil-looking, spiky thing- as she likes her fleece colours to be blended, so spent an afternoon drumcarding this spiral of fleece which was named “carnival” by the dyer!

We ended up with this…

As soon as I got home, I started to spin the fleece- it was irresistible!  The colours, now quite muted were still stunning after being blended, and were quite like spinning the rainbow that appears on the top of oil when it rains… you know what I mean?  Although, not quite so disastrous to the environment of course.

I ended up with three little skeins, 100gms split between them, and despite being blended, they’re all quite different.

What I love about this spin, is that the colours are so magical, and after quite a while, KB and I decided to name this lot Seraphim, because they are very angelic, and so soft!  I like how I have to look closely to appreciate the colours, that they’re not eye-poppingly bright (did I just say that?) but the variegation is there if you look closely…

Being that I only have 100gms, I have no idea what I’m going to make with this!  100gms of 10py won’t go far with a crochet hook, and I don’t want to knit a hat with it, so for now it will be lovingly placed in my stash for future inspiration!  The funny thing with spinning, I’m noticing, is that when I’m spinning, I’m creating an FO, just like when I hook or knit something, except the spun FO becomes something to make an FO with!  Does the handspun go into my stash page on ravelry or my projects page?!  It kind of fits into both, maybe it needs a separate category.

I’ve been trying in vain to upload my June mosaic, it’s not happening tonight, maybe because it’s only the 29th, maybe if I try again tomorrow it will be fine!  So I’ll see you soon for a June summary!

Wishing you a beautiful day,

Lots of love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Three skeins of Seraphim

  1. Stel says:

    I’ve got that! Well, similar, to the bottom ons in the bottom pic.
    I also struggled to decide What To Do, and in the end it became a close-fitting cowl scarve, done in trebles with a few double rows thrown in. ANd a few rows of solid colour to lengthen in.
    My other small ball became 2 mug cosies. Similar in colour, byt the pink and green were just a wee bit brighter.
    Enjoy!

  2. Stel says:

    (Sorry, the typos! Still early in RSA and fingers cold).

  3. Tan says:

    I just love your blog. Love it. You do so many things I probably never will (knitting, spinning) but your enthusiasm and excitement makes for such a lovely read sitting here in my office on a dreary Melbourne Tuesday.

    Looking forward to your mosaic.
    xx

  4. Tas says:

    Oh that is such scrummy yarn. I always find it interesting to see the before and after shots of fibre!

  5. Louise says:

    It goes in your stash page, and you get to check the little box that says “My handspun”, and it appears under the Handspun tab at the top. Very cool.

    It’s fun isn’t it?! I discovered spinning only a few months ago. The colours you create are like another dimension in yarn and space…

  6. Leigh Ann says:

    Beautiful yarn! You and your Mom are soooooooo talented!!!

  7. Julia Grant says:

    My first thought was “northern lights” or aurora borealis. Beautiful. Great job. I can’t wait to get back to the YS and start my spinning career.

  8. Colette says:

    Amazing how the drum carder changed the brightness so much. I actually have an identical carder to your Mum’s, a gift from a friends, so far I have only carded jacob fleeces with it, never attempted to blend colours, boy so much to learn!!

  9. Sarah says:

    Wow. Those colours are stunning! It’s so nice that this is a skill handed down from your mum too. Xxx

  10. oldbagpuss says:

    The drum carder does look like a piece of machinery you be wary of, you could loose a finger in that, but it sure does make the yarn nice and pretty

  11. that is always the dilema isn’t it……you have to spin a lot of wool the same to be able to complete a big project. I reckon that you should whip up some more and make it into one of your granny cowls, that way the colours won’t overpower the lovely granny stitches :-)

  12. MeredithJean says:

    SUCH beautiful yarn! Has all the magic of pale blue opal. How wonderful that you are exploring your colour pleasure territory Alice. Isn’t it exciting to feel the expansion of colour love?

  13. ohangelina says:

    mMMm. carnival is delicious. x

  14. Karen says:

    Well Alice! I let out an loud gasp and made my sleeping dogs jump!!!!!! Oh i love it! I think, as you’re going to be doing lots of this I have the distinct feeling, that all home made, home spun yarn should have it’s own category! Also I though how gorgeous it would be to see it knitted out flat whilst I was drinking in the colours, then read you don’t know what to make. Thought: you could knit a heart, for example, and frame it as a picture, and you could look at it every day and gasp at the sheer beauty of the fleece, colour, spinning, yarn, knitting…. just a thought! luv ya xxxxx

  15. Sandra says:

    Now I really think spinning is some kind of magic! It seems amazing to me that there is such a difference between the dyed fleece and the end yarn, both yummy in their own way :-)

  16. Jude says:

    I’m so jealous!! Where do you get it from?
    they are beautiful colours…
    Take care

  17. When I see yarn like your Seraphim it makes me sigh very heavily…. I can’t handle the lanolin so can’t spin raw fleece and I just know I would love to do that! Ah well… I will get such a lot of pleasure from watching you produce yours! Can’t wait to see what you make of it in the future….

    Jill (Stocki.blogspot.com)

  18. Teje says:

    Hi Alice! That yarn is just adorable! I loooove the colours! You could knit a small scarf with very big needles so that it would come very ‘open’ and light and wouldn’t need much yarn.
    Enjoy it what ever you decide to make!
    xxx Teje

  19. Tickety-boo says:

    oooo I am liking serephine very much! It looks like Candy Floss before it is spun. That is one serious bit of kit isn’t it! I need one of those for middle littlies hair (although the noise she makes when I brush it sounds like that’s already what I use!!!!)
    Love
    Tickety-boo
    xxxx

  20. Anne Marie says:

    That is soooooo beautiful! I’d love to spin, not much room in my little house for all the other things I do too.

  21. gracey says:

    Very pretty…they look nice and soft…

  22. Vanessa says:

    Great job with your spinning. Looks amazing! You can make a pair of fingerless gloves! :)

  23. penelope dubois says:

    I just love the whole process! Even down to owning your own herd!

  24. Faye says:

    Beautiful!

  25. LaceAnn says:

    Seraphim is such a beautiful name for your new homespun! It looks so sweet and fluffy. Can’t wait to see what you decide to create with it! I’m sure you’ll come up with something wonderful, as always :)

  26. MiA says:

    Great, you learned how to spin your own yarn!! Good on you :)
    And – the yarn you made is absolutely gorgeous! Guess, we will see more lovely yarns coming up here pretty soon ;)

  27. Tanne says:

    I LOVE- LOVE- LOVE the way your hand spun yarn turned out!!! :)

  28. Carol says:

    Seraphim, yes, I can see that, really beautiful, muted but warm colours, stunning in fact. We do need some angel softness and warmth around us.
    After our (too hot for me) day yesterday it was lovely and cool today and I did some gardening – think my knees are going to be none to happy with me later!
    Carol xx

  29. val says:

    “Eye poppingly bright” is now going to be a part of my everyday vocabulary. I thank you.

  30. Penelope says:

    Oooooh what a thrill for you Alice! Sometimes the process is better than the end product in what we do in our lives but in this case you have the process and then the beautiful end which is just the beginning again when you use this yarn for one of your wonderous makes! I’m starting to get spinning envy-itis after seeing all your gorgeously spun yarn. I especially love love love the cushion you knitted for your mum, just DIVINE xxx P xox

  31. Gail says:

    Wow, how cool to spin your own wool and then to make something from it!! I would love to try my hand at spinning some wool, the cushion cover you made your Mom is very nice, and I like the scarf you made, thanks for the link. You must have a magic wand at the rate you knit, crochet, I can’t seem to knit fast enough and have a few things on the go at the moment. Love the colors!

  32. Liza says:

    Hello Alice,
    What a perfect name for the soft colors in your yarn. Can hardly wait to see what you will make with them. How I wish you lived near me to teach me how to spin. You are doing such a nice job and doing wonders with the wool that you spin. . Take Care best wishes
    Your friend from Texas

  33. Jeanne says:

    I’ve been crocheting forever; but I’ve only been spinning since December and knitting since April. I have found that I spin (and dye with Kool-Aid) my wool, without a plan. Like, I spin just for the sake of spinning. I have a growing stash of my handspun and most of it I have no plans to do anything with! LOL Especially my earlier yarns… They are so thick and chunky; and each time I spin a new skein, it’s thinner than before. So I have this gradiation from thick to thinner (not “thin” yet) and I have no idea what to do with it all!

    I like the idea that the one commenter made about knitting hearts and framing them. I think that’s a fabulous idea! And if you make one from each of your handspun skeins, you also have a way to mark your progress.

  34. whitelavender says:

    Fantastic,beautiful wool and spinning. Shirley

  35. Holy Goat! It looks like cotton candy!

  36. kiwiyarns says:

    I think it’s the perfect colour to knit into a varied ply project (like a multi-textured scarf or hat or bag). Your handspun will make the project special and unique and gorgeous. Still not tempted to do any spinning of my own though. hehe.

  37. Melissa says:

    That yarn is absolutely amazing! I love the softness of it. Amazing how carding the wool changed the color that much!

  38. Sarah says:

    Wow, your yarn is just gorgeous!! My Mum would spin when we were kids, but it was always in natural colours and seemed to turn into very prickly, itchy yarn!!

    BTW – you’ve got an award over at my place today – http://shabbychicsarah.blogspot.com

    S x

  39. It’s absolutely fascinating to see the roving before it’s spun up, amazing how it changes once it’s been spun in to yarn. Alice, you are a master of the art of spinning already, what you’ve created is truly beautiful, literally mouthwatering. I love hand spun yarns, but seem to have become more of a collector of them, non of them have ever made it into a knitted garment yet! I just love them as skeins too much! You almost want to make that yarn into something you can gaze at, like a lampshade cover, just think how the light would make it all come alive at night, or even during the day! Love Vanessa xxx

  40. Barbara Reichard says:

    Absolutely beautiful from beginnng to end. Thanks for sharing.
    Barbara

  41. Kristen says:

    Oh wow, your yarn is so beautiful! The muted colors are just what was needed–as usual, your mum is right. :) I can’t wait to see what you make with your lovely skeins. How ’bout some mittens?

Leave a Reply

