Deadlines

Hellooo!!!

Happy Sunday!  I’ve had a different type of Sunday today, it’s my Mum’s birthday today, so we’ve been out doing fun things, celebrating, eating far too much cake (me, not her so much) and visiting our fave yarn shop of course on the way home from lunch!  I’ve been making one of her presents all week and finally got it finished last night *whew*

What is it about a deadline?  For the last few weeks I’ve been struggling to find something to make, having inspiration issues, and as soon as I get involved with something that must be made by Sunday at 10am before we leave for lunch, I’m inspired to make a million different things!  Even the sock that has grown at an average of 2cms/week in the last month suddenly became the most irresistable project in the history of sock knitting!

I decided to make something out of all the skeins of handspun lying around my lounge… the lounge is starting to look like a very messy yarn shop and I needed to intervene!  As many of the skeins were 20-40gms they weren’t substantial enough for lots of small projects, so I decided to knit a cushion cover with them.  It was a very fun project, until I decided to make it a present for my Mum.  Then deadline-dread kicked in, but even after that it was still fun, and I warn you, it’s very er…. handmade and rustic rather than perfection in knitting form, but of all the gifts I gave my Mum this morning, it seemed to be her favourite which is nice.  Warm fuzzies.  Mum loves handmade things.  I guess it doesn’t wear off even when your kid is 30.

Ta-daaaaa!

I finished this cushion so late in the game I didn’t even get time to take it’s picture…. I wrapped it in tissue, stuffed it in a bag, gave it to Mum and immediately took it back to take it’s picture outside in Mum and Dad’s wintery garden.

So if you look closely at the stripes (if the brightness doesn’t burn your retinas!!!) you can see Fire Cracker and the Herbaliser, plus my very first effort, the purple the buttons are sewn onto and some more Mum plied for me to “get it off her bobbins”…

On the back are Agent Orange and Call Girl, plus more of the Herbaliser and other bits Mum spun…

The cushion insert is from the second hand shop, and the buttons are the coolest handmade buttons ever made which I bought from the person who made them and was having a destash… they’re clay!  I seriously LOVE these buttons!

So it is a handmade, upcycled extravaganza!  KB loved it too and wanted me to make her a vest like it… I’ve still got lots of Mum’s handspun and can’t stop spinning my own, so who knows… maybe she’ll show up on here soon enough with a handspun v-neck vest.

I had such fun reading through the comments you left on my last post about knitting/hooking-related disasters, I hope you didn’t mind me having a giggle at your doll-sized cardigans, bed-sized cot-blankets and teeny-tiny shawls!  So thank you for sharing!  My scarf, while beautiful is about to meet it’s death… I’m rabbiting it… the reason?  Pilling.

Yes.  I’ve never had anything pill on me before, but a week of wear (and how much wear and tear does a scarf really get?!) has left it pilled, and I decided that instead of trashing $44 worth of lovely yarn, I’ll rabbit it and knit it into a baby something-or-other as a gift because baby stuff gets grown out of before it gets worn out.  (I presume)  Better to be recycled than live stuffed at the back of my closet!

As well as your lovely comments, I had another amazing surprise on Friday morning via Ravelry… the lovely Sarah left a comment about her shawl frustrations, so of course I went to visit her blog to see this shawl, and fell totally in love with the pattern, told Sarah, and the next morning found in my Ravelry message box a copy of the pattern Sarah had sent me as a gift!

*gasp*

How blessed did I feel at that moment!?  Thank you soooooooooooooooooooooo much Sarah, you have no idea how much your generosity meant to me!  The pattern link is HERE and I’m sure you’ll understand why I love it!  Sarah’s lovely blog Crafts from the Cwtch is well worth a visit too if you’re not one of her devoted followers already!  She is making a particularly beautiful granny square blanket right now, which makes me want to get my granny on whenever I see it, so make sure you pop over and say hello and soak up her good vibes!

OK then!  I’m off… I can’t decide what to do, spin my latest fleece which I can’t wait to tell you about?  Carry on with the project I started the minute I finished the handspun cushion. or start one of the two others I’m dying to begin?!  Lucky I’m on mid-trimester break now so I can fit it all in (although it’s only a pretend break, there are still miles of essays to write!).

Wishing you a wonderful Monday,

Lots of love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Knitting!. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Deadlines

  1. Cindy says:

    WOW, That cushion to die for. I bet your mum loved it! Its gorgeous. Such a special gift, especially as it was hand knitted by you, and the yarn was home spun!

  2. Heather says:

    Hi Alice!
    I’m so excited to tell you this, but when I went to Woolfest yesterday, there was a stand selling Tekapo yarn! Amazing. They had the opal sock yarn that you used as well. It was pretty crowded so I didn’t get to look at the price but that’s the first time I’ve ever seen it in the UK. You’d have loved Woolfest actually, it seems like just your thing :)
    xxxxx

  3. Rachel says:

    The cushion is beautiful, no wonder your Mum loved it.
    A vest would also be adorable in it- I think that should be your next project!!
    And how much do you love random cyberkindness- that is so lovely about Sarah and the shawl pattern.
    Here’s hoping there will be lots more random cyber kindness going around

  4. Katie says:

    Love those cushion stripes :-) Such an awesome gift and those buttons are so cute!

  5. sandiart says:

    Now that is some cushion and I can totally see it knitted into a vest. Love the handmade buttons too, as I am a bit of a button glutton.
    Loved your scarf, what a shame it is pilling. Happy Birthday to your lovely mum.
    x Sandi

  6. Tanne says:

    I just LOVE to come here on Sunday mornings to read your latest adventures. That’s one lovely cushion you’ve made your mum. No wonder she’s so happy with it! :)
    It hurts my heart that you had to undo your fantastic, beautiful, I-want, to-die-for shawl. But i do understand you though. Pleeeease let the pictures of it stay on your blog!!!! :)

    xxTanne

  7. Alice I love that cushion cover you have made for your mums birthday!! How lovely that it is a combination of yours and hers with the spun yarn. How good at spinning are you to be able to get such uniform looking wool….same as your mums too well done!! It will be lovely to look back in a few years time and see how your spinning has progressed. I can see why it was your mum’s favourite present :-) Can’t wait to see your shawl, I think I know the one you are doing…its beautiful!

  8. Tickety-boo says:

    Deadlines suck! That’s why I have been making stuff in anticipation for my niece/nephew in October. I just get all flustered which achieves NOTHING. The cushion is just fabulous! I bet your Mum loved it and will treasure it. Truly home-made.
    Wowzers I can’t believe your going to frog the scarf. I understand why I just don’t think I could bring myself to do that. Your a brave girl.
    Love
    Tickety-boo
    xxxx

  9. Firstly Happy Birthday Alice’s Mum!!! The cushion is BE-AU-TI-FUL! I am not at all surprised it was her favourite gift. Really special.

    I just found something that my nan knitted for me – she has been ‘gone’ for over a decade and the thought that each of those stitches were made by her hands made me feel so happy and connected. Gifting someone something handmade is like giving a little part of yourself :)

    Secondly *blush* you really didn’t need to thank me again xxx

  10. That cushion is GORGEOUS! No wonder your Mum loves it!

  11. Ashley says:

    Happy Birthday Alice’s mum! I’m not surprised that the cushion was her fave out of the bunch of gifts, it’s just scrumptious!
    I Completely understand where your coming from on the ‘deadline’ front.. I’ve been working on my Nan’s birthday gift (which I’m giving to her today), I was doing some embroidery for her and predictably it all went wrong, so I ended up crocheting her something else. Much easier in my eyes! I just wrot a post about it: http://countryrose7.blogspot.com/
    I’m now follwing Sarah, she’s got a great blog and I Loveee the shawl. Gorgeous!

    Ashley xxx

  12. LaceAnn says:

    I just want to snuggle your new little pillow! Your mother is a very blessed woman :) I think the “rustic” and mixed look gives it a lot of character. The buttons are absolutely darling as well! I’m seeing so many pillows held together with buttons I just might have to give it a try. Best of luck bringing new life to your shawl! We must see what you create with it!

    ~Lacey

  13. penelope dubois says:

    Love the look of the Rustic pillow! Lovely gift for your Mum.
    That shawl looks so addicting, I am thinking of all my scraps of sock yarn!

  14. Faye says:

    Lovely, as always! Before I became a mom, I did not understand the true joy of receiving gifts made by my child. I guess I thought my own mom was just being polite. But I am not kidding, there is a special kind of feeling a mom gets when her daughter hands her something she has made- you can’t substitute it for anything! Happy Birthday to Alice’s Mum! I wish I could be knitting in your garden seat this afternoon instead of in Texas, where it is already deathly hot and only early summer.

  15. Karen says:

    Alice, your pillow came out so beautiful. It is amazing to me that you not only knit the yarn, but spun it too!. Your recent posts about spinning has inspired me to want to learn. I’m sure your mom is over the moon in love with her gift. It looks so inviting sitting there in the porch swing. I’m not big on knit/crochet deadlines as work deadlines are always with me. I like my crafty time to be a no pressure zone so I can relax and enjoy every minute of it.

  16. Alessandra says:

    Ciao, tu abiti in un posto meraviglioso, lo vedo dalle fotografie che fai, e quando le guardo sogno di viverci anche io. Brava, sei davvero una ragazza in gamba!

  17. Carol says:

    Happy Birthday to Alice’s Mum, what a lovely gift, it is beautiful.
    Thank you for the link to Sarah’s blog, fantastic shawl.
    How annoying that your scarf started pilling, just shows that even if you spend quite a bit of money on yarn it could still let you down.
    Carol xx

  18. We are seriously in love with the cushion! We are also seriously in love with your mum’s swing! The two go together fabulously!!!! Well done! No wonder your mum loves it!

  19. juniperjune says:

    the cushion is gorgeous! what a great idea! i’ve set myself a challenge to knit only with stash yarn (or my handspun) this summer, so this is a great project to keep in mind. and that pattern is indeed great; it’s the rainbow one by Modern Knitress that’s got my heart aflutter! (and yours, i’m guessing!)

  20. kiwiyarns says:

    Happy Birthday to your mum! That cushion was the perfect thing for all your small skeins of handspun. It looks very cheerful and gorgeous! Makes me want to get out the sewing needle and stitch up the cushion covers I’ve got hibernating. (ahem).

    Thanks so much for that shawl link! It is the perfect thing for variegated yarn isn’t it!! You’ve got my mind ticking now…

  21. jalilah says:

    love it

  22. debkent says:

    That cushion is gorgeous. I have been so inspired by your blog that I have crocheted myself into a state of tendonitis! To occupy myself as I wait for it to heal (does anyone know how long it takes for crochet elbow to go away?) I have started blogging about my thrift store finds (adventures of a lesbian goodwill shopper! do they have goodwill shops in your country?). I’d love to know what you and Raymond think. Have a lovely week!

  23. Liza says:

    Hello Alice,
    Wow what a beautiful gift thats what I call made with lots of love and thought. Happy Birthday to your mom, and may she have many many more!!!!!!!! The colors are to die for.
    Your Take Care And Many Blessings To You and All Your Love Ones!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Your Friend From Texas

  24. Tas says:

    That is one amazing cushion. So beautiful!

    I have already have that shawl in my faves. Great minds and all that :)

  25. Oh I love the pillow! Gorgeous colors and yes the buttons are sweet. I wish I knew how to knit but I just can’t get the hang of it! I do get inspired though to make my own versions in crochet. Lovely project.

  26. Alyson says:

    Ooooh! I love the pillow! What is the pattern? I hate deadlines, too. I’m working on a lacy scarf for my grandmother-in-law’s birthday, and I’m soooo sick of it. Instead, I’m dying to get started on a new sock pattern. I probably wouldn’t mind the scarf so much if I didn’t need to get it done by a certain date.

    Happy Birthday to your Mum!

  27. Tan says:

    Love the cushion, looks lovely and snuggly!

    Deadlines are crazy. I recently offered to make a friend a laceweight silk shawl for her wedding, with only 17 days in which to procure the yarn (and of course she was allergic to wool so it was all the more difficult) and the pattern (which was not available online, only in a magazine of course!) .

    I got mine done with a bit more time than your cushion though :)

    My friend finally sent me some lovely pictures of her wearing it today: http://omlair.blogspot.com/2011/06/fo-wedding-shawl.html

  28. Suzanne says:

    Self-made gifts are the best! I gave my mom a tea cozy inspired by your gorgeous ones. With flowers and bumble bees and strawberries. Unfortunately I cannot knit very well, so I did the whole thing in crochet. But your tutorial gave me a good idea where to start. So many, many thanks, also from my mom who luuuuuved it.

    You can find a picture here:

    http://www.ravelry.com/projects/Soesan/spring-tea-cozy

  29. Claudia says:

    The cushion is gorgeous, Alice!! The colours are great! And the buttons… :)
    (P.S.: My Mum´s birthday was yesterday as well!!)
    * Just LOVE your blog!

  30. Oh Alice! You’re soooo lovely! What a WONDERFUL gift for your Mum, I imagine she was close to tears when she opened it, it’s just beautiful. And to think you used your own handspun yarn, that is tremendously generous of you. What a treasure. Love Vanessa xxx

  31. Melissa says:

    I hope your Mum had a wonderful birthday! Your cushion is gorgeous! I know that the cushion means so much more since you plied the yarn as well. I showed Car Guy your photo of the swing with the cushion and he said that it was such a pretty place. I could curl up in that swing and not move for ages.

  32. Amanda says:

    That cushion is gorgeous!!

    I know all about deadlines after this past weekend. We were due to go to my niece’s 1/2 birthday party on Sunday (her actual birthday is Boxing Day so she never gets a proper party, so this year we held a 1/2 birthday party for her!) Knowing we weren’t really doing presents, just the party, I decided to crochet her a little pink and white bag (she’s 4 years old… sorry 4 and a half years old… so she is very into pink right now). I stayed up late Thursday night finishing it and was glad I had done so in plenty of time. But then Saturday morning I found out the theme of the party was to be princes and princesses and I got it into my head to crochet little crowns for the kiddies and flowers for the ladies (the men had to go without!) But that meant I had 24 hours to make 5 crowns for 5 different aged kids from 11 to 1 years of age and 5 flowers to attach to hairclips (I used your pointy flower pattern and they were well-loved!!) The crowns were a nightmare because my tension is not great at the best of times and I often end with something too big or too small. I chose a fancy crown for the “birthday girl” and started, undid and restarted about three times, trying to scale it up from the pattern for a 1 year old and guessing how big a 4 year old’s head actually is. This took so long that I chose a very simple pattern for the other 4, but despite following the pattern for a 1 year old it ended up too big for me and not having the time to redo it, I had to make an adjustment by folding some of it in on itself and stitching it tightly. I think I finally got the right size third time round so the last two weren’t too bad, but boy was I exhausted from trying to get it all done in time. And yes everything else seemed so much more tempting for most of it!!

    Now, I have a ton of patterns I want to try out for various things… new babies being born, friends feeling down, a local charity fun day to raise money for cancer patients in the area, and of course getting a head start on Christmas presents because I’ll have no time once the baby arrives in September. But can I get started on these things? Nope, because there is the pressure to get them done in a certain time frame… darn that deadline!

  33. Julie says:

    A very special gif for you mum, it’s beautiful. There is nothing so special as a handmade something from your child – being a mum i can vouch for that

  34. whitelavender says:

    I too wish to “make” SOMETHING for a loved one by Friday 1st.which has to be posted and will take 2 days journey. I have no idea what to do until I saw your tutorial for an African flower pot holder. That’s it—- I’m off to make it now . Thank you Alice. Really loved your cushion you made for your Mum, It’s fantastic. Went to a fibre exhibition and merchant day last week. I came home loaded down with carded fleece to spin. Naturals and coloured. It can rain as much as it likes at the moment. Have soooo much crochet, knitting and spinning to do, what bliss. Regards Shirley

  35. MeredithJean says:

    Happy Birthday Alice’s Mum, and you rock for loving Alice’s cushion best of all the presents. It is a Land Before Time cushion with horizons, seascapes, landscapes, forests and wonderful fabulous skies. Well done Alice. I just wore myself out reading Amanda’s post about trying to get those birthday party crowns the right size in time… what a woman of stamina, you go Amanda! Further to doll’s cardigan, at present I am knitting a garter stitch cardigan for a 2 year old and omg… it’s Enormous. I love it though, it’s looking great – I’m using circular needles for the first time yeeehah!

  36. Sandra says:

    Gorgeous cushion! And that looks such a beautiful place to sit – lovely!

  37. Angela says:

    Your cushion is so yummy. Beautiful colours, it looks so snuggly

  38. Roselaine says:

    Quel joli coussin avec un superbe arrangement de couleur!
    Très beau travail!

Leave a Reply

