Sock Perfection!

Helloooo!!!

And Happy Saturday to you!  I’m usually working on a Saturday, but took some holidays to have a weekend break after a heavy week of class, and it has been such a cool fun day, much better than working for sure!  I’m meant to be studying for an oral assessment next Thursday and then working on the essay due the week after that… but the day is not over yet!  (nearly, but not quite!)  I spent the morning at the markets with this lovely lady who will no doubt be blogging her market adventures this evening!  I’m quite proud of myself, my willpower ruled today and I left the market without purchasing more than I needed to…  One pair of earrings which I will show you in my next post, (I am crazily in love with them) one skein of alpaca sock yarn and one small calico bag to keep my knitting safe in my shoulder bag.  *phew* It could have been faaaaaaaaaaaaar more damaging to my wallet, so I’m feeling quite proud!

I’m a recovering perfectionist.  I think many of you might know that by now… I discovered the extent of my perfectionist madness when I get an essay back last year.  I got 100% and still wasn’t satisfied with the mark…. which led me to realise that the marks were really representing something completely different which I needed to sort out!  Hence, the new label, recovering perfectionist.  Of all the socks I have made, my most recent pair are my favourite and I’m going to show them to you today!  I usually love everything I make, but can always find something not quite right about it… not this pair however… I finally got the toe perfectly fitting my toes, and they are the first pair to score 10/10 in my sock satisfaction rating.

Yes.  10/10.

Want to see them?  KB took some pictures yesterday when we got home… that is when Raymond is most (annoying) cuddly and wouldn’t stop rubbing himself on the socks.  When I went through the pictures I realised that the photos in which the socks looked awesome, Raymond looked silly, and the photos in which Raymond looked lovely, the socks looked crap.  So I picked the photos the socks looked best in, because there are many amazing photos of Raymond on here and these socks will only ever be in this post!

So ta-da!

I was hunting for the ball-band before and resigned myself to the fact that I had thrown it away by accident and wouldn’t be able to tell you the details!  That would have been a tragedy because I know many of you like the specifics… But how about good old Ravelry huh?  It saved the day as I had already added the yarn to my stash and had completely forgotten I had done it.

So how about this yarn?!  I L.O.V.E it.  I’ve been eyeballing it at my LYS for ages and finally bought some and must admit, it’s my favourite sock yarn yet.  It’s warm and toasty on your feet and the colours are so fabulously wonderful I can’t wait to start my next pair!

So! Specifics!

Yarn: Regia (click for the rav link) colourway 04455

Pattern: A good plain sock recipe by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee from Knitting Rules

Sock Satisfaction Rating: 10/10… it has made sock history in my drawer.

I notice it is a bit thicker than normal sock yarn, so I’ll cast on 60 instead of 64 and maybe knit a bit tighter… but I’ve only worn them once and have just put them through the wash today, so I’ll wait and see how they fit next time!

My post last week about the Book Depository had a lot of interesting feedback… one commenter told me about another online book seller that is even cheaper than the BD!  No!  Can it be?

Yes… Amazon.dot.co.uk is, it turns out!  I checked out the books I had just bought and they were in fact cheaper, so thak you for that tip!  Eeks!  

OK then lovelies, I’m off to do some writing, some yoga and some knitting before cooking dinner.  I hope you’re having a wonderful and relaxing weekend, see you in a few days!

Lots of love from Alice and Raymond XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX 

About Crochet with Raymond

I'm a crochet obsessed, reiki master, crystal healing, yoga junkie, counselling student, in a happy long term relationship... and Raymond's mum!
This entry was posted in SOCKS!!!. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Sock Perfection!

  1. Sophia says:

    Remember you have to add almost 9 pounds per delivery from Amazon for shipping, but Book Depository is free shipping! Those socks are looooovely, I’ve just started my 2nd pair with the Touchyarns (from the toe up!!).

  2. Perfect socks Alice and you are so fast! I am slowly making my way to the end of my first sock,top down and I have done it in a slightly larger needle size to make sure I get the heel right…they will be bedsocks :-)

    I succumbed to the Opal love and bought myself a ripper ball of tiger striped yarn, after all I am a tiger. Will get my sock pattern perfect (I am as bad as you) before I put that lovely ball on the sticks!

  3. Annegret says:

    The socks are perfect. And what a wonderful colour!!! I am really on the way to start with sock knitting again. And my son has big feet.

  4. those look like possibly the most cosy socks in the entire universe

  5. Karyn says:

    i love the colour of those sox – so vibrant.
    Missed you today

  6. MeredithJean says:

    Brilliant socks!
    You CRAZY recovering perfectionist! You will NEVER be recovered. Even if you decide to be a slob, you will be a Perfect Slob. Even if you decide to accept things like essay marks as they are, you will be Perfectly Accepting. As a wee one you chose perfection as your technique to acquire the most love. The wisdom lies in that it’s not a bad thing to be a perfectionist, allow yourself to gently understand the fullness of that. hmmm and another great wisdom is that the wisdoms you share with others are usually the next thing you need to hear yourself. So in fact, these last sentences may very well bring more to me, than to you dear Alice. Don’t you love the rising circular effect of good karma? xxx

  7. kiwiyarns says:

    It was such fun to hang out with you at the market. Thanks for popping by! And those sock are as gorgeous in person as they are on your blog. :-) Have a wonderful restful rest of your weekend.xx

  8. Wonderful socks Alice!!!!!! I can see why you are so smitten – just gorgeous. Sounds like you’re having a perfect weekend too – ENJOY! xxxx

  9. Carole says:

    Amazon has to be one of my MOST favourite online stores :)

    I’m a perfectionist too, although I am much more accepting of things than I used to be – I think being a Mum has alot to do with that!

    Your latest socks are lovely – I’m off to have a look for that book on Amazon – I feel a treat coming on! I have to disagree with you though – I think Raymond looks lovely in the photos. Not quite as lovely as the socks, but lovely all the same!

    Enjoy the rest of the weekend xXx

  10. Gerlene says:

    Alice, I want to say the same as Sophia. BD post out book for free!! With Amazon it might be pricey to NZ. I use BD all the time. Handy for buying gifts for my family in South Africa as postage is free!! LUV the socks!! Set my sister in SA a challenge at Christmas. Asked her to finish an knitting project this year. (She saw me knitting and crocheting away and although she can do it, just haven’t done anything in a while.). Then in January I discovered a few wonderful blogs (yours, Attic24, L is for Love, Flora and Purl etc etc – I introduced them to her and now she is faster and better than me!!! She is doing a few of your patterns now!! Its nice to share this craft with her altough we live so far away from each other.

  11. Sherry says:

    If you can knit socks you are my hero :). I’m trying to knit a pair that I’ve taken apart at least three times so far. Yours are beautiful!

  12. Sandra says:

    Another gorgeous pair of socks – going to have a stab at second pair sometime…when I’ve made a bit of a whole in the current outstanding projects and the snall matter of 15,000 words to write… How do you fit it all in?!! Might have to hunt out that lovely yarn… x

  13. Sandra says:

    not whole! Hole!

  14. Kath says:

    Just love your blog, and adore Raymond. How beautiful is he? And he just knows it too. I love your crochet too, sadly I cant crochet, (do lots of other things) but certainly admire the work of others.

  15. sandiart says:

    Yep, they are seriously fab socks. I have bought the wool for my dads socks, no going back now.
    x Sandi

  16. penelope dubois says:

    Fab, perfect socks!
    I notice your toe is a little different with that ridege before the decreases. I like that! Is that part of the Yarn Harlot pattern?

  17. Robin says:

    Those are the perfect socks! Love the colors and striping. I give them an 11 out of 10!! Way to go Alice!
    xoRobin❤

  18. Meredith says:

    Alice, these socks are absolutely lovely, love the color and the knitting is perfect !!!! You are knitting up these socks so quickly you are making my head spin !
    Have a wonderful, long weekend.
    Meredith

  19. Carol says:

    More wonderful socks, they do look perfectly cosy. Amazon is fatal, you just click and whoops, another book in your basket. I also found it is the cheapest place for those hideously expensive ink cartridges.
    Hope you have a ‘perfect’ weeekend.
    Carol xx

  20. Tickety-boo says:

    10/10 socks indeed Missy! They are beauties. Love the colour combinations. I have used Regia a couple of times and I love it (it is pricey though).
    Oh dear you are going to end up with a serious Amazon habit now aren’t you? My Amazon habit needs feeding regularly. It is almost always the cheapest place for books. My postman just raises his eyebrows at least once a week when he hands me a brown cadrboard parcel. Well it’s not illegal is it?
    Love Tickety-boo xxx

  21. Don’t know about Amazon.uk, but Amazon in the U.S. has a thing called ‘prime’ where if you pay $75 a year, you get free shipping on anything marked as prime. This includes most books, so if you order many books, as do we, it pays for itself in very short order! The socks are LOVERLY , not to mention, well, PERFECT! :)

  22. Oh, by the way, we often order books used from Amazon. We are careful to pick well rated sellers and have never gotten a bad book, have saved loads of $$ and the shipping is a set price. Don’t think it matters where you are, but you can check that out too. :) No, Amazon does not have a goat working for them – just happens to have a bookaholic goat customer. :)

  23. Heather says:

    lovely socks! I can see why you have given them 10 out of 10, the self-patterning is a perfect match as well isn’t it?
    I hope you’ve bounced back after your hatemail xxx

  24. Ann says:

    Amazon is an amazing online store – I’ve shopped with them for years and their customer service is really good. Their choice of craft books of all types is second to none and they are excellent for price. I’m an Amazon Prime customer and it’s well worth it. I’m surprised they’ve not moved into your part of the world. (I’ve even bought from Amazon in Japan and received my book here in Scotland within four days).

  25. Love the socks and your choice of color! Thank you for sharing and inspiring as I am new to the blog world :) Cheers! Vikki

  26. Alyson says:

    Love the socks! I am currently on hiatus from sock-making, after finishing my second pair a couple of weeks ago. But I think another pair is in the near future, as I have LOTS of sock yarn! Right now, I’m taking a break from my main project by hooking up a rainbow grandala pillow (or blanket) for my daughter. I always love to see your colors!

    By the way, have you thought about starting a Raymond Group on Ravelry?

  27. 'Joyce' says:

    Hullo ALice and Raymond, I love your new socks, oh how sweet your feet must feel with them on. I am yet to order from BD or Amazon, however, will certainly be shouting myself to lots of book-ness once my studies are behind me. That is just one of my promised treats to me. Have a wonderful rest of weekend at your place.

  28. Hahnsmum says:

    As always yr sox are really really nice..Very colourful, which l love BUT that Raymond is cuter..Just too cute.. Best Wishes..

  29. Sarah says:

    My sock mojo seems to have deserted me – maybe it’s come to hang out with you and Raymond – those are lovely – and well deserving of the 10/10

  30. Hola! Espectaculares tus medias. Espero todo esté bien después del sismo. Saludos desde Venezuela.

  31. Pati from London says:

    Alice, 100% for an assigment is AMAZING!!! Well done!!!. Here in London, it is virtually impossible to get more than 70% for an assigment at Uni as this is already considered a First Class and from 70 to 100% the originality of your content must be such that you have to be writing something like a discovery, something that hasn’t been written before etc…. Am impressed!!
    Your socks are gorgeous, such lively colours!!! They may me want to learn how to knit…. but for the moment I have a lot of crochet ideas and projects in my head so will have to wait.
    How’s your mum? I hope she’s feeling better and has been able to go back to her knitting without any trouble :-)
    I do buy a lot of my books through Amazon, (especially Uni or second hand ones-they have links to other bookshops including the book depository). Here in the UK the delivery is free and their prices are very competitive. It usually tends to be cheaper than the Book Depository.
    I also like to support my local independent bookshop, however, as I would hate to see these small shops disappear most books for children, pressies for my daughter’s friends etc are purchased there.
    Amazon here is such a giant that nowadays they sell everything and anything not just books….
    Have a lovely week, Pati xx

  32. katie says:

    Ooh, I just love these – and I rarely see knitted socks where the two socks are exactly the same. Makes them seem a bit fancier! :)

  33. Melissa says:

    I love these! I’ve gotten the heel and the gusset done on mine. I’m just an incredibly slow knitter. Hope you had a wonderful weekend!

  34. oldbagpuss says:

    Super duper, love this colourway

  35. juniperjune says:

    gorgeous! what a fabulous colorway!

  36. i love your socks. unfortunatly i do not knit. tried and it was impossible. only crochet. but those are lovely socks. amazing. any way love your posts. they are most amusing and love your cat raymond. he is adorable.

Leave a Reply

