Gifts from the Magic Wheel

Hellooo!!!

Thank you for all the kind comments about my new obsession!  It was lovely to read through them and I’m glad you liked Fire Cracker, it certainly is a feast for the eyes.  I thought I’d show you what I’ve been doing for the last couple of weeks…. not much other than obsessively sitting at my Magic Wheel, marveling at what it creates! It may look like I haven’t slept for the last week, but don’t forget the skeins are small, not enormous great 100gm lots!   Yesterday I had a play around with the rest of the fire cracker fleece and decided to split the colours evenly and spin them in the same order, then ply them together, crossing my fingers that I ended up with the same amount!  It was a completely different result and I ended up with two little skeins which KB named Agent Orange and Call Girl.

It’s quite amazing how spinning the colours differently can produce such a different result… they are a colour sensation and make me zing when I look at the pictures!

I am in a phase of wonder-ment with my Magic Wheel, I find it incredible that I feed fleece into it, and out the other end comes beautiful yarn… being a yarnaholic, I suppose it’s not surprising that I can’t stop making it….

I’ve discovered, through a small bit of research, that spinners seem to accumulate wheels, approximately 4.6 wheels on average… My (not that I’ve been given it, I’ve just decided that it’s mine) wheel came from my darling Mum (of course) and it used to belong to her father’s cousins daughter, or something along those lines, so it’s nice that it has come to live with me, and that she knows I am getting intense enjoyment out of it!  The fleece I’ve been using is Ashford, I bought a little bit during my short-lived felting career (too much rubbing and froth, I couldn’t hack it!) so was glad to find a use for it, instead of shoving it to the back of my cupboard!  A green pack became the Herbaliser…

This spin taught me I need to go easy on the “candy-cane” look!

And lastly, Lotus, which I have a L.O.T of… 600gms of fleece to be precise, bought at a very low price from the Little Wool Company which is a woolly, colourful wonderland… I’m planning a trip there in August and I can’t WAIT!  Meanwhile, I think that this will eventually (when I’ve spun it all!) become a big shawl/wrap…. but who knows… Mum says that freshly spun yarn needs to mature for a while, so it’s not necessary to knit it immediately… I’ll take her advice, she’s been spinning for 32+ years. 

Want to see it all together?  I must tell you, this armful of yarny-goodness makes me sooooooooooooooooo happy! 

A colour explosion….  It’s good for the soul!  I’m finding spinning more meditative than anything I’ve done before… Sometimes knitting can be meditative, but I also find that if I’m worried or grumpy, I can work myself into a right state while knitting, but with spinning, I can’t take my mind off what I’m doing because every time I do, woooosh, it breaks and wooshes into the wheel and I have to stop and fix it all up again.  The other night I went to bed after spinning for an extraordinary amount of time, and I said to KB “there are no thoughts in my mind!”  Amazing… this has got to be good for me!

OK then, I’m off, thank you so much for stopping by! 

Wishing you a lovely middle of your week!

Lots of love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in Spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to Gifts from the Magic Wheel

  1. kate says:

    all i can say is ‘YAY”

  2. ohangelina says:

    no thoughts in the mind sounds buddhalistic. i need it. your magic wheel sounds delightful…x

  3. Planet Penny says:

    Lovely to think of you being in a Zenlike state of bliss while gazing at all those colours!

  4. Amanda says:

    Oh my, no wonder you are in heaven! The colours are all gorgeous and so unique just to you, what more could you ask for? I cannot wait to see what you eventually make from them :) And as for the meditative state you find yourself in, well how perfect is that? Maybe we should implement spinning as a therapy to our over-burdened minds!!

  5. I can’t wait for the yarn to mature and for you to knit something with it. Thanks for sharing the experimentation stage….isn’t it cool how different those two yarn colours are :-) The Magic Wheel = perfect name :-)

  6. Robin says:

    Wow, Alice, amazing magic!!! Such awesome colors and yarn. It truly looks like a wonderful obsession! I would love to take a class in spinning. I think I will look into it for the winter months up here in Vermont. You go girl and enjoy…….your work is just great and sounds like good for the sou! xoRobin❤

  7. Leigh Ann says:

    Your yarn is gorgeous! The colors are so you!

  8. Annegret says:

    I think your magic wheel is a dream wheel, so beautiful colours!!!!

  9. maggie says:

    That wool looks incredibly soft and cuddlesome… is it? It all looks wonderful, and unique and can’t wait to see what you use it for.

  10. Meredith says:

    alice you are doing a fantastic job, I love all the yarn and not houghts in your mind is icing on the cake! Can’t wait to see what you make once the yarn matures a bit.
    Happy Tuesday,
    Meredith

  11. Melody says:

    Absolutely amazing colors and good job on the spinning. I’m truly jealous!

  12. How fantastic is that. I would love to give that a go. Magic wheel is the most perfect name and I love the names KB has given the yarn! Can’t wait to see what you make with it.

    Clare x

  13. MeredithJean says:

    Gosh Alice… you will start a viral spinning flurry among us!! I might just go look for cheap wheels on ebay or the local trading post hmmmm. And I thought I NEVER wanted to spin. I know I don’t want to felt. Your yarns are excitingly gorgeous and wonderful xxx

  14. allison says:

    Wow! You are making some seriously beautiful yarn!! Makes me want a wheel and fleece. Keep spinning–I can’t wait to see what you make next.

  15. Oh no…please don’t start me off on another craft… these colours are gorgeous!
    Jill (stocki.blogspot.com) :)x

  16. Ashley says:

    Oh my gosh! It’s all gorgeous. I LOVE the ‘candy-cane’ yarn…. gorgeous! Everytime I read your blog, I think how can she come up with such lovely posts everytime!? But I always love coming back for more great writing and stunning photographs.

    Ashley xxx

  17. Jennifer says:

    Your yarn is lovely! Can’t wait to see what it becomes!

  18. Hannah says:

    I have no idea how one spins. I wonder, could you tell us a little bit about that? The yarn you have produced is magnificent. I need that state of mind – – “no thoughts”. About the yarn, is it a worsted weight? Are you able to spin any size weight you want? I also did not know that freshly spun yarn should mature before you use it. You are so enlightening to all of us. Sending peaceful joy your way.

  19. LaceAnn says:

    I am LOVING the blue mixes off to the left of your pictures! Absolutely stunning :) So excited for your new found love. I am forever amazed by your beautiful color combinations and am exceedingly jealous of the talent. The fact that you’re able to do a bit of mind cleansing while spinning is also wonderful. Life tends to go so fast anymore and everything is done for us (or so it seems). I honestly believe that if we were to all slow down a bit and enjoy the more simple pleasures in life, we’d all be much happier! Ah the joys of making ones own materials ^_^

  20. stephanni says:

    i’m so jealous! i love your yarn! i think fire cracker is still my fave. :)

  21. Joya Roy says:

    this is truly inspiring. i’ve been toying with the idea of learning to spin and haven’t taken it any farther. i have a drop spindle but have only used it twice. i need to see a spinning wheel in action, i think, to let me see how it flows. now i’m sorely tempted by the prospect that all thoughts can be mentally evacuated by spinning. what an attribute! i may just be on my way! cheers!

  22. i love your yarn, the green was very relaxing while the firecracker made me want to get up and clean or at least crochet. can you crochet with your yarn? and how do you do that. do you color the yarn first or spin it first.love the looks of it. thanks for listening. enjoy the rest of your week, gert

  23. penelope dubois says:

    So vibrant and gorgeous! What fun to make something with it!
    So, I am wondering how Raymond takes to this whole spinning thing – long pieces of yarn humming along!

  24. Pati from London says:

    I’m loving your new obssession and the yarn is yarnilicious with a great choice of names…. and colours! I love it! xx Pati

  25. val says:

    Beautiful! I think my fav is Agent Orange. I agree with an earlier poster that the yarn looks comfy soft and luxurious, is it? As for spinning, I believe I am going to do it vicariously through you and Raymond so, could you describe the process? I’m going to have fun picturing it in my mind. Many blessings to you and yours. -val.

  26. Nikkole says:

    Alice they are so wonderful!!! I think the green one is my favorite :) it has such a relaxing quality to it :) yet agent orange and call girl are so vibrant that I feel very energized just gazing at them! It is almost that you have put so much love and care into the yarns that they have their own healing like qualities! :D

  27. So beautiful! Am glad you have found a new craft that you are enjoying so thoroughly. Such an exciting thing!

  28. Nisilynne says:

    Absolutely beautiful! ENJOY!

  29. Barb Baines says:

    Oh My, there is only one word needed BEAUTIFUL!

  30. Oh my! It’s absolutely gorgeous! Maybe I need to reclaim my own wheel from it’s storage location (my mama’s house.) I have an Ashford Traditional wheel that I’ve had for ages, but was never able to get the hang of. You’ve lovely handspun has inspired me to give it another go. :)

  31. Heather says:

    Alice, I would love to leave a comment here but I’m afraid I am too busy marvelling/drooling/appreciating the MARVELLOUS photos of your yarn. Sorry ’bout that xxx

  32. Lisa says:

    Alice you should sell your yarn its soooo beautiful
    Lisa

  33. Nicky says:

    LOVING this!!!

  34. Melissa says:

    That is yarn heaven!!! So lush and gorgeous! I’ve gotten all kinds of ideas – wraps, scarves, hats. It almost makes me wish for winter again…..almost. Give another month and I will be wishing for winter again! Have a wonderful week!!!

  35. Maria says:

    awesome—i have an obsession-waiting-to-happen on the back burner involving a large drop spindle and fabric strips….lol…love all the colors you’ve created :)

  36. 'me' says:

    that new obsession of you is going very wel ! What a party of colors!!!!

  37. Susie says:

    I’d decided I really hated spinning and now you’ve complicated things. Bugger. Also I only get the no thoughts in my mind thing after yoga or a bottle of wine: spinning might be healthier/ not as hard on my hamstrings.

    ++ such beautiful colours! A woman after my own heart ;-).

  38. sandiart says:

    STUNNING…….I applaud your spinnning, I was going to do a mini course, then decided against it, because if I fell in love with it, it would hurt too much as I cannot afford a wheel. So that’s something in my future to look forward to.
    x Sandi

  39. Louise says:

    Wow. I am in awe. You are amazing. LOVE your yarn.

  40. Leah says:

    Wow Alice, it all looks so beautiful! I adore your firecracker wool. What a fabulous way to clear your head and with the added bonus of having a wonderful creation at the end of it. Yay. Have a fab week.
    Leah

  41. Lisa says:

    Wonderful..amazing…glorious :) Thanks for conveying how it makes you feel – this is pure magic! Cheers!

  42. So beautiful. I think you ought to just hang it up and look at it!

  43. Liza Flores says:

    Hi Alice.
    The yarn is so alive in color . You should sell your one of a kind yarn to make amazing one of a kind goodies.
    I have always wanted to try spinning. But I cant find anybody here in El Paso, Texas to give classes on the art.
    Congrats and keep on spinning.

  44. Katie says:

    Such a lovely mix of colours – beautiful

  45. Tan says:

    Just gorgeous! I think you should put that last photo as the backgroudn for your blog!

    If you don’t, I just might ;)

  46. Bearlakenana says:

    I love, love, love your colors! It makes me want to get my wheel out that has been sitting for over 8 years since I moved. My daughter would like that, as I could finish making the yarn to finish the shawl that’s 3/4 done ;-)

  47. Julie says:

    Fabulous colours, how wonderful to be able to sit and spin, i can fully understand why it would be therapeutic and lovely and clearing for the mind.

  48. Oooh, I like that turqoisy-Green one in the middle!

  49. Debra Wolf says:

    it’s so cool that you are loving this so much! keeping having a blast! i especially like the agent orange {altho my fav colors are shades of green, i love oranges~~autumnal colors of orange yellow red are so magical!} grins, debra

  50. Tone says:

    thank you for sharing your tutorial with me.

  51. Carol says:

    Hi Alice, what wonderful zingy colours, love them, spinning sounds as if it is very good indeed for the stressed mind. My ‘middle of the week’ is the beginning of caring for sis’s cats whilst she is away – one oldie, one stray…… which kindly presented her with 4 kittens, it will be nice to “play” as my cats are both elderly.
    Hope your ‘middle of the week’ is full of fun too.
    Carol xx

  52. Aaaarrrgghhhh I want it ALL! Yum yum yummity YUM!

  53. tina says:

    Wow, these colors really ARE STUNNING! Very nice! ~tina

  54. Linda says:

    You are so talented Alice. Enjoy your new obsession. Your colors are gorgeous. I always enjoy reading your blog and seeing what you are creating.

  55. Tas says:

    Yummy. Love the blue and pin. Mmmmmmm! (Yes, most spinners I know have quite a few wheels. Like us sewers who can usually have quite a few sewing machines I guess)

  56. Sandra says:

    These colours are gorgeous – would love to know how to spin, always looks like a real skill – and probably requires infinitely more patience than I have!

  57. Pingback: Crochet Blogs Link Love | Crochet Concupiscence

Leave a Reply

